tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

28/07/2017 : SUPERNOVA 1006 - Unique World

SUPERNOVA 1006

Unique World

MusicVinyl
MinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Other Voices Records
28/07/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Supernova 1006 originated in 2014 as duo: Andrey Yukhovich and Anton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk (Russia). Anton left the band in 2015 and was replaced by Elizabeth Dolgikh. It is now those two, from St. Petersburg, who present us a gem that might be the perfect fusion of post-punk, cold wave and shoe-gaze.

The opener track ‘Dante’ on this album is a very minimalistic song. Soberly-played analogue machines with a voice that has been put through a vocoder and thus sounds very science-fiction like. With the next track ‘Melting’, we get the whole lot at once: tempo, a tight repetitive rhythm and tense guitars. Sounding very The Soft Moon-ish. The sound is blissful and airy almost taking you into a psychedelic dream.

More of this in ‘Through Me’, like walls are closing in on you …you can almost feel the panic … looking for a way out, but the music closes you in. Scary, unobtrusively and slumbering, we continue our trip, with a portion of ‘Dope’, this hammer song sounds very post punk and cold wave at the same time. Straight bass lines form the skeleton, while touching guitars play, hanging around it as pieces of bloody meat. Then, more shoe-gaze influences surface in ‘Crosses’, that sounds very mythical. A mysterious voice whispers ominous messages in your ears.

In case you might have fallen asleep, the next song ‘Murder’ is there to wake you up again gently. A nice rhythm will tickle your shoulder and bring you back to reality but still a very quiet and minimalistic reality. The synths sprinkle their deepest sounds around loosely. ‘Indifference’ is another piece of cake. Cold wave music of the best kind. I feel like an early Cure-sound is lurking around the corner here. And then again, a solid, straightforward postpunk song will throw you back in time! ‘Photons’ it’s called and sounds eighties to the core. Bone-dry drums and a floating guitar will make you move over the dance floor as if you're not touching it. ‘Human’ is, in contrast to the other songs, a more complex track, almost as if several songs were accidentally recorded on top of each other. Let’s say it’s a "special" song.

Science Of Bones’ is a rather short song, like a snack in between this very delicious menu. Right after, we dive back into the abyss with ‘Darkness’, which is probably the darkest track on this amazing ‘Unique World’ album. It’s like drifting through a misty landscape, in early morning, when dew drips from the leaves like candy syrup from a slice of bread. Midst an immense calm, a bird welcomes you with his cautious first whistles. This is how quietly this song comes alive only to keep you mesmerized for the full 5 minutes until some cold piano notes bring you back. Again, a “special”, but good song.

The album closed with ‘Inside Of Me’, where Electro-punk and cold-wave meet each other again.

In short, with the ‘Unique World’, our Russians from Supernova 1006 delivered a strong album. A must hear for fans of The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon and In Death It Ends. To the readers who are not familiar with those bands mentioned before I would say, check out this album! I’m pretty sure it will enchant you!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


NL

Supernova 1006 ontstond in 2014 als duo: Andrey Yukhovich enAnton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk. Anton verliet de band in 2015 en werd vervangen door Elizabeth Dolgikh. En deze twee schenken ons vanuit Rusland, Sint-Petersburg, een juweeltje dat de perfecte versmelting is van post-punk, cold wave en shoegaze.

Opener Dante is een heel minimale song. Sober bespeelde analoge machinerie met een stem die door de voice decoder is gehaald en heel science fiction klinkt.
Met Melting krijgen we meteen alles inééns: tempo, een strakke en zichzelf herhalende ritmesectie, gepijnigde gitaren. The Soft Moon is héél dichtbij in deze song. De sound is zalig zweverig, en neemt je mee in een heel psychedelische droom.
En dan méér van dat in Through Me. Alsof de muren in een kamer heel langzaam dichtbij komen, je paniek voelt,.. je zoekt een uitweg, maar de muziek sluit je in. Schichtig, onopvallend sluimerend. En we gaan verder in deze trip, met een portie Dope. Deze knaller houdt het midden tussen post-punk en cold wave. Strakke baslijnen vormen het skelet, waar de snerpende gitaren als lapjes afstervend vlees rondom hangen. Weer meer shoegaze dan in Crosses, dat heel mythisch klinkt. Een mysterieuze stem fluistert doorheen de song onheilspellende boodschappen in je oren. En af en toe, wanneer je net dreigt te verzinken, krijg je een oplawaai.

Mocht je in diepe gedachten verzonken zijn intussen, dan tikt Murder je voorzichtig wakker. Een lieflijke ritmesectie tokkelt op je schouder, om je langzaam terug te halen naar het hier en nu. Maar wel heel rustig en minimalistisch. De synths strooien weelderig hun diepste klanken in het rond. Indifference is dan weer van een andere orde. Cold wave van de beste soort. De vroege Cure komt hier om de hoek kijken naar mijn gevoel. En dan volgt weer een stevige, rechttoe rechtaan portie postpunk die je even terug in de tijd blaast. Photons klinkt eighties tot op het bot. Kurkdroge drums, een gitaartje dat je over de dansvloer doet zweven alsof je voeten de grond niet meer raken. For Human is, in tegenstelling tot de andere songs, heel complex opgebouwd. Het lijkt alsof verschillende songs per ongeluk door elkaar zijn opgenomen. Een "specialleke" zouden we kunnen stellen.

Science Of Bones is een korte song, een tussengerechtje in dit heel lekkere menu. Daarna worden we weerin totale duisternis ondergedompled. In Darkness is het meest donkere nummer op deze geweldige LP Unique World. Je dwaalt door een nevelig landschap, ’s morgens, wanneer de dauw als stroop van een boterham van de bladeren druipt. In een immense rust, verwelkomt een enkele vogel je met een zuinige eerste fluittoon. Zo rustig ontwaakt deze song, om je 5 minuten lang in een houdgreep te nemen. Naar het einde toe kille pianoklanken, die je toch bewust in het hier en nu willen houden. Ook dit is weer een aparte, maar goéde song.
Als toemaatje en afsluiter: Inside Of Me. Hier ontmoeten electro-punk en coldwave elkaar.

Algemeen gesproken schenken de Russen van Supernova 1006 ons met Unique World een heel sterk album. Fans Van The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon en In Death It Ends zullen hier wég van zijn. Lezers die alle voorgaande niét zouden kennen: luister naar dit geweldige album en de smaak zal je héél erg inpakken!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


 

Next reviews
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND • WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
THE KVB • Of Desire

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
DIIV • Is The Is Are

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)