tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : CRANIAL - Dead Ends

CRANIAL

Dead Ends

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metalsludge

[80/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When Omega Massif disbanded, a few members started Phantom Winter, while others formed Blacksmoker. Michael Melchers (guitar) was the last one who started an band: Cranial. At the end of 2014, he wrote the first songs with other artists.

The result can be heard on this EP, which consist of two tracks that last approximately 10 minutes each. An epic sound with clear melodic guitar lines. The result is between classic metal and sludge post-metal.

Limes begins with a heavy sounding bass, complemented with a guitar. It sounds a bit post-punk, at least until the drums start and then we hear typical sludge metal. The song is very groovy with tempo changes and abrupt transitions which make the track fascinating.

Nightbringer has an atmospheric intro. The track clearly illustrates what is on the cover: the depths of the underworld. As told before, Limes is post-metal with sludge influences, while Nightbringer is pure sludge with post-metal elements. Slowly the song climbs to a climax, what a great tune!

A brilliant EP which is available on CD, vinyl, tape and mp3. The vinyl version has a photo print on the B-side with a stamped logo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Toen Omega Massif ophield, richtten een paar leden Phantom Winter op, en anderen Blacksmoker. Michael Melchers (gitaar) was de laatste die zelf ook aan een nieuwe band begon: Cranial. Eind 2014 schreef hij met een aantal artiesten de allereerste songs.

Het resultaat is deze ep die uit twee tracks van ongeveer 10 minuten bestaat. Episch met een heavy sfeer, voorzien van heldere melodieuze gitaarlijnen. Het resultaat is klassieke metal met sludge-invloeden.

Limes begint met een zware bas en een gitaarlijn bovenop. Het klinkt als post-punk, tot de drums invallen en de boel vuur vat. De zang is typisch voor het sludge- en metalgenre. Tempowisselingen en abrupte overgangen zorgen ervoor dat de groovy song boeiend blijft.

Nightbringer heeft een sfeerrijk intro. De track ademt alles van de hoesfoto uit, je waant jezelf in de krochten van de onderwereld. Waar Limes eerder postmetal met sludge-invloeden was, kunnen we hier eerder spreken van sludge met postmetalelementen. Soms valt de song bijna stil, om dan weer tempo te maken en langzaam naar een climax te klimmen. Knap.

Een geslaagde ep die verkrijgbaar is op cd, vinyl, tape en mp3. De vinylversie heeft een fotoprint op de b-kant met daarop een stempel van het logo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl