tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DILLY DALLY - Sore

DILLY DALLY

Sore

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[81/100]   

Partisan Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sexy, deafening and fantastic. That’s all you need to know about Sore, the debut of the Canadian band Dilly Dally. It may seem a frivolous name, but the music by Katie Monks and Liz Ball isn’t. Twelve years ago, the two women made a sister-like bond that was based on a musical alliance. Fascinated by rock gods like Pete Doherty and Kurt Cobain, Katie and Liz decided to follow their footsteps. And you can hear that on this stunner!

On Sore, which lasts barely 30 minutes, you hear eleven tracks that take you away from every dream. Imagine how the Pixies would sound if Courtney Love (or if you prefer PJ Harvey) was the front woman. Yes, Dilly Dally is that fantastic and sexy! You hear the same decadence as in Hole, but just like them, Dilly Dally does more than just some screaming. The songs sound filthy and dirty, just like real rock 'n' roll is supposed to sound, but all songs are ingenious. Think of Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and more of that!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Sexy, oorverdovend en fantastisch. Meer hoef je eigenlijk niet te weten over Sore, het debuut van de Canadese band Dilly Dally. Het lijkt misschien een frivole naam, maar de muziek die Katie Monks en Liz Balls maken is dat geenszins. De twee meiden sloten twaalf jaar geleden een muzikaal verbond. Gefascineerd door rockgoden zoals Pete Doherty en Kurt Cobain, besloten de dames om in hun voetstappen te treden. En dat hoor je op deze kanjer!

Op Sore, dat amper 30 minuten duurt, staan elf tracks die je uit iedere droom weghalen. Beeld je gewoon in hoe de Pixies zouden klinken mocht Courtney Love (of zo je wil PJ Harvey) de frontvrouw zijn. Ja, zo fantastisch en sexy dus! Je hoort dezelfde decadentie en net zoals bij Hole, is Dilly Dally meer dan zo maar wat gekrijs. De songs klinken vies en vuil, net zoals echte rock ’n roll behoort te zijn, maar ze zitten stuk voor stuk ingenieus ineen. Denk aan Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs en meer van dat lekkers! 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth