tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/03/2014 : ESSENCE OF MIND - Hate EP

ESSENCE OF MIND

Hate EP

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDubstepElectro RockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
31/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Still Building up the success received by the new sound approach they revealed on their recent "Indifference" album, Norway's Essence of Mind announce 'Hate', their 2nd single from the still untitled and much promising follow-up full length release and just before they go on tour with Apoptygma Berzerk in Germany. Powerful, melodic and electronic with a touch of industrial metal and other dance music elements as drum’n bass, this second new song confirms the band's unique sound and faultless production maturity.

And as you might know I already reviewed their previous EP and loved it very much, so I was more than delighted when I got this one. I just had to find some time to start reviewing it and somehow today is the day...

From the start the song reminds me a bit of the typical Technomancer sound, and yes: I'm a fan of that sound. The song is very happy & poppy. I feel like wanting to jump up & down. Love the mix between electronics, a typical metal vocal sound and some guitars! The little break down in the middle of the song introduces a bit more the new sound, before exploding again! Who can stand still during this song?

There are 3 very different and unique remixes of 'Hate', from the clubby and melodic version from Xenturion Prime (I like it, but it would have been nice to work a bit on the voice during the first minute to make it a bit more fitting in. Love the new sound and great music), pure dub step from Beardiac (great for fans of this genre), to an industrial metal assault from the rising dark electro act Hell:Sector (yess, that's more my stuff, it has a more XMH-minded style with cool guitars).

Once again Essence of Mind surprised me in a positive way! I can't wait to get the new stuff on my desk, for the full length! Thumbs up!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
31/03/2014


 

Next reviews
TED V. MIKELS • The Corpse Grinders
[PRODUCT] • Shallow Graves
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness
ALBERT DUPONTEL • 9 Mois Ferme
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
JACOB VAUGHAN • Bad Milo!
THE AMATORY MURDER • Exploiting Our Dreams (EP)
ALBERT PYUN • Arcade
OLIVER STONE • Alexander
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

 

Other reviews from ESSENCE OF MIND
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
PULP
Babies
27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games