tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ASCETIC - Everything Is Becoming

ASCETIC

Everything Is Becoming

MusicCD
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Manic Depression
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The French Manic Depression presents itself more and more as the gothic rock label to follow. Quality is important, but diversity as well. A very special band in this genre is Ascetic: a post-punk band from Melbourne that resides in Berlin now. And they belong there, because their icy music can be associated with chilly metropolises rather than with Australian landscapes and hopping kangaroos.

Everything Is Becoming is the second album by Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper and Andrew Jigalin. It's music that doesn’t invites you for a dance of joy, but the nine tracks are so icy cold that it sounds as if they’re made in the 80s.

Utterings has an an icy start and sounds like a full statement with deafening guitars: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. In Exegesis the amplifiers of the guitars still are in the red zone. They sound like factory sirens. Chaotic, pretty chaotic. A Factory-sound with a slightly avant-garde touch.

It's silly to compare every post-punk band with Joy Division, but on FTO Ascetic sounds like them, albeit in a very raw version. FTF is a lamentation, and even if Synchron begins quite melodic, later the punk sound takes over. Would Ascetic ever have heard of Siglo XX? We do not know, but when you hear The Clearing, we'd swear they did.

Everything Is Becoming is certainly not a bite-size chunk and reminds us of bands like Mecano. Post-punk, but with a sharp, quirky side!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het Franse Manic Depression profileert zich meer en meer als het te volgen gothicrocklabel. Kwaliteit is belangrijk, maar ook diversiteit. Een heel aparte band in dit genre is Ascetic: een postpunkband uit Melbourne die tegenwoordig in Berlijn resideert. En daar horen ze ook thuis, want hun ijskoude muziek associeer je eerder met kille grootsteden dan met Australische landschappen waar kangoeroes rondhuppelen.

Everything Is Becoming is de tweede plaat van Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper en Andrew Jigalin. Het is muziek die je niet meteen voor een vreugdedans uitnodigt, maar de negen tracks stralen een kilte uit zoals ze in de jaren 80 werd gemaakt.

Utterings is meteen een ijskoude start en lijkt op een statement vol loeiharde gitaren: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. Ook in Exegesis blijven de versterkers van de gitaren in het rood. Het lijken wel fabriekssirenes. Chaotisch, maar mooi chaotisch. Een Factory-geluid met een licht avant-garde tintje.

Het is flauw om iedere postpunkband met Joy Division te vergelijken, maar op FTO klinkt Ascetic wel zo, zij het in een zeer rauwe versie. FTF is een klaagzaag en ook al begint Synchron vrij melodisch, drijft ook hier de punk gauw naar boven. Zou Ascetic ooit al van Siglo XX hebben gehoord? We weten het niet, maar als je The Clearing hoort, zou je zweren van wel.

Everything Is Becoming is zeker geen hapklare brok en herinnert ons aan bands zoals Mecano. Postpunk, maar wel met een scherp en vooral eigenzinnig kantje!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked