tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/07/2017 : SUPERNOVA 1006 - Unique World

SUPERNOVA 1006

Unique World

MusicVinyl
MinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Other Voices Records
28/07/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Supernova 1006 originated in 2014 as duo: Andrey Yukhovich and Anton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk (Russia). Anton left the band in 2015 and was replaced by Elizabeth Dolgikh. It is now those two, from St. Petersburg, who present us a gem that might be the perfect fusion of post-punk, cold wave and shoe-gaze.

The opener track ‘Dante’ on this album is a very minimalistic song. Soberly-played analogue machines with a voice that has been put through a vocoder and thus sounds very science-fiction like. With the next track ‘Melting’, we get the whole lot at once: tempo, a tight repetitive rhythm and tense guitars. Sounding very The Soft Moon-ish. The sound is blissful and airy almost taking you into a psychedelic dream.

More of this in ‘Through Me’, like walls are closing in on you …you can almost feel the panic … looking for a way out, but the music closes you in. Scary, unobtrusively and slumbering, we continue our trip, with a portion of ‘Dope’, this hammer song sounds very post punk and cold wave at the same time. Straight bass lines form the skeleton, while touching guitars play, hanging around it as pieces of bloody meat. Then, more shoe-gaze influences surface in ‘Crosses’, that sounds very mythical. A mysterious voice whispers ominous messages in your ears.

In case you might have fallen asleep, the next song ‘Murder’ is there to wake you up again gently. A nice rhythm will tickle your shoulder and bring you back to reality but still a very quiet and minimalistic reality. The synths sprinkle their deepest sounds around loosely. ‘Indifference’ is another piece of cake. Cold wave music of the best kind. I feel like an early Cure-sound is lurking around the corner here. And then again, a solid, straightforward postpunk song will throw you back in time! ‘Photons’ it’s called and sounds eighties to the core. Bone-dry drums and a floating guitar will make you move over the dance floor as if you're not touching it. ‘Human’ is, in contrast to the other songs, a more complex track, almost as if several songs were accidentally recorded on top of each other. Let’s say it’s a "special" song.

Science Of Bones’ is a rather short song, like a snack in between this very delicious menu. Right after, we dive back into the abyss with ‘Darkness’, which is probably the darkest track on this amazing ‘Unique World’ album. It’s like drifting through a misty landscape, in early morning, when dew drips from the leaves like candy syrup from a slice of bread. Midst an immense calm, a bird welcomes you with his cautious first whistles. This is how quietly this song comes alive only to keep you mesmerized for the full 5 minutes until some cold piano notes bring you back. Again, a “special”, but good song.

The album closed with ‘Inside Of Me’, where Electro-punk and cold-wave meet each other again.

In short, with the ‘Unique World’, our Russians from Supernova 1006 delivered a strong album. A must hear for fans of The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon and In Death It Ends. To the readers who are not familiar with those bands mentioned before I would say, check out this album! I’m pretty sure it will enchant you!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


NL

Supernova 1006 ontstond in 2014 als duo: Andrey Yukhovich enAnton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk. Anton verliet de band in 2015 en werd vervangen door Elizabeth Dolgikh. En deze twee schenken ons vanuit Rusland, Sint-Petersburg, een juweeltje dat de perfecte versmelting is van post-punk, cold wave en shoegaze.

Opener Dante is een heel minimale song. Sober bespeelde analoge machinerie met een stem die door de voice decoder is gehaald en heel science fiction klinkt.
Met Melting krijgen we meteen alles inééns: tempo, een strakke en zichzelf herhalende ritmesectie, gepijnigde gitaren. The Soft Moon is héél dichtbij in deze song. De sound is zalig zweverig, en neemt je mee in een heel psychedelische droom.
En dan méér van dat in Through Me. Alsof de muren in een kamer heel langzaam dichtbij komen, je paniek voelt,.. je zoekt een uitweg, maar de muziek sluit je in. Schichtig, onopvallend sluimerend. En we gaan verder in deze trip, met een portie Dope. Deze knaller houdt het midden tussen post-punk en cold wave. Strakke baslijnen vormen het skelet, waar de snerpende gitaren als lapjes afstervend vlees rondom hangen. Weer meer shoegaze dan in Crosses, dat heel mythisch klinkt. Een mysterieuze stem fluistert doorheen de song onheilspellende boodschappen in je oren. En af en toe, wanneer je net dreigt te verzinken, krijg je een oplawaai.

Mocht je in diepe gedachten verzonken zijn intussen, dan tikt Murder je voorzichtig wakker. Een lieflijke ritmesectie tokkelt op je schouder, om je langzaam terug te halen naar het hier en nu. Maar wel heel rustig en minimalistisch. De synths strooien weelderig hun diepste klanken in het rond. Indifference is dan weer van een andere orde. Cold wave van de beste soort. De vroege Cure komt hier om de hoek kijken naar mijn gevoel. En dan volgt weer een stevige, rechttoe rechtaan portie postpunk die je even terug in de tijd blaast. Photons klinkt eighties tot op het bot. Kurkdroge drums, een gitaartje dat je over de dansvloer doet zweven alsof je voeten de grond niet meer raken. For Human is, in tegenstelling tot de andere songs, heel complex opgebouwd. Het lijkt alsof verschillende songs per ongeluk door elkaar zijn opgenomen. Een "specialleke" zouden we kunnen stellen.

Science Of Bones is een korte song, een tussengerechtje in dit heel lekkere menu. Daarna worden we weerin totale duisternis ondergedompled. In Darkness is het meest donkere nummer op deze geweldige LP Unique World. Je dwaalt door een nevelig landschap, ’s morgens, wanneer de dauw als stroop van een boterham van de bladeren druipt. In een immense rust, verwelkomt een enkele vogel je met een zuinige eerste fluittoon. Zo rustig ontwaakt deze song, om je 5 minuten lang in een houdgreep te nemen. Naar het einde toe kille pianoklanken, die je toch bewust in het hier en nu willen houden. Ook dit is weer een aparte, maar goéde song.
Als toemaatje en afsluiter: Inside Of Me. Hier ontmoeten electro-punk en coldwave elkaar.

Algemeen gesproken schenken de Russen van Supernova 1006 ons met Unique World een heel sterk album. Fans Van The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon en In Death It Ends zullen hier wég van zijn. Lezers die alle voorgaande niét zouden kennen: luister naar dit geweldige album en de smaak zal je héél erg inpakken!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


 

Next reviews
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND • WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
THE KVB • Of Desire

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless