tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : CRANIAL - Dead Ends

CRANIAL

Dead Ends

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metalsludge

[80/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When Omega Massif disbanded, a few members started Phantom Winter, while others formed Blacksmoker. Michael Melchers (guitar) was the last one who started an band: Cranial. At the end of 2014, he wrote the first songs with other artists.

The result can be heard on this EP, which consist of two tracks that last approximately 10 minutes each. An epic sound with clear melodic guitar lines. The result is between classic metal and sludge post-metal.

Limes begins with a heavy sounding bass, complemented with a guitar. It sounds a bit post-punk, at least until the drums start and then we hear typical sludge metal. The song is very groovy with tempo changes and abrupt transitions which make the track fascinating.

Nightbringer has an atmospheric intro. The track clearly illustrates what is on the cover: the depths of the underworld. As told before, Limes is post-metal with sludge influences, while Nightbringer is pure sludge with post-metal elements. Slowly the song climbs to a climax, what a great tune!

A brilliant EP which is available on CD, vinyl, tape and mp3. The vinyl version has a photo print on the B-side with a stamped logo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Toen Omega Massif ophield, richtten een paar leden Phantom Winter op, en anderen Blacksmoker. Michael Melchers (gitaar) was de laatste die zelf ook aan een nieuwe band begon: Cranial. Eind 2014 schreef hij met een aantal artiesten de allereerste songs.

Het resultaat is deze ep die uit twee tracks van ongeveer 10 minuten bestaat. Episch met een heavy sfeer, voorzien van heldere melodieuze gitaarlijnen. Het resultaat is klassieke metal met sludge-invloeden.

Limes begint met een zware bas en een gitaarlijn bovenop. Het klinkt als post-punk, tot de drums invallen en de boel vuur vat. De zang is typisch voor het sludge- en metalgenre. Tempowisselingen en abrupte overgangen zorgen ervoor dat de groovy song boeiend blijft.

Nightbringer heeft een sfeerrijk intro. De track ademt alles van de hoesfoto uit, je waant jezelf in de krochten van de onderwereld. Waar Limes eerder postmetal met sludge-invloeden was, kunnen we hier eerder spreken van sludge met postmetalelementen. Soms valt de song bijna stil, om dan weer tempo te maken en langzaam naar een climax te klimmen. Knap.

Een geslaagde ep die verkrijgbaar is op cd, vinyl, tape en mp3. De vinylversie heeft een fotoprint op de b-kant met daarop een stempel van het logo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down