tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VALKYRE - Our Glorious Demise

VALKYRE

Our Glorious Demise

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[77/100]   

Valkyrie Rising
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Never give up and always go for the dream. That is the essence of the life story of the Flemish symphonic goth metal band Valkyre. The group was formed in 2004 by Kris Scheerlinck who left Sengir, a metal band that was very close to goth, which is true for Valkyre as well.

In the beginning everything went smoothly, because in a short while the band ended up in a Dutch studio with Hans Pieters, who worked with Epica and After Forever before. A second demo was released and the band even got a performance at the famous Metal Female Voices Fest, but then everything went silent.

We won’t say Valkyre has an original sound, as you’ll never believe us, but the compositions are delicious earwax. The songs are somewhat bombastic, but always melodic and always accompanied by the angelic voice of Claudia Michelutti. Of course Within Temptation and Nightwish are a reference, but what’s wrong with that?

There is a regular alternation between solid rock and dreamy ballads. The guitar parts are powerful, the vocals sound familiar (but never are clichés) and the keyboards parts are beautiful, often with choirs which of course makes you think of Therion.

It was a long wait, but Our Glorious Demise is a record to cherish if you love above mentioned bands.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nooit opgeven en altijd blijven gaan voor de droom. Dat is wellicht de essentie van het levensverhaal van de Vlaamse symfonische gothmetalband Valkyre. De groep bestaat sinds 2004 en is opgericht door Kris Scheerlinck die net Sengir verliet, een metalband die zeer dicht bij gothic aanleunde, wat trouwens ook voor Valkyre geldt.

In het begin liep alles van een leien dakje, want in vrije korte tijd zat de band in een Nederlandse studio met Hans Pieters die ook met Epica en After Forever had gewerkt. Een tweede demo volgde en er was zelfs een optreden op Metal Female Voices Fest, maar toen viel alles stil.

Zeggen dat Valkyre origineel klinkt, doen we niet, maar het is wel overheerlijke oorsmeer. De songs zijn wat bombastisch, maar altijd melodisch en worden steeds begeleid door de engelachtige stem van Claudia Michelutti. Natuurlijk durft een mens wel eens aan Within Temptation of Nightwish denken, maar wat zou het?

Er is geregeld afwisseling tussen het stevige werk en de meer dromerige ballads. De gitaarpartijen zijn krachtig, de zang klinkt bekend in de oren (maar vervalt nooit in clichés) en ook de keyboards bevatten mooie momenten (vaak met koorzang waardoor je natuurlijk Therion in gedachten hebt).

Het heeft misschien lang geduurd, maar Our Glorious Demise is een plaat om te onthouden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco