tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VALKYRE - Our Glorious Demise

VALKYRE

Our Glorious Demise

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[77/100]   

Valkyrie Rising
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Never give up and always go for the dream. That is the essence of the life story of the Flemish symphonic goth metal band Valkyre. The group was formed in 2004 by Kris Scheerlinck who left Sengir, a metal band that was very close to goth, which is true for Valkyre as well.

In the beginning everything went smoothly, because in a short while the band ended up in a Dutch studio with Hans Pieters, who worked with Epica and After Forever before. A second demo was released and the band even got a performance at the famous Metal Female Voices Fest, but then everything went silent.

We won’t say Valkyre has an original sound, as you’ll never believe us, but the compositions are delicious earwax. The songs are somewhat bombastic, but always melodic and always accompanied by the angelic voice of Claudia Michelutti. Of course Within Temptation and Nightwish are a reference, but what’s wrong with that?

There is a regular alternation between solid rock and dreamy ballads. The guitar parts are powerful, the vocals sound familiar (but never are clichés) and the keyboards parts are beautiful, often with choirs which of course makes you think of Therion.

It was a long wait, but Our Glorious Demise is a record to cherish if you love above mentioned bands.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nooit opgeven en altijd blijven gaan voor de droom. Dat is wellicht de essentie van het levensverhaal van de Vlaamse symfonische gothmetalband Valkyre. De groep bestaat sinds 2004 en is opgericht door Kris Scheerlinck die net Sengir verliet, een metalband die zeer dicht bij gothic aanleunde, wat trouwens ook voor Valkyre geldt.

In het begin liep alles van een leien dakje, want in vrije korte tijd zat de band in een Nederlandse studio met Hans Pieters die ook met Epica en After Forever had gewerkt. Een tweede demo volgde en er was zelfs een optreden op Metal Female Voices Fest, maar toen viel alles stil.

Zeggen dat Valkyre origineel klinkt, doen we niet, maar het is wel overheerlijke oorsmeer. De songs zijn wat bombastisch, maar altijd melodisch en worden steeds begeleid door de engelachtige stem van Claudia Michelutti. Natuurlijk durft een mens wel eens aan Within Temptation of Nightwish denken, maar wat zou het?

Er is geregeld afwisseling tussen het stevige werk en de meer dromerige ballads. De gitaarpartijen zijn krachtig, de zang klinkt bekend in de oren (maar vervalt nooit in clichés) en ook de keyboards bevatten mooie momenten (vaak met koorzang waardoor je natuurlijk Therion in gedachten hebt).

Het heeft misschien lang geduurd, maar Our Glorious Demise is een plaat om te onthouden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)