tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/03/2015 : DESERT STORM - Omniscient

DESERT STORM

Omniscient

MusicCD
Hard RocksludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Blindsight Records
11/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Desert Storm sounds a little bit like a mixture of Motörhead and Monster Magnet. There are definitely worse bands around to be compared with, I guess, especially because their songs also have stoner, blues and rock ’n roll influences. A very convincing sound and one that needs to be described with superlatives. Starter Outlander sounds like a hurricane, testosterone and beer crates are flying through the air. No time to catch your breath, because the album has the sound of a runaway train. Queen Reefer has a quieter part, but Home is the only rest point on their album. This atmospheric and emotional sung track is accompanied by an acoustic guitar: beautiful and surprising. House of Salvation is more bluesy. Not really my taste, as I like them more when they combine their music with stoner influences…

I guess they must be awesome on stage, a real tip for the lovers of heavy riffs, or wild parties!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


NL

Desert Storm klinkt een beetje als een kruising tussen Motörhead en Monster Magnet met stoner-, blues- en rock'n roll- invloeden. Er zijn inderdaad slechtere bands om mee te worden vergeleken. Heel overtuigend en alles in de overtreffende trap. Opener Outlander klinkt als een wervelwind, waarbij testosteron en bierbakken in het rond vliegen. Geen tijd om op adem te komen, want het album raast voort als een losgeslagen stoomtrein. Queen Reefer heeft een rustiger tussenstukje, maar daarna gaat het genadeloos door. Home is het enige rustpunt op deze plaat. Een sfeervol en gevoelig gezongen nummer dat door een akoestische gitaar wordt begeleid, heel mooi en verrassend gedaan. House of Salvation is een echte bluesy hardrocker en is naar mijn normen iets te schatplichtig aan het bluesgenre, gewoon omdat ik ze interessanter vind als ze hun muziek met stonerrock mengen. Live moet deze band waarschijnlijk ruiten doen knallen en dus zijn oordoppen aan te raden. Voor de liefhebbers van vette riffs en wilde feestjes is deze cd een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


 

Next reviews
• PRISONERS OF WAR - SEASON 2
JEAN-LUC GODARD • BANDE A PART
TAYLOR LOCKE • Time Stands Still
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)