tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VALKYRE - Our Glorious Demise

VALKYRE

Our Glorious Demise

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[77/100]   

Valkyrie Rising
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Never give up and always go for the dream. That is the essence of the life story of the Flemish symphonic goth metal band Valkyre. The group was formed in 2004 by Kris Scheerlinck who left Sengir, a metal band that was very close to goth, which is true for Valkyre as well.

In the beginning everything went smoothly, because in a short while the band ended up in a Dutch studio with Hans Pieters, who worked with Epica and After Forever before. A second demo was released and the band even got a performance at the famous Metal Female Voices Fest, but then everything went silent.

We won’t say Valkyre has an original sound, as you’ll never believe us, but the compositions are delicious earwax. The songs are somewhat bombastic, but always melodic and always accompanied by the angelic voice of Claudia Michelutti. Of course Within Temptation and Nightwish are a reference, but what’s wrong with that?

There is a regular alternation between solid rock and dreamy ballads. The guitar parts are powerful, the vocals sound familiar (but never are clichés) and the keyboards parts are beautiful, often with choirs which of course makes you think of Therion.

It was a long wait, but Our Glorious Demise is a record to cherish if you love above mentioned bands.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nooit opgeven en altijd blijven gaan voor de droom. Dat is wellicht de essentie van het levensverhaal van de Vlaamse symfonische gothmetalband Valkyre. De groep bestaat sinds 2004 en is opgericht door Kris Scheerlinck die net Sengir verliet, een metalband die zeer dicht bij gothic aanleunde, wat trouwens ook voor Valkyre geldt.

In het begin liep alles van een leien dakje, want in vrije korte tijd zat de band in een Nederlandse studio met Hans Pieters die ook met Epica en After Forever had gewerkt. Een tweede demo volgde en er was zelfs een optreden op Metal Female Voices Fest, maar toen viel alles stil.

Zeggen dat Valkyre origineel klinkt, doen we niet, maar het is wel overheerlijke oorsmeer. De songs zijn wat bombastisch, maar altijd melodisch en worden steeds begeleid door de engelachtige stem van Claudia Michelutti. Natuurlijk durft een mens wel eens aan Within Temptation of Nightwish denken, maar wat zou het?

Er is geregeld afwisseling tussen het stevige werk en de meer dromerige ballads. De gitaarpartijen zijn krachtig, de zang klinkt bekend in de oren (maar vervalt nooit in clichés) en ook de keyboards bevatten mooie momenten (vaak met koorzang waardoor je natuurlijk Therion in gedachten hebt).

Het heeft misschien lang geduurd, maar Our Glorious Demise is een plaat om te onthouden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway