tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ROBERT BUSHINSKY - Life In A Cold Frame

ROBERT BUSHINSKY

Life In A Cold Frame

MusicCD
Electro RockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Bushinsky calls his last release Life in a Cold Frame. It could be the title of an album by Peter Gabriel. And yes, the music refers to the young Peter Gabriel, Gary Numan and The Fixx. The keyboards and synthesizers evoke an 80's feel, although it’s quite original. It isn't really singing, it’s more like talking.

As mentioned, the keyboard patterns are great. The bass is not limited to the main chords and rhythms, and therefore it is an extra value. Just listen to the short instrumental song that opens the album: So Cold in Saint-Apollinaire, and you know what I’m referring to.The Year That Never Ends is a song with a good rhythm and a catchy chorus. A mix of guitars, synths and the distinctive voice of Bushinsky. On some songs, the vocals have a disturbing effect. Lady Bitter for example is a good song, but the spoken vocals kind of spoil the beauty of it.

Falling Into The White contains electro and gothic elements and is once again well done. Reasons That Has Nothing To Do With You has a fine spherical intro. The throbbing bass makes the track quite enjoyable. The lyrics make sense. Excommunicated begins as EBM and then proceeds as a regular song.

On A Mile in These Shoes, we hear some piano. A simple song that works. Life in A Cold Frame contains some great guitar playing by Masashi Nakamura. The album ends as it began: with an instrumental.

Synths that evoke an 80's feel and clever songs, but vocals that can be improved, that’s Life In A Cold Frame in a nutshell.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Bushinsky gaf zijn laatste release de mooi klinkende titel Life in a Cold Frame. Het kon een albumtitel van Peter Gabriel zijn. En in de muziek hoor je ook wat van de jonge Peter Gabriel, Gary Numan of The Fixx. De keyboards en synthesizers insinueren een jarentachtigevoel, maar het is wel vrij origineel in elkaar geknutseld. De zang bestaat eerder uit het monotoon afratelen van teksten dan zingen.

Zoals gezegd zitten de keyboardpatronen vrij puik in elkaar. De bas is ook een meerwaarde en beperkt zich niet tot het louter meespelen van de hoofdakkoorden en ritmes. Luister maar eens naar de korte instrumentale song die het album opent: So Cold In Saint-Apollinaire. 

The Year That Never Ends is een song met een mooi ritme en een catchy refrein. Een mix van gitaar, synths en de markante stem van Bushinsky. Op sommige songs komt de zang goed tot zijn recht. Helaas storen de vocals soms. Zo is bijv. Lady Bitter een goede song, maar de gesproken vocals wringen wat. Jammer. 

Falling Into The White bevat elektro- en gothicelementen en zit wederom goed in elkaar. Reasons That Has Nothing To Do With You heeft een fijne sferische intro. De ronkende bas is goed op dreef. Hier is de zang wel genietbaar. Ook de teksten zijn betekenisvol. Excommunicated begint als EBM en wordt vervolgens een reguliere song.

Op A Mile in These Shoes horen we piano als begeleiding. Een eenvoudig liedje dat wel een snaar weet te raken. Life in A Cold Frame bevat lekker gitaarspel van Masashi Nakamura. Het album sluit af zoals het begon: met een instrumentaaltje.

Synths die een jarentachtiggevoel oproepen en songs die knap in elkaar zitten, maar met vocals die in sommige songs beter kunnen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain