tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HOLE - My Body, The Hand Grenade

HOLE

My Body, The Hand Grenade

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[95/100]   

City Slang Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You can say what you want about Courtney Love. She has a big mouth, she adores media attention, she’s doing things you do not expect someone will do (well) and some even think she better never crossed the path of Kurt Cobain. Perhaps that’s true, but at the beginning of the 90s, there was only one woman who had the right to crown herself as the ultimate rock crown 'n roll queen, and that is Courtney Love.

Before her Hole adventure began, she was in Pagan Babies with Kat Bjelland (later Babes In Toyland), and was noticed by Alex Cox and (yes) Andy Warhol.

Even the biggest fans will admit that Love sometimes makes some cheap gestures (bare breasts and buttocks always are loved), but she was equally as important as Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill) and gave women a voice thanks to the Riot Grrrl movement. At the same time, she played on safe because most fans hoped, to see "accidentally" a tit, but that was her image.

I consider myself a very big fan and do not understand why I have to explain why Hole is so fantastic every time again. Hole is the true expression of your inner feelings, the soundtrack when you want to carve knives in your body, the sound of inner demons. Oh, Hole is so much better than Nirvana (we already see those negative comments on our Facebook page right now!).

Although today Courtney Love is as relevant as, say, Angie Bowie, she made lots of gems. Listen to the underrated Celebrity Skin and you know the true meaning of madness.

We chose My Body, The Hand Grenade. A compilation from 1997, three years after Kurt Cobain brains were stuck on the wall. It is not a compilation, but an LP, compiled by Hole and containing many obscure tracks. The album was dedicated the bassist Kristen Pfaff, who died in the same year as Cobain because of a drug overdose.

My Body, The Hand Grenade is an ideal record for those who want to be introduced to the world of Hole. There are a lot of controversial tracks included, for example: Old Age (which Love would allegedly have "stolen" from Cobain ) or the sensational Subpop single Dicknail, which deals with incest.

There are also two covers on the album: Season Of The Witch by Donovan and He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss ) by Carole King, both taken from the MTV Unplugged series. There are two live performances (Drown Soda and Asking For It). Furthermore, some outtakes and also the very first song Hole recorded (Turpentine).

You can blame her a lot, but Courtney Love's musical genius remains intact !

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan zeggen wat je wil over Courtney Love. Ze heeft een grote mond, ze is mediageil, doet dingen die je van een mens niet verwacht (nou ja) en anderen vinden dan weer dat ze maar beter nooit het pad van Kurt Cobain had gekruist. Misschien allemaal waar, maar in het begin van de jaren 90 was er maar één vrouw die het recht had om zichzelf tot de ultieme rock ’n rollqueen te kronen en dat was (jawel) Courtney Love.

Voor ze aan haar Hole-avontuur begon, zat ze samen met Kat Bjelland (later Babes In Toyland) in het bandje Pagan Babies en werd opgemerkt door Alex Cox en (jawel) Andy Warhol.

Zelfs de grootste fan moet toegeven dat Love soms wat goedkoop deed (blote borsten en billen zijn nu eenmaal altijd geliefd), maar ze was minstens even zo belangrijk als Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill) en gaf de vrouw dankzij de Riot Grrrl een stem. Tegelijkertijd speelde ze op veilig, want de meeste fans hoopten wel dat ze “per ongeluk” een tiet zouden te zien krijgen, maar dat is nu eenmaal de verpakking.

Ik beschouw mijzelf als een ontzettend grote fan en ikbegrijp niet waarom ik telkens moet uitleggen waarom Hole zo fantastisch is. Hole is de ware uiting van je innerlijke gevoelens, de soundtrack die je wil gebruiken als je met messen in je lichaam wil kerven, het geluid van innerlijke demonen. Oh, Hole is zo veel beter dan Nirvana (daar gaan de negatieve reacties op onze Facebook-pagina!).

Ofschoon Courtney Love tegenwoordig even relevant is als pakweg Angie Bowie, maakte ze (ook solo) een resem onsterfelijke platen. Luister naar het fel ondergewaardeerde Celebrity Skin en je kent de betekenis van waanzin.

Wij kozen My Body, The Hand Grenade. Een compilatie uit 1997, drie jaar nadat Kurt Cobain zijn hersenen tegen de muur plakte. Het is echter geen verzamelaar, wel een lp die Hole zelf samenstelde en die allerlei obscure tracks bevat. De lp is opgedragen aan bassiste Kristen Pfaff, die in hetzelfde jaar als Cobain stierf aan een drugoverdosis.

My Body, The Hand Grenade is een ideale plaat voor wie wil kennis maken met de wereld van Hole. Er staan heel wat controversiële tracks op de plaat, bijv. Old Age (wat Love zogezegd zou “gestolen” hebben van Cobain) of de ophefmakende Subpop-single Dicknail over incest.

Ook staan er twee covers op deze plaat: Season Of The Witch van Donovan en He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss) van Carole King, beide uit de MTV-Unplugged reeks. Er staan twee live-uitvoeringen op (Drown Soda en Asking For It). Voorts wat outtakes en ook het allereerste lied dat Hole opnam (Turpentine).

Je kan Courtney Love van alles beschuldigen, haar muzikale genie blijft intact!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called
25
01
KRAMM
Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
18
02
BESTIAL MOUTHS Rips & Re-Stitches With New Remix LP, 'BACKBONE'

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
21
02
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
20
02
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park