tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ESSAIE PAS - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

ESSAIE PAS

Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

MusicCD
Minimal

[90/100]   

DFA Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the praise in (mostly) Canadian and American magazines, we never heard the name before, but nonetheless Essaie Pas from Montreal released one of the best records of the year.

The couple Marie Davidson and Pierre Guerineau are not ashamed of the fact that every song on this record sounds a little bit like Fade To Grey by Visage (minimal synths with an icy French female voice on top). The band is definitely not a new name in the minimal synth scene, because Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is already the fourth album, but it’s the debut on DFA (the label that features big names like Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem or The Rapture). However, Pierre Guerineau, who worked with Dirty Beaches and Femminielli, refuses to make commercial concessions. The eight tracks could have been released on Weird Records, and many synthpop fans will think of Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas never sounds retro, although the roots (and even more than that) lie somewhere in 1982 or 1983. Everything is danceable, but you can enjoy the tracks in your living room too (of course). Moreover, this is not just an album with some compositions, made by two musicians who want to play with analog synths. Each track is a clever one (a gorgeous melody that lingers in your head after one or two spins). Definitely an album to mark on your (long) list.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

We hadden er eerlijkheidshalve, ondanks de lovende woorden in (vooral) Canadese en Amerikaanse magazines, nog nooit eerder van gehoord, maar desalniettemin heeft Essaie Pas uit Montreal één van de beste platen van het jaar uitgebracht.

Het echtpaar Marie Davidson en Pierre Guerineau schaamt er zich geen seconde voor dat iedere song een heel klein beetje op Fade To Grey van Visage lijkt (minimale synths met een ijskoude Franstalige vrouwenstem bovenop). De band is zeker geen nieuwe naam in de minimalsynthscène, want Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is al het vierde album, maar wel het debuut op DFA (het label waarop je grote namen zoals Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem of The Rapture vindt). Pierre Guerineau, die eerder met Dirty Beaches en Femminielli werkte, weigert echter om ook maar één commerciële toegeving te doen. De acht tracks die je op deze plaat vindt ,konden evengoed op Weird Records zijn uitgebracht, en menig synthpopfan zal wel denken aan Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas klinkt nooit retro, ofschoon de roots (en zelfs meer dan dat) ergens in 1982 of 1983 liggen. Alles is dansbaar, maar je kan er evenveel in je huiskamer van genieten. Bovendien is dit niet zo maar een plaat met composities waarop twee muzikanten per se met analoge synths spelen, want over iedere track is goed nagedacht (een schitterende melodie dus die na één of twee draaibeurten in je hoofd blijft hangen). Absoluut uitproberen is dan ook onze boodschap!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger