tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DILLY DALLY - Sore

DILLY DALLY

Sore

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[81/100]   

Partisan Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sexy, deafening and fantastic. That’s all you need to know about Sore, the debut of the Canadian band Dilly Dally. It may seem a frivolous name, but the music by Katie Monks and Liz Ball isn’t. Twelve years ago, the two women made a sister-like bond that was based on a musical alliance. Fascinated by rock gods like Pete Doherty and Kurt Cobain, Katie and Liz decided to follow their footsteps. And you can hear that on this stunner!

On Sore, which lasts barely 30 minutes, you hear eleven tracks that take you away from every dream. Imagine how the Pixies would sound if Courtney Love (or if you prefer PJ Harvey) was the front woman. Yes, Dilly Dally is that fantastic and sexy! You hear the same decadence as in Hole, but just like them, Dilly Dally does more than just some screaming. The songs sound filthy and dirty, just like real rock 'n' roll is supposed to sound, but all songs are ingenious. Think of Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and more of that!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Sexy, oorverdovend en fantastisch. Meer hoef je eigenlijk niet te weten over Sore, het debuut van de Canadese band Dilly Dally. Het lijkt misschien een frivole naam, maar de muziek die Katie Monks en Liz Balls maken is dat geenszins. De twee meiden sloten twaalf jaar geleden een muzikaal verbond. Gefascineerd door rockgoden zoals Pete Doherty en Kurt Cobain, besloten de dames om in hun voetstappen te treden. En dat hoor je op deze kanjer!

Op Sore, dat amper 30 minuten duurt, staan elf tracks die je uit iedere droom weghalen. Beeld je gewoon in hoe de Pixies zouden klinken mocht Courtney Love (of zo je wil PJ Harvey) de frontvrouw zijn. Ja, zo fantastisch en sexy dus! Je hoort dezelfde decadentie en net zoals bij Hole, is Dilly Dally meer dan zo maar wat gekrijs. De songs klinken vies en vuil, net zoals echte rock ’n roll behoort te zijn, maar ze zitten stuk voor stuk ingenieus ineen. Denk aan Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs en meer van dat lekkers! 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn