tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MEDIUM WAVE - Pleasure

MEDIUM WAVE

Pleasure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[55/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Medium Wave is a band from London. After a previous EP, the album Pleasure is announced by the band as synthpop.

At first listen, I felt back in the early 80s. On the radio I heard a brilliant new song by A-HA. That was a band! Was this a warning? Or a taste of what Medium Wave would bring?

When I read how the group describes its songs, I had good expectations. A mistake... The vocals are indeed inspired by the 80s. However, they lack punch and pace. Technically, the vocals are not bad, but they lack variation and boredom strikes easily. A sporadic guitar or a nice bass add some power, but the sound is flat.

Titel song She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo) invites you to do what the title says. And there is more... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Perhaps a great thruth, but it does not cause goosebumps!

She's A Girl (In The Night Time) starts promising. I hear synth pop and the melody isn’t bad, but again the vocals spoil it, even though guitars and bass give the song a nice twist.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) is interesting, but then (as if not bad enough) you hear vocal lines that are done by a computer. It’s just too much!

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) makes you think (a bit) of The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) has an acoustic guitar sound between the monotonous drum beat and bass line. She's A (Heart Racer) and Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) close this debut.

You can’t argue about color, but you can about good and bad taste. This debut offers no surprises, it is too flat and made 30 years too late.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Medium Wave is een gezelschap uit Londen. Na een eerdere ep, is er nu het album Pleasure, dat door de band wordt aangekondigd als synthpop.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt waande ik me terug in de vroege jaren 80. En ik mag dan misschien intussen een prille veertiger zijn, net voor deze luisterbeurt werd ik in de auto verrast door een schitterende nieuwe song van A-HA en werd daar weemoedig bij. Dat was nog eens een band! Was dit een waarschuwing? Of een voorproefje van wat Medium Wave me zou brengen?

Als ik de woorden las waarmee de band zijn songs omschrijft, had ik nog enigszins gespannen verwachtingen. Fout zo bleek... De vocalen zijn inderdaad geïnspireerd op de 80s en zouden niet misstaan op botsauto's van 30 jaar geleden. Ze missen evenwel punch en tempo. Technisch bekeken zijn de vocalen niet slecht, maar ze lijken heel erg op elkaar, waardoor de verveling snel toeslaat. Sporadisch komt een gitaartje of een leuke bas de songs wat kracht bijzetten, maar het blijft te vlak.

Titelsong She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo)  nodigt uit om te doen wat de titel zegt. En er komt meer... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Wellicht een waarheid als een koe, maar de luisteraar wordt er niet warm van!

She's A Girl (In The Nighttime) start veel belovend. Ik hoor nu wél de synthpop waarvan sprake. De melodie maakt wel wat los, maar de vocalen zijn opnieuw eerder gewoon. Halverwege wordt het wel boeiend als de gitaren en de baslijn toch een mooie twist aan de track geven.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) wordt halfweg nog ietwat boeiend als de isntrumenten het overnemen van de zang. Een leuk tussendoortje, maar dan komen er (alsof het nog niet erg genoeg was) door een computer vervormde dubbelstemmige zanglijnen bij. Teveel van het goede en het boeit geen seconde. 

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) doet me wat denken aan The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) krijgt een akoestische gitaarsound tussen het monotone drumbeatje en de vrolijke baslijn.

She's A (Heart Racer) en Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) sluiten dit debuut af. De synthesizers hebben maar één klankkleur en dat is gewoon te weinig.

Over kleur valt misschien niet te twisten, over goede smaak wel. Dit debuut blijft teveel een eenheidsworst, zonder verrassingen, te vlak en wellicht 30 jaar te laat gemaakt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked