tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAGEIST - 40

DAGEIST

40

MusicCD
Cold WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A group we currently read more and more about is Dageist (a contraction of Das Geist): a French duo consisting of David Schiavoni and Frédéric Strzelczyk.

40 is their debut mini-CD on which you find eight songs. Once you start listening, it becomes obvious why Dageist is cited a lot in alternative circles: after all, this northern French duo found the ideal balance between indus rock and cold wave. It has enough power, but at the same time it contains a high dose of melancholy.

Right from the opening track Lake Of Love we hear intelligent electronics, but especially the beautiful cold wave guitars that refer to The Cure. The melody is pretty poppy, yet it also sounds punky. A brilliant start.

The French alternative scene always had something with melancholy. Even though the music is miles away from it, you hear here the same desperation in In My City as in Trisomie 21’s music.

Amazing is more rock, while No One Is Innocent is more indus. The best track is Demon's Time, even though the Clan Of Xymox influences are obvious.

We never believed in hypes, but if Dageist is one, then we gladly will make an exception!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Een groep waarover je tegenwoordig meer en meer leest is Dageist (een samentrekking van Das Geist): een Frans duo dat uit David Schiavoni en Frédéric Strzelczyk bestaat.

40 is hun debuut, een mini-cd waarop je acht nummers vindt. Eens je begint te luisteren, wordt het overduidelijk waarom Dageist steeds maar wordt aangehaald in alternatieve milieus: dit Noord-Franse duo heeft immers het ideale evenwicht tussen indusrock en cold wave gevonden. Het klinkt hard genoeg, maar tegelijkertijd bevat het een hoge dosis melancholie die wellicht geen mens onberoerd laat.

Meteen in de openingstrack Lake Of Love horen we intelligente electronica, maar vooral schitterende coldwavegitaren die naar The Cure refereren. De melodie is vrij poppy en toch klinkt het ook punky. Een schitterende start.

De Franse alternatieve scène heeft altijd wel iets met melancholie gehad. Ook al staat de muziekstijl er uiteindelijk mijlenver van af, hoor je in In My City dezelfde wanhoop als bij Trisomie 21.

Amazing is iets meer rock, No One Is Innocent is dan weer meer indus. De mooiste track is sowieso Demon’s Time, ook al zitten de Clan Of Xymox-invloeden daar voor veel tussen.

We hebben nooit in hypes geloofd, maar als Dageist er toch eentje zou zijn, dan maken we graag een uitzondering!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque