tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VALKYRE - Our Glorious Demise

VALKYRE

Our Glorious Demise

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[77/100]   

Valkyrie Rising
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Never give up and always go for the dream. That is the essence of the life story of the Flemish symphonic goth metal band Valkyre. The group was formed in 2004 by Kris Scheerlinck who left Sengir, a metal band that was very close to goth, which is true for Valkyre as well.

In the beginning everything went smoothly, because in a short while the band ended up in a Dutch studio with Hans Pieters, who worked with Epica and After Forever before. A second demo was released and the band even got a performance at the famous Metal Female Voices Fest, but then everything went silent.

We won’t say Valkyre has an original sound, as you’ll never believe us, but the compositions are delicious earwax. The songs are somewhat bombastic, but always melodic and always accompanied by the angelic voice of Claudia Michelutti. Of course Within Temptation and Nightwish are a reference, but what’s wrong with that?

There is a regular alternation between solid rock and dreamy ballads. The guitar parts are powerful, the vocals sound familiar (but never are clichés) and the keyboards parts are beautiful, often with choirs which of course makes you think of Therion.

It was a long wait, but Our Glorious Demise is a record to cherish if you love above mentioned bands.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nooit opgeven en altijd blijven gaan voor de droom. Dat is wellicht de essentie van het levensverhaal van de Vlaamse symfonische gothmetalband Valkyre. De groep bestaat sinds 2004 en is opgericht door Kris Scheerlinck die net Sengir verliet, een metalband die zeer dicht bij gothic aanleunde, wat trouwens ook voor Valkyre geldt.

In het begin liep alles van een leien dakje, want in vrije korte tijd zat de band in een Nederlandse studio met Hans Pieters die ook met Epica en After Forever had gewerkt. Een tweede demo volgde en er was zelfs een optreden op Metal Female Voices Fest, maar toen viel alles stil.

Zeggen dat Valkyre origineel klinkt, doen we niet, maar het is wel overheerlijke oorsmeer. De songs zijn wat bombastisch, maar altijd melodisch en worden steeds begeleid door de engelachtige stem van Claudia Michelutti. Natuurlijk durft een mens wel eens aan Within Temptation of Nightwish denken, maar wat zou het?

Er is geregeld afwisseling tussen het stevige werk en de meer dromerige ballads. De gitaarpartijen zijn krachtig, de zang klinkt bekend in de oren (maar vervalt nooit in clichés) en ook de keyboards bevatten mooie momenten (vaak met koorzang waardoor je natuurlijk Therion in gedachten hebt).

Het heeft misschien lang geduurd, maar Our Glorious Demise is een plaat om te onthouden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion