tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/04/2019 : ZWEITE JUGEND - Elektronische Körpermusik

ZWEITE JUGEND

Elektronische Körpermusik

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

Brandsatz Records
30/04/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The duo Zweite Jugend is Marcel L. (drums) and Eli van Vegas (vocals, sequences). Marcel can also been seen onstage with bands like Jäger 90, Hätzer and Tension Control and is a permanent member of Combat Company which is also founded by Eli. Both have been good friends since 2009 and joined forces with Zweite Jugend in 2013. In October 2015, they produced some 'demo videos' named 'Up the Cups!' And 'Love Is Luxury', and the EP Kleines Vorspiel, that was made in a hurry and only 100 copies were made. Now they bring us Elektronischer Körpermusik. How clear can an album name be?

The ever - Im Rhytmus Bleibende - EBM crowd has with Zweite Jugend yet another band that will make their bodies drip and sparkle from sweat while dancing on those tight rhythms. This work could easily start a spontaneous moshpit at any party. Because we press play we only have to wait a few seconds before the first aggressive, short synth sequences, with a snare drum forecast the coming of some hard-core EBM. Flucht Vom Der Erde seems so simple, but the recipe of the one arpeggio-bass synth line with modest drums is so nice and hard. It surprises me over and over how old school EBM keeps up with the beauty of minimal client patterns. Kriegergen is another clear example of this. And it’s not over yet... Falsche Freunde even shifts up a gear and makes me feel more happy note after note because Old -School EBM can be so enjoyable!

The album’s title song is a bit more moderate and with some goodwill you could even call it minimal-synth-wave. Electronic Körpermusik is an ode to the body that glorifies the stomping and dancing on its hard beats. And why not?! ‘Bitte tanz die all Night... Ich tanz für dich, du tanzt für mich'... To this rhythm, sure! Die Ganze Nacht! And that rhythm gets another blast in Weisses Rauschen. Again extremely economical in terms of sounds, but combative like never before. Then Leah Und Alissa sounds a bit more contemporary and cheerful. Cheerful in the sense of nice sounding melody, which has a quite high Welle: Erdball feel. You know, the almost computer game sound thing. Which is very welcome, because it ensures better digestibility of the whole album. But don’t get used to the rest, because here’s Alte Schule, a track with a more heavy sound again but still with some retro synth sounds in place. Tempo, deep bassy sounds, and the accompanying aggression reign supreme in the next track Alles Wie Immer. … About how everything seems to change but in the end it all stays the same. Clearly nothing to be cheerful about …

Heile Welt is yet another old-school EBM track as is the outro song Kontronym that hits you in the guts so hard you can’t resist it.

Zweite Jugend succeeded in delivering some good Elektronischer Körpermusik indeed. Maybe very basic, but straightforward EBM with the occasional fun escapade to its neighboring music styles. It is clear both gentlemen have their heads in the game. Fingerliking good EBM!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/04/2019


NL

Zweite Jugend is een duo: Marcel L. (drums) en Eli van Vegas (zang, sequensen). Marcel is ook bandlid van Jäger 90, Hätzer en Tension Control en is een permanent lid van Combat Company. Eli is oprichter van Combat Company. Beiden zijn al sedert 2009 goed bevriend en sloegen in 2013 de muzikale handen in elkaar binnen Zweite Jugend. In oktober 2015 brachten ze twee 'demovideo's' uit ('Up the Cups!' en 'Love Is Luxury'), gevolgd door een EP Kleines Vorspiel, die echt inderhaast is gemaakt en slechts op 100 exemplaren te verkrijgen was. Nu brengen ze ons Elektronische Körpermusik. Hoe duidelijk kan een naam van een album zijn?

Het steeds Im Rhytmus bleibende volkje heeft aan Zweite Jugend alweer een band die hen tot druipend en blinkend van het zweet in strakke ritmes laat bewegen. Een toevallige moshpit zou ook wel eens aan dit werk kunnen ontspruiten.
Want we hoeven maar 4 luttele seconden te wachten voor de eerste agressieve, korte synth-sequenties, met in het kielzog een snare-drum de aankondiging zijn van snoeiharde EBM. Flucht Vom Der Erde is zo eenvoudig, en het recept van één arpeggio-bas-synthlijn met bescheiden drums is toch zo lekker snoeihard. Het blijt mij ook verbazen dat de oldschool EBM zich blijvend staande houdt met de schoonheid van minimale klanpatronen. Kriegergen is daarvan het levende bewijs. En dat niet alleen... Want Falsche Freunde is nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld. Bij elke noot die mijn oor bereikt word ik vrolijker van het feit dat de oldschool EBM toch iets geweldigs is.
De titelsong is dan iets gematigder en zou je met wat goede wil minimal synthwave kunnen noemen. Elektronische Körpermusik is een ode aan het lichaam die het gebeuk en gedans op de snoeiharde beats verheerlijkt. Waarom ook niet! 'Bitte tanz die ganse Nacht... Ich tanz fur dich, du tanzt für mich'... Op dit ritme, jawel Die Ganze Nacht. En dat ritme krijgt een oplawaai van jewelste in Weisses Rauschen. Alweer uiterst zuinig qua klanken, maar strijdvaardig als nooit voorheen.
Iets hedendaagser en opgewekter klinkt Leah Und Alissa. Opgewekt in de zin dat er een heel leuke melodie klinkt, die een vrij hoog Welle:Erdball-gehalte heeft. Bijna een computergame-sound. Wat in deze in elk geval toegejuicht kan worden, want het nummer zorgt voor een wat betere verteerbaarheid. Vooraleer te wennen aan deze rust, is Alte Schule weer iets ruwer. Hoewel ook hier een retro-synth-sound zijn plaats krijgt. En het tempo, de diepte van basklanken, en de bijhorende agressie vieren weer hoogtij in Alles Wie Immer. Over hoe alles wat lijkt te veranderen eigenlijk is wat het altijd was. Van weinig vrolijkheid gespeend me dunkt.
Heile Welt is nog een oldtimer-EBM-song. En met Kontronym als uitsmijter krijgen we een minimal song in de maag gesplitst die zo eenvoudig is dat het je inpakt zonder moeite.

Zweite Jugend levert een goede Elektronische Körpermusik af. Heel basis, rechttoe rechtaan EBM met af en toe een leuke uithaal naar andere daarbij aanleunende genres. Dat de beide heren hier al enorm veel kaas van hebben gegeten is duidelijk. Fingerlicking good EBM.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/04/2019


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover