tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/03/2015 : DESERT STORM - Omniscient

DESERT STORM

Omniscient

MusicCD
Hard RocksludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Blindsight Records
11/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Desert Storm sounds a little bit like a mixture of Motörhead and Monster Magnet. There are definitely worse bands around to be compared with, I guess, especially because their songs also have stoner, blues and rock ’n roll influences. A very convincing sound and one that needs to be described with superlatives. Starter Outlander sounds like a hurricane, testosterone and beer crates are flying through the air. No time to catch your breath, because the album has the sound of a runaway train. Queen Reefer has a quieter part, but Home is the only rest point on their album. This atmospheric and emotional sung track is accompanied by an acoustic guitar: beautiful and surprising. House of Salvation is more bluesy. Not really my taste, as I like them more when they combine their music with stoner influences…

I guess they must be awesome on stage, a real tip for the lovers of heavy riffs, or wild parties!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


NL

Desert Storm klinkt een beetje als een kruising tussen Motörhead en Monster Magnet met stoner-, blues- en rock'n roll- invloeden. Er zijn inderdaad slechtere bands om mee te worden vergeleken. Heel overtuigend en alles in de overtreffende trap. Opener Outlander klinkt als een wervelwind, waarbij testosteron en bierbakken in het rond vliegen. Geen tijd om op adem te komen, want het album raast voort als een losgeslagen stoomtrein. Queen Reefer heeft een rustiger tussenstukje, maar daarna gaat het genadeloos door. Home is het enige rustpunt op deze plaat. Een sfeervol en gevoelig gezongen nummer dat door een akoestische gitaar wordt begeleid, heel mooi en verrassend gedaan. House of Salvation is een echte bluesy hardrocker en is naar mijn normen iets te schatplichtig aan het bluesgenre, gewoon omdat ik ze interessanter vind als ze hun muziek met stonerrock mengen. Live moet deze band waarschijnlijk ruiten doen knallen en dus zijn oordoppen aan te raden. Voor de liefhebbers van vette riffs en wilde feestjes is deze cd een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


 

Next reviews
• PRISONERS OF WAR - SEASON 2
JEAN-LUC GODARD • BANDE A PART
TAYLOR LOCKE • Time Stands Still
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

18
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
THE HORRORIST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
XOTOX
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
ELM
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One