tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

30/04/2019 : ZWEITE JUGEND - Elektronische Körpermusik

ZWEITE JUGEND

Elektronische Körpermusik

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBM

[86/100]   

Brandsatz Records
30/04/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The duo Zweite Jugend is Marcel L. (drums) and Eli van Vegas (vocals, sequences). Marcel can also been seen onstage with bands like Jäger 90, Hätzer and Tension Control and is a permanent member of Combat Company which is also founded by Eli. Both have been good friends since 2009 and joined forces with Zweite Jugend in 2013. In October 2015, they produced some 'demo videos' named 'Up the Cups!' And 'Love Is Luxury', and the EP Kleines Vorspiel, that was made in a hurry and only 100 copies were made. Now they bring us Elektronischer Körpermusik. How clear can an album name be?

The ever - Im Rhytmus Bleibende - EBM crowd has with Zweite Jugend yet another band that will make their bodies drip and sparkle from sweat while dancing on those tight rhythms. This work could easily start a spontaneous moshpit at any party. Because we press play we only have to wait a few seconds before the first aggressive, short synth sequences, with a snare drum forecast the coming of some hard-core EBM. Flucht Vom Der Erde seems so simple, but the recipe of the one arpeggio-bass synth line with modest drums is so nice and hard. It surprises me over and over how old school EBM keeps up with the beauty of minimal client patterns. Kriegergen is another clear example of this. And it’s not over yet... Falsche Freunde even shifts up a gear and makes me feel more happy note after note because Old -School EBM can be so enjoyable!

The album’s title song is a bit more moderate and with some goodwill you could even call it minimal-synth-wave. Electronic Körpermusik is an ode to the body that glorifies the stomping and dancing on its hard beats. And why not?! ‘Bitte tanz die all Night... Ich tanz für dich, du tanzt für mich'... To this rhythm, sure! Die Ganze Nacht! And that rhythm gets another blast in Weisses Rauschen. Again extremely economical in terms of sounds, but combative like never before. Then Leah Und Alissa sounds a bit more contemporary and cheerful. Cheerful in the sense of nice sounding melody, which has a quite high Welle: Erdball feel. You know, the almost computer game sound thing. Which is very welcome, because it ensures better digestibility of the whole album. But don’t get used to the rest, because here’s Alte Schule, a track with a more heavy sound again but still with some retro synth sounds in place. Tempo, deep bassy sounds, and the accompanying aggression reign supreme in the next track Alles Wie Immer. … About how everything seems to change but in the end it all stays the same. Clearly nothing to be cheerful about …

Heile Welt is yet another old-school EBM track as is the outro song Kontronym that hits you in the guts so hard you can’t resist it.

Zweite Jugend succeeded in delivering some good Elektronischer Körpermusik indeed. Maybe very basic, but straightforward EBM with the occasional fun escapade to its neighboring music styles. It is clear both gentlemen have their heads in the game. Fingerliking good EBM!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/04/2019


NL

Zweite Jugend is een duo: Marcel L. (drums) en Eli van Vegas (zang, sequensen). Marcel is ook bandlid van Jäger 90, Hätzer en Tension Control en is een permanent lid van Combat Company. Eli is oprichter van Combat Company. Beiden zijn al sedert 2009 goed bevriend en sloegen in 2013 de muzikale handen in elkaar binnen Zweite Jugend. In oktober 2015 brachten ze twee 'demovideo's' uit ('Up the Cups!' en 'Love Is Luxury'), gevolgd door een EP Kleines Vorspiel, die echt inderhaast is gemaakt en slechts op 100 exemplaren te verkrijgen was. Nu brengen ze ons Elektronische Körpermusik. Hoe duidelijk kan een naam van een album zijn?

Het steeds Im Rhytmus bleibende volkje heeft aan Zweite Jugend alweer een band die hen tot druipend en blinkend van het zweet in strakke ritmes laat bewegen. Een toevallige moshpit zou ook wel eens aan dit werk kunnen ontspruiten.
Want we hoeven maar 4 luttele seconden te wachten voor de eerste agressieve, korte synth-sequenties, met in het kielzog een snare-drum de aankondiging zijn van snoeiharde EBM. Flucht Vom Der Erde is zo eenvoudig, en het recept van één arpeggio-bas-synthlijn met bescheiden drums is toch zo lekker snoeihard. Het blijt mij ook verbazen dat de oldschool EBM zich blijvend staande houdt met de schoonheid van minimale klanpatronen. Kriegergen is daarvan het levende bewijs. En dat niet alleen... Want Falsche Freunde is nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld. Bij elke noot die mijn oor bereikt word ik vrolijker van het feit dat de oldschool EBM toch iets geweldigs is.
De titelsong is dan iets gematigder en zou je met wat goede wil minimal synthwave kunnen noemen. Elektronische Körpermusik is een ode aan het lichaam die het gebeuk en gedans op de snoeiharde beats verheerlijkt. Waarom ook niet! 'Bitte tanz die ganse Nacht... Ich tanz fur dich, du tanzt für mich'... Op dit ritme, jawel Die Ganze Nacht. En dat ritme krijgt een oplawaai van jewelste in Weisses Rauschen. Alweer uiterst zuinig qua klanken, maar strijdvaardig als nooit voorheen.
Iets hedendaagser en opgewekter klinkt Leah Und Alissa. Opgewekt in de zin dat er een heel leuke melodie klinkt, die een vrij hoog Welle:Erdball-gehalte heeft. Bijna een computergame-sound. Wat in deze in elk geval toegejuicht kan worden, want het nummer zorgt voor een wat betere verteerbaarheid. Vooraleer te wennen aan deze rust, is Alte Schule weer iets ruwer. Hoewel ook hier een retro-synth-sound zijn plaats krijgt. En het tempo, de diepte van basklanken, en de bijhorende agressie vieren weer hoogtij in Alles Wie Immer. Over hoe alles wat lijkt te veranderen eigenlijk is wat het altijd was. Van weinig vrolijkheid gespeend me dunkt.
Heile Welt is nog een oldtimer-EBM-song. En met Kontronym als uitsmijter krijgen we een minimal song in de maag gesplitst die zo eenvoudig is dat het je inpakt zonder moeite.

Zweite Jugend levert een goede Elektronische Körpermusik af. Heel basis, rechttoe rechtaan EBM met af en toe een leuke uithaal naar andere daarbij aanleunende genres. Dat de beide heren hier al enorm veel kaas van hebben gegeten is duidelijk. Fingerlicking good EBM.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/04/2019


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back