tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/03/2014 : FUTURE - Stay Behind EP

FUTURE

Stay Behind EP

MusicCD
New waveShoegaze

[81/100]   

Anywave Records
24/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's a 4-tracks cd including two brand new songs, the aerial and desperate "In Your Eyes" (love the synths and guitars, but the voice could have been less "in a cave". The sound somehow reminds me of The Cure or The Essence at some point) and "Stay", a dark-into dancing anthem soaked with reverb and noise (with a clear retro sound and some known hooks, clearly influenced by a lot of bands from the 80's), and two remixes by minimal-synth artist Harshlove (member of synth punk band Strasbourg) and darkgaze producer Avgvst.

remixes:

'Skylights (Harshlove remix)' gets nice beats and changed it into something that is ready for the dance floor, but I wanted them to work a bit on the voice and take it away from the cave-sound (and that didn't happen). The chaotic noise vibe in the end gives it a nice conclusion, but the song should have stopped 30 seconds earlier.

'In your Eyes' (GS-01 remix)' is despite the noisy start a better version than the original. Love the electrocuted minimal synth wave version!

The whole ep has been produced by Avgvst, designed by Myriam Barchechat, with photographs by Damien Lafargue (from the collective Get the Picture Photographers) and Fabien Chombart, the EP goes with a limited edition cd packed in a hand-folded hexagon sleeve.

Once again I discovered an unknown to me band! So now it's up to you if you want to discover this one or not...

For me it was nice reviewing it and a change of mood between the other reviews I did before this one...

here's the bandcamplink, if you want to get it...

http://anywave.bandcamp.com/album/stay-behind

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/03/2014


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient