tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUTURE PERFECT - After The Fall

FUTURE PERFECT

After The Fall

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Wave

[73/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Perfect Future means nothing to you, but this band from North Wales (well, actually the couple Simon and Rebecca Owen) makes synth pop since 2009. With an inspiration that comes from known examples such as Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys, After The Fall is the third record released by Perfect Future. Initially, the album was released independently, but the German Conzoom was so impressed that it re-released the album. Perhaps Future Perfect does nothing new, however during the quest for the perfect pop song, you’ll find a lot of beautiful gems, at least if you’re keen on synth pop with an EBM-layer.

Fall can be best described as contemporary synth pop with the grandeur of Duran Duran. Simple pop, it’s just that, but it works.

When Rebecca sings (like on Dangerous Desires), we even hear echoes of No Comment, if you still remember them! The more you hear this track, the more the music gets under your skin.

Neo Rom Com has punching EBM beats with a future pop touch. Spaces begins with a speech of former US President Bill Clinton in which he denies his affair with Monica Lewinsky. It might be a bit cheap, but in no time this song becomes melancholic synth pop. We even hear a tad of Alphaville, and for us that is a good sign!

On the Conzoom edition you find three remixes which give the tracks a club atmosphere.

Just like many other synth pop records, the new Future Perfect will not change the world, but if you're addicted to synthetic sounds, then the songs are very effective!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Future Perfect je bitter weinig (of zelfs helemaal niets), toch maakt deze band (nou ja, eigenlijk het echtpaar Simon en Rebecca Owen) sinds 2009 leuke synthpop. Het duo uit Noord-Wales dat zijn inspiraties bij bekende voorbeelden als Depeche Mode en Pet Shop Boys haalt, heeft met After The Fall zijn derde plaat uitgebracht. Aanvankelijk in eigen beheer, maar het Duitse Conzoom was zo onder de indruk, dat het de cd opnieuw heeft uitgebracht. Future Perfect doet misschien wel niks nieuws, toch zal je tijdens de zoektocht naar de ideale popsong heel wat mooie pareltjes ontdekken, ten minste als je verlekkerd bent op synthpop met een opzwepend EBM-laagje.

Fall is eigentijdse synthpop met (een beetje) de grandeur van Duran Duran. Simpele pop, meer is het niet, maar het werkt wel.

Als Rebecca zingt (bijv. op Dangerous Desires) horen we zelfs echo’s van No Comment, mocht je je ze nog herinneren! Hoe meer je deze track draait, des te meer de muziek onder je huid kruipt.

Neo Rom Com bevat stompende EBM-beats en ruikt wat naar futurepop. Spaces begint met een toespraak van de gewezen Amerikaanse president Bill Clinton waarin hij zijn affaire met Monica Lewinsky ontkent. Het is misschien wat goedkoop, maar in een mum van tijd ontpopt dit lied zich tot kwaliteitsvolle en vooral melancholische synthpop. We horen er zelfs een tikkeltje Alphaville in, en ja, voor ons is dat een goed teken!

Op de Conzoom-editie zijn er drie remixen toegevoegd die de tracks een clubsfeertje geven.

Neen, net zoals zo vele andere synthpopplaten zal Future Perfect met deze nieuwste cd de wereld niet veranderen, maar als je verslaafd bent aan synthetische klanken, werken de songs uiterst effectief!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela