tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/03/2014 : FUTURE - Stay Behind EP

FUTURE

Stay Behind EP

MusicCD
New waveShoegaze

[81/100]   

Anywave Records
24/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's a 4-tracks cd including two brand new songs, the aerial and desperate "In Your Eyes" (love the synths and guitars, but the voice could have been less "in a cave". The sound somehow reminds me of The Cure or The Essence at some point) and "Stay", a dark-into dancing anthem soaked with reverb and noise (with a clear retro sound and some known hooks, clearly influenced by a lot of bands from the 80's), and two remixes by minimal-synth artist Harshlove (member of synth punk band Strasbourg) and darkgaze producer Avgvst.

remixes:

'Skylights (Harshlove remix)' gets nice beats and changed it into something that is ready for the dance floor, but I wanted them to work a bit on the voice and take it away from the cave-sound (and that didn't happen). The chaotic noise vibe in the end gives it a nice conclusion, but the song should have stopped 30 seconds earlier.

'In your Eyes' (GS-01 remix)' is despite the noisy start a better version than the original. Love the electrocuted minimal synth wave version!

The whole ep has been produced by Avgvst, designed by Myriam Barchechat, with photographs by Damien Lafargue (from the collective Get the Picture Photographers) and Fabien Chombart, the EP goes with a limited edition cd packed in a hand-folded hexagon sleeve.

Once again I discovered an unknown to me band! So now it's up to you if you want to discover this one or not...

For me it was nice reviewing it and a change of mood between the other reviews I did before this one...

here's the bandcamplink, if you want to get it...

http://anywave.bandcamp.com/album/stay-behind

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/03/2014


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline