tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ESSAIE PAS - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

ESSAIE PAS

Demain Est Une Autre Nuit

MusicCD
Minimal

[90/100]   

DFA Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the praise in (mostly) Canadian and American magazines, we never heard the name before, but nonetheless Essaie Pas from Montreal released one of the best records of the year.

The couple Marie Davidson and Pierre Guerineau are not ashamed of the fact that every song on this record sounds a little bit like Fade To Grey by Visage (minimal synths with an icy French female voice on top). The band is definitely not a new name in the minimal synth scene, because Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is already the fourth album, but it’s the debut on DFA (the label that features big names like Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem or The Rapture). However, Pierre Guerineau, who worked with Dirty Beaches and Femminielli, refuses to make commercial concessions. The eight tracks could have been released on Weird Records, and many synthpop fans will think of Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas never sounds retro, although the roots (and even more than that) lie somewhere in 1982 or 1983. Everything is danceable, but you can enjoy the tracks in your living room too (of course). Moreover, this is not just an album with some compositions, made by two musicians who want to play with analog synths. Each track is a clever one (a gorgeous melody that lingers in your head after one or two spins). Definitely an album to mark on your (long) list.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

We hadden er eerlijkheidshalve, ondanks de lovende woorden in (vooral) Canadese en Amerikaanse magazines, nog nooit eerder van gehoord, maar desalniettemin heeft Essaie Pas uit Montreal één van de beste platen van het jaar uitgebracht.

Het echtpaar Marie Davidson en Pierre Guerineau schaamt er zich geen seconde voor dat iedere song een heel klein beetje op Fade To Grey van Visage lijkt (minimale synths met een ijskoude Franstalige vrouwenstem bovenop). De band is zeker geen nieuwe naam in de minimalsynthscène, want Demain Est Une Autre Nuit is al het vierde album, maar wel het debuut op DFA (het label waarop je grote namen zoals Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem of The Rapture vindt). Pierre Guerineau, die eerder met Dirty Beaches en Femminielli werkte, weigert echter om ook maar één commerciële toegeving te doen. De acht tracks die je op deze plaat vindt ,konden evengoed op Weird Records zijn uitgebracht, en menig synthpopfan zal wel denken aan Xeno & Oaklander.

Essaie Pas klinkt nooit retro, ofschoon de roots (en zelfs meer dan dat) ergens in 1982 of 1983 liggen. Alles is dansbaar, maar je kan er evenveel in je huiskamer van genieten. Bovendien is dit niet zo maar een plaat met composities waarop twee muzikanten per se met analoge synths spelen, want over iedere track is goed nagedacht (een schitterende melodie dus die na één of twee draaibeurten in je hoofd blijft hangen). Absoluut uitproberen is dan ook onze boodschap!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life