tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DILLY DALLY - Sore

DILLY DALLY

Sore

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[81/100]   

Partisan Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sexy, deafening and fantastic. That’s all you need to know about Sore, the debut of the Canadian band Dilly Dally. It may seem a frivolous name, but the music by Katie Monks and Liz Ball isn’t. Twelve years ago, the two women made a sister-like bond that was based on a musical alliance. Fascinated by rock gods like Pete Doherty and Kurt Cobain, Katie and Liz decided to follow their footsteps. And you can hear that on this stunner!

On Sore, which lasts barely 30 minutes, you hear eleven tracks that take you away from every dream. Imagine how the Pixies would sound if Courtney Love (or if you prefer PJ Harvey) was the front woman. Yes, Dilly Dally is that fantastic and sexy! You hear the same decadence as in Hole, but just like them, Dilly Dally does more than just some screaming. The songs sound filthy and dirty, just like real rock 'n' roll is supposed to sound, but all songs are ingenious. Think of Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and more of that!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Sexy, oorverdovend en fantastisch. Meer hoef je eigenlijk niet te weten over Sore, het debuut van de Canadese band Dilly Dally. Het lijkt misschien een frivole naam, maar de muziek die Katie Monks en Liz Balls maken is dat geenszins. De twee meiden sloten twaalf jaar geleden een muzikaal verbond. Gefascineerd door rockgoden zoals Pete Doherty en Kurt Cobain, besloten de dames om in hun voetstappen te treden. En dat hoor je op deze kanjer!

Op Sore, dat amper 30 minuten duurt, staan elf tracks die je uit iedere droom weghalen. Beeld je gewoon in hoe de Pixies zouden klinken mocht Courtney Love (of zo je wil PJ Harvey) de frontvrouw zijn. Ja, zo fantastisch en sexy dus! Je hoort dezelfde decadentie en net zoals bij Hole, is Dilly Dally meer dan zo maar wat gekrijs. De songs klinken vies en vuil, net zoals echte rock ’n roll behoort te zijn, maar ze zitten stuk voor stuk ingenieus ineen. Denk aan Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs en meer van dat lekkers! 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno