tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MEDIUM WAVE - Pleasure

MEDIUM WAVE

Pleasure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[55/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Medium Wave is a band from London. After a previous EP, the album Pleasure is announced by the band as synthpop.

At first listen, I felt back in the early 80s. On the radio I heard a brilliant new song by A-HA. That was a band! Was this a warning? Or a taste of what Medium Wave would bring?

When I read how the group describes its songs, I had good expectations. A mistake... The vocals are indeed inspired by the 80s. However, they lack punch and pace. Technically, the vocals are not bad, but they lack variation and boredom strikes easily. A sporadic guitar or a nice bass add some power, but the sound is flat.

Titel song She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo) invites you to do what the title says. And there is more... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Perhaps a great thruth, but it does not cause goosebumps!

She's A Girl (In The Night Time) starts promising. I hear synth pop and the melody isn’t bad, but again the vocals spoil it, even though guitars and bass give the song a nice twist.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) is interesting, but then (as if not bad enough) you hear vocal lines that are done by a computer. It’s just too much!

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) makes you think (a bit) of The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) has an acoustic guitar sound between the monotonous drum beat and bass line. She's A (Heart Racer) and Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) close this debut.

You can’t argue about color, but you can about good and bad taste. This debut offers no surprises, it is too flat and made 30 years too late.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Medium Wave is een gezelschap uit Londen. Na een eerdere ep, is er nu het album Pleasure, dat door de band wordt aangekondigd als synthpop.

Bij een eerste luisterbeurt waande ik me terug in de vroege jaren 80. En ik mag dan misschien intussen een prille veertiger zijn, net voor deze luisterbeurt werd ik in de auto verrast door een schitterende nieuwe song van A-HA en werd daar weemoedig bij. Dat was nog eens een band! Was dit een waarschuwing? Of een voorproefje van wat Medium Wave me zou brengen?

Als ik de woorden las waarmee de band zijn songs omschrijft, had ik nog enigszins gespannen verwachtingen. Fout zo bleek... De vocalen zijn inderdaad geïnspireerd op de 80s en zouden niet misstaan op botsauto's van 30 jaar geleden. Ze missen evenwel punch en tempo. Technisch bekeken zijn de vocalen niet slecht, maar ze lijken heel erg op elkaar, waardoor de verveling snel toeslaat. Sporadisch komt een gitaartje of een leuke bas de songs wat kracht bijzetten, maar het blijft te vlak.

Titelsong She Turned Us Down (Like a Stereo)  nodigt uit om te doen wat de titel zegt. En er komt meer... It's A Hot World (For A Hot Girl). Wellicht een waarheid als een koe, maar de luisteraar wordt er niet warm van!

She's A Girl (In The Nighttime) start veel belovend. Ik hoor nu wél de synthpop waarvan sprake. De melodie maakt wel wat los, maar de vocalen zijn opnieuw eerder gewoon. Halverwege wordt het wel boeiend als de gitaren en de baslijn toch een mooie twist aan de track geven.

We Love you (And Your Dead Sister) wordt halfweg nog ietwat boeiend als de isntrumenten het overnemen van de zang. Een leuk tussendoortje, maar dan komen er (alsof het nog niet erg genoeg was) door een computer vervormde dubbelstemmige zanglijnen bij. Teveel van het goede en het boeit geen seconde. 

She's Not Coming (Home Alone) doet me wat denken aan The Police. She's Talking (To The Mountains) krijgt een akoestische gitaarsound tussen het monotone drumbeatje en de vrolijke baslijn.

She's A (Heart Racer) en Medium Wave (Is Gonna Get Her) sluiten dit debuut af. De synthesizers hebben maar één klankkleur en dat is gewoon te weinig.

Over kleur valt misschien niet te twisten, over goede smaak wel. Dit debuut blijft teveel een eenheidsworst, zonder verrassingen, te vlak en wellicht 30 jaar te laat gemaakt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain