tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ANNA MEREDITH - Varmints

ANNA MEREDITH

Varmints

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndie

[80/100]   

Moshi Moshi
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A lot of music connoisseurs agree that Anna Meredith is one of the most promising artists of the moment. After two acclaimed EPs, the Scottish composer, who was already on stage with Anna Calvi, James Blake and These New Puritans, releases her debut album.

The CD literally begins with bells and fanfares. Bombastic, complex and overwhelming: a style that, according to the artist, suits her perfectly. Don’t be blinded by the fact that Anna already has been asked to compose some commercial tunes for Prada, as Varmints is one of the most experimental albums you’ll hear these days.

The CD is an intriguing sound collage in which Anna Meredith uses various elements of avant-garde, abstract electronica and neoclassical (the use of cello). Sometimes the music sounds like a mad carousel (Scrimshaw), sometimes it’s nervously with a nod to Autechre (Taken), then fragile (Something Helpful) and sometimes simply irresistible danceable (R-Type).

Varmints is contemporary dance with a lot of avant-garde elementens in which Anna Meredith guides you from one sonic adventure to the other. These are big words indeed, but this Scottish artist could well be a worthy successor to Laurie Anderson!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heel wat muziekkenners zijn het er roerend over eens dat Anna Meredith één van de meest belovende artiesten van dit moment is. Na twee bejubelde ep’s, brengt de Schotse componiste, die ooit op het podium stond met Anna Calvi, James Blake en These New Puritans, haar debuut uit.

De cd begint letterlijk met toeters en fanfares. Bombastisch, complex en overweldigend, en volgens de kunstenares een stijl die perfect bij haar past. Anna is al gevraagd om muziekjes te componeren voor Prada, maar wie kant-en-klare liedjes wil, begint beter niet aan Varmints.

De cd is een intrigerende geluidscollage waarin Anna Meredith allerlei elementen van avant-garde, abstracte electronica en neoklassiek (het gebruik van cello) door elkaar gooit. Soms lijkt de muziek op een dolgedraaide carrousel (Scrimshaw), soms zenuwachtig met een knipoog naar Autechre (Taken), dan wat fragiel (Something Helpful) en soms gewoon onweerstaanbaar dansbaar (R-Type).

Varmints is eigentijdse dance met zeer veel avant-garde elementen waarmee Anna Meredith je van het ene sonische avontuur naar het andere loodst. Het zijn grote woorden, maar Laurie Anderson zou met deze Schotse wel eens een waardige opvolgster kunnen hebben!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible