tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/03/2014 : FUTURE - Stay Behind EP

FUTURE

Stay Behind EP

MusicCD
New waveShoegaze

[81/100]   

Anywave Records
24/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's a 4-tracks cd including two brand new songs, the aerial and desperate "In Your Eyes" (love the synths and guitars, but the voice could have been less "in a cave". The sound somehow reminds me of The Cure or The Essence at some point) and "Stay", a dark-into dancing anthem soaked with reverb and noise (with a clear retro sound and some known hooks, clearly influenced by a lot of bands from the 80's), and two remixes by minimal-synth artist Harshlove (member of synth punk band Strasbourg) and darkgaze producer Avgvst.

remixes:

'Skylights (Harshlove remix)' gets nice beats and changed it into something that is ready for the dance floor, but I wanted them to work a bit on the voice and take it away from the cave-sound (and that didn't happen). The chaotic noise vibe in the end gives it a nice conclusion, but the song should have stopped 30 seconds earlier.

'In your Eyes' (GS-01 remix)' is despite the noisy start a better version than the original. Love the electrocuted minimal synth wave version!

The whole ep has been produced by Avgvst, designed by Myriam Barchechat, with photographs by Damien Lafargue (from the collective Get the Picture Photographers) and Fabien Chombart, the EP goes with a limited edition cd packed in a hand-folded hexagon sleeve.

Once again I discovered an unknown to me band! So now it's up to you if you want to discover this one or not...

For me it was nice reviewing it and a change of mood between the other reviews I did before this one...

here's the bandcamplink, if you want to get it...

http://anywave.bandcamp.com/album/stay-behind

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/03/2014


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum