tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

UNDERTHESKIN

Negative

MusicCD / Digital
Post PunkShoegaze

[93/100]   

Alchera Visions
02/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

One man project, three people live on stage, the sound... sounds like 10 people. Undertheskin is postpunk / coldwave / shoegaze of an immense level. This album title ‘Negative’ is more than worthy of its name, it sounds even like a final convulsion. But one with the necessary files of narcotic drugs involved to ease the pain. A whirlwind of cold 80's electronics, with a firm shoegaze squall and a strong sigh of post-punk.

‘Poison’ pounds through you like an immense steamboat. Slowly but steadily the song starts to move, until a seething bass line really lets it push through. Guitars raging horribly and upset through the sharp turns, barely keeping us out of the deep abyss. A very strong opener. The sound is overwhelming in every way imaginable. The characteristic pruning hard bass guitars and an old-school guitarsound from the golden days of Cold-Wave (as if they were over … NOT!) characterize ‘Burn’. Amazing how such a powerful sound supports a rather delicate voice.

‘Drown’ is permeated with the same ingredients. Nice depth, economical electronics, spun around a spine of sturdy bass.

‘Wave’ is a slightly darker and colder song that moderates the temperature that was caused by the previous and certain ecstasy. Although shoegaze guitars invite you to bend forward and do some shoegazing dancing. “Cold blood running, to the burnout heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Cheerfulness everywhere in ‘Borderline’ that bears a cold and synth wave aureole. Again a thriving bass guitar is very present.

Then we are thrown back in time with ‘No There’. Post-punk like from the heydays. This song needs no more words than to say it’s absolute class!

And then there’s ‘Done’. The perfect songtitel to tell us this 7-track Negative is coming to an end.

Resistance is futile while my finger slowly moves the direction of the replay button. And I start to enjoy these 7 songs again and again. I don't get "Done". This music is just too addictive for the undersigned. One advantage of this type of addiction: It doesn’t harm your health....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


NL

Eén man, op het podium live drie man, het geluid... klinkt als 10 man. Undertheskin is postpunk/coldwave/shoegaze van een immens niveau. Het album Negative is zijn naam waardig, want het klinkt ook als een finale stuiptrekking. Maar dan wel één met de nodige dossissen verdovende middelen om de pijn te onderdrukken. Een wervelwind van koude jaren '80-electronica, met shoegaze-rukwinden en een stevige zucht postpunk.

Als een immense stoomboot dreunt Poison dwars door je heen. Traag maar gestaag trekt de song zich op gang, tot een ziedende baslijn het werkelijk laat doordrammen. De gitaren scheuren afgrijselijk overstuurd door scherpe bochten, zonder het ravijn in te gaan. En heel sterke opener. De sound is overweldigend op elke denkbare manier. De karakteristieke snoeiharde basgitaren en een oldschool-gitaarklank uit de gouden dagen van de coldwave (alsof die over zouden zijn, NOT dus!) typeren Burn. Verbluffend hoe een dergelijke krachtige sound een frêle stem schraagt.
Drown is doordrongen van dezelfde voeding. Mooie diepgang, zuinige electronische sound, gesponnen rond een graamte van stevige bassen.

Wave is een iets donkerder en killer nummer dat de temperatuur die opgelopen was door de nodige extase ietwat tempert. Hoewel de shoegaze-gitaartjes toch weer tot diep voorovergebogen danswerk uitnodigen. "Cold blood running, tot the burn-out heart, words are flowing, to the burning mind..." Vrolijkheid alom in Borderline dat een cold- en synthwave-aureool heeft.De alweer striemende basgitaar heeft hier wellicht een groot aandeel in.
En dan worden we toch genoegzaam teruggegooid in de tijd met No There. De postpunk van de grote dagen. Deze song behoeft geen énkel woord meer dan absolute klasse!
En dan Done. Wellicht gewoon een songtitel die ons erop wijst dat deze 7 songs tellende Negative ten einde is.

Mijn vinger is machteloos en ik volg lijdzaam de richting van de knop replay. En ik geniet 7 nummers lang. Om vervolgens weer slaafs deze geweldige schijf te herstarten. 'Done' geraak ik niet. Deze is voor ondergetekende gewoon verslavend. Eén voordeel van dit soort verslavingen: ze schaden je gezondheid niet....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/05/2019


02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative 02/05/2019 : UNDERTHESKIN - Negative

 

Next reviews
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Other reviews from UNDERTHESKIN
UNDERTHESKIN • Undertheskin

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
MOTOR!K, NU-krautrock debut album featuring Dirk Ivens released by Out Of Line!
23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart