tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/03/2015 : DESERT STORM - Omniscient

DESERT STORM

Omniscient

MusicCD
Hard RocksludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Blindsight Records
11/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Desert Storm sounds a little bit like a mixture of Motörhead and Monster Magnet. There are definitely worse bands around to be compared with, I guess, especially because their songs also have stoner, blues and rock ’n roll influences. A very convincing sound and one that needs to be described with superlatives. Starter Outlander sounds like a hurricane, testosterone and beer crates are flying through the air. No time to catch your breath, because the album has the sound of a runaway train. Queen Reefer has a quieter part, but Home is the only rest point on their album. This atmospheric and emotional sung track is accompanied by an acoustic guitar: beautiful and surprising. House of Salvation is more bluesy. Not really my taste, as I like them more when they combine their music with stoner influences…

I guess they must be awesome on stage, a real tip for the lovers of heavy riffs, or wild parties!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


NL

Desert Storm klinkt een beetje als een kruising tussen Motörhead en Monster Magnet met stoner-, blues- en rock'n roll- invloeden. Er zijn inderdaad slechtere bands om mee te worden vergeleken. Heel overtuigend en alles in de overtreffende trap. Opener Outlander klinkt als een wervelwind, waarbij testosteron en bierbakken in het rond vliegen. Geen tijd om op adem te komen, want het album raast voort als een losgeslagen stoomtrein. Queen Reefer heeft een rustiger tussenstukje, maar daarna gaat het genadeloos door. Home is het enige rustpunt op deze plaat. Een sfeervol en gevoelig gezongen nummer dat door een akoestische gitaar wordt begeleid, heel mooi en verrassend gedaan. House of Salvation is een echte bluesy hardrocker en is naar mijn normen iets te schatplichtig aan het bluesgenre, gewoon omdat ik ze interessanter vind als ze hun muziek met stonerrock mengen. Live moet deze band waarschijnlijk ruiten doen knallen en dus zijn oordoppen aan te raden. Voor de liefhebbers van vette riffs en wilde feestjes is deze cd een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/03/2015


 

Next reviews
• PRISONERS OF WAR - SEASON 2
JEAN-LUC GODARD • BANDE A PART
TAYLOR LOCKE • Time Stands Still
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back