tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

THE GODFATHERS

Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Concert
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do you remember The Godfathers? The band regularly performed in Europe and scored the big hit Birth School Work Death. However, most of us don't know that it is still alive and kicking, and that a new album was released three years ago. I was curious to see them on stage. Especially as I, strange but true, never got the chance to see The Gotfathers live.

Beuk from Bruges was the support act: garage rock with Dutch lyrics, performed in a good and decent way, and always with a twist or some irony. Short and powerful music which was appreciated by the audience. Innovative? Not really, but fun to see this band on stage. We were told that a new album is in the making.

The Godfathers started with Cause I Said So. The band is still sharp and hungry. The singer has a nonchalant attitude, but on stage the company looks like a real band. "It's rock 'n roll mate" were the words he used in between songs and that is what we got: pure garage rock.

In addition to well-known songs like How Low is Low, Unreal World, a magisterial When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, less well-known songs of the latest album Jukebox Fury and the debut Hit By Hit were played: The Outsider, This Damn Nation. The new single Till My Heart Stops Beating sounded live pretty good.

The Fodfathers returned for three encores including Birth, School, Work, Death. The band is a rock machine and will never be as mainstream as during Birth School Work Death, but live the Godfathers definitely are still relevant, and less polished as back then. When I saw the smiling audience afterwards, I knew I was not the only one who enjoyed it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk herinneren zich heel wat lezers The Godfathers nog. Het gezelschap trad hier regelmatig op en had natuurlijk ook die grote hit Birth School Work Death. Velen weten wellicht niet dat The Godfathers vandaag nog altijd alive and kicking zijn en dat er drie jaar geleden nog een album verscheen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd om de band aan het werk te zien. Vooral omdat ik daartoe, raar maar waar, destijds nooit de kans heb gekregen.

Beuk uit Brugge was het voorprogramma. Het brengt Nederlandstalige garagerock. en doet dat goed en degelijk, altijd met een twist of een ironische ondertoon. Kort en bondige muziek die door het talrijk opgekomen publiek werd geapprecieerd. Vernieuwend? Niet echt, maar wel leuk om live bezig te zien. En we vernamen dat er aan een album wordt gewerkt.

The Godfathers startten met Cause I Said So. Het was meteen duidelijk dat hier nog altijd een vinnige en hongerige band op het podium staat. De zanger heeft altijd wel een nonchalante houding gehad, toch straalt de band echtheid uit. “It’s rock ' roll mate” was een van zijn bindteksten en dat was het. Bijna pure garagerock. Naast bekende songs als How Low is Low, Unreal World, een magistrale When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, stonden ook minder bekende songs uit het laatste album Jukebox Fury en het debuut Hit By Hit op de setlist: The Outsider, This Damn Nation… Ook de nieuwe single Till My Heart Stops Beating werd gespeeld en die klonk live meer dan behoorlijk goed. The Goidfathers kwam terug voor drie bisnummers waaronder natuurlijk ook Birth, School, Work, Death.

The Godfathers is nog steeds een rockmachine. Mainstream zoals in tijden van Birth School Work Death zal de band wellicht niet meer worden, maar live is hij beslist nog relevant en iets minder gepolijst dan op de platen destijds. Als ik het publiek nadien zag, was ik niet de enige die ervan genoten had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016) 08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE