tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ORANGE REVIVAL - Futurecent

ORANGE REVIVAL

Futurecent

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[80/100]   

Fuzz Club
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fuzz Club stands for shoegaze and great psychedelics. From Sweden comes Orange Revival, and after an LP that was released nearly five years ago, a second one is out: Futurecent, which was mastered by Sonic Boom, the brains of Spectrum and of course Spacemen 3.

And that is no coincidence, because already from the first track Saturation you clearly notice that the Swedes have taken their inspiration from Spacemen 3, although you also hear sounds of Ride in its heyday. Shoegaze is a clear reference, but in Living In The Sand you will notice Suicide and it feels like this song is just one long adventurous guitar riff.

Repetitive noise, but also the fuzz guitars are king, just listen to Speed. However, Orange Revival does more than just experimenting with guitar pedals, the melody also gets attention. And well, whether you want it or not, the raw guitars on Setting Sun automatically lead you to Velvet Underground. Carolyn has the melancholy of Galaxie 500, but it also contains loud and dirty Telescopes guitars.

And it can be even louder, in 1999 your speakers are working overtime! The ending song All I Need is perhaps the odd one, because the melancholic track is overruled by an analog synth that could come from Decades by Joy Division.
A sublime record!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Fuzz Club staat natuurlijk garant voor heerlijke shoegaze en psychedelisch geweld. Uit Zweden komt Orange Revival, en na een lp die bijna vijf jaar geleden uitkwam, is er nu Futurecent, gemasterd door niemand minder dan Sonic Boom, het brein achter Spectrum en natuurlijk Spacemen 3.

En dat is absoluut geen toeval, want vanaf Saturation hoor je duidelijk dat de Zweden de mosterd bij Spacemen 3 hebben gehaald, ofschoon je er evenzeer de hoogdagen van Ride in ontdekt.

Shoegaze is dus een duidelijke referentie, maar in Living In The Sand hoor je tevens Suicide en krijg je het gevoel alsof de song uit één lange avontuurlijke gitaarriff bestaat. Repetitieve noise, maar ook de fuzzgitaren zijn koning, luister gewoon naar Speed.

Orange Revival is echter een band die meer doet dan experimenteren met gitaarpedaaltjes, ook de melodie krijgt aandacht. En tja, of je het nu wil of niet, de rauwe gitaren in Setting Sun leiden je automatisch naar Velvet Underground.

Carolyn is lekker vuil en bezit de weemoed van Galaxie 500, weliswaar met luide Telescopes-gitaren. En het kan nog luider: 1999 laat je speakers overuren maken! Afsluiter All I Need is misschien de vreemde eend in de bijt omdat de track overheerst wordt door een analoge synth die zo uit Decades van Joy Division kon komen.

Een sublieme plaat!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)