tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED STORM - Alert

RED STORM

Alert

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[70/100]   

Echozone
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We’re always keen on some good electro rock. You might be unfamiliar with the name of Red Storm, but the people who are involved can be regarded as fairly important.

Let's first take a look behind the scenes, as Ivan Muñoz as John Fryer were both the producers. Of course the latter needs no introduction as Fryer was responsible for many important new wave albums (from 4AD to Depeche Mode). You might know Muñoz as the producer who worked with bands like Atari Teenage Riot and Die Krupps.

Choosing these two producers is not just a coincidence, because the sound of Red Storm really does sound like a meeting place of American industrial and European (commercial) gothic rock pop.

And then there is of course the main asset of the band: the Polish diva Agnieszka Lesna, who was popular with her previous band Desdemona. When an American journalist saw her at M'era Luna, he described her as a "red storm" and apparently those words have lingered.

From the start, all the trump cards are thrown on the table and the band maintains the high level during ten tracks: heavy power pop with loud guitars and a superb female voice. The only downside is that Alert could use some variety in the style of songs, but musically it is at least as good as say (if you remember them) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tegen een flinke portie electrorock zeggen we niet vlug neen. De naam Red Storm zegt je misschien bitter weinig, maar de mensen die erbij betrokken zijn, kan je toch wel als tamelijk belangrijk beschouwen.

Laten we misschien eerst een kijkje achter de schermen nemen, want zowel Ivan Muñoz als John Fryer zaten als producer achter de knoppen. Deze laatste moeten we je natuurlijk niet voorstellen, want Fryer was betrokken bij zowat iedere belangrijke waveplaat (van 4AD tot Depeche Mode). Muñoz ken je misschien als de producer die samenwerkte met bands als Atari Teenage Riot en Die Krupps.

Het kiezen van deze twee producers is niet zo maar toevallig, want het geluid van Red Storm klinkt inderdaad als een ontmoetingsplaats van Amerikaanse industrial en Europese (commerciële) gothrockpop.

En dan is er natuurlijk de belangrijkste troef van de band: de Poolse diva Agnieszka Lesna, die je je misschien wel herinnert van haar vorige band Desdemona. Toen een Amerikaanse journalist haar op M’era Luna aan het werk zag, omschreef hij haar als een “rode storm” en blijkbaar zijn die woorden blijven hangen.

Vanaf de start worden alle troeven op tafel gegooid en de band houdt dit tien tracks vol: gebalde powerpop met krachtige gitaren en een uitmuntende vrouwenstem. Het enige minpunt is dat Alert best wat meer variatie kon gebruiken, maar muzikaal is het minstens even leuk als pakweg (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine