tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

UNDERTHESKIN

Negative

MusicCD / Digital
Post PunkShoegaze

[93/100]   

Alchera Visions
02/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

One man project, three people live on stage, the sound... sounds like 10 people. Undertheskin is postpunk / coldwave / shoegaze of an immense level. This album title ‘Negative’ is more than worthy of its name, it sounds even like a final convulsion. But one with the necessary files of narcotic drugs involved to ease the pain. A whirlwind of cold 80's electronics, with a firm shoegaze squall and a strong sigh of post-punk.

‘Poison’ pounds through you like an immense steamboat. Slowly but steadily the song starts to move, until a seething bass line really lets it push through. Guitars raging horribly and upset through the sharp turns, barely keeping us out of the deep abyss. A very strong opener. The sound is overwhelming in every way imaginable. The characteristic pruning hard bass guitars and an old-school guitarsound from the golden days of Cold-Wave (as if they were over … NOT!) characterize ‘Burn’. Amazing how such a powerful sound supports a rather delicate voice.

‘Drown’ is permeated with the same ingredients. Nice depth, economical electronics, spun around a spine of sturdy bass.

‘Wave’ is a slightly darker and colder song that moderates the temperature that was caused by the previous and certain ecstasy. Although shoegaze guitars invite you to bend forward and do some shoegazing dancing. “Cold blood running, to the burnout heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Cheerfulness everywhere in ‘Borderline’ that bears a cold and synth wave aureole. Again a thriving bass guitar is very present.

Then we are thrown back in time with ‘No There’. Post-punk like from the heydays. This song needs no more words than to say it’s absolute class!

And then there’s ‘Done’. The perfect songtitel to tell us this 7-track Negative is coming to an end.

Resistance is futile while my finger slowly moves the direction of the replay button. And I start to enjoy these 7 songs again and again. I don't get "Done". This music is just too addictive for the undersigned. One advantage of this type of addiction: It doesn’t harm your health....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


NL

Eén man, op het podium live drie man, het geluid... klinkt als 10 man. Undertheskin is postpunk/coldwave/shoegaze van een immens niveau. Het album Negative is zijn naam waardig, want het klinkt ook als een finale stuiptrekking. Maar dan wel één met de nodige dossissen verdovende middelen om de pijn te onderdrukken. Een wervelwind van koude jaren '80-electronica, met shoegaze-rukwinden en een stevige zucht postpunk.

Als een immense stoomboot dreunt Poison dwars door je heen. Traag maar gestaag trekt de song zich op gang, tot een ziedende baslijn het werkelijk laat doordrammen. De gitaren scheuren afgrijselijk overstuurd door scherpe bochten, zonder het ravijn in te gaan. En heel sterke opener. De sound is overweldigend op elke denkbare manier. De karakteristieke snoeiharde basgitaren en een oldschool-gitaarklank uit de gouden dagen van de coldwave (alsof die over zouden zijn, NOT dus!) typeren Burn. Verbluffend hoe een dergelijke krachtige sound een frêle stem schraagt.
Drown is doordrongen van dezelfde voeding. Mooie diepgang, zuinige electronische sound, gesponnen rond een graamte van stevige bassen.

Wave is een iets donkerder en killer nummer dat de temperatuur die opgelopen was door de nodige extase ietwat tempert. Hoewel de shoegaze-gitaartjes toch weer tot diep voorovergebogen danswerk uitnodigen. "Cold blood running, tot the burn-out heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Vrolijkheid alom in Borderline dat een cold- en synthwave-aureool heeft.De alweer striemende basgitaar heeft hier wellicht een groot aandeel in.
En dan worden we toch genoegzaam teruggegooid in de tijd met No There. De postpunk van de grote dagen. Deze song behoeft geen énkel woord meer dan absolute klasse!
En dan Done. Wellicht gewoon een songtitel die ons erop wijst dat deze 7 songs tellende Negative ten einde is.

Mijn vinger is machteloos en ik volg lijdzaam de richting van de knop replay. En ik geniet 7 nummers lang. Om vervolgens weer slaafs deze geweldige schijf te herstarten. 'Done' geraak ik niet. Deze is voor ondergetekende gewoon verslavend. Eén voordeel van dit soort verslavingen: ze schaden je gezondheid niet....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative 02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

 

Next reviews
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Other reviews from UNDERTHESKIN
UNDERTHESKIN • Undertheskin

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS