tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/03/2015 : DESERT STORM - Omniscient

DESERT STORM

Omniscient

MusicCD
Hard RocksludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Blindsight Records
11/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Desert Storm sounds a little bit like a mixture of Motörhead and Monster Magnet. There are definitely worse bands around to be compared with, I guess, especially because their songs also have stoner, blues and rock ’n roll influences. A very convincing sound and one that needs to be described with superlatives. Starter Outlander sounds like a hurricane, testosterone and beer crates are flying through the air. No time to catch your breath, because the album has the sound of a runaway train. Queen Reefer has a quieter part, but Home is the only rest point on their album. This atmospheric and emotional sung track is accompanied by an acoustic guitar: beautiful and surprising. House of Salvation is more bluesy. Not really my taste, as I like them more when they combine their music with stoner influences…

I guess they must be awesome on stage, a real tip for the lovers of heavy riffs, or wild parties!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


NL

Desert Storm klinkt een beetje als een kruising tussen Motörhead en Monster Magnet met stoner-, blues- en rock'n roll- invloeden. Er zijn inderdaad slechtere bands om mee te worden vergeleken. Heel overtuigend en alles in de overtreffende trap. Opener Outlander klinkt als een wervelwind, waarbij testosteron en bierbakken in het rond vliegen. Geen tijd om op adem te komen, want het album raast voort als een losgeslagen stoomtrein. Queen Reefer heeft een rustiger tussenstukje, maar daarna gaat het genadeloos door. Home is het enige rustpunt op deze plaat. Een sfeervol en gevoelig gezongen nummer dat door een akoestische gitaar wordt begeleid, heel mooi en verrassend gedaan. House of Salvation is een echte bluesy hardrocker en is naar mijn normen iets te schatplichtig aan het bluesgenre, gewoon omdat ik ze interessanter vind als ze hun muziek met stonerrock mengen. Live moet deze band waarschijnlijk ruiten doen knallen en dus zijn oordoppen aan te raden. Voor de liefhebbers van vette riffs en wilde feestjes is deze cd een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


 

Next reviews
• PRISONERS OF WAR - SEASON 2
JEAN-LUC GODARD • BANDE A PART
TAYLOR LOCKE • Time Stands Still
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)