tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

26/09/2015 : YOUTH LAGOON - The Knower

YOUTH LAGOON

The Knower

MusicCD single
PopRock

[75/100]   

PIAS
26/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

To promote the album Savage Hills Ballroom by Youth Lagoon, PIAS releases the first single The Knower. The album was recorded in Bristol and mixed by Ali Chant, who worked with PJ Harvey and Gravenhurst. Savage Hills Ballroom is the third album of Youth Lagoon, aka the American musician Trevor Powers.

On his two previous albums, Powers experimented with minimalist, ambient, atmospheric and electronic elements, but little of that remains in The Knower, because since the death of a close friend, for which he broke off a US tour in 2013, he has given the objectives of Youth Lagoon a very different focus. In The Knower, the artist evolves in the direction of prevailing rock music and the sound is more commercial than in the past. The single gets layered percussion and minimalist electronics, over which the singer spreads the vocals with a quite high voice. You hear brass instruments, an attractive choir in the background and emphatic drumming, and as a consequence The Knowner grows into a rocker with quite a bit of R & B influences. Don’t be surprised if the song shows up in the UK or US charts!

On September 28, Youth Lagoon will perform in the rotunda of the Botanique in Brussels.


 

William LIÉNARD
26/09/2015


NL

Ter promotie van het album Savage Hills Ballroom van Youth Lagoon, brengt Pias de eerste single The Knower uit. Het album is opgenomen in Bristol en gemixt door Ali Chant, die eerder ook al werk van PJ Harvey en Gravenhurst onderhanden nam. Savage Hills Ballroom is het derde album van Youth Lagoon, waarachter de Amerikaanse muzikant Trevor Powers schuilgaat.

Op z’n beide vorige albums experimenteerde Powers hoofdzakelijk met minimalistische, ambiente, atmosferische en elektronische elementen, maar daarvan blijft in The Knower weinig over, want sinds de dood van een naaste vriend, waardoor hij in 2013 een Amerikaanse tournee afbrak, heeft hij naar eigen zeggen de doelstellingen van Youth Lagoon een heel andere focus gegeven. In The Knower schuift de artiest een flink stuk in de richting van gangbare rockmuziek en klinkt hij commerciëler dan je gezien zijn verleden zou verwachten. De single krijgt gelaagde percussie en minimalistische elektronica waarover de zanger met een vrij hoog stemmetje z’n vocalen uitspreidt. Je hoort koperinstrumenten, een aantrekkelijk koortje op de achtergrond en nadrukkelijk drumwerk waardoor The Knowner uitgroeit tot een mid tempo rocker met nogal wat r&b-invloeden, waarvan je je kan voorstellen dat hij gemakkelijk de Britse, maar vooral de Amerikaanse hitparade kan bereiken.

Op 28 september treedt Youth Lagoon op in de rotonde van de Botanique in Brussel.

William LIÉNARD
26/09/2015


 

Next reviews
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
BACH FAMILY • Magnificat (Choir & Orchestra Arcangelo, Antwerpen, deSingel, 24/09/2015)
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
SILVERBIRD • Running
HEATHER H CELESTE • Modern Death
HIGH TINY HAIRS • High Tiny Hairs
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
KODIAK DEATHBEDS • Kodiak Deathbeds

 

Other reviews from YOUTH LAGOON
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
MEILYR JONES • 2013
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You