tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2017 : DER PLAN - Unkapitulierbar

DER PLAN

Unkapitulierbar

MusicCD
Electronics

[70/100]   

Bureau B
13/07/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Formed in 1979 and championed early-on by Teutonic chums DAF, Der Plan represent the playful and theatrical end of German electronica without resorting to turning every song into a jingle. Unkapitulierbar is the band's first studio-album for over a decade and their first with early members Pyrolator, Frank Fenstermacher and Moritz R. Thus you can expect quirky rhythms, eccentric lyrics (in German, naturally) and an element of shameless improvisation.

Opener Wie der Wind weht ('When the Wind Blows') takes its Raymond Briggs influence and blends the fractured electronic beats with childlike melodies and downbeats from the Cafe del Mar. Lass die Katze stehn! is a bonkers slice of disco-techno that translates literally as Let the Cat Stand (nope, me neither) and Man leidet herrlich ('One Suffers Splendidly') sounds like '90s Brit-dub like Zion Train if they'd spent the day smoking reefer on Berlin's U-Bahn.

Often cited as uncategorisable, Der Plan certainly live up to that billing with a wide scope of genres covered in just shy of 40 minutes, so many that in less capable hands might render the whole project directionless. Here though, Der Plan sound like a band that hasn't been away and, y'know, enjoyed itself. You might too - just cop an earful of the sole English-language track Come Fly With Me and try not to smile. Interesting artwork in these Brexit times.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
13/07/2017


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design