tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DILLY DALLY - Sore

DILLY DALLY

Sore

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[81/100]   

Partisan Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sexy, deafening and fantastic. That’s all you need to know about Sore, the debut of the Canadian band Dilly Dally. It may seem a frivolous name, but the music by Katie Monks and Liz Ball isn’t. Twelve years ago, the two women made a sister-like bond that was based on a musical alliance. Fascinated by rock gods like Pete Doherty and Kurt Cobain, Katie and Liz decided to follow their footsteps. And you can hear that on this stunner!

On Sore, which lasts barely 30 minutes, you hear eleven tracks that take you away from every dream. Imagine how the Pixies would sound if Courtney Love (or if you prefer PJ Harvey) was the front woman. Yes, Dilly Dally is that fantastic and sexy! You hear the same decadence as in Hole, but just like them, Dilly Dally does more than just some screaming. The songs sound filthy and dirty, just like real rock 'n' roll is supposed to sound, but all songs are ingenious. Think of Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and more of that!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Sexy, oorverdovend en fantastisch. Meer hoef je eigenlijk niet te weten over Sore, het debuut van de Canadese band Dilly Dally. Het lijkt misschien een frivole naam, maar de muziek die Katie Monks en Liz Balls maken is dat geenszins. De twee meiden sloten twaalf jaar geleden een muzikaal verbond. Gefascineerd door rockgoden zoals Pete Doherty en Kurt Cobain, besloten de dames om in hun voetstappen te treden. En dat hoor je op deze kanjer!

Op Sore, dat amper 30 minuten duurt, staan elf tracks die je uit iedere droom weghalen. Beeld je gewoon in hoe de Pixies zouden klinken mocht Courtney Love (of zo je wil PJ Harvey) de frontvrouw zijn. Ja, zo fantastisch en sexy dus! Je hoort dezelfde decadentie en net zoals bij Hole, is Dilly Dally meer dan zo maar wat gekrijs. De songs klinken vies en vuil, net zoals echte rock ’n roll behoort te zijn, maar ze zitten stuk voor stuk ingenieus ineen. Denk aan Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs en meer van dat lekkers! 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire