tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : YOUTH LAGOON - Savage Hills Ballroom

YOUTH LAGOON

Savage Hills Ballroom

MusicCD
Americana-BluesCountryDreampopIndie

[72/100]   

Fat Possum Records
04/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

With Savage Hills Ballroom, Youth Lagoon (or Trevor Powers if you want to know his real name) presents his third album. With his previous works The Year Of Hibernation and Wondrous Bughouse the young man from San Diego became in no time the king of lo-fi dreampop. The expectations for his third album were very high, but on the cover Powers just mentions "A collection of 10 songs by Youth Lagoon", as if it is not more than a set of lost B-sides.

Before Youth Lagoon fans try to jump under a train, they better know that Savage Hills Ballroom is a good album (and even more than that), but the disc needs some spins before it shows its beauty.

On his previous albums Trevor Powers was in the first place an ingenious pianist and still now, that is the instrument that dominates, albeit without the lo-fi profile. It’s like walking in some fairytale musical forest like only Mercury Rev can create it

That's already the case in the opener Officer Telephone. It takes some time before you get used to his nagging voice that would fit ideally in a Pavlov's Dog imitation group, but once you get over that threshold, you will be pleased to listen to the lamentations of this man.

In Highway Patrol Stun Gun Powers Trevor shamelessly rips off Struggle For Pleasure by Wim Mertens. And well, apparently he likes to steal other people's ideas, because Free Me is a blueprint of Crucify by Tori Amos. And yet, Youth Lagoon gets away with it and that's because this young American knows very well how to pen down the ideal melancholic pop song. Listen for example to The Knower and youwill instantly realize that all your Keane CD’s have to land in the garbage can (something you should have done years ago!)

Savage Hills Ballroom is far from original, but the captain knows damn well which waves he has to sail to touch the hearts of his passengers.

Didier BECU
04/10/2015


NL

Met Savage Hills Ballroom is Youth Lagoon (of Trevor Powers indien u zijn echte naam wenst te horen) aan zijn derde album toe. Met zijn vorige platen The Year Of Hibernation en Wondrous Bughouse werd de jongeman uit San Diego in geen tijd tot de koning van de lo-fi dreampop gekroond. De verwachtingen voor zijn derde (rijpere) plaat zijn dan ook torenhoog gespannen, maar Powers voegt op de hoes van zijn nieuwste telg gewoon doodleuk de woorden “A collection of 10 songs by Youth Lagoon” toe, net alsof het om niet meer dan een serie afdankertjes gaat.

Vooraleer de Youth Lagoon-fans overwegen om massaal onder een trein te springen, mogen ze gerust zijn: Savage Hills Ballroom is een knappe plaat (en zelfs meer dan dat), alleen heeft het schijfje heel wat draaibeurten nodig vooraleer het ook maar iets van zijn schoonheid laat zien.

Trevor Powers viel destijds in de eerste plaats vooral door zijn ingenieuze pianospel op en dat is ook nu nog altijd het instrument dat overheerst, alleen is hier van lo-fi absoluut geen sprake meer, maar wandel je zorgeloos in een sprookjesachtig muzikaal bos rond zoals alleen Mercury Rev het kan creëren.

Dat is meteen het geval bij de opener Officer Telephone. Het is wel wat wennen aan zijn zeurderige stem die ideaal zou zijn voor een Pavlov’s Dog-imitatiegroepje, maar eens je over deze drempel heen bent, zal je met plezier naar de klaagliederen van de man luisteren. In Highway Patrol Stun Gun durft Powers het aan om schaamteloos Struggle For Pleasure van Wim Mertens (voor cultuurbarbaren het Proximus-liedje dus) te plagiëren. En tja, blijkbaar houdt hij ervan om andermans ideeën te stelen, want Free Me is gewoon niet meer dan een doordruk van Crucify van Tori Amos. En toch raakt Youth Lagoon er mooi mee weg en dat komt omdat deze jonge Amerikaan zeer goed weet hoe het ideale melancholische poplied moet klinken. Luister bijv. naar The Knower en je kiepert meteen al je Keane-platen de vuilnisbak in (iets wat je trouwens eigenlijk al heel lang had moeten doen!).

Savage Hills Ballroom is verre van origineel, maar de kapitein van het schip weet verdomd goed langs welke golven hij moet varen om het hart van zijn toeschouwers te raken.

Didier BECU
04/10/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life