tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : CANTERRA - First Escape

CANTERRA

First Escape

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[78/100]   

Kick The Flame
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In 2010 Canterra (then Avatar) released its first demo Echoes Of Fear. The band played some gigs near home city Leipzig (and of course at Wave & Gothik Treffen), and joined the stage with bigger names like Lord Of The Lost. But we’re almost sure that the five Germans never expected that their career would reach a momentum as is now the case. Just like any band, Canterra wanted to make a record and on 19th February their debut First Escape will be released on a small label (Kick The Flame from Leipzig). But there's more! Their sound was picked up by Lacrimosa front man Tillo Wolf who was so impressed that he asked Canterra to join him as a support act on his upcoming Unterwelt Tour.

Because of the perfect high vocals of front woman Korinna König, many metal fans will describe Canterra as female fronted metal. That’s not a lie, but Canterra is much more than that. On the debut album you hear some powerful tracks that are a cross-fertilization of goth and prog metal, interspersed with some ballads, but most of the times it’s strong and melancholic work.

To make it in the music business you obviously need a crucial support, and with the helping hand of a giant like Tilo things can’t go wrong. In any case, they have no lack of quality.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

In 2010 bracht Canterra (toen nog Avatar) met Echoes Of Fear een eerste demo uit. De band speelde wat optredens in de buurt van thuisstad Leipzig (en dus ook op Wave & Gothik Treffen), en stond eerder op het podium met grotere namen zoals Lord Of The Lost. Toch hadden de vijf Duitsers wellicht nooit verwacht dat hun carrière in zo’n stroomversnelling zou komen als nu het geval is Net zoals iedere band, droomde ook Canterra ervan om op een dag een plaat uit te brengen. Klaar is kees, want op 19 februari verschijnt hun debuut First Escape op een klein labeltje (Kick The Flame in Leipzig). Maar er is meer! Plots werd hun geluid door Lacrimosa-frontman Tillo Wolf opgemerkt en die was zo onder de indruk dat hij Canterra meteen mee vroeg als support act op zijn nakende Unterwelt Tour.

Door de knappe hoge vocalen van frontvrouw Korinna König zal menig metalfan geneigd zijn om Canterra als female fronted metal te omschrijven. Een leugen is dat niet, alleen is Canterra veel meer dan dat. Op het debuut hoor je stevige nummers die een kruisbestuiving zijn van zowel goth- als progmetal met daartussen plaats voor ballads, maar eveneens voor stevig en melancholiek werk.

Om het te maken in de muziekwereld heb je natuurlijk dat tikkeltje geluk en een onmisbare ruggensteun nodig, met een reus als Tilo achter je kan het bijna niet stuk. Aan kwaliteit is er in ieder geval geen gebrek!

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God