tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : CANTERRA - First Escape

CANTERRA

First Escape

MusicCD
Goth Metal

[78/100]   

Kick The Flame
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In 2010 Canterra (then Avatar) released its first demo Echoes Of Fear. The band played some gigs near home city Leipzig (and of course at Wave & Gothik Treffen), and joined the stage with bigger names like Lord Of The Lost. But we’re almost sure that the five Germans never expected that their career would reach a momentum as is now the case. Just like any band, Canterra wanted to make a record and on 19th February their debut First Escape will be released on a small label (Kick The Flame from Leipzig). But there's more! Their sound was picked up by Lacrimosa front man Tillo Wolf who was so impressed that he asked Canterra to join him as a support act on his upcoming Unterwelt Tour.

Because of the perfect high vocals of front woman Korinna König, many metal fans will describe Canterra as female fronted metal. That’s not a lie, but Canterra is much more than that. On the debut album you hear some powerful tracks that are a cross-fertilization of goth and prog metal, interspersed with some ballads, but most of the times it’s strong and melancholic work.

To make it in the music business you obviously need a crucial support, and with the helping hand of a giant like Tilo things can’t go wrong. In any case, they have no lack of quality.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

In 2010 bracht Canterra (toen nog Avatar) met Echoes Of Fear een eerste demo uit. De band speelde wat optredens in de buurt van thuisstad Leipzig (en dus ook op Wave & Gothik Treffen), en stond eerder op het podium met grotere namen zoals Lord Of The Lost. Toch hadden de vijf Duitsers wellicht nooit verwacht dat hun carrière in zo’n stroomversnelling zou komen als nu het geval is Net zoals iedere band, droomde ook Canterra ervan om op een dag een plaat uit te brengen. Klaar is kees, want op 19 februari verschijnt hun debuut First Escape op een klein labeltje (Kick The Flame in Leipzig). Maar er is meer! Plots werd hun geluid door Lacrimosa-frontman Tillo Wolf opgemerkt en die was zo onder de indruk dat hij Canterra meteen mee vroeg als support act op zijn nakende Unterwelt Tour.

Door de knappe hoge vocalen van frontvrouw Korinna König zal menig metalfan geneigd zijn om Canterra als female fronted metal te omschrijven. Een leugen is dat niet, alleen is Canterra veel meer dan dat. Op het debuut hoor je stevige nummers die een kruisbestuiving zijn van zowel goth- als progmetal met daartussen plaats voor ballads, maar eveneens voor stevig en melancholiek werk.

Om het te maken in de muziekwereld heb je natuurlijk dat tikkeltje geluk en een onmisbare ruggensteun nodig, met een reus als Tilo achter je kan het bijna niet stuk. Aan kwaliteit is er in ieder geval geen gebrek!

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?