tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUTURE PERFECT - After The Fall

FUTURE PERFECT

After The Fall

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Wave

[73/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Perfect Future means nothing to you, but this band from North Wales (well, actually the couple Simon and Rebecca Owen) makes synth pop since 2009. With an inspiration that comes from known examples such as Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys, After The Fall is the third record released by Perfect Future. Initially, the album was released independently, but the German Conzoom was so impressed that it re-released the album. Perhaps Future Perfect does nothing new, however during the quest for the perfect pop song, you’ll find a lot of beautiful gems, at least if you’re keen on synth pop with an EBM-layer.

Fall can be best described as contemporary synth pop with the grandeur of Duran Duran. Simple pop, it’s just that, but it works.

When Rebecca sings (like on Dangerous Desires), we even hear echoes of No Comment, if you still remember them! The more you hear this track, the more the music gets under your skin.

Neo Rom Com has punching EBM beats with a future pop touch. Spaces begins with a speech of former US President Bill Clinton in which he denies his affair with Monica Lewinsky. It might be a bit cheap, but in no time this song becomes melancholic synth pop. We even hear a tad of Alphaville, and for us that is a good sign!

On the Conzoom edition you find three remixes which give the tracks a club atmosphere.

Just like many other synth pop records, the new Future Perfect will not change the world, but if you're addicted to synthetic sounds, then the songs are very effective!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Future Perfect je bitter weinig (of zelfs helemaal niets), toch maakt deze band (nou ja, eigenlijk het echtpaar Simon en Rebecca Owen) sinds 2009 leuke synthpop. Het duo uit Noord-Wales dat zijn inspiraties bij bekende voorbeelden als Depeche Mode en Pet Shop Boys haalt, heeft met After The Fall zijn derde plaat uitgebracht. Aanvankelijk in eigen beheer, maar het Duitse Conzoom was zo onder de indruk, dat het de cd opnieuw heeft uitgebracht. Future Perfect doet misschien wel niks nieuws, toch zal je tijdens de zoektocht naar de ideale popsong heel wat mooie pareltjes ontdekken, ten minste als je verlekkerd bent op synthpop met een opzwepend EBM-laagje.

Fall is eigentijdse synthpop met (een beetje) de grandeur van Duran Duran. Simpele pop, meer is het niet, maar het werkt wel.

Als Rebecca zingt (bijv. op Dangerous Desires) horen we zelfs echo’s van No Comment, mocht je je ze nog herinneren! Hoe meer je deze track draait, des te meer de muziek onder je huid kruipt.

Neo Rom Com bevat stompende EBM-beats en ruikt wat naar futurepop. Spaces begint met een toespraak van de gewezen Amerikaanse president Bill Clinton waarin hij zijn affaire met Monica Lewinsky ontkent. Het is misschien wat goedkoop, maar in een mum van tijd ontpopt dit lied zich tot kwaliteitsvolle en vooral melancholische synthpop. We horen er zelfs een tikkeltje Alphaville in, en ja, voor ons is dat een goed teken!

Op de Conzoom-editie zijn er drie remixen toegevoegd die de tracks een clubsfeertje geven.

Neen, net zoals zo vele andere synthpopplaten zal Future Perfect met deze nieuwste cd de wereld niet veranderen, maar als je verslaafd bent aan synthetische klanken, werken de songs uiterst effectief!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos