tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

UNDERTHESKIN

Negative

MusicCD / Digital
Post PunkShoegaze

[93/100]   

Alchera Visions
02/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

One man project, three people live on stage, the sound... sounds like 10 people. Undertheskin is postpunk / coldwave / shoegaze of an immense level. This album title ‘Negative’ is more than worthy of its name, it sounds even like a final convulsion. But one with the necessary files of narcotic drugs involved to ease the pain. A whirlwind of cold 80's electronics, with a firm shoegaze squall and a strong sigh of post-punk.

‘Poison’ pounds through you like an immense steamboat. Slowly but steadily the song starts to move, until a seething bass line really lets it push through. Guitars raging horribly and upset through the sharp turns, barely keeping us out of the deep abyss. A very strong opener. The sound is overwhelming in every way imaginable. The characteristic pruning hard bass guitars and an old-school guitarsound from the golden days of Cold-Wave (as if they were over … NOT!) characterize ‘Burn’. Amazing how such a powerful sound supports a rather delicate voice.

‘Drown’ is permeated with the same ingredients. Nice depth, economical electronics, spun around a spine of sturdy bass.

‘Wave’ is a slightly darker and colder song that moderates the temperature that was caused by the previous and certain ecstasy. Although shoegaze guitars invite you to bend forward and do some shoegazing dancing. “Cold blood running, to the burnout heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Cheerfulness everywhere in ‘Borderline’ that bears a cold and synth wave aureole. Again a thriving bass guitar is very present.

Then we are thrown back in time with ‘No There’. Post-punk like from the heydays. This song needs no more words than to say it’s absolute class!

And then there’s ‘Done’. The perfect songtitel to tell us this 7-track Negative is coming to an end.

Resistance is futile while my finger slowly moves the direction of the replay button. And I start to enjoy these 7 songs again and again. I don't get "Done". This music is just too addictive for the undersigned. One advantage of this type of addiction: It doesn’t harm your health....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


NL

Eén man, op het podium live drie man, het geluid... klinkt als 10 man. Undertheskin is postpunk/coldwave/shoegaze van een immens niveau. Het album Negative is zijn naam waardig, want het klinkt ook als een finale stuiptrekking. Maar dan wel één met de nodige dossissen verdovende middelen om de pijn te onderdrukken. Een wervelwind van koude jaren '80-electronica, met shoegaze-rukwinden en een stevige zucht postpunk.

Als een immense stoomboot dreunt Poison dwars door je heen. Traag maar gestaag trekt de song zich op gang, tot een ziedende baslijn het werkelijk laat doordrammen. De gitaren scheuren afgrijselijk overstuurd door scherpe bochten, zonder het ravijn in te gaan. En heel sterke opener. De sound is overweldigend op elke denkbare manier. De karakteristieke snoeiharde basgitaren en een oldschool-gitaarklank uit de gouden dagen van de coldwave (alsof die over zouden zijn, NOT dus!) typeren Burn. Verbluffend hoe een dergelijke krachtige sound een frêle stem schraagt.
Drown is doordrongen van dezelfde voeding. Mooie diepgang, zuinige electronische sound, gesponnen rond een graamte van stevige bassen.

Wave is een iets donkerder en killer nummer dat de temperatuur die opgelopen was door de nodige extase ietwat tempert. Hoewel de shoegaze-gitaartjes toch weer tot diep voorovergebogen danswerk uitnodigen. "Cold blood running, tot the burn-out heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Vrolijkheid alom in Borderline dat een cold- en synthwave-aureool heeft.De alweer striemende basgitaar heeft hier wellicht een groot aandeel in.
En dan worden we toch genoegzaam teruggegooid in de tijd met No There. De postpunk van de grote dagen. Deze song behoeft geen énkel woord meer dan absolute klasse!
En dan Done. Wellicht gewoon een songtitel die ons erop wijst dat deze 7 songs tellende Negative ten einde is.

Mijn vinger is machteloos en ik volg lijdzaam de richting van de knop replay. En ik geniet 7 nummers lang. Om vervolgens weer slaafs deze geweldige schijf te herstarten. 'Done' geraak ik niet. Deze is voor ondergetekende gewoon verslavend. Eén voordeel van dit soort verslavingen: ze schaden je gezondheid niet....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative 02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

 

Next reviews
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Other reviews from UNDERTHESKIN
UNDERTHESKIN • Undertheskin

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover