tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ASCETIC - Everything Is Becoming

ASCETIC

Everything Is Becoming

MusicCD
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Manic Depression
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The French Manic Depression presents itself more and more as the gothic rock label to follow. Quality is important, but diversity as well. A very special band in this genre is Ascetic: a post-punk band from Melbourne that resides in Berlin now. And they belong there, because their icy music can be associated with chilly metropolises rather than with Australian landscapes and hopping kangaroos.

Everything Is Becoming is the second album by Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper and Andrew Jigalin. It's music that doesn’t invites you for a dance of joy, but the nine tracks are so icy cold that it sounds as if they’re made in the 80s.

Utterings has an an icy start and sounds like a full statement with deafening guitars: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. In Exegesis the amplifiers of the guitars still are in the red zone. They sound like factory sirens. Chaotic, pretty chaotic. A Factory-sound with a slightly avant-garde touch.

It's silly to compare every post-punk band with Joy Division, but on FTO Ascetic sounds like them, albeit in a very raw version. FTF is a lamentation, and even if Synchron begins quite melodic, later the punk sound takes over. Would Ascetic ever have heard of Siglo XX? We do not know, but when you hear The Clearing, we'd swear they did.

Everything Is Becoming is certainly not a bite-size chunk and reminds us of bands like Mecano. Post-punk, but with a sharp, quirky side!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het Franse Manic Depression profileert zich meer en meer als het te volgen gothicrocklabel. Kwaliteit is belangrijk, maar ook diversiteit. Een heel aparte band in dit genre is Ascetic: een postpunkband uit Melbourne die tegenwoordig in Berlijn resideert. En daar horen ze ook thuis, want hun ijskoude muziek associeer je eerder met kille grootsteden dan met Australische landschappen waar kangoeroes rondhuppelen.

Everything Is Becoming is de tweede plaat van Saxon Jörgensen, August Skipper en Andrew Jigalin. Het is muziek die je niet meteen voor een vreugdedans uitnodigt, maar de negen tracks stralen een kilte uit zoals ze in de jaren 80 werd gemaakt.

Utterings is meteen een ijskoude start en lijkt op een statement vol loeiharde gitaren: Doomsday for the yeasayers, doomsday will never come. Ook in Exegesis blijven de versterkers van de gitaren in het rood. Het lijken wel fabriekssirenes. Chaotisch, maar mooi chaotisch. Een Factory-geluid met een licht avant-garde tintje.

Het is flauw om iedere postpunkband met Joy Division te vergelijken, maar op FTO klinkt Ascetic wel zo, zij het in een zeer rauwe versie. FTF is een klaagzaag en ook al begint Synchron vrij melodisch, drijft ook hier de punk gauw naar boven. Zou Ascetic ooit al van Siglo XX hebben gehoord? We weten het niet, maar als je The Clearing hoort, zou je zweren van wel.

Everything Is Becoming is zeker geen hapklare brok en herinnert ons aan bands zoals Mecano. Postpunk, maar wel met een scherp en vooral eigenzinnig kantje!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough