tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MEDIUM WAVE - Pleasure

MEDIUM WAVE

Pleasure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[55/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Medium Wave is a band from London. After a previous EP, the album Pleasure is announced by the band as synthpop.

At first listen, I felt back in the early 80s. On the radio I heard a brilliant new song by A-HA. That was a band! Was this a warning? Or a taste of what Medium Wave would bring?

When I read how the group describes its songs, I had good expectations. A mistake... The vocals are indeed inspired by the 80s. However, they lack punch and pace. Technically, the vocals are not bad, but they lack variation and boredom strikes easily. A sporadic guitar or a nice bass add some power, but the sound is flat.

Titel song She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo) invites you to do what the title says. And there is more... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Perhaps a great thruth, but it does not cause goosebumps!

She's A Girl (In The Night Time) starts promising. I hear synth pop and the melody isn’t bad, but again the vocals spoil it, even though guitars and bass give the song a nice twist.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) is interesting, but then (as if not bad enough) you hear vocal lines that are done by a computer. It’s just too much!

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) makes you think (a bit) of The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) has an acoustic guitar sound between the monotonous drum beat and bass line. She's A (Heart Racer) and Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) close this debut.

You can’t argue about color, but you can about good and bad taste. This debut offers no surprises, it is too flat and made 30 years too late.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Medium Wave is een gezelschap uit Londen. Na een eerdere ep, is er nu het album Pleasure, dat door de band wordt aangekondigd als synthpop.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt waande ik me terug in de vroege jaren 80. En ik mag dan misschien intussen een prille veertiger zijn, net voor deze luisterbeurt werd ik in de auto verrast door een schitterende nieuwe song van A-HA en werd daar weemoedig bij. Dat was nog eens een band! Was dit een waarschuwing? Of een voorproefje van wat Medium Wave me zou brengen?

Als ik de woorden las waarmee de band zijn songs omschrijft, had ik nog enigszins gespannen verwachtingen. Fout zo bleek... De vocalen zijn inderdaad geïnspireerd op de 80s en zouden niet misstaan op botsauto's van 30 jaar geleden. Ze missen evenwel punch en tempo. Technisch bekeken zijn de vocalen niet slecht, maar ze lijken heel erg op elkaar, waardoor de verveling snel toeslaat. Sporadisch komt een gitaartje of een leuke bas de songs wat kracht bijzetten, maar het blijft te vlak.

Titelsong She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo)  nodigt uit om te doen wat de titel zegt. En er komt meer... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Wellicht een waarheid als een koe, maar de luisteraar wordt er niet warm van!

She's A Girl (In The Nighttime) start veel belovend. Ik hoor nu wél de synthpop waarvan sprake. De melodie maakt wel wat los, maar de vocalen zijn opnieuw eerder gewoon. Halverwege wordt het wel boeiend als de gitaren en de baslijn toch een mooie twist aan de track geven.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) wordt halfweg nog ietwat boeiend als de isntrumenten het overnemen van de zang. Een leuk tussendoortje, maar dan komen er (alsof het nog niet erg genoeg was) door een computer vervormde dubbelstemmige zanglijnen bij. Teveel van het goede en het boeit geen seconde. 

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) doet me wat denken aan The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) krijgt een akoestische gitaarsound tussen het monotone drumbeatje en de vrolijke baslijn.

She's A (Heart Racer) en Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) sluiten dit debuut af. De synthesizers hebben maar één klankkleur en dat is gewoon te weinig.

Over kleur valt misschien niet te twisten, over goede smaak wel. Dit debuut blijft teveel een eenheidsworst, zonder verrassingen, te vlak en wellicht 30 jaar te laat gemaakt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire