tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

HANGMAN'S CHAIR

This is not Supposed to be Positive

MusicCD
DoomStoner Rock

[80/100]   

Musicfearsatan
06/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This doom/stoner rock band from Paris just made its fourth album. The first thing you notice is that it sounds a bit lighter than their previous work. The vocals are almost completely clean and much more melodic than before. That is something remarkable in this genre, although they retain their own style and individuality.

Despite the fact that the songs remain quite heavy, the different approach gives the songs a much wider and more attractive sound. At times, the long pieces remind us of Steak Number Eight (Belgian band-ed.). Their music also contains some influences from bands such as Mastodon (the guitars) or Alice in Chains (the vocals). The clean vocals fit very well with the dark and gloomy atmosphere.

A good album that is available as a double LP. A tour is expected in 2016.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


NL

Deze doom-/stonerrockband uit Parijs is ondertussen aan zijn vierde release toe. Het eerste wat opvalt is dat dit album wat lichter klinkt dan hun voorgaande werk. Ook de vocalen zijn bijna helemaal clean en veel melodieuzer dan vroeger, wat opvallend is in dit genre, ofschoon ze hun stijl en eigenheid behouden.

Ondanks het feit dat de songs vrij zwaar blijven, is er deze keer voor een andere benadering gekozen waardoor de nummers een wijder, maar ook aantrekkelijerk geluid krijgen. Bij momenten doen de lange en uitgesponnen stukken je wat aan Steak Number Eight denken. Ook bevat hun muziek heel wat invloeden van bands zoals Mastodon (het gitaarwerk) of Alice in Chains (de zang). De cleane zang past trouwens zeer goed bij de donkere en sombere sfeer.

Een goed album dus dat verkrijgbaar is als dubbel-lp. Een tournee wordt in 2016 verwacht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive 06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love