tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN 17 - Penthouse And Pavement

HEAVEN 17

Penthouse And Pavement

MusicAlbum Classics
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[98/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you do not agree with me, but I think that Penthouse And Pavement can be regarded as the best synth-pop album of all time. It is not an easy task to convince someone, because outside of England, this debut by Heaven 17 is hardly known. Its successor, the brilliant The Luxury Gap, can'tbe compared with the debut from 1983 that was released by Virgin.

The origin of Heaven 17 is Human League, as both Ian Craig and Martyn Ware were not satisfied with the new way Philip Oakey wanted to go. The two started their own label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) and took Glenn Gregory (a former photographer) as a singer, and so Heaven 17 (a band that appears in A Clockwork Orange) was born.

The first album, Penthouse and Pavement, was an instant success in England, even though the single (We Do Not Need This) Fascist Groove Thang was boycotted by the BBC. The general public always will remember the three for their hits such as Let Me Go or Temptation, but the true synthpop lover knows that Let's All Make A Bomb, The Height Of The Fighting (with the irresistible chorus He-La-Hu) or Song With No Name are the real Heaven 17 classics.

Fantastic songs that are dominated by synths, and even though LPs from the eighties veften has the same classic concept of three hits and seven fillers, Penthouse And Pavement is great from the first until the last second.

In 2006, this LP was reissued on CD by EMI with bonuses from their former maxis, including the BEF version of Groove Thang and tracks like Are Everything, I'm Your Money, the captivating Decline Of The West and Honeymoon In New York.

But do not worry if you do not dare to buy this. At the flea market you regularly see this gem for a giveaway-price. 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Niet iedereen denkt er natuurlijk zo over, maar zelf durf ik Penthouse And Pavement wel eens als de beste synthpopplaat aller tijden beschouwen. Het is geen gemakkelijke opgave, want behalve in Engeland, is dit debuut van Heaven 17 nauwelijks bekend. En dat in grote tegenstelling tot de opvolger The Luxury Gap, eveneens een schitterende release, maar geen enkel moment te vergelijken met het debuut uit 1983 dat werd uitgebracht door Virgin.

Heaven 17 is gegroeid uit de vroegere Human League, omdat zowel Ian Craig als Martyn Ware niet tevreden waren met de nieuwe weg die Philip Oakey wilde inslaan. De twee startten hun eigen label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) en met Glenn Gregory (een voormalige fotograaf) werd Heaven 17 (een band uit o.a. A Clockwork Orange) opgericht.

De eerste lp Penthouse and Pavement werd in Engeland meteen een succes, ook al werd de single (We Don’t Need This)Fascist Groove Thang door de BBC geboycot. Het grote publiek zal de drie wel altijd blijven herinneren voor hits als Let Me Go of Temptation, maar de ware synthpopliefhebber weet natuurlijk dat Let’s All Make A BombThe Height Of The Fighting (met het onweerstaanbare refreintje He-La-Hu) of Song With No Name de echte Heaven 17-klassiekers zijn.

Fantastische nummers waarin de synths overheersen, en ook al hebben eighties-lp’s vaak het klassieke concept van drie hits en zeven opvullers, is Penthouse And Pavement van de eerste tot de laatste seconde geslaagd.

In 2006 werd deze lp door EMI op cd heruitgebracht met daarop bonussen die afkomstig zijn van hun vroegere maxi’s waaronder de B.E.F.-versie van Groove Thang en tracks als Are EverythingI’m Your Money, het betoverende Decline Of The West en Honeymoon In New York.

Maar geen nood, als je dit niet aandurft. Op de rommelmarkt kom je deze plaat geregeld voor een prikje tegen. Meenemen, het is één van de (vele) vergeten parels uit de jaren 80.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless