tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

HANGMAN'S CHAIR

This is not Supposed to be Positive

MusicCD
DoomStoner Rock

[80/100]   

Musicfearsatan
06/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This doom/stoner rock band from Paris just made its fourth album. The first thing you notice is that it sounds a bit lighter than their previous work. The vocals are almost completely clean and much more melodic than before. That is something remarkable in this genre, although they retain their own style and individuality.

Despite the fact that the songs remain quite heavy, the different approach gives the songs a much wider and more attractive sound. At times, the long pieces remind us of Steak Number Eight (Belgian band-ed.). Their music also contains some influences from bands such as Mastodon (the guitars) or Alice in Chains (the vocals). The clean vocals fit very well with the dark and gloomy atmosphere.

A good album that is available as a double LP. A tour is expected in 2016.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


NL

Deze doom-/stonerrockband uit Parijs is ondertussen aan zijn vierde release toe. Het eerste wat opvalt is dat dit album wat lichter klinkt dan hun voorgaande werk. Ook de vocalen zijn bijna helemaal clean en veel melodieuzer dan vroeger, wat opvallend is in dit genre, ofschoon ze hun stijl en eigenheid behouden.

Ondanks het feit dat de songs vrij zwaar blijven, is er deze keer voor een andere benadering gekozen waardoor de nummers een wijder, maar ook aantrekkelijerk geluid krijgen. Bij momenten doen de lange en uitgesponnen stukken je wat aan Steak Number Eight denken. Ook bevat hun muziek heel wat invloeden van bands zoals Mastodon (het gitaarwerk) of Alice in Chains (de zang). De cleane zang past trouwens zeer goed bij de donkere en sombere sfeer.

Een goed album dus dat verkrijgbaar is als dubbel-lp. Een tournee wordt in 2016 verwacht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive 06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide