tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/09/2015 : ROSEAU - Salt

ROSEAU

Salt

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndie

[74/100]   

Big Dada
26/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Anyone who knows anything about geography, will probably associate Roseau with the capital of the Caribbean island state of Dominica, but since the debut album Salt came out, this name also means something in music. The London based Kerry Leatham is born in Roseau (hence the name), but don’t expect hip world music of her, becvaus was she does sounds more like (almost minimalist) electro-pop.

Already from her childhood days, Roseau composed music. Just like then, she also does most things by herself. It is not so easy to categorize Roseau’s music (not that it is necessary to do so). The title track Salt is somewhat similar to This Mortal Coil, Kids And Drunks rather sounds like LoneLady, while Florida is just contemporary indie electro-pop that takes its inspiration from say Hot Chip.

For 37 minutes Roseau offers you delicious pop songs, they are all little nothings that linger in your head after a few spins. This debut is now out on Big Dada (the sublabel of Ninja Tune, that also features Young Fathers).

Didier BECU
26/09/2015


NL

Wie iets van aardrijkskunde afweet, zal wellicht Roseau onmiddellijk met de hoofdstad van de Caraïbische eilandstaat Dominica associëren, maar sinds de debuutplaat Salt betekent de naam ook iets in muziekland. De Londense Kerry Leatham is in Roseau geboren (vandaar de naam), maar verwacht van haar geen hippe wereldmuziek, eerder ingetogen, bijna minimalistische electropop.

Vanaf haar kinderjaren componeerde Roseau nummertjes. Net zoals vroeger, doet ze ook nu bijna alles alleen. Met een laptop en de noodzakelijke programma’s kun je vandaag immers heel wat bereiken.

Het is niet zo eenvoudig om een stempel op Roseaus muziek te drukken (als dat al nodig is). De titeltrack Salt lijkt wat op This Mortal Coil, Kids And Drunks is dan weer pure Lonelady, terwijl Florida gewoon eigentijdse indie-electropop is die zijn inspiratie uit pakweg Hot Chip haalt.

37 minuten lang verwent Roseau je op heerlijke popliedjes, niemendalletjes die na een paar luisterbeurten in je hoofd blijven hangen. Nu uit op Big Dada (het sublabel van Ninja Tune, waarop ook Young Fathers zitten).

Didier BECU
26/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design