tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

UNDERTHESKIN

Negative

MusicCD / Digital
Post PunkShoegaze

[93/100]   

Alchera Visions
02/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

One man project, three people live on stage, the sound... sounds like 10 people. Undertheskin is postpunk / coldwave / shoegaze of an immense level. This album title ‘Negative’ is more than worthy of its name, it sounds even like a final convulsion. But one with the necessary files of narcotic drugs involved to ease the pain. A whirlwind of cold 80's electronics, with a firm shoegaze squall and a strong sigh of post-punk.

‘Poison’ pounds through you like an immense steamboat. Slowly but steadily the song starts to move, until a seething bass line really lets it push through. Guitars raging horribly and upset through the sharp turns, barely keeping us out of the deep abyss. A very strong opener. The sound is overwhelming in every way imaginable. The characteristic pruning hard bass guitars and an old-school guitarsound from the golden days of Cold-Wave (as if they were over … NOT!) characterize ‘Burn’. Amazing how such a powerful sound supports a rather delicate voice.

‘Drown’ is permeated with the same ingredients. Nice depth, economical electronics, spun around a spine of sturdy bass.

‘Wave’ is a slightly darker and colder song that moderates the temperature that was caused by the previous and certain ecstasy. Although shoegaze guitars invite you to bend forward and do some shoegazing dancing. “Cold blood running, to the burnout heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Cheerfulness everywhere in ‘Borderline’ that bears a cold and synth wave aureole. Again a thriving bass guitar is very present.

Then we are thrown back in time with ‘No There’. Post-punk like from the heydays. This song needs no more words than to say it’s absolute class!

And then there’s ‘Done’. The perfect songtitel to tell us this 7-track Negative is coming to an end.

Resistance is futile while my finger slowly moves the direction of the replay button. And I start to enjoy these 7 songs again and again. I don't get "Done". This music is just too addictive for the undersigned. One advantage of this type of addiction: It doesn’t harm your health....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


NL

Eén man, op het podium live drie man, het geluid... klinkt als 10 man. Undertheskin is postpunk/coldwave/shoegaze van een immens niveau. Het album Negative is zijn naam waardig, want het klinkt ook als een finale stuiptrekking. Maar dan wel één met de nodige dossissen verdovende middelen om de pijn te onderdrukken. Een wervelwind van koude jaren '80-electronica, met shoegaze-rukwinden en een stevige zucht postpunk.

Als een immense stoomboot dreunt Poison dwars door je heen. Traag maar gestaag trekt de song zich op gang, tot een ziedende baslijn het werkelijk laat doordrammen. De gitaren scheuren afgrijselijk overstuurd door scherpe bochten, zonder het ravijn in te gaan. En heel sterke opener. De sound is overweldigend op elke denkbare manier. De karakteristieke snoeiharde basgitaren en een oldschool-gitaarklank uit de gouden dagen van de coldwave (alsof die over zouden zijn, NOT dus!) typeren Burn. Verbluffend hoe een dergelijke krachtige sound een frêle stem schraagt.
Drown is doordrongen van dezelfde voeding. Mooie diepgang, zuinige electronische sound, gesponnen rond een graamte van stevige bassen.

Wave is een iets donkerder en killer nummer dat de temperatuur die opgelopen was door de nodige extase ietwat tempert. Hoewel de shoegaze-gitaartjes toch weer tot diep voorovergebogen danswerk uitnodigen. "Cold blood running, tot the burn-out heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Vrolijkheid alom in Borderline dat een cold- en synthwave-aureool heeft.De alweer striemende basgitaar heeft hier wellicht een groot aandeel in.
En dan worden we toch genoegzaam teruggegooid in de tijd met No There. De postpunk van de grote dagen. Deze song behoeft geen énkel woord meer dan absolute klasse!
En dan Done. Wellicht gewoon een songtitel die ons erop wijst dat deze 7 songs tellende Negative ten einde is.

Mijn vinger is machteloos en ik volg lijdzaam de richting van de knop replay. En ik geniet 7 nummers lang. Om vervolgens weer slaafs deze geweldige schijf te herstarten. 'Done' geraak ik niet. Deze is voor ondergetekende gewoon verslavend. Eén voordeel van dit soort verslavingen: ze schaden je gezondheid niet....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative 02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

 

Next reviews
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Other reviews from UNDERTHESKIN
UNDERTHESKIN • Undertheskin

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem