tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ESSAIE PAS - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

ESSAIE PAS

Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

MusicCD
Minimal

[90/100]   

DFA Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the praise in (mostly) Canadian and American magazines, we never heard the name before, but nonetheless Essaie Pas from Montreal released one of the best records of the year.

The couple Marie Davidson and Pierre Guerineau are not ashamed of the fact that every song on this record sounds a little bit like Fade To Grey by Visage (minimal synths with an icy French female voice on top). The band is definitely not a new name in the minimal synth scene, because Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is already the fourth album, but it’s the debut on DFA (the label that features big names like Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem or The Rapture). However, Pierre Guerineau, who worked with Dirty Beaches and Femminielli, refuses to make commercial concessions. The eight tracks could have been released on Weird Records, and many synthpop fans will think of Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas never sounds retro, although the roots (and even more than that) lie somewhere in 1982 or 1983. Everything is danceable, but you can enjoy the tracks in your living room too (of course). Moreover, this is not just an album with some compositions, made by two musicians who want to play with analog synths. Each track is a clever one (a gorgeous melody that lingers in your head after one or two spins). Definitely an album to mark on your (long) list.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

We hadden er eerlijkheidshalve, ondanks de lovende woorden in (vooral) Canadese en Amerikaanse magazines, nog nooit eerder van gehoord, maar desalniettemin heeft Essaie Pas uit Montreal één van de beste platen van het jaar uitgebracht.

Het echtpaar Marie Davidson en Pierre Guerineau schaamt er zich geen seconde voor dat iedere song een heel klein beetje op Fade To Grey van Visage lijkt (minimale synths met een ijskoude Franstalige vrouwenstem bovenop). De band is zeker geen nieuwe naam in de minimalsynthscène, want Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is al het vierde album, maar wel het debuut op DFA (het label waarop je grote namen zoals Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem of The Rapture vindt). Pierre Guerineau, die eerder met Dirty Beaches en Femminielli werkte, weigert echter om ook maar één commerciële toegeving te doen. De acht tracks die je op deze plaat vindt ,konden evengoed op Weird Records zijn uitgebracht, en menig synthpopfan zal wel denken aan Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas klinkt nooit retro, ofschoon de roots (en zelfs meer dan dat) ergens in 1982 of 1983 liggen. Alles is dansbaar, maar je kan er evenveel in je huiskamer van genieten. Bovendien is dit niet zo maar een plaat met composities waarop twee muzikanten per se met analoge synths spelen, want over iedere track is goed nagedacht (een schitterende melodie dus die na één of twee draaibeurten in je hoofd blijft hangen). Absoluut uitproberen is dan ook onze boodschap!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets