tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ASCETIC - Everything Is Becoming

ASCETIC

Everything Is Becoming

MusicCD
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Manic Depression
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The French Manic Depression presents itself more and more as the gothic rock label to follow. Quality is important, but diversity as well. A very special band in this genre is Ascetic: a post-punk band from Melbourne that resides in Berlin now. And they belong there, because their icy music can be associated with chilly metropolises rather than with Australian landscapes and hopping kangaroos.

Everything Is Becoming is the second album by Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper and Andrew Jigalin. It's music that doesn’t invites you for a dance of joy, but the nine tracks are so icy cold that it sounds as if they’re made in the 80s.

Utterings has an an icy start and sounds like a full statement with deafening guitars: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. In Exegesis the amplifiers of the guitars still are in the red zone. They sound like factory sirens. Chaotic, pretty chaotic. A Factory-sound with a slightly avant-garde touch.

It's silly to compare every post-punk band with Joy Division, but on FTO Ascetic sounds like them, albeit in a very raw version. FTF is a lamentation, and even if Synchron begins quite melodic, later the punk sound takes over. Would Ascetic ever have heard of Siglo XX? We do not know, but when you hear The Clearing, we'd swear they did.

Everything Is Becoming is certainly not a bite-size chunk and reminds us of bands like Mecano. Post-punk, but with a sharp, quirky side!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het Franse Manic Depression profileert zich meer en meer als het te volgen gothicrocklabel. Kwaliteit is belangrijk, maar ook diversiteit. Een heel aparte band in dit genre is Ascetic: een postpunkband uit Melbourne die tegenwoordig in Berlijn resideert. En daar horen ze ook thuis, want hun ijskoude muziek associeer je eerder met kille grootsteden dan met Australische landschappen waar kangoeroes rondhuppelen.

Everything Is Becoming is de tweede plaat van Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper en Andrew Jigalin. Het is muziek die je niet meteen voor een vreugdedans uitnodigt, maar de negen tracks stralen een kilte uit zoals ze in de jaren 80 werd gemaakt.

Utterings is meteen een ijskoude start en lijkt op een statement vol loeiharde gitaren: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. Ook in Exegesis blijven de versterkers van de gitaren in het rood. Het lijken wel fabriekssirenes. Chaotisch, maar mooi chaotisch. Een Factory-geluid met een licht avant-garde tintje.

Het is flauw om iedere postpunkband met Joy Division te vergelijken, maar op FTO klinkt Ascetic wel zo, zij het in een zeer rauwe versie. FTF is een klaagzaag en ook al begint Synchron vrij melodisch, drijft ook hier de punk gauw naar boven. Zou Ascetic ooit al van Siglo XX hebben gehoord? We weten het niet, maar als je The Clearing hoort, zou je zweren van wel.

Everything Is Becoming is zeker geen hapklare brok en herinnert ons aan bands zoals Mecano. Postpunk, maar wel met een scherp en vooral eigenzinnig kantje!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets