tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

20/04/2019 : LUCKY AND LOVE - Transitions

LUCKY AND LOVE

Transitions

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[85/100]   
20/04/2019, Kevin BURKE

The L.A synthwave Goliath known as LuckyandLove. This outfit comprises of the wizardry duo of vocalist and multi-synth-pedal-instrumentalist April Love, and drummer & multi-synth instrumentalist Loren Luck.

Their latest offering, Transitions, is a dynamic immersion into a world of beats galvanized by clever hooks and lyrics. From the outset of ‘Soul Alive’ (the latest single) to the closing of ‘Rosary’ the album brings the audience on a journey through a dreamy-pop landscape. Addictive and constructed with the right amount of emotion to veer the recording steadily away from the complete robotic sounds of similar acts.

Indeed, there is plenty of influences in the mix, from Ladytron to earlier twentieth century giants such as Cocteau Twins and Tubeway Army. Although hints only, the music itself is trademarked as completely their own. Lucky And Love have that edge which makes them a feast for searchers of new sounds. Transitions is after all only their second long-player, though it shows a supreme maturity in the two-years since the self-titled debut. Vocalist April Love sounds more sultry, the electronic femme fatale which can draw a listener in with the sweetest of syllables. Whilst Loren Luck piles on the wall of noise to frame and present the talent on Love perfectly.

This is a very transformational record. Making it was an emotional journey with both heartbreaking and fun experiences because we are always in transition,"-Loren Luck.

SRD - Southern Record Distributors

TRACK LIST
1. Soul Alive
2. Animal (Wanna See You)
3. Dangerous Runaway
4. Bottomline
5. Dancing Alone Again
6. Summertime Frolic
7. It's a Mistake
8. Telekinesis
9. Medicine Woman
10. Rosary

Pre-order

https://shop.luckyandlove.com/collections/lucky-love-full-length-self-titled-album

Kevin BURKE
20/04/2019


 

Next reviews
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)