tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAGEIST - 40

DAGEIST

40

MusicCD
Cold WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A group we currently read more and more about is Dageist (a contraction of Das Geist): a French duo consisting of David Schiavoni and Frédéric Strzelczyk.

40 is their debut mini-CD on which you find eight songs. Once you start listening, it becomes obvious why Dageist is cited a lot in alternative circles: after all, this northern French duo found the ideal balance between indus rock and cold wave. It has enough power, but at the same time it contains a high dose of melancholy.

Right from the opening track Lake Of Love we hear intelligent electronics, but especially the beautiful cold wave guitars that refer to The Cure. The melody is pretty poppy, yet it also sounds punky. A brilliant start.

The French alternative scene always had something with melancholy. Even though the music is miles away from it, you hear here the same desperation in In My City as in Trisomie 21’s music.

Amazing is more rock, while No One Is Innocent is more indus. The best track is Demon's Time, even though the Clan Of Xymox influences are obvious.

We never believed in hypes, but if Dageist is one, then we gladly will make an exception!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Een groep waarover je tegenwoordig meer en meer leest is Dageist (een samentrekking van Das Geist): een Frans duo dat uit David Schiavoni en Frédéric Strzelczyk bestaat.

40 is hun debuut, een mini-cd waarop je acht nummers vindt. Eens je begint te luisteren, wordt het overduidelijk waarom Dageist steeds maar wordt aangehaald in alternatieve milieus: dit Noord-Franse duo heeft immers het ideale evenwicht tussen indusrock en cold wave gevonden. Het klinkt hard genoeg, maar tegelijkertijd bevat het een hoge dosis melancholie die wellicht geen mens onberoerd laat.

Meteen in de openingstrack Lake Of Love horen we intelligente electronica, maar vooral schitterende coldwavegitaren die naar The Cure refereren. De melodie is vrij poppy en toch klinkt het ook punky. Een schitterende start.

De Franse alternatieve scène heeft altijd wel iets met melancholie gehad. Ook al staat de muziekstijl er uiteindelijk mijlenver van af, hoor je in In My City dezelfde wanhoop als bij Trisomie 21.

Amazing is iets meer rock, No One Is Innocent is dan weer meer indus. De mooiste track is sowieso Demon’s Time, ook al zitten de Clan Of Xymox-invloeden daar voor veel tussen.

We hebben nooit in hypes geloofd, maar als Dageist er toch eentje zou zijn, dan maken we graag een uitzondering!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death