tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ASCETIC - Everything Is Becoming

ASCETIC

Everything Is Becoming

MusicCD
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Manic Depression
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The French Manic Depression presents itself more and more as the gothic rock label to follow. Quality is important, but diversity as well. A very special band in this genre is Ascetic: a post-punk band from Melbourne that resides in Berlin now. And they belong there, because their icy music can be associated with chilly metropolises rather than with Australian landscapes and hopping kangaroos.

Everything Is Becoming is the second album by Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper and Andrew Jigalin. It's music that doesn’t invites you for a dance of joy, but the nine tracks are so icy cold that it sounds as if they’re made in the 80s.

Utterings has an an icy start and sounds like a full statement with deafening guitars: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. In Exegesis the amplifiers of the guitars still are in the red zone. They sound like factory sirens. Chaotic, pretty chaotic. A Factory-sound with a slightly avant-garde touch.

It's silly to compare every post-punk band with Joy Division, but on FTO Ascetic sounds like them, albeit in a very raw version. FTF is a lamentation, and even if Synchron begins quite melodic, later the punk sound takes over. Would Ascetic ever have heard of Siglo XX? We do not know, but when you hear The Clearing, we'd swear they did.

Everything Is Becoming is certainly not a bite-size chunk and reminds us of bands like Mecano. Post-punk, but with a sharp, quirky side!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het Franse Manic Depression profileert zich meer en meer als het te volgen gothicrocklabel. Kwaliteit is belangrijk, maar ook diversiteit. Een heel aparte band in dit genre is Ascetic: een postpunkband uit Melbourne die tegenwoordig in Berlijn resideert. En daar horen ze ook thuis, want hun ijskoude muziek associeer je eerder met kille grootsteden dan met Australische landschappen waar kangoeroes rondhuppelen.

Everything Is Becoming is de tweede plaat van Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper en Andrew Jigalin. Het is muziek die je niet meteen voor een vreugdedans uitnodigt, maar de negen tracks stralen een kilte uit zoals ze in de jaren 80 werd gemaakt.

Utterings is meteen een ijskoude start en lijkt op een statement vol loeiharde gitaren: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. Ook in Exegesis blijven de versterkers van de gitaren in het rood. Het lijken wel fabriekssirenes. Chaotisch, maar mooi chaotisch. Een Factory-geluid met een licht avant-garde tintje.

Het is flauw om iedere postpunkband met Joy Division te vergelijken, maar op FTO klinkt Ascetic wel zo, zij het in een zeer rauwe versie. FTF is een klaagzaag en ook al begint Synchron vrij melodisch, drijft ook hier de punk gauw naar boven. Zou Ascetic ooit al van Siglo XX hebben gehoord? We weten het niet, maar als je The Clearing hoort, zou je zweren van wel.

Everything Is Becoming is zeker geen hapklare brok en herinnert ons aan bands zoals Mecano. Postpunk, maar wel met een scherp en vooral eigenzinnig kantje!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless