tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

HANGMAN'S CHAIR

This is not Supposed to be Positive

MusicCD
DoomStoner Rock

[80/100]   

Musicfearsatan
06/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This doom/stoner rock band from Paris just made its fourth album. The first thing you notice is that it sounds a bit lighter than their previous work. The vocals are almost completely clean and much more melodic than before. That is something remarkable in this genre, although they retain their own style and individuality.

Despite the fact that the songs remain quite heavy, the different approach gives the songs a much wider and more attractive sound. At times, the long pieces remind us of Steak Number Eight (Belgian band-ed.). Their music also contains some influences from bands such as Mastodon (the guitars) or Alice in Chains (the vocals). The clean vocals fit very well with the dark and gloomy atmosphere.

A good album that is available as a double LP. A tour is expected in 2016.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


NL

Deze doom-/stonerrockband uit Parijs is ondertussen aan zijn vierde release toe. Het eerste wat opvalt is dat dit album wat lichter klinkt dan hun voorgaande werk. Ook de vocalen zijn bijna helemaal clean en veel melodieuzer dan vroeger, wat opvallend is in dit genre, ofschoon ze hun stijl en eigenheid behouden.

Ondanks het feit dat de songs vrij zwaar blijven, is er deze keer voor een andere benadering gekozen waardoor de nummers een wijder, maar ook aantrekkelijerk geluid krijgen. Bij momenten doen de lange en uitgesponnen stukken je wat aan Steak Number Eight denken. Ook bevat hun muziek heel wat invloeden van bands zoals Mastodon (het gitaarwerk) of Alice in Chains (de zang). De cleane zang past trouwens zeer goed bij de donkere en sombere sfeer.

Een goed album dus dat verkrijgbaar is als dubbel-lp. Een tournee wordt in 2016 verwacht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive 06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life