tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/10/2014 : PEAKING LIGHTS - Cosmic Logic

PEAKING LIGHTS

Cosmic Logic

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndieRiot Grrrl

[60/100]   

Domino Records
16/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Although this husband and wife pairing are often lumped in with psychedelic acts, Peaking Lights have ensured that Cosmic Logic represents their more electronic side of their art, rather than the authentic analogue version that created earlier releases.

Suffice to say that album number eight (if you count the Lucifer Dub and rare CDrs of their earlier years) is an odd beast, jammed packed with minimal beats and barely-there melodies that tend to drift likably by without much fanfare.


The highlights include the squelchy Eyes To Sea, the airy Everyone And Us and the bouncy Hypnotic Hustle, all moderately memorable and great headphone-listening. Breakdown is a pleasant single-choice, little more, but New Grrls pays homage to strong-minded women of the past, present and future, observing that 'Riot Grrls gave me a voice...' and 'Joan Jett on the jukebox when I went out...'.

However, the rest of Cosmic Logic is a bit of a letdown when compared to 936 or the excellent Lucifer Dub album. Maybe Coyes and Dunis should just release dub-mixes of their albums - they're halfway there already with this sparsely produced set. Ultimately, Peaking Lights have swept away the darkness of previous albums and singles and replaced it with stripped-back pop that may or may not dwindle their audience numbers in the coming months.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
16/10/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper