tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUTURE PERFECT - After The Fall

FUTURE PERFECT

After The Fall

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Wave

[73/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Perfect Future means nothing to you, but this band from North Wales (well, actually the couple Simon and Rebecca Owen) makes synth pop since 2009. With an inspiration that comes from known examples such as Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys, After The Fall is the third record released by Perfect Future. Initially, the album was released independently, but the German Conzoom was so impressed that it re-released the album. Perhaps Future Perfect does nothing new, however during the quest for the perfect pop song, you’ll find a lot of beautiful gems, at least if you’re keen on synth pop with an EBM-layer.

Fall can be best described as contemporary synth pop with the grandeur of Duran Duran. Simple pop, it’s just that, but it works.

When Rebecca sings (like on Dangerous Desires), we even hear echoes of No Comment, if you still remember them! The more you hear this track, the more the music gets under your skin.

Neo Rom Com has punching EBM beats with a future pop touch. Spaces begins with a speech of former US President Bill Clinton in which he denies his affair with Monica Lewinsky. It might be a bit cheap, but in no time this song becomes melancholic synth pop. We even hear a tad of Alphaville, and for us that is a good sign!

On the Conzoom edition you find three remixes which give the tracks a club atmosphere.

Just like many other synth pop records, the new Future Perfect will not change the world, but if you're addicted to synthetic sounds, then the songs are very effective!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Future Perfect je bitter weinig (of zelfs helemaal niets), toch maakt deze band (nou ja, eigenlijk het echtpaar Simon en Rebecca Owen) sinds 2009 leuke synthpop. Het duo uit Noord-Wales dat zijn inspiraties bij bekende voorbeelden als Depeche Mode en Pet Shop Boys haalt, heeft met After The Fall zijn derde plaat uitgebracht. Aanvankelijk in eigen beheer, maar het Duitse Conzoom was zo onder de indruk, dat het de cd opnieuw heeft uitgebracht. Future Perfect doet misschien wel niks nieuws, toch zal je tijdens de zoektocht naar de ideale popsong heel wat mooie pareltjes ontdekken, ten minste als je verlekkerd bent op synthpop met een opzwepend EBM-laagje.

Fall is eigentijdse synthpop met (een beetje) de grandeur van Duran Duran. Simpele pop, meer is het niet, maar het werkt wel.

Als Rebecca zingt (bijv. op Dangerous Desires) horen we zelfs echo’s van No Comment, mocht je je ze nog herinneren! Hoe meer je deze track draait, des te meer de muziek onder je huid kruipt.

Neo Rom Com bevat stompende EBM-beats en ruikt wat naar futurepop. Spaces begint met een toespraak van de gewezen Amerikaanse president Bill Clinton waarin hij zijn affaire met Monica Lewinsky ontkent. Het is misschien wat goedkoop, maar in een mum van tijd ontpopt dit lied zich tot kwaliteitsvolle en vooral melancholische synthpop. We horen er zelfs een tikkeltje Alphaville in, en ja, voor ons is dat een goed teken!

Op de Conzoom-editie zijn er drie remixen toegevoegd die de tracks een clubsfeertje geven.

Neen, net zoals zo vele andere synthpopplaten zal Future Perfect met deze nieuwste cd de wereld niet veranderen, maar als je verslaafd bent aan synthetische klanken, werken de songs uiterst effectief!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn