tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAGEIST - 40

DAGEIST

40

MusicCD
Cold WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A group we currently read more and more about is Dageist (a contraction of Das Geist): a French duo consisting of David Schiavoni and Frédéric Strzelczyk.

40 is their debut mini-CD on which you find eight songs. Once you start listening, it becomes obvious why Dageist is cited a lot in alternative circles: after all, this northern French duo found the ideal balance between indus rock and cold wave. It has enough power, but at the same time it contains a high dose of melancholy.

Right from the opening track Lake Of Love we hear intelligent electronics, but especially the beautiful cold wave guitars that refer to The Cure. The melody is pretty poppy, yet it also sounds punky. A brilliant start.

The French alternative scene always had something with melancholy. Even though the music is miles away from it, you hear here the same desperation in In My City as in Trisomie 21’s music.

Amazing is more rock, while No One Is Innocent is more indus. The best track is Demon's Time, even though the Clan Of Xymox influences are obvious.

We never believed in hypes, but if Dageist is one, then we gladly will make an exception!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Een groep waarover je tegenwoordig meer en meer leest is Dageist (een samentrekking van Das Geist): een Frans duo dat uit David Schiavoni en Frédéric Strzelczyk bestaat.

40 is hun debuut, een mini-cd waarop je acht nummers vindt. Eens je begint te luisteren, wordt het overduidelijk waarom Dageist steeds maar wordt aangehaald in alternatieve milieus: dit Noord-Franse duo heeft immers het ideale evenwicht tussen indusrock en cold wave gevonden. Het klinkt hard genoeg, maar tegelijkertijd bevat het een hoge dosis melancholie die wellicht geen mens onberoerd laat.

Meteen in de openingstrack Lake Of Love horen we intelligente electronica, maar vooral schitterende coldwavegitaren die naar The Cure refereren. De melodie is vrij poppy en toch klinkt het ook punky. Een schitterende start.

De Franse alternatieve scène heeft altijd wel iets met melancholie gehad. Ook al staat de muziekstijl er uiteindelijk mijlenver van af, hoor je in In My City dezelfde wanhoop als bij Trisomie 21.

Amazing is iets meer rock, No One Is Innocent is dan weer meer indus. De mooiste track is sowieso Demon’s Time, ook al zitten de Clan Of Xymox-invloeden daar voor veel tussen.

We hebben nooit in hypes geloofd, maar als Dageist er toch eentje zou zijn, dan maken we graag een uitzondering!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless