tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN 17 - Penthouse And Pavement

HEAVEN 17

Penthouse And Pavement

MusicAlbum Classics
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[98/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you do not agree with me, but I think that Penthouse And Pavement can be regarded as the best synth-pop album of all time. It is not an easy task to convince someone, because outside of England, this debut by Heaven 17 is hardly known. Its successor, the brilliant The Luxury Gap, can'tbe compared with the debut from 1983 that was released by Virgin.

The origin of Heaven 17 is Human League, as both Ian Craig and Martyn Ware were not satisfied with the new way Philip Oakey wanted to go. The two started their own label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) and took Glenn Gregory (a former photographer) as a singer, and so Heaven 17 (a band that appears in A Clockwork Orange) was born.

The first album, Penthouse and Pavement, was an instant success in England, even though the single (We Do Not Need This) Fascist Groove Thang was boycotted by the BBC. The general public always will remember the three for their hits such as Let Me Go or Temptation, but the true synthpop lover knows that Let's All Make A Bomb, The Height Of The Fighting (with the irresistible chorus He-La-Hu) or Song With No Name are the real Heaven 17 classics.

Fantastic songs that are dominated by synths, and even though LPs from the eighties veften has the same classic concept of three hits and seven fillers, Penthouse And Pavement is great from the first until the last second.

In 2006, this LP was reissued on CD by EMI with bonuses from their former maxis, including the BEF version of Groove Thang and tracks like Are Everything, I'm Your Money, the captivating Decline Of The West and Honeymoon In New York.

But do not worry if you do not dare to buy this. At the flea market you regularly see this gem for a giveaway-price. 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Niet iedereen denkt er natuurlijk zo over, maar zelf durf ik Penthouse And Pavement wel eens als de beste synthpopplaat aller tijden beschouwen. Het is geen gemakkelijke opgave, want behalve in Engeland, is dit debuut van Heaven 17 nauwelijks bekend. En dat in grote tegenstelling tot de opvolger The Luxury Gap, eveneens een schitterende release, maar geen enkel moment te vergelijken met het debuut uit 1983 dat werd uitgebracht door Virgin.

Heaven 17 is gegroeid uit de vroegere Human League, omdat zowel Ian Craig als Martyn Ware niet tevreden waren met de nieuwe weg die Philip Oakey wilde inslaan. De twee startten hun eigen label British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) en met Glenn Gregory (een voormalige fotograaf) werd Heaven 17 (een band uit o.a. A Clockwork Orange) opgericht.

De eerste lp Penthouse and Pavement werd in Engeland meteen een succes, ook al werd de single (We Don’t Need This)Fascist Groove Thang door de BBC geboycot. Het grote publiek zal de drie wel altijd blijven herinneren voor hits als Let Me Go of Temptation, maar de ware synthpopliefhebber weet natuurlijk dat Let’s All Make A BombThe Height Of The Fighting (met het onweerstaanbare refreintje He-La-Hu) of Song With No Name de echte Heaven 17-klassiekers zijn.

Fantastische nummers waarin de synths overheersen, en ook al hebben eighties-lp’s vaak het klassieke concept van drie hits en zeven opvullers, is Penthouse And Pavement van de eerste tot de laatste seconde geslaagd.

In 2006 werd deze lp door EMI op cd heruitgebracht met daarop bonussen die afkomstig zijn van hun vroegere maxi’s waaronder de B.E.F.-versie van Groove Thang en tracks als Are EverythingI’m Your Money, het betoverende Decline Of The West en Honeymoon In New York.

Maar geen nood, als je dit niet aandurft. Op de rommelmarkt kom je deze plaat geregeld voor een prikje tegen. Meenemen, het is één van de (vele) vergeten parels uit de jaren 80.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl