tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED STORM - Alert

RED STORM

Alert

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[70/100]   

Echozone
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We’re always keen on some good electro rock. You might be unfamiliar with the name of Red Storm, but the people who are involved can be regarded as fairly important.

Let's first take a look behind the scenes, as Ivan Muñoz as John Fryer were both the producers. Of course the latter needs no introduction as Fryer was responsible for many important new wave albums (from 4AD to Depeche Mode). You might know Muñoz as the producer who worked with bands like Atari Teenage Riot and Die Krupps.

Choosing these two producers is not just a coincidence, because the sound of Red Storm really does sound like a meeting place of American industrial and European (commercial) gothic rock pop.

And then there is of course the main asset of the band: the Polish diva Agnieszka Lesna, who was popular with her previous band Desdemona. When an American journalist saw her at M'era Luna, he described her as a "red storm" and apparently those words have lingered.

From the start, all the trump cards are thrown on the table and the band maintains the high level during ten tracks: heavy power pop with loud guitars and a superb female voice. The only downside is that Alert could use some variety in the style of songs, but musically it is at least as good as say (if you remember them) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tegen een flinke portie electrorock zeggen we niet vlug neen. De naam Red Storm zegt je misschien bitter weinig, maar de mensen die erbij betrokken zijn, kan je toch wel als tamelijk belangrijk beschouwen.

Laten we misschien eerst een kijkje achter de schermen nemen, want zowel Ivan Muñoz als John Fryer zaten als producer achter de knoppen. Deze laatste moeten we je natuurlijk niet voorstellen, want Fryer was betrokken bij zowat iedere belangrijke waveplaat (van 4AD tot Depeche Mode). Muñoz ken je misschien als de producer die samenwerkte met bands als Atari Teenage Riot en Die Krupps.

Het kiezen van deze twee producers is niet zo maar toevallig, want het geluid van Red Storm klinkt inderdaad als een ontmoetingsplaats van Amerikaanse industrial en Europese (commerciële) gothrockpop.

En dan is er natuurlijk de belangrijkste troef van de band: de Poolse diva Agnieszka Lesna, die je je misschien wel herinnert van haar vorige band Desdemona. Toen een Amerikaanse journalist haar op M’era Luna aan het werk zag, omschreef hij haar als een “rode storm” en blijkbaar zijn die woorden blijven hangen.

Vanaf de start worden alle troeven op tafel gegooid en de band houdt dit tien tracks vol: gebalde powerpop met krachtige gitaren en een uitmuntende vrouwenstem. Het enige minpunt is dat Alert best wat meer variatie kon gebruiken, maar muzikaal is het minstens even leuk als pakweg (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)