tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ESSAIE PAS - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

ESSAIE PAS

Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

MusicCD
Minimal

[90/100]   

DFA Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the praise in (mostly) Canadian and American magazines, we never heard the name before, but nonetheless Essaie Pas from Montreal released one of the best records of the year.

The couple Marie Davidson and Pierre Guerineau are not ashamed of the fact that every song on this record sounds a little bit like Fade To Grey by Visage (minimal synths with an icy French female voice on top). The band is definitely not a new name in the minimal synth scene, because Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is already the fourth album, but it’s the debut on DFA (the label that features big names like Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem or The Rapture). However, Pierre Guerineau, who worked with Dirty Beaches and Femminielli, refuses to make commercial concessions. The eight tracks could have been released on Weird Records, and many synthpop fans will think of Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas never sounds retro, although the roots (and even more than that) lie somewhere in 1982 or 1983. Everything is danceable, but you can enjoy the tracks in your living room too (of course). Moreover, this is not just an album with some compositions, made by two musicians who want to play with analog synths. Each track is a clever one (a gorgeous melody that lingers in your head after one or two spins). Definitely an album to mark on your (long) list.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

We hadden er eerlijkheidshalve, ondanks de lovende woorden in (vooral) Canadese en Amerikaanse magazines, nog nooit eerder van gehoord, maar desalniettemin heeft Essaie Pas uit Montreal één van de beste platen van het jaar uitgebracht.

Het echtpaar Marie Davidson en Pierre Guerineau schaamt er zich geen seconde voor dat iedere song een heel klein beetje op Fade To Grey van Visage lijkt (minimale synths met een ijskoude Franstalige vrouwenstem bovenop). De band is zeker geen nieuwe naam in de minimalsynthscène, want Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is al het vierde album, maar wel het debuut op DFA (het label waarop je grote namen zoals Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem of The Rapture vindt). Pierre Guerineau, die eerder met Dirty Beaches en Femminielli werkte, weigert echter om ook maar één commerciële toegeving te doen. De acht tracks die je op deze plaat vindt ,konden evengoed op Weird Records zijn uitgebracht, en menig synthpopfan zal wel denken aan Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas klinkt nooit retro, ofschoon de roots (en zelfs meer dan dat) ergens in 1982 of 1983 liggen. Alles is dansbaar, maar je kan er evenveel in je huiskamer van genieten. Bovendien is dit niet zo maar een plaat met composities waarop twee muzikanten per se met analoge synths spelen, want over iedere track is goed nagedacht (een schitterende melodie dus die na één of twee draaibeurten in je hoofd blijft hangen). Absoluut uitproberen is dan ook onze boodschap!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela