tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

THE GODFATHERS

Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Concert
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do you remember The Godfathers? The band regularly performed in Europe and scored the big hit Birth School Work Death. However, most of us don't know that it is still alive and kicking, and that a new album was released three years ago. I was curious to see them on stage. Especially as I, strange but true, never got the chance to see The Gotfathers live.

Beuk from Bruges was the support act: garage rock with Dutch lyrics, performed in a good and decent way, and always with a twist or some irony. Short and powerful music which was appreciated by the audience. Innovative? Not really, but fun to see this band on stage. We were told that a new album is in the making.

The Godfathers started with Cause I Said So. The band is still sharp and hungry. The singer has a nonchalant attitude, but on stage the company looks like a real band. "It's rock 'n roll mate" were the words he used in between songs and that is what we got: pure garage rock.

In addition to well-known songs like How Low is Low, Unreal World, a magisterial When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, less well-known songs of the latest album Jukebox Fury and the debut Hit By Hit were played: The Outsider, This Damn Nation. The new single Till My Heart Stops Beating sounded live pretty good.

The Fodfathers returned for three encores including Birth, School, Work, Death. The band is a rock machine and will never be as mainstream as during Birth School Work Death, but live the Godfathers definitely are still relevant, and less polished as back then. When I saw the smiling audience afterwards, I knew I was not the only one who enjoyed it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk herinneren zich heel wat lezers The Godfathers nog. Het gezelschap trad hier regelmatig op en had natuurlijk ook die grote hit Birth School Work Death. Velen weten wellicht niet dat The Godfathers vandaag nog altijd alive and kicking zijn en dat er drie jaar geleden nog een album verscheen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd om de band aan het werk te zien. Vooral omdat ik daartoe, raar maar waar, destijds nooit de kans heb gekregen.

Beuk uit Brugge was het voorprogramma. Het brengt Nederlandstalige garagerock. en doet dat goed en degelijk, altijd met een twist of een ironische ondertoon. Kort en bondige muziek die door het talrijk opgekomen publiek werd geapprecieerd. Vernieuwend? Niet echt, maar wel leuk om live bezig te zien. En we vernamen dat er aan een album wordt gewerkt.

The Godfathers startten met Cause I Said So. Het was meteen duidelijk dat hier nog altijd een vinnige en hongerige band op het podium staat. De zanger heeft altijd wel een nonchalante houding gehad, toch straalt de band echtheid uit. “It’s rock ' roll mate” was een van zijn bindteksten en dat was het. Bijna pure garagerock. Naast bekende songs als How Low is Low, Unreal World, een magistrale When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, stonden ook minder bekende songs uit het laatste album Jukebox Fury en het debuut Hit By Hit op de setlist: The Outsider, This Damn Nation… Ook de nieuwe single Till My Heart Stops Beating werd gespeeld en die klonk live meer dan behoorlijk goed. The Goidfathers kwam terug voor drie bisnummers waaronder natuurlijk ook Birth, School, Work, Death.

The Godfathers is nog steeds een rockmachine. Mainstream zoals in tijden van Birth School Work Death zal de band wellicht niet meer worden, maar live is hij beslist nog relevant en iets minder gepolijst dan op de platen destijds. Als ik het publiek nadien zag, was ik niet de enige die ervan genoten had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016) 08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)