tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : SUICIDE COMMANDO - Black Flowers

SUICIDE COMMANDO

Black Flowers

MusicCD


[85/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
08/12/2016, Britta Tabrit

EN

What if Suicide Commando released the album Black Flowers (original version released in 1992), fully remastered on Sleepless Records Berlin (the label of Eric Van Wonterghem - Monolith/Sonar/Absolute Body Control)? What if? No, it really happened!!!

And honestly it’s simply 'wow'. Imagine the year 1992, a time when the equipment one had was just as simple as the idea of electronic music back then. A vintage album at its best!

Die Herrscher des Himmels is the opener for this re-release. It's mainly instrumental and quite monotonous. You can clearly feel the 'old' Suicide Commando. And if you like this one, go ahead! The Mirror is a wonderful old school electro track. Danceable and dark, but with no real lyrics. It creates an atmosphere of loneliness, don’t you think? Close your eyes and let it happen. Never Get Out is a song you wouldn't expect from Suicide Commando in case you are a younger fan of Johan's work. This is a nightmare come true. If you expect this album to be something like Bind Torture Kill I have to say: go and find something else! This is vintage, retro, whatever you want to call it! Minimal electro à la Johan van Roy.

Selling God is what the title already carries inside....selling god to the devil. Almost a tribal song mixed in hell. And with Down on your Knees and Symptoms of Death, Suicide Commando takes you to your inner fears....the fear of pain, torture and death. Face your own demons. Salute them as they will haunt you for good!

Down on your Knees (slavery mix) is more rhythmic than the original. I prefer this version I have to admit. Infected is a fabulous old school EBM song. For me the best one on this album! Still a dance floor hit for sure - even today! Great track! Black Flowers I+II is an instrumental electro flower that arises from the dark side, from hellfire and Agonize is a minimal electronic ghost train…scary and tireless. Hang me Nail me Burn me Bury me is the crucifixion of human kind. Heavy stuff for my honestly. Closed is the last track and you can get a slight idea of how Suicide Commando could develop during the next 20 years.

Black Flowers is a great trip to the past of a brilliant band! It’s a treasure for old school fans and for those who’d like to know how Suicide Commando started a steep career!

You need to know the roots to understand the new branches!

Britta Tabrit
08/12/2016


NL

Stel je voor dat Suicide Commando het album Black Flowers (origineel uitgebracht in 1992) volledig zou remasteren en dit zou uitbrengen op Sleepless Records Berlin (het label van Eric Van Wonterghem - Monolith / Sonar / Absolute Body Control)? Stel je voor? Neen, het is echt gebeurd!!!

En eerlijk gezegd ,'wow' is het enige wat we kunnen zeggen. We gaan terug naar 1992, een tijd waarin de apparatuur nog tamelijk eenvoudig was. Een vintage-album op zijn best dus!

Die Herrscher des Himmels is de opener van deze re-release. Het is voornamelijk een instrumentale track en vrij eentonig. Je hoort duidelijk het gevoel van de 'oude' Suicide Commando. En als je van deze song houdt, ga dan gerust verder! The Mirror is prachtige old school electro. Dansbaar en donker, maar zonder echte teksten. Het creëert een sfeer van eenzaamheid, vind je niet? Sluit je ogen en laat alles gebeuren. Never Get Out is een liedje dat je niet zou verwachten van Suicide Commando, ten minste niet als je een jongere fan bent. Dit is een nachtmerrie die uitkomt.

Als je een album als Bind Torture Kill wil, dan moet ik zeggen: zoek iets anders! Dit is vintage, retro, of hoe je het ook wil noemen! Minimal electro à la Johan van Roy.

Selling God.... de naam zegt het: God aan de duivel verkopen. Het is bijna een tribal lied dat in de hel geremixt is. In Down On Your Knees en Symptoms Of Death, neemt Suicide Commando je mee naar je innerlijke angsten.... de angst voor pijn, marteling en de dood. Het gezicht van je eigen demonen. Groet hen en zij zullen je voor eeuwig achtervolgen!

Down On Your Knees (slavery mix) is meer ritmisch dan het origineel. Ik moet toegeven dat ik meer de voorkeur geef aan deze versie. Infected is fantastische old school EBM. Voor mij is dit de beste track op dit album! Het is nog steeds een danshit, ook vandaag nog! Geweldige track! Black Flowers I + II is een instrumentale elektro die voortvloeit uit de donkere kant van het hellevuur en Agonize is een minimale elektronische spooktrein... eng en onvermoeibaar. Hang Me Nail Me Burn Me Bury Me is de kruisiging van de mensheid. Closed is het laatste nummer en het geeft je een idee hoe Suicide Commando zich tijdens de komende 20 jaar zou ontwikkelen.

Britta Tabrit
08/12/2016


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo