tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN 17 - Penthouse And Pavement

HEAVEN 17

Penthouse And Pavement

MusicAlbum Classics
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[98/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you do not agree with me, but I think that Penthouse And Pavement can be regarded as the best synth-pop album of all time. It is not an easy task to convince someone, because outside of England, this debut by Heaven 17 is hardly known. Its successor, the brilliant The Luxury Gap, can'tbe compared with the debut from 1983 that was released by Virgin.

The origin of Heaven 17 is Human League, as both Ian Craig and Martyn Ware were not satisfied with the new way Philip Oakey wanted to go. The two started their own label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) and took Glenn Gregory (a former photographer) as a singer, and so Heaven 17 (a band that appears in A Clockwork Orange) was born.

The first album, Penthouse and Pavement, was an instant success in England, even though the single (We Do Not Need This) Fascist Groove Thang was boycotted by the BBC. The general public always will remember the three for their hits such as Let Me Go or Temptation, but the true synthpop lover knows that Let's All Make A Bomb, The Height Of The Fighting (with the irresistible chorus He-La-Hu) or Song With No Name are the real Heaven 17 classics.

Fantastic songs that are dominated by synths, and even though LPs from the eighties veften has the same classic concept of three hits and seven fillers, Penthouse And Pavement is great from the first until the last second.

In 2006, this LP was reissued on CD by EMI with bonuses from their former maxis, including the BEF version of Groove Thang and tracks like Are Everything, I'm Your Money, the captivating Decline Of The West and Honeymoon In New York.

But do not worry if you do not dare to buy this. At the flea market you regularly see this gem for a giveaway-price. 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Niet iedereen denkt er natuurlijk zo over, maar zelf durf ik Penthouse And Pavement wel eens als de beste synthpopplaat aller tijden beschouwen. Het is geen gemakkelijke opgave, want behalve in Engeland, is dit debuut van Heaven 17 nauwelijks bekend. En dat in grote tegenstelling tot de opvolger The Luxury Gap, eveneens een schitterende release, maar geen enkel moment te vergelijken met het debuut uit 1983 dat werd uitgebracht door Virgin.

Heaven 17 is gegroeid uit de vroegere Human League, omdat zowel Ian Craig als Martyn Ware niet tevreden waren met de nieuwe weg die Philip Oakey wilde inslaan. De twee startten hun eigen label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) en met Glenn Gregory (een voormalige fotograaf) werd Heaven 17 (een band uit o.a. A Clockwork Orange) opgericht.

De eerste lp Penthouse and Pavement werd in Engeland meteen een succes, ook al werd de single (We Don’t Need This)Fascist Groove Thang door de BBC geboycot. Het grote publiek zal de drie wel altijd blijven herinneren voor hits als Let Me Go of Temptation, maar de ware synthpopliefhebber weet natuurlijk dat Let’s All Make A BombThe Height Of The Fighting (met het onweerstaanbare refreintje He-La-Hu) of Song With No Name de echte Heaven 17-klassiekers zijn.

Fantastische nummers waarin de synths overheersen, en ook al hebben eighties-lp’s vaak het klassieke concept van drie hits en zeven opvullers, is Penthouse And Pavement van de eerste tot de laatste seconde geslaagd.

In 2006 werd deze lp door EMI op cd heruitgebracht met daarop bonussen die afkomstig zijn van hun vroegere maxi’s waaronder de B.E.F.-versie van Groove Thang en tracks als Are EverythingI’m Your Money, het betoverende Decline Of The West en Honeymoon In New York.

Maar geen nood, als je dit niet aandurft. Op de rommelmarkt kom je deze plaat geregeld voor een prikje tegen. Meenemen, het is één van de (vele) vergeten parels uit de jaren 80.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain