tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

THE GODFATHERS

Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Concert
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do you remember The Godfathers? The band regularly performed in Europe and scored the big hit Birth School Work Death. However, most of us don't know that it is still alive and kicking, and that a new album was released three years ago. I was curious to see them on stage. Especially as I, strange but true, never got the chance to see The Gotfathers live.

Beuk from Bruges was the support act: garage rock with Dutch lyrics, performed in a good and decent way, and always with a twist or some irony. Short and powerful music which was appreciated by the audience. Innovative? Not really, but fun to see this band on stage. We were told that a new album is in the making.

The Godfathers started with Cause I Said So. The band is still sharp and hungry. The singer has a nonchalant attitude, but on stage the company looks like a real band. "It's rock 'n roll mate" were the words he used in between songs and that is what we got: pure garage rock.

In addition to well-known songs like How Low is Low, Unreal World, a magisterial When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, less well-known songs of the latest album Jukebox Fury and the debut Hit By Hit were played: The Outsider, This Damn Nation. The new single Till My Heart Stops Beating sounded live pretty good.

The Fodfathers returned for three encores including Birth, School, Work, Death. The band is a rock machine and will never be as mainstream as during Birth School Work Death, but live the Godfathers definitely are still relevant, and less polished as back then. When I saw the smiling audience afterwards, I knew I was not the only one who enjoyed it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk herinneren zich heel wat lezers The Godfathers nog. Het gezelschap trad hier regelmatig op en had natuurlijk ook die grote hit Birth School Work Death. Velen weten wellicht niet dat The Godfathers vandaag nog altijd alive and kicking zijn en dat er drie jaar geleden nog een album verscheen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd om de band aan het werk te zien. Vooral omdat ik daartoe, raar maar waar, destijds nooit de kans heb gekregen.

Beuk uit Brugge was het voorprogramma. Het brengt Nederlandstalige garagerock. en doet dat goed en degelijk, altijd met een twist of een ironische ondertoon. Kort en bondige muziek die door het talrijk opgekomen publiek werd geapprecieerd. Vernieuwend? Niet echt, maar wel leuk om live bezig te zien. En we vernamen dat er aan een album wordt gewerkt.

The Godfathers startten met Cause I Said So. Het was meteen duidelijk dat hier nog altijd een vinnige en hongerige band op het podium staat. De zanger heeft altijd wel een nonchalante houding gehad, toch straalt de band echtheid uit. “It’s rock ' roll mate” was een van zijn bindteksten en dat was het. Bijna pure garagerock. Naast bekende songs als How Low is Low, Unreal World, een magistrale When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, stonden ook minder bekende songs uit het laatste album Jukebox Fury en het debuut Hit By Hit op de setlist: The Outsider, This Damn Nation… Ook de nieuwe single Till My Heart Stops Beating werd gespeeld en die klonk live meer dan behoorlijk goed. The Goidfathers kwam terug voor drie bisnummers waaronder natuurlijk ook Birth, School, Work, Death.

The Godfathers is nog steeds een rockmachine. Mainstream zoals in tijden van Birth School Work Death zal de band wellicht niet meer worden, maar live is hij beslist nog relevant en iets minder gepolijst dan op de platen destijds. Als ik het publiek nadien zag, was ik niet de enige die ervan genoten had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016) 08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man