tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

THE GODFATHERS

Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Concert
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do you remember The Godfathers? The band regularly performed in Europe and scored the big hit Birth School Work Death. However, most of us don't know that it is still alive and kicking, and that a new album was released three years ago. I was curious to see them on stage. Especially as I, strange but true, never got the chance to see The Gotfathers live.

Beuk from Bruges was the support act: garage rock with Dutch lyrics, performed in a good and decent way, and always with a twist or some irony. Short and powerful music which was appreciated by the audience. Innovative? Not really, but fun to see this band on stage. We were told that a new album is in the making.

The Godfathers started with Cause I Said So. The band is still sharp and hungry. The singer has a nonchalant attitude, but on stage the company looks like a real band. "It's rock 'n roll mate" were the words he used in between songs and that is what we got: pure garage rock.

In addition to well-known songs like How Low is Low, Unreal World, a magisterial When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, less well-known songs of the latest album Jukebox Fury and the debut Hit By Hit were played: The Outsider, This Damn Nation. The new single Till My Heart Stops Beating sounded live pretty good.

The Fodfathers returned for three encores including Birth, School, Work, Death. The band is a rock machine and will never be as mainstream as during Birth School Work Death, but live the Godfathers definitely are still relevant, and less polished as back then. When I saw the smiling audience afterwards, I knew I was not the only one who enjoyed it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk herinneren zich heel wat lezers The Godfathers nog. Het gezelschap trad hier regelmatig op en had natuurlijk ook die grote hit Birth School Work Death. Velen weten wellicht niet dat The Godfathers vandaag nog altijd alive and kicking zijn en dat er drie jaar geleden nog een album verscheen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd om de band aan het werk te zien. Vooral omdat ik daartoe, raar maar waar, destijds nooit de kans heb gekregen.

Beuk uit Brugge was het voorprogramma. Het brengt Nederlandstalige garagerock. en doet dat goed en degelijk, altijd met een twist of een ironische ondertoon. Kort en bondige muziek die door het talrijk opgekomen publiek werd geapprecieerd. Vernieuwend? Niet echt, maar wel leuk om live bezig te zien. En we vernamen dat er aan een album wordt gewerkt.

The Godfathers startten met Cause I Said So. Het was meteen duidelijk dat hier nog altijd een vinnige en hongerige band op het podium staat. De zanger heeft altijd wel een nonchalante houding gehad, toch straalt de band echtheid uit. “It’s rock ' roll mate” was een van zijn bindteksten en dat was het. Bijna pure garagerock. Naast bekende songs als How Low is Low, Unreal World, een magistrale When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, stonden ook minder bekende songs uit het laatste album Jukebox Fury en het debuut Hit By Hit op de setlist: The Outsider, This Damn Nation… Ook de nieuwe single Till My Heart Stops Beating werd gespeeld en die klonk live meer dan behoorlijk goed. The Goidfathers kwam terug voor drie bisnummers waaronder natuurlijk ook Birth, School, Work, Death.

The Godfathers is nog steeds een rockmachine. Mainstream zoals in tijden van Birth School Work Death zal de band wellicht niet meer worden, maar live is hij beslist nog relevant en iets minder gepolijst dan op de platen destijds. Als ik het publiek nadien zag, was ik niet de enige die ervan genoten had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016) 08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes