tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DILLY DALLY - Sore

DILLY DALLY

Sore

MusicCD
IndieRiot Grrrl

[81/100]   

Partisan Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sexy, deafening and fantastic. That’s all you need to know about Sore, the debut of the Canadian band Dilly Dally. It may seem a frivolous name, but the music by Katie Monks and Liz Ball isn’t. Twelve years ago, the two women made a sister-like bond that was based on a musical alliance. Fascinated by rock gods like Pete Doherty and Kurt Cobain, Katie and Liz decided to follow their footsteps. And you can hear that on this stunner!

On Sore, which lasts barely 30 minutes, you hear eleven tracks that take you away from every dream. Imagine how the Pixies would sound if Courtney Love (or if you prefer PJ Harvey) was the front woman. Yes, Dilly Dally is that fantastic and sexy! You hear the same decadence as in Hole, but just like them, Dilly Dally does more than just some screaming. The songs sound filthy and dirty, just like real rock 'n' roll is supposed to sound, but all songs are ingenious. Think of Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and more of that!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Sexy, oorverdovend en fantastisch. Meer hoef je eigenlijk niet te weten over Sore, het debuut van de Canadese band Dilly Dally. Het lijkt misschien een frivole naam, maar de muziek die Katie Monks en Liz Balls maken is dat geenszins. De twee meiden sloten twaalf jaar geleden een muzikaal verbond. Gefascineerd door rockgoden zoals Pete Doherty en Kurt Cobain, besloten de dames om in hun voetstappen te treden. En dat hoor je op deze kanjer!

Op Sore, dat amper 30 minuten duurt, staan elf tracks die je uit iedere droom weghalen. Beeld je gewoon in hoe de Pixies zouden klinken mocht Courtney Love (of zo je wil PJ Harvey) de frontvrouw zijn. Ja, zo fantastisch en sexy dus! Je hoort dezelfde decadentie en net zoals bij Hole, is Dilly Dally meer dan zo maar wat gekrijs. De songs klinken vies en vuil, net zoals echte rock ’n roll behoort te zijn, maar ze zitten stuk voor stuk ingenieus ineen. Denk aan Sonic Youth, Bikini Kill, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs en meer van dat lekkers! 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real