tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : CANTERRA - First Escape

CANTERRA

First Escape

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[78/100]   

Kick The Flame
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In 2010 Canterra (then Avatar) released its first demo Echoes Of Fear. The band played some gigs near home city Leipzig (and of course at Wave & Gothik Treffen), and joined the stage with bigger names like Lord Of The Lost. But we’re almost sure that the five Germans never expected that their career would reach a momentum as is now the case. Just like any band, Canterra wanted to make a record and on 19th February their debut First Escape will be released on a small label (Kick The Flame from Leipzig). But there's more! Their sound was picked up by Lacrimosa front man Tillo Wolf who was so impressed that he asked Canterra to join him as a support act on his upcoming Unterwelt Tour.

Because of the perfect high vocals of front woman Korinna König, many metal fans will describe Canterra as female fronted metal. That’s not a lie, but Canterra is much more than that. On the debut album you hear some powerful tracks that are a cross-fertilization of goth and prog metal, interspersed with some ballads, but most of the times it’s strong and melancholic work.

To make it in the music business you obviously need a crucial support, and with the helping hand of a giant like Tilo things can’t go wrong. In any case, they have no lack of quality.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

In 2010 bracht Canterra (toen nog Avatar) met Echoes Of Fear een eerste demo uit. De band speelde wat optredens in de buurt van thuisstad Leipzig (en dus ook op Wave & Gothik Treffen), en stond eerder op het podium met grotere namen zoals Lord Of The Lost. Toch hadden de vijf Duitsers wellicht nooit verwacht dat hun carrière in zo’n stroomversnelling zou komen als nu het geval is Net zoals iedere band, droomde ook Canterra ervan om op een dag een plaat uit te brengen. Klaar is kees, want op 19 februari verschijnt hun debuut First Escape op een klein labeltje (Kick The Flame in Leipzig). Maar er is meer! Plots werd hun geluid door Lacrimosa-frontman Tillo Wolf opgemerkt en die was zo onder de indruk dat hij Canterra meteen mee vroeg als support act op zijn nakende Unterwelt Tour.

Door de knappe hoge vocalen van frontvrouw Korinna König zal menig metalfan geneigd zijn om Canterra als female fronted metal te omschrijven. Een leugen is dat niet, alleen is Canterra veel meer dan dat. Op het debuut hoor je stevige nummers die een kruisbestuiving zijn van zowel goth- als progmetal met daartussen plaats voor ballads, maar eveneens voor stevig en melancholiek werk.

Om het te maken in de muziekwereld heb je natuurlijk dat tikkeltje geluk en een onmisbare ruggensteun nodig, met een reus als Tilo achter je kan het bijna niet stuk. Aan kwaliteit is er in ieder geval geen gebrek!

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem