tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ORANGE REVIVAL - Futurecent

ORANGE REVIVAL

Futurecent

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[80/100]   

Fuzz Club
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fuzz Club stands for shoegaze and great psychedelics. From Sweden comes Orange Revival, and after an LP that was released nearly five years ago, a second one is out: Futurecent, which was mastered by Sonic Boom, the brains of Spectrum and of course Spacemen 3.

And that is no coincidence, because already from the first track Saturation you clearly notice that the Swedes have taken their inspiration from Spacemen 3, although you also hear sounds of Ride in its heyday. Shoegaze is a clear reference, but in Living In The Sand you will notice Suicide and it feels like this song is just one long adventurous guitar riff.

Repetitive noise, but also the fuzz guitars are king, just listen to Speed. However, Orange Revival does more than just experimenting with guitar pedals, the melody also gets attention. And well, whether you want it or not, the raw guitars on Setting Sun automatically lead you to Velvet Underground. Carolyn has the melancholy of Galaxie 500, but it also contains loud and dirty Telescopes guitars.

And it can be even louder, in 1999 your speakers are working overtime! The ending song All I Need is perhaps the odd one, because the melancholic track is overruled by an analog synth that could come from Decades by Joy Division.
A sublime record!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Fuzz Club staat natuurlijk garant voor heerlijke shoegaze en psychedelisch geweld. Uit Zweden komt Orange Revival, en na een lp die bijna vijf jaar geleden uitkwam, is er nu Futurecent, gemasterd door niemand minder dan Sonic Boom, het brein achter Spectrum en natuurlijk Spacemen 3.

En dat is absoluut geen toeval, want vanaf Saturation hoor je duidelijk dat de Zweden de mosterd bij Spacemen 3 hebben gehaald, ofschoon je er evenzeer de hoogdagen van Ride in ontdekt.

Shoegaze is dus een duidelijke referentie, maar in Living In The Sand hoor je tevens Suicide en krijg je het gevoel alsof de song uit één lange avontuurlijke gitaarriff bestaat. Repetitieve noise, maar ook de fuzzgitaren zijn koning, luister gewoon naar Speed.

Orange Revival is echter een band die meer doet dan experimenteren met gitaarpedaaltjes, ook de melodie krijgt aandacht. En tja, of je het nu wil of niet, de rauwe gitaren in Setting Sun leiden je automatisch naar Velvet Underground.

Carolyn is lekker vuil en bezit de weemoed van Galaxie 500, weliswaar met luide Telescopes-gitaren. En het kan nog luider: 1999 laat je speakers overuren maken! Afsluiter All I Need is misschien de vreemde eend in de bijt omdat de track overheerst wordt door een analoge synth die zo uit Decades van Joy Division kon komen.

Een sublieme plaat!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers