tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/07/2017 : SUPERNOVA 1006 - Unique World

SUPERNOVA 1006

Unique World

MusicVinyl
MinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Other Voices Records
28/07/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Supernova 1006 originated in 2014 as duo: Andrey Yukhovich and Anton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk (Russia). Anton left the band in 2015 and was replaced by Elizabeth Dolgikh. It is now those two, from St. Petersburg, who present us a gem that might be the perfect fusion of post-punk, cold wave and shoe-gaze.

The opener track ‘Dante’ on this album is a very minimalistic song. Soberly-played analogue machines with a voice that has been put through a vocoder and thus sounds very science-fiction like. With the next track ‘Melting’, we get the whole lot at once: tempo, a tight repetitive rhythm and tense guitars. Sounding very The Soft Moon-ish. The sound is blissful and airy almost taking you into a psychedelic dream.

More of this in ‘Through Me’, like walls are closing in on you …you can almost feel the panic … looking for a way out, but the music closes you in. Scary, unobtrusively and slumbering, we continue our trip, with a portion of ‘Dope’, this hammer song sounds very post punk and cold wave at the same time. Straight bass lines form the skeleton, while touching guitars play, hanging around it as pieces of bloody meat. Then, more shoe-gaze influences surface in ‘Crosses’, that sounds very mythical. A mysterious voice whispers ominous messages in your ears.

In case you might have fallen asleep, the next song ‘Murder’ is there to wake you up again gently. A nice rhythm will tickle your shoulder and bring you back to reality but still a very quiet and minimalistic reality. The synths sprinkle their deepest sounds around loosely. ‘Indifference’ is another piece of cake. Cold wave music of the best kind. I feel like an early Cure-sound is lurking around the corner here. And then again, a solid, straightforward postpunk song will throw you back in time! ‘Photons’ it’s called and sounds eighties to the core. Bone-dry drums and a floating guitar will make you move over the dance floor as if you're not touching it. ‘Human’ is, in contrast to the other songs, a more complex track, almost as if several songs were accidentally recorded on top of each other. Let’s say it’s a "special" song.

Science Of Bones’ is a rather short song, like a snack in between this very delicious menu. Right after, we dive back into the abyss with ‘Darkness’, which is probably the darkest track on this amazing ‘Unique World’ album. It’s like drifting through a misty landscape, in early morning, when dew drips from the leaves like candy syrup from a slice of bread. Midst an immense calm, a bird welcomes you with his cautious first whistles. This is how quietly this song comes alive only to keep you mesmerized for the full 5 minutes until some cold piano notes bring you back. Again, a “special”, but good song.

The album closed with ‘Inside Of Me’, where Electro-punk and cold-wave meet each other again.

In short, with the ‘Unique World’, our Russians from Supernova 1006 delivered a strong album. A must hear for fans of The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon and In Death It Ends. To the readers who are not familiar with those bands mentioned before I would say, check out this album! I’m pretty sure it will enchant you!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


NL

Supernova 1006 ontstond in 2014 als duo: Andrey Yukhovich enAnton Korchevsky in Khabarovsk. Anton verliet de band in 2015 en werd vervangen door Elizabeth Dolgikh. En deze twee schenken ons vanuit Rusland, Sint-Petersburg, een juweeltje dat de perfecte versmelting is van post-punk, cold wave en shoegaze.

Opener Dante is een heel minimale song. Sober bespeelde analoge machinerie met een stem die door de voice decoder is gehaald en heel science fiction klinkt.
Met Melting krijgen we meteen alles inééns: tempo, een strakke en zichzelf herhalende ritmesectie, gepijnigde gitaren. The Soft Moon is héél dichtbij in deze song. De sound is zalig zweverig, en neemt je mee in een heel psychedelische droom.
En dan méér van dat in Through Me. Alsof de muren in een kamer heel langzaam dichtbij komen, je paniek voelt,.. je zoekt een uitweg, maar de muziek sluit je in. Schichtig, onopvallend sluimerend. En we gaan verder in deze trip, met een portie Dope. Deze knaller houdt het midden tussen post-punk en cold wave. Strakke baslijnen vormen het skelet, waar de snerpende gitaren als lapjes afstervend vlees rondom hangen. Weer meer shoegaze dan in Crosses, dat heel mythisch klinkt. Een mysterieuze stem fluistert doorheen de song onheilspellende boodschappen in je oren. En af en toe, wanneer je net dreigt te verzinken, krijg je een oplawaai.

Mocht je in diepe gedachten verzonken zijn intussen, dan tikt Murder je voorzichtig wakker. Een lieflijke ritmesectie tokkelt op je schouder, om je langzaam terug te halen naar het hier en nu. Maar wel heel rustig en minimalistisch. De synths strooien weelderig hun diepste klanken in het rond. Indifference is dan weer van een andere orde. Cold wave van de beste soort. De vroege Cure komt hier om de hoek kijken naar mijn gevoel. En dan volgt weer een stevige, rechttoe rechtaan portie postpunk die je even terug in de tijd blaast. Photons klinkt eighties tot op het bot. Kurkdroge drums, een gitaartje dat je over de dansvloer doet zweven alsof je voeten de grond niet meer raken. For Human is, in tegenstelling tot de andere songs, heel complex opgebouwd. Het lijkt alsof verschillende songs per ongeluk door elkaar zijn opgenomen. Een "specialleke" zouden we kunnen stellen.

Science Of Bones is een korte song, een tussengerechtje in dit heel lekkere menu. Daarna worden we weerin totale duisternis ondergedompled. In Darkness is het meest donkere nummer op deze geweldige LP Unique World. Je dwaalt door een nevelig landschap, ’s morgens, wanneer de dauw als stroop van een boterham van de bladeren druipt. In een immense rust, verwelkomt een enkele vogel je met een zuinige eerste fluittoon. Zo rustig ontwaakt deze song, om je 5 minuten lang in een houdgreep te nemen. Naar het einde toe kille pianoklanken, die je toch bewust in het hier en nu willen houden. Ook dit is weer een aparte, maar goéde song.
Als toemaatje en afsluiter: Inside Of Me. Hier ontmoeten electro-punk en coldwave elkaar.

Algemeen gesproken schenken de Russen van Supernova 1006 ons met Unique World een heel sterk album. Fans Van The KVB, Drab Majesty, The Soft Moon en In Death It Ends zullen hier wég van zijn. Lezers die alle voorgaande niét zouden kennen: luister naar dit geweldige album en de smaak zal je héél erg inpakken!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/07/2017


 

Next reviews
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND • WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
THE KVB • Of Desire

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence