tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED STORM - Alert

RED STORM

Alert

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[70/100]   

Echozone
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We’re always keen on some good electro rock. You might be unfamiliar with the name of Red Storm, but the people who are involved can be regarded as fairly important.

Let's first take a look behind the scenes, as Ivan Muñoz as John Fryer were both the producers. Of course the latter needs no introduction as Fryer was responsible for many important new wave albums (from 4AD to Depeche Mode). You might know Muñoz as the producer who worked with bands like Atari Teenage Riot and Die Krupps.

Choosing these two producers is not just a coincidence, because the sound of Red Storm really does sound like a meeting place of American industrial and European (commercial) gothic rock pop.

And then there is of course the main asset of the band: the Polish diva Agnieszka Lesna, who was popular with her previous band Desdemona. When an American journalist saw her at M'era Luna, he described her as a "red storm" and apparently those words have lingered.

From the start, all the trump cards are thrown on the table and the band maintains the high level during ten tracks: heavy power pop with loud guitars and a superb female voice. The only downside is that Alert could use some variety in the style of songs, but musically it is at least as good as say (if you remember them) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tegen een flinke portie electrorock zeggen we niet vlug neen. De naam Red Storm zegt je misschien bitter weinig, maar de mensen die erbij betrokken zijn, kan je toch wel als tamelijk belangrijk beschouwen.

Laten we misschien eerst een kijkje achter de schermen nemen, want zowel Ivan Muñoz als John Fryer zaten als producer achter de knoppen. Deze laatste moeten we je natuurlijk niet voorstellen, want Fryer was betrokken bij zowat iedere belangrijke waveplaat (van 4AD tot Depeche Mode). Muñoz ken je misschien als de producer die samenwerkte met bands als Atari Teenage Riot en Die Krupps.

Het kiezen van deze twee producers is niet zo maar toevallig, want het geluid van Red Storm klinkt inderdaad als een ontmoetingsplaats van Amerikaanse industrial en Europese (commerciële) gothrockpop.

En dan is er natuurlijk de belangrijkste troef van de band: de Poolse diva Agnieszka Lesna, die je je misschien wel herinnert van haar vorige band Desdemona. Toen een Amerikaanse journalist haar op M’era Luna aan het werk zag, omschreef hij haar als een “rode storm” en blijkbaar zijn die woorden blijven hangen.

Vanaf de start worden alle troeven op tafel gegooid en de band houdt dit tien tracks vol: gebalde powerpop met krachtige gitaren en een uitmuntende vrouwenstem. Het enige minpunt is dat Alert best wat meer variatie kon gebruiken, maar muzikaal is het minstens even leuk als pakweg (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down