tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HOLE - My Body, The Hand Grenade

HOLE

My Body, The Hand Grenade

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[95/100]   

City Slang Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You can say what you want about Courtney Love. She has a big mouth, she adores media attention, she’s doing things you do not expect someone will do (well) and some even think she better never crossed the path of Kurt Cobain. Perhaps that’s true, but at the beginning of the 90s, there was only one woman who had the right to crown herself as the ultimate rock crown 'n roll queen, and that is Courtney Love.

Before her Hole adventure began, she was in Pagan Babies with Kat Bjelland (later Babes In Toyland), and was noticed by Alex Cox and (yes) Andy Warhol.

Even the biggest fans will admit that Love sometimes makes some cheap gestures (bare breasts and buttocks always are loved), but she was equally as important as Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill) and gave women a voice thanks to the Riot Grrrl movement. At the same time, she played on safe because most fans hoped, to see "accidentally" a tit, but that was her image.

I consider myself a very big fan and do not understand why I have to explain why Hole is so fantastic every time again. Hole is the true expression of your inner feelings, the soundtrack when you want to carve knives in your body, the sound of inner demons. Oh, Hole is so much better than Nirvana (we already see those negative comments on our Facebook page right now!).

Although today Courtney Love is as relevant as, say, Angie Bowie, she made lots of gems. Listen to the underrated Celebrity Skin and you know the true meaning of madness.

We chose My Body, The Hand Grenade. A compilation from 1997, three years after Kurt Cobain brains were stuck on the wall. It is not a compilation, but an LP, compiled by Hole and containing many obscure tracks. The album was dedicated the bassist Kristen Pfaff, who died in the same year as Cobain because of a drug overdose.

My Body, The Hand Grenade is an ideal record for those who want to be introduced to the world of Hole. There are a lot of controversial tracks included, for example: Old Age (which Love would allegedly have "stolen" from Cobain ) or the sensational Subpop single Dicknail, which deals with incest.

There are also two covers on the album: Season Of The Witch by Donovan and He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss ) by Carole King, both taken from the MTV Unplugged series. There are two live performances (Drown Soda and Asking For It). Furthermore, some outtakes and also the very first song Hole recorded (Turpentine).

You can blame her a lot, but Courtney Love's musical genius remains intact !

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan zeggen wat je wil over Courtney Love. Ze heeft een grote mond, ze is mediageil, doet dingen die je van een mens niet verwacht (nou ja) en anderen vinden dan weer dat ze maar beter nooit het pad van Kurt Cobain had gekruist. Misschien allemaal waar, maar in het begin van de jaren 90 was er maar één vrouw die het recht had om zichzelf tot de ultieme rock ’n rollqueen te kronen en dat was (jawel) Courtney Love.

Voor ze aan haar Hole-avontuur begon, zat ze samen met Kat Bjelland (later Babes In Toyland) in het bandje Pagan Babies en werd opgemerkt door Alex Cox en (jawel) Andy Warhol.

Zelfs de grootste fan moet toegeven dat Love soms wat goedkoop deed (blote borsten en billen zijn nu eenmaal altijd geliefd), maar ze was minstens even zo belangrijk als Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill) en gaf de vrouw dankzij de Riot Grrrl een stem. Tegelijkertijd speelde ze op veilig, want de meeste fans hoopten wel dat ze “per ongeluk” een tiet zouden te zien krijgen, maar dat is nu eenmaal de verpakking.

Ik beschouw mijzelf als een ontzettend grote fan en ikbegrijp niet waarom ik telkens moet uitleggen waarom Hole zo fantastisch is. Hole is de ware uiting van je innerlijke gevoelens, de soundtrack die je wil gebruiken als je met messen in je lichaam wil kerven, het geluid van innerlijke demonen. Oh, Hole is zo veel beter dan Nirvana (daar gaan de negatieve reacties op onze Facebook-pagina!).

Ofschoon Courtney Love tegenwoordig even relevant is als pakweg Angie Bowie, maakte ze (ook solo) een resem onsterfelijke platen. Luister naar het fel ondergewaardeerde Celebrity Skin en je kent de betekenis van waanzin.

Wij kozen My Body, The Hand Grenade. Een compilatie uit 1997, drie jaar nadat Kurt Cobain zijn hersenen tegen de muur plakte. Het is echter geen verzamelaar, wel een lp die Hole zelf samenstelde en die allerlei obscure tracks bevat. De lp is opgedragen aan bassiste Kristen Pfaff, die in hetzelfde jaar als Cobain stierf aan een drugoverdosis.

My Body, The Hand Grenade is een ideale plaat voor wie wil kennis maken met de wereld van Hole. Er staan heel wat controversiële tracks op de plaat, bijv. Old Age (wat Love zogezegd zou “gestolen” hebben van Cobain) of de ophefmakende Subpop-single Dicknail over incest.

Ook staan er twee covers op deze plaat: Season Of The Witch van Donovan en He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss) van Carole King, beide uit de MTV-Unplugged reeks. Er staan twee live-uitvoeringen op (Drown Soda en Asking For It). Voorts wat outtakes en ook het allereerste lied dat Hole opnam (Turpentine).

Je kan Courtney Love van alles beschuldigen, haar muzikale genie blijft intact!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline