tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VALKYRE - Our Glorious Demise

VALKYRE

Our Glorious Demise

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[77/100]   

Valkyrie Rising
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Never give up and always go for the dream. That is the essence of the life story of the Flemish symphonic goth metal band Valkyre. The group was formed in 2004 by Kris Scheerlinck who left Sengir, a metal band that was very close to goth, which is true for Valkyre as well.

In the beginning everything went smoothly, because in a short while the band ended up in a Dutch studio with Hans Pieters, who worked with Epica and After Forever before. A second demo was released and the band even got a performance at the famous Metal Female Voices Fest, but then everything went silent.

We won’t say Valkyre has an original sound, as you’ll never believe us, but the compositions are delicious earwax. The songs are somewhat bombastic, but always melodic and always accompanied by the angelic voice of Claudia Michelutti. Of course Within Temptation and Nightwish are a reference, but what’s wrong with that?

There is a regular alternation between solid rock and dreamy ballads. The guitar parts are powerful, the vocals sound familiar (but never are clichés) and the keyboards parts are beautiful, often with choirs which of course makes you think of Therion.

It was a long wait, but Our Glorious Demise is a record to cherish if you love above mentioned bands.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nooit opgeven en altijd blijven gaan voor de droom. Dat is wellicht de essentie van het levensverhaal van de Vlaamse symfonische gothmetalband Valkyre. De groep bestaat sinds 2004 en is opgericht door Kris Scheerlinck die net Sengir verliet, een metalband die zeer dicht bij gothic aanleunde, wat trouwens ook voor Valkyre geldt.

In het begin liep alles van een leien dakje, want in vrije korte tijd zat de band in een Nederlandse studio met Hans Pieters die ook met Epica en After Forever had gewerkt. Een tweede demo volgde en er was zelfs een optreden op Metal Female Voices Fest, maar toen viel alles stil.

Zeggen dat Valkyre origineel klinkt, doen we niet, maar het is wel overheerlijke oorsmeer. De songs zijn wat bombastisch, maar altijd melodisch en worden steeds begeleid door de engelachtige stem van Claudia Michelutti. Natuurlijk durft een mens wel eens aan Within Temptation of Nightwish denken, maar wat zou het?

Er is geregeld afwisseling tussen het stevige werk en de meer dromerige ballads. De gitaarpartijen zijn krachtig, de zang klinkt bekend in de oren (maar vervalt nooit in clichés) en ook de keyboards bevatten mooie momenten (vaak met koorzang waardoor je natuurlijk Therion in gedachten hebt).

Het heeft misschien lang geduurd, maar Our Glorious Demise is een plaat om te onthouden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu