tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUTURE PERFECT - After The Fall

FUTURE PERFECT

After The Fall

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Wave

[73/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Perfect Future means nothing to you, but this band from North Wales (well, actually the couple Simon and Rebecca Owen) makes synth pop since 2009. With an inspiration that comes from known examples such as Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys, After The Fall is the third record released by Perfect Future. Initially, the album was released independently, but the German Conzoom was so impressed that it re-released the album. Perhaps Future Perfect does nothing new, however during the quest for the perfect pop song, you’ll find a lot of beautiful gems, at least if you’re keen on synth pop with an EBM-layer.

Fall can be best described as contemporary synth pop with the grandeur of Duran Duran. Simple pop, it’s just that, but it works.

When Rebecca sings (like on Dangerous Desires), we even hear echoes of No Comment, if you still remember them! The more you hear this track, the more the music gets under your skin.

Neo Rom Com has punching EBM beats with a future pop touch. Spaces begins with a speech of former US President Bill Clinton in which he denies his affair with Monica Lewinsky. It might be a bit cheap, but in no time this song becomes melancholic synth pop. We even hear a tad of Alphaville, and for us that is a good sign!

On the Conzoom edition you find three remixes which give the tracks a club atmosphere.

Just like many other synth pop records, the new Future Perfect will not change the world, but if you're addicted to synthetic sounds, then the songs are very effective!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Future Perfect je bitter weinig (of zelfs helemaal niets), toch maakt deze band (nou ja, eigenlijk het echtpaar Simon en Rebecca Owen) sinds 2009 leuke synthpop. Het duo uit Noord-Wales dat zijn inspiraties bij bekende voorbeelden als Depeche Mode en Pet Shop Boys haalt, heeft met After The Fall zijn derde plaat uitgebracht. Aanvankelijk in eigen beheer, maar het Duitse Conzoom was zo onder de indruk, dat het de cd opnieuw heeft uitgebracht. Future Perfect doet misschien wel niks nieuws, toch zal je tijdens de zoektocht naar de ideale popsong heel wat mooie pareltjes ontdekken, ten minste als je verlekkerd bent op synthpop met een opzwepend EBM-laagje.

Fall is eigentijdse synthpop met (een beetje) de grandeur van Duran Duran. Simpele pop, meer is het niet, maar het werkt wel.

Als Rebecca zingt (bijv. op Dangerous Desires) horen we zelfs echo’s van No Comment, mocht je je ze nog herinneren! Hoe meer je deze track draait, des te meer de muziek onder je huid kruipt.

Neo Rom Com bevat stompende EBM-beats en ruikt wat naar futurepop. Spaces begint met een toespraak van de gewezen Amerikaanse president Bill Clinton waarin hij zijn affaire met Monica Lewinsky ontkent. Het is misschien wat goedkoop, maar in een mum van tijd ontpopt dit lied zich tot kwaliteitsvolle en vooral melancholische synthpop. We horen er zelfs een tikkeltje Alphaville in, en ja, voor ons is dat een goed teken!

Op de Conzoom-editie zijn er drie remixen toegevoegd die de tracks een clubsfeertje geven.

Neen, net zoals zo vele andere synthpopplaten zal Future Perfect met deze nieuwste cd de wereld niet veranderen, maar als je verslaafd bent aan synthetische klanken, werken de songs uiterst effectief!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline