tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/03/2014 : FUTURE - Stay Behind EP

FUTURE

Stay Behind EP

MusicCD
New waveShoegaze

[81/100]   

Anywave Records
24/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's a 4-tracks cd including two brand new songs, the aerial and desperate "In Your Eyes" (love the synths and guitars, but the voice could have been less "in a cave". The sound somehow reminds me of The Cure or The Essence at some point) and "Stay", a dark-into dancing anthem soaked with reverb and noise (with a clear retro sound and some known hooks, clearly influenced by a lot of bands from the 80's), and two remixes by minimal-synth artist Harshlove (member of synth punk band Strasbourg) and darkgaze producer Avgvst.

remixes:

'Skylights (Harshlove remix)' gets nice beats and changed it into something that is ready for the dance floor, but I wanted them to work a bit on the voice and take it away from the cave-sound (and that didn't happen). The chaotic noise vibe in the end gives it a nice conclusion, but the song should have stopped 30 seconds earlier.

'In your Eyes' (GS-01 remix)' is despite the noisy start a better version than the original. Love the electrocuted minimal synth wave version!

The whole ep has been produced by Avgvst, designed by Myriam Barchechat, with photographs by Damien Lafargue (from the collective Get the Picture Photographers) and Fabien Chombart, the EP goes with a limited edition cd packed in a hand-folded hexagon sleeve.

Once again I discovered an unknown to me band! So now it's up to you if you want to discover this one or not...

For me it was nice reviewing it and a change of mood between the other reviews I did before this one...

here's the bandcamplink, if you want to get it...

http://anywave.bandcamp.com/album/stay-behind

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/03/2014


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start