tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RECORDERS - Coast To Coast

RECORDERS

Coast To Coast

MusicCD
Indie

[74/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The name Recorders is not exactly a godsend if you want to find more about this band on the net, but we guess that soon this won’t be a problem for this Brussels based band. With two albums in three years, and a record that counts thirteen tracks, you surely can say they’re busy bees. And even more, they’re perfectionists, because thanks to the excellent production of Charles De Schutter, who has worked with top musicians like Elliott Smith, Coast To Coast sounds flawless.

From the first track A Church Of Dust And Rubble, you notice that the backbone of Recorders is Gordon Delacroix’s golden voice that makes you think of Guy Garvey of Elbow or Stuart Staples of Tindersticks. A voice that is able to warm your soul for more than an hour, especially with thirteen songs that hover between intelligent indie and hip folktronica.

Recorders sounds like a mature band, but with a love for pop. Cutting Clouds is a nice sing-a-long, although irresistible. And you can put on your dancing shoes on Time Is A Flat Circle, although we like Recorders best when the quintet plays majestic pop anthems as Echo And The Bunnymen used to do (just listen to Summit and you know what we mean).

Coast To Coast is not an innovative record, but a wonderful proof that indie music is far from dead!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De naam Recorders is niet meteen een godsgeschenk als je iets wil vinden over deze band op het net, maar deze Brusselaars beschikken over zo veel talent dat dit wellicht weldra geen probleem meer zal zijn. Met twee albums in drie jaar tijd, en een plaat die dertien tracks telt, kan je het vijftal gerust omschrijven als werkmieren. En het zijn bovendien ook nog perfectionisten, want mede door de uitstekende productie van Charles De Schutter, die al eerder werkte met topmusici als Elliot Smith, klinkt alles op Coast To Coast loepzuiver zonder dat het afgelikt lijkt.

Vanaf de eerste track A Church Of Dust And Rubble wordt duidelijk dat de troef van Recorders de gouden stem van Gordon Delacroix is, eentje die je doet denken aan Guy Garvey van Elbow of zelfs Stuart Staples van Tindersticks. Een stem die in staat is om je meer dan een uur te verwarmen, iets wat zeker lukt als ze deel uitmaakt van dertien songs die zweven tussen intelligente indie en hippe folktronica.

Recorders klinkt als een volwassen band, maar schuwt de pop niet. Zo is Cutting Clouds uiterst meezingbaar, maar tevens onweerstaanbaar. Maar er mag ook gedanst worden, Time Is A Flat Circle is heerlijk heupwiegend, alhoewel we Recorders toch het liefst horen als het even majestueus als Echo And The Bunnymen klinkt (luister gewoon naar Summit en je weet wat we bedoelen).

Coast To Coast is zeker geen innoverende plaat, wel een prachtbewijs dat indiemuziek nog lang niet dood is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?