tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED STORM - Alert

RED STORM

Alert

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[70/100]   

Echozone
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We’re always keen on some good electro rock. You might be unfamiliar with the name of Red Storm, but the people who are involved can be regarded as fairly important.

Let's first take a look behind the scenes, as Ivan Muñoz as John Fryer were both the producers. Of course the latter needs no introduction as Fryer was responsible for many important new wave albums (from 4AD to Depeche Mode). You might know Muñoz as the producer who worked with bands like Atari Teenage Riot and Die Krupps.

Choosing these two producers is not just a coincidence, because the sound of Red Storm really does sound like a meeting place of American industrial and European (commercial) gothic rock pop.

And then there is of course the main asset of the band: the Polish diva Agnieszka Lesna, who was popular with her previous band Desdemona. When an American journalist saw her at M'era Luna, he described her as a "red storm" and apparently those words have lingered.

From the start, all the trump cards are thrown on the table and the band maintains the high level during ten tracks: heavy power pop with loud guitars and a superb female voice. The only downside is that Alert could use some variety in the style of songs, but musically it is at least as good as say (if you remember them) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tegen een flinke portie electrorock zeggen we niet vlug neen. De naam Red Storm zegt je misschien bitter weinig, maar de mensen die erbij betrokken zijn, kan je toch wel als tamelijk belangrijk beschouwen.

Laten we misschien eerst een kijkje achter de schermen nemen, want zowel Ivan Muñoz als John Fryer zaten als producer achter de knoppen. Deze laatste moeten we je natuurlijk niet voorstellen, want Fryer was betrokken bij zowat iedere belangrijke waveplaat (van 4AD tot Depeche Mode). Muñoz ken je misschien als de producer die samenwerkte met bands als Atari Teenage Riot en Die Krupps.

Het kiezen van deze twee producers is niet zo maar toevallig, want het geluid van Red Storm klinkt inderdaad als een ontmoetingsplaats van Amerikaanse industrial en Europese (commerciële) gothrockpop.

En dan is er natuurlijk de belangrijkste troef van de band: de Poolse diva Agnieszka Lesna, die je je misschien wel herinnert van haar vorige band Desdemona. Toen een Amerikaanse journalist haar op M’era Luna aan het werk zag, omschreef hij haar als een “rode storm” en blijkbaar zijn die woorden blijven hangen.

Vanaf de start worden alle troeven op tafel gegooid en de band houdt dit tien tracks vol: gebalde powerpop met krachtige gitaren en een uitmuntende vrouwenstem. Het enige minpunt is dat Alert best wat meer variatie kon gebruiken, maar muzikaal is het minstens even leuk als pakweg (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Republica.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis