tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/03/2014 : FUTURE - Stay Behind EP

FUTURE

Stay Behind EP

MusicCD
New waveShoegaze

[81/100]   

Anywave Records
24/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's a 4-tracks cd including two brand new songs, the aerial and desperate "In Your Eyes" (love the synths and guitars, but the voice could have been less "in a cave". The sound somehow reminds me of The Cure or The Essence at some point) and "Stay", a dark-into dancing anthem soaked with reverb and noise (with a clear retro sound and some known hooks, clearly influenced by a lot of bands from the 80's), and two remixes by minimal-synth artist Harshlove (member of synth punk band Strasbourg) and darkgaze producer Avgvst.

remixes:

'Skylights (Harshlove remix)' gets nice beats and changed it into something that is ready for the dance floor, but I wanted them to work a bit on the voice and take it away from the cave-sound (and that didn't happen). The chaotic noise vibe in the end gives it a nice conclusion, but the song should have stopped 30 seconds earlier.

'In your Eyes' (GS-01 remix)' is despite the noisy start a better version than the original. Love the electrocuted minimal synth wave version!

The whole ep has been produced by Avgvst, designed by Myriam Barchechat, with photographs by Damien Lafargue (from the collective Get the Picture Photographers) and Fabien Chombart, the EP goes with a limited edition cd packed in a hand-folded hexagon sleeve.

Once again I discovered an unknown to me band! So now it's up to you if you want to discover this one or not...

For me it was nice reviewing it and a change of mood between the other reviews I did before this one...

here's the bandcamplink, if you want to get it...

http://anywave.bandcamp.com/album/stay-behind

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/03/2014


Music reviews

26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion