tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/09/2015 : ROSEAU - Salt

ROSEAU

Salt

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndie

[74/100]   

Big Dada
26/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Anyone who knows anything about geography, will probably associate Roseau with the capital of the Caribbean island state of Dominica, but since the debut album Salt came out, this name also means something in music. The London based Kerry Leatham is born in Roseau (hence the name), but don’t expect hip world music of her, becvaus was she does sounds more like (almost minimalist) electro-pop.

Already from her childhood days, Roseau composed music. Just like then, she also does most things by herself. It is not so easy to categorize Roseau’s music (not that it is necessary to do so). The title track Salt is somewhat similar to This Mortal Coil, Kids And Drunks rather sounds like LoneLady, while Florida is just contemporary indie electro-pop that takes its inspiration from say Hot Chip.

For 37 minutes Roseau offers you delicious pop songs, they are all little nothings that linger in your head after a few spins. This debut is now out on Big Dada (the sublabel of Ninja Tune, that also features Young Fathers).

Didier BECU
26/09/2015


NL

Wie iets van aardrijkskunde afweet, zal wellicht Roseau onmiddellijk met de hoofdstad van de Caraïbische eilandstaat Dominica associëren, maar sinds de debuutplaat Salt betekent de naam ook iets in muziekland. De Londense Kerry Leatham is in Roseau geboren (vandaar de naam), maar verwacht van haar geen hippe wereldmuziek, eerder ingetogen, bijna minimalistische electropop.

Vanaf haar kinderjaren componeerde Roseau nummertjes. Net zoals vroeger, doet ze ook nu bijna alles alleen. Met een laptop en de noodzakelijke programma’s kun je vandaag immers heel wat bereiken.

Het is niet zo eenvoudig om een stempel op Roseaus muziek te drukken (als dat al nodig is). De titeltrack Salt lijkt wat op This Mortal Coil, Kids And Drunks is dan weer pure Lonelady, terwijl Florida gewoon eigentijdse indie-electropop is die zijn inspiratie uit pakweg Hot Chip haalt.

37 minuten lang verwent Roseau je op heerlijke popliedjes, niemendalletjes die na een paar luisterbeurten in je hoofd blijven hangen. Nu uit op Big Dada (het sublabel van Ninja Tune, waarop ook Young Fathers zitten).

Didier BECU
26/09/2015


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)