tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAGEIST - 40

DAGEIST

40

MusicCD
Cold WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A group we currently read more and more about is Dageist (a contraction of Das Geist): a French duo consisting of David Schiavoni and Frédéric Strzelczyk.

40 is their debut mini-CD on which you find eight songs. Once you start listening, it becomes obvious why Dageist is cited a lot in alternative circles: after all, this northern French duo found the ideal balance between indus rock and cold wave. It has enough power, but at the same time it contains a high dose of melancholy.

Right from the opening track Lake Of Love we hear intelligent electronics, but especially the beautiful cold wave guitars that refer to The Cure. The melody is pretty poppy, yet it also sounds punky. A brilliant start.

The French alternative scene always had something with melancholy. Even though the music is miles away from it, you hear here the same desperation in In My City as in Trisomie 21’s music.

Amazing is more rock, while No One Is Innocent is more indus. The best track is Demon's Time, even though the Clan Of Xymox influences are obvious.

We never believed in hypes, but if Dageist is one, then we gladly will make an exception!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Een groep waarover je tegenwoordig meer en meer leest is Dageist (een samentrekking van Das Geist): een Frans duo dat uit David Schiavoni en Frédéric Strzelczyk bestaat.

40 is hun debuut, een mini-cd waarop je acht nummers vindt. Eens je begint te luisteren, wordt het overduidelijk waarom Dageist steeds maar wordt aangehaald in alternatieve milieus: dit Noord-Franse duo heeft immers het ideale evenwicht tussen indusrock en cold wave gevonden. Het klinkt hard genoeg, maar tegelijkertijd bevat het een hoge dosis melancholie die wellicht geen mens onberoerd laat.

Meteen in de openingstrack Lake Of Love horen we intelligente electronica, maar vooral schitterende coldwavegitaren die naar The Cure refereren. De melodie is vrij poppy en toch klinkt het ook punky. Een schitterende start.

De Franse alternatieve scène heeft altijd wel iets met melancholie gehad. Ook al staat de muziekstijl er uiteindelijk mijlenver van af, hoor je in In My City dezelfde wanhoop als bij Trisomie 21.

Amazing is iets meer rock, No One Is Innocent is dan weer meer indus. De mooiste track is sowieso Demon’s Time, ook al zitten de Clan Of Xymox-invloeden daar voor veel tussen.

We hebben nooit in hypes geloofd, maar als Dageist er toch eentje zou zijn, dan maken we graag een uitzondering!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DILLY DALLY • Sore
IAMX • North Star
HEAVEN 17 • Penthouse And Pavement
JOE JACKSON • Brussels, AB (22/02/16)
MEDIUM WAVE • Pleasure
NASH THE SLASH • Dreams And Nightmares / Bedside Companion
DARK DOOR • Post Mortem
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round
THE GODFATHERS • Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)
PET SHOP BOYS • Night Life

 

Other reviews from DAGEIST
DAGEIST • Sexy
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders