tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ASCETIC - Everything Is Becoming

ASCETIC

Everything Is Becoming

MusicCD
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Manic Depression
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The French Manic Depression presents itself more and more as the gothic rock label to follow. Quality is important, but diversity as well. A very special band in this genre is Ascetic: a post-punk band from Melbourne that resides in Berlin now. And they belong there, because their icy music can be associated with chilly metropolises rather than with Australian landscapes and hopping kangaroos.

Everything Is Becoming is the second album by Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper and Andrew Jigalin. It's music that doesn’t invites you for a dance of joy, but the nine tracks are so icy cold that it sounds as if they’re made in the 80s.

Utterings has an an icy start and sounds like a full statement with deafening guitars: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. In Exegesis the amplifiers of the guitars still are in the red zone. They sound like factory sirens. Chaotic, pretty chaotic. A Factory-sound with a slightly avant-garde touch.

It's silly to compare every post-punk band with Joy Division, but on FTO Ascetic sounds like them, albeit in a very raw version. FTF is a lamentation, and even if Synchron begins quite melodic, later the punk sound takes over. Would Ascetic ever have heard of Siglo XX? We do not know, but when you hear The Clearing, we'd swear they did.

Everything Is Becoming is certainly not a bite-size chunk and reminds us of bands like Mecano. Post-punk, but with a sharp, quirky side!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het Franse Manic Depression profileert zich meer en meer als het te volgen gothicrocklabel. Kwaliteit is belangrijk, maar ook diversiteit. Een heel aparte band in dit genre is Ascetic: een postpunkband uit Melbourne die tegenwoordig in Berlijn resideert. En daar horen ze ook thuis, want hun ijskoude muziek associeer je eerder met kille grootsteden dan met Australische landschappen waar kangoeroes rondhuppelen.

Everything Is Becoming is de tweede plaat van Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper en Andrew Jigalin. Het is muziek die je niet meteen voor een vreugdedans uitnodigt, maar de negen tracks stralen een kilte uit zoals ze in de jaren 80 werd gemaakt.

Utterings is meteen een ijskoude start en lijkt op een statement vol loeiharde gitaren: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. Ook in Exegesis blijven de versterkers van de gitaren in het rood. Het lijken wel fabriekssirenes. Chaotisch, maar mooi chaotisch. Een Factory-geluid met een licht avant-garde tintje.

Het is flauw om iedere postpunkband met Joy Division te vergelijken, maar op FTO klinkt Ascetic wel zo, zij het in een zeer rauwe versie. FTF is een klaagzaag en ook al begint Synchron vrij melodisch, drijft ook hier de punk gauw naar boven. Zou Ascetic ooit al van Siglo XX hebben gehoord? We weten het niet, maar als je The Clearing hoort, zou je zweren van wel.

Everything Is Becoming is zeker geen hapklare brok en herinnert ons aan bands zoals Mecano. Postpunk, maar wel met een scherp en vooral eigenzinnig kantje!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty