tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MEDIUM WAVE - Pleasure

MEDIUM WAVE

Pleasure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[55/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Medium Wave is a band from London. After a previous EP, the album Pleasure is announced by the band as synthpop.

At first listen, I felt back in the early 80s. On the radio I heard a brilliant new song by A-HA. That was a band! Was this a warning? Or a taste of what Medium Wave would bring?

When I read how the group describes its songs, I had good expectations. A mistake... The vocals are indeed inspired by the 80s. However, they lack punch and pace. Technically, the vocals are not bad, but they lack variation and boredom strikes easily. A sporadic guitar or a nice bass add some power, but the sound is flat.

Titel song She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo) invites you to do what the title says. And there is more... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Perhaps a great thruth, but it does not cause goosebumps!

She's A Girl (In The Night Time) starts promising. I hear synth pop and the melody isn’t bad, but again the vocals spoil it, even though guitars and bass give the song a nice twist.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) is interesting, but then (as if not bad enough) you hear vocal lines that are done by a computer. It’s just too much!

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) makes you think (a bit) of The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) has an acoustic guitar sound between the monotonous drum beat and bass line. She's A (Heart Racer) and Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) close this debut.

You can’t argue about color, but you can about good and bad taste. This debut offers no surprises, it is too flat and made 30 years too late.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Medium Wave is een gezelschap uit Londen. Na een eerdere ep, is er nu het album Pleasure, dat door de band wordt aangekondigd als synthpop.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt waande ik me terug in de vroege jaren 80. En ik mag dan misschien intussen een prille veertiger zijn, net voor deze luisterbeurt werd ik in de auto verrast door een schitterende nieuwe song van A-HA en werd daar weemoedig bij. Dat was nog eens een band! Was dit een waarschuwing? Of een voorproefje van wat Medium Wave me zou brengen?

Als ik de woorden las waarmee de band zijn songs omschrijft, had ik nog enigszins gespannen verwachtingen. Fout zo bleek... De vocalen zijn inderdaad geïnspireerd op de 80s en zouden niet misstaan op botsauto's van 30 jaar geleden. Ze missen evenwel punch en tempo. Technisch bekeken zijn de vocalen niet slecht, maar ze lijken heel erg op elkaar, waardoor de verveling snel toeslaat. Sporadisch komt een gitaartje of een leuke bas de songs wat kracht bijzetten, maar het blijft te vlak.

Titelsong She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo)  nodigt uit om te doen wat de titel zegt. En er komt meer... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Wellicht een waarheid als een koe, maar de luisteraar wordt er niet warm van!

She's A Girl (In The Nighttime) start veel belovend. Ik hoor nu wél de synthpop waarvan sprake. De melodie maakt wel wat los, maar de vocalen zijn opnieuw eerder gewoon. Halverwege wordt het wel boeiend als de gitaren en de baslijn toch een mooie twist aan de track geven.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) wordt halfweg nog ietwat boeiend als de isntrumenten het overnemen van de zang. Een leuk tussendoortje, maar dan komen er (alsof het nog niet erg genoeg was) door een computer vervormde dubbelstemmige zanglijnen bij. Teveel van het goede en het boeit geen seconde. 

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) doet me wat denken aan The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) krijgt een akoestische gitaarsound tussen het monotone drumbeatje en de vrolijke baslijn.

She's A (Heart Racer) en Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) sluiten dit debuut af. De synthesizers hebben maar één klankkleur en dat is gewoon te weinig.

Over kleur valt misschien niet te twisten, over goede smaak wel. Dit debuut blijft teveel een eenheidsworst, zonder verrassingen, te vlak en wellicht 30 jaar te laat gemaakt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice