tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED STORM - Alert

RED STORM

Alert

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[70/100]   

Echozone
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We’re always keen on some good electro rock. You might be unfamiliar with the name of Red Storm, but the people who are involved can be regarded as fairly important.

Let's first take a look behind the scenes, as Ivan Muñoz as John Fryer were both the producers. Of course the latter needs no introduction as Fryer was responsible for many important new wave albums (from 4AD to Depeche Mode). You might know Muñoz as the producer who worked with bands like Atari Teenage Riot and Die Krupps.

Choosing these two producers is not just a coincidence, because the sound of Red Storm really does sound like a meeting place of American industrial and European (commercial) gothic rock pop.

And then there is of course the main asset of the band: the Polish diva Agnieszka Lesna, who was popular with her previous band Desdemona. When an American journalist saw her at M'era Luna, he described her as a "red storm" and apparently those words have lingered.

From the start, all the trump cards are thrown on the table and the band maintains the high level during ten tracks: heavy power pop with loud guitars and a superb female voice. The only downside is that Alert could use some variety in the style of songs, but musically it is at least as good as say (if you remember them) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tegen een flinke portie electrorock zeggen we niet vlug neen. De naam Red Storm zegt je misschien bitter weinig, maar de mensen die erbij betrokken zijn, kan je toch wel als tamelijk belangrijk beschouwen.

Laten we misschien eerst een kijkje achter de schermen nemen, want zowel Ivan Muñoz als John Fryer zaten als producer achter de knoppen. Deze laatste moeten we je natuurlijk niet voorstellen, want Fryer was betrokken bij zowat iedere belangrijke waveplaat (van 4AD tot Depeche Mode). Muñoz ken je misschien als de producer die samenwerkte met bands als Atari Teenage Riot en Die Krupps.

Het kiezen van deze twee producers is niet zo maar toevallig, want het geluid van Red Storm klinkt inderdaad als een ontmoetingsplaats van Amerikaanse industrial en Europese (commerciële) gothrockpop.

En dan is er natuurlijk de belangrijkste troef van de band: de Poolse diva Agnieszka Lesna, die je je misschien wel herinnert van haar vorige band Desdemona. Toen een Amerikaanse journalist haar op M’era Luna aan het werk zag, omschreef hij haar als een “rode storm” en blijkbaar zijn die woorden blijven hangen.

Vanaf de start worden alle troeven op tafel gegooid en de band houdt dit tien tracks vol: gebalde powerpop met krachtige gitaren en een uitmuntende vrouwenstem. Het enige minpunt is dat Alert best wat meer variatie kon gebruiken, maar muzikaal is het minstens even leuk als pakweg (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire
09
07
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect