tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MEDIUM WAVE - Pleasure

MEDIUM WAVE

Pleasure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[55/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Medium Wave is a band from London. After a previous EP, the album Pleasure is announced by the band as synthpop.

At first listen, I felt back in the early 80s. On the radio I heard a brilliant new song by A-HA. That was a band! Was this a warning? Or a taste of what Medium Wave would bring?

When I read how the group describes its songs, I had good expectations. A mistake... The vocals are indeed inspired by the 80s. However, they lack punch and pace. Technically, the vocals are not bad, but they lack variation and boredom strikes easily. A sporadic guitar or a nice bass add some power, but the sound is flat.

Titel song She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo) invites you to do what the title says. And there is more... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Perhaps a great thruth, but it does not cause goosebumps!

She's A Girl (In The Night Time) starts promising. I hear synth pop and the melody isn’t bad, but again the vocals spoil it, even though guitars and bass give the song a nice twist.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) is interesting, but then (as if not bad enough) you hear vocal lines that are done by a computer. It’s just too much!

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) makes you think (a bit) of The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) has an acoustic guitar sound between the monotonous drum beat and bass line. She's A (Heart Racer) and Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) close this debut.

You can’t argue about color, but you can about good and bad taste. This debut offers no surprises, it is too flat and made 30 years too late.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Medium Wave is een gezelschap uit Londen. Na een eerdere ep, is er nu het album Pleasure, dat door de band wordt aangekondigd als synthpop.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt waande ik me terug in de vroege jaren 80. En ik mag dan misschien intussen een prille veertiger zijn, net voor deze luisterbeurt werd ik in de auto verrast door een schitterende nieuwe song van A-HA en werd daar weemoedig bij. Dat was nog eens een band! Was dit een waarschuwing? Of een voorproefje van wat Medium Wave me zou brengen?

Als ik de woorden las waarmee de band zijn songs omschrijft, had ik nog enigszins gespannen verwachtingen. Fout zo bleek... De vocalen zijn inderdaad geïnspireerd op de 80s en zouden niet misstaan op botsauto's van 30 jaar geleden. Ze missen evenwel punch en tempo. Technisch bekeken zijn de vocalen niet slecht, maar ze lijken heel erg op elkaar, waardoor de verveling snel toeslaat. Sporadisch komt een gitaartje of een leuke bas de songs wat kracht bijzetten, maar het blijft te vlak.

Titelsong She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo)  nodigt uit om te doen wat de titel zegt. En er komt meer... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Wellicht een waarheid als een koe, maar de luisteraar wordt er niet warm van!

She's A Girl (In The Nighttime) start veel belovend. Ik hoor nu wél de synthpop waarvan sprake. De melodie maakt wel wat los, maar de vocalen zijn opnieuw eerder gewoon. Halverwege wordt het wel boeiend als de gitaren en de baslijn toch een mooie twist aan de track geven.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) wordt halfweg nog ietwat boeiend als de isntrumenten het overnemen van de zang. Een leuk tussendoortje, maar dan komen er (alsof het nog niet erg genoeg was) door een computer vervormde dubbelstemmige zanglijnen bij. Teveel van het goede en het boeit geen seconde. 

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) doet me wat denken aan The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) krijgt een akoestische gitaarsound tussen het monotone drumbeatje en de vrolijke baslijn.

She's A (Heart Racer) en Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) sluiten dit debuut af. De synthesizers hebben maar één klankkleur en dat is gewoon te weinig.

Over kleur valt misschien niet te twisten, over goede smaak wel. Dit debuut blijft teveel een eenheidsworst, zonder verrassingen, te vlak en wellicht 30 jaar te laat gemaakt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)