tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : SUICIDE COMMANDO - Black Flowers

SUICIDE COMMANDO

Black Flowers

MusicCD


[85/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
08/12/2016, Britta Tabrit

EN

What if Suicide Commando released the album Black Flowers (original version released in 1992), fully remastered on Sleepless Records Berlin (the label of Eric Van Wonterghem - Monolith/Sonar/Absolute Body Control)? What if? No, it really happened!!!

And honestly it’s simply 'wow'. Imagine the year 1992, a time when the equipment one had was just as simple as the idea of electronic music back then. A vintage album at its best!

Die Herrscher des Himmels is the opener for this re-release. It's mainly instrumental and quite monotonous. You can clearly feel the 'old' Suicide Commando. And if you like this one, go ahead! The Mirror is a wonderful old school electro track. Danceable and dark, but with no real lyrics. It creates an atmosphere of loneliness, don’t you think? Close your eyes and let it happen. Never Get Out is a song you wouldn't expect from Suicide Commando in case you are a younger fan of Johan's work. This is a nightmare come true. If you expect this album to be something like Bind Torture Kill I have to say: go and find something else! This is vintage, retro, whatever you want to call it! Minimal electro à la Johan van Roy.

Selling God is what the title already carries inside....selling god to the devil. Almost a tribal song mixed in hell. And with Down on your Knees and Symptoms of Death, Suicide Commando takes you to your inner fears....the fear of pain, torture and death. Face your own demons. Salute them as they will haunt you for good!

Down on your Knees (slavery mix) is more rhythmic than the original. I prefer this version I have to admit. Infected is a fabulous old school EBM song. For me the best one on this album! Still a dance floor hit for sure - even today! Great track! Black Flowers I+II is an instrumental electro flower that arises from the dark side, from hellfire and Agonize is a minimal electronic ghost train…scary and tireless. Hang me Nail me Burn me Bury me is the crucifixion of human kind. Heavy stuff for my honestly. Closed is the last track and you can get a slight idea of how Suicide Commando could develop during the next 20 years.

Black Flowers is a great trip to the past of a brilliant band! It’s a treasure for old school fans and for those who’d like to know how Suicide Commando started a steep career!

You need to know the roots to understand the new branches!

Britta Tabrit
08/12/2016


NL

Stel je voor dat Suicide Commando het album Black Flowers (origineel uitgebracht in 1992) volledig zou remasteren en dit zou uitbrengen op Sleepless Records Berlin (het label van Eric Van Wonterghem - Monolith / Sonar / Absolute Body Control)? Stel je voor? Neen, het is echt gebeurd!!!

En eerlijk gezegd ,'wow' is het enige wat we kunnen zeggen. We gaan terug naar 1992, een tijd waarin de apparatuur nog tamelijk eenvoudig was. Een vintage-album op zijn best dus!

Die Herrscher des Himmels is de opener van deze re-release. Het is voornamelijk een instrumentale track en vrij eentonig. Je hoort duidelijk het gevoel van de 'oude' Suicide Commando. En als je van deze song houdt, ga dan gerust verder! The Mirror is prachtige old school electro. Dansbaar en donker, maar zonder echte teksten. Het creëert een sfeer van eenzaamheid, vind je niet? Sluit je ogen en laat alles gebeuren. Never Get Out is een liedje dat je niet zou verwachten van Suicide Commando, ten minste niet als je een jongere fan bent. Dit is een nachtmerrie die uitkomt.

Als je een album als Bind Torture Kill wil, dan moet ik zeggen: zoek iets anders! Dit is vintage, retro, of hoe je het ook wil noemen! Minimal electro à la Johan van Roy.

Selling God.... de naam zegt het: God aan de duivel verkopen. Het is bijna een tribal lied dat in de hel geremixt is. In Down On Your Knees en Symptoms Of Death, neemt Suicide Commando je mee naar je innerlijke angsten.... de angst voor pijn, marteling en de dood. Het gezicht van je eigen demonen. Groet hen en zij zullen je voor eeuwig achtervolgen!

Down On Your Knees (slavery mix) is meer ritmisch dan het origineel. Ik moet toegeven dat ik meer de voorkeur geef aan deze versie. Infected is fantastische old school EBM. Voor mij is dit de beste track op dit album! Het is nog steeds een danshit, ook vandaag nog! Geweldige track! Black Flowers I + II is een instrumentale elektro die voortvloeit uit de donkere kant van het hellevuur en Agonize is een minimale elektronische spooktrein... eng en onvermoeibaar. Hang Me Nail Me Burn Me Bury Me is de kruisiging van de mensheid. Closed is het laatste nummer en het geeft je een idee hoe Suicide Commando zich tijdens de komende 20 jaar zou ontwikkelen.

Britta Tabrit
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
07
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life