tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUTURE PERFECT - After The Fall

FUTURE PERFECT

After The Fall

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Wave

[73/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Perfect Future means nothing to you, but this band from North Wales (well, actually the couple Simon and Rebecca Owen) makes synth pop since 2009. With an inspiration that comes from known examples such as Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys, After The Fall is the third record released by Perfect Future. Initially, the album was released independently, but the German Conzoom was so impressed that it re-released the album. Perhaps Future Perfect does nothing new, however during the quest for the perfect pop song, you’ll find a lot of beautiful gems, at least if you’re keen on synth pop with an EBM-layer.

Fall can be best described as contemporary synth pop with the grandeur of Duran Duran. Simple pop, it’s just that, but it works.

When Rebecca sings (like on Dangerous Desires), we even hear echoes of No Comment, if you still remember them! The more you hear this track, the more the music gets under your skin.

Neo Rom Com has punching EBM beats with a future pop touch. Spaces begins with a speech of former US President Bill Clinton in which he denies his affair with Monica Lewinsky. It might be a bit cheap, but in no time this song becomes melancholic synth pop. We even hear a tad of Alphaville, and for us that is a good sign!

On the Conzoom edition you find three remixes which give the tracks a club atmosphere.

Just like many other synth pop records, the new Future Perfect will not change the world, but if you're addicted to synthetic sounds, then the songs are very effective!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Future Perfect je bitter weinig (of zelfs helemaal niets), toch maakt deze band (nou ja, eigenlijk het echtpaar Simon en Rebecca Owen) sinds 2009 leuke synthpop. Het duo uit Noord-Wales dat zijn inspiraties bij bekende voorbeelden als Depeche Mode en Pet Shop Boys haalt, heeft met After The Fall zijn derde plaat uitgebracht. Aanvankelijk in eigen beheer, maar het Duitse Conzoom was zo onder de indruk, dat het de cd opnieuw heeft uitgebracht. Future Perfect doet misschien wel niks nieuws, toch zal je tijdens de zoektocht naar de ideale popsong heel wat mooie pareltjes ontdekken, ten minste als je verlekkerd bent op synthpop met een opzwepend EBM-laagje.

Fall is eigentijdse synthpop met (een beetje) de grandeur van Duran Duran. Simpele pop, meer is het niet, maar het werkt wel.

Als Rebecca zingt (bijv. op Dangerous Desires) horen we zelfs echo’s van No Comment, mocht je je ze nog herinneren! Hoe meer je deze track draait, des te meer de muziek onder je huid kruipt.

Neo Rom Com bevat stompende EBM-beats en ruikt wat naar futurepop. Spaces begint met een toespraak van de gewezen Amerikaanse president Bill Clinton waarin hij zijn affaire met Monica Lewinsky ontkent. Het is misschien wat goedkoop, maar in een mum van tijd ontpopt dit lied zich tot kwaliteitsvolle en vooral melancholische synthpop. We horen er zelfs een tikkeltje Alphaville in, en ja, voor ons is dat een goed teken!

Op de Conzoom-editie zijn er drie remixen toegevoegd die de tracks een clubsfeertje geven.

Neen, net zoals zo vele andere synthpopplaten zal Future Perfect met deze nieuwste cd de wereld niet veranderen, maar als je verslaafd bent aan synthetische klanken, werken de songs uiterst effectief!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)