tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

26/09/2015 : YOUTH LAGOON - The Knower

YOUTH LAGOON

The Knower

MusicCD single
PopRock

[75/100]   

PIAS
26/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

To promote the album Savage Hills Ballroom by Youth Lagoon, PIAS releases the first single The Knower. The album was recorded in Bristol and mixed by Ali Chant, who worked with PJ Harvey and Gravenhurst. Savage Hills Ballroom is the third album of Youth Lagoon, aka the American musician Trevor Powers.

On his two previous albums, Powers experimented with minimalist, ambient, atmospheric and electronic elements, but little of that remains in The Knower, because since the death of a close friend, for which he broke off a US tour in 2013, he has given the objectives of Youth Lagoon a very different focus. In The Knower, the artist evolves in the direction of prevailing rock music and the sound is more commercial than in the past. The single gets layered percussion and minimalist electronics, over which the singer spreads the vocals with a quite high voice. You hear brass instruments, an attractive choir in the background and emphatic drumming, and as a consequence The Knowner grows into a rocker with quite a bit of R & B influences. Don’t be surprised if the song shows up in the UK or US charts!

On September 28, Youth Lagoon will perform in the rotunda of the Botanique in Brussels.


 

William LIÉNARD
26/09/2015


NL

Ter promotie van het album Savage Hills Ballroom van Youth Lagoon, brengt Pias de eerste single The Knower uit. Het album is opgenomen in Bristol en gemixt door Ali Chant, die eerder ook al werk van PJ Harvey en Gravenhurst onderhanden nam. Savage Hills Ballroom is het derde album van Youth Lagoon, waarachter de Amerikaanse muzikant Trevor Powers schuilgaat.

Op z’n beide vorige albums experimenteerde Powers hoofdzakelijk met minimalistische, ambiente, atmosferische en elektronische elementen, maar daarvan blijft in The Knower weinig over, want sinds de dood van een naaste vriend, waardoor hij in 2013 een Amerikaanse tournee afbrak, heeft hij naar eigen zeggen de doelstellingen van Youth Lagoon een heel andere focus gegeven. In The Knower schuift de artiest een flink stuk in de richting van gangbare rockmuziek en klinkt hij commerciëler dan je gezien zijn verleden zou verwachten. De single krijgt gelaagde percussie en minimalistische elektronica waarover de zanger met een vrij hoog stemmetje z’n vocalen uitspreidt. Je hoort koperinstrumenten, een aantrekkelijk koortje op de achtergrond en nadrukkelijk drumwerk waardoor The Knowner uitgroeit tot een mid tempo rocker met nogal wat r&b-invloeden, waarvan je je kan voorstellen dat hij gemakkelijk de Britse, maar vooral de Amerikaanse hitparade kan bereiken.

Op 28 september treedt Youth Lagoon op in de rotonde van de Botanique in Brussel.

William LIÉNARD
26/09/2015


 

Next reviews
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
BACH FAMILY • Magnificat (Choir & Orchestra Arcangelo, Antwerpen, deSingel, 24/09/2015)
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
SILVERBIRD • Running
HEATHER H CELESTE • Modern Death
HIGH TINY HAIRS • High Tiny Hairs
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
KODIAK DEATHBEDS • Kodiak Deathbeds

 

Other reviews from YOUTH LAGOON
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
MEILYR JONES • 2013
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire