tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ORANGE REVIVAL - Futurecent

ORANGE REVIVAL

Futurecent

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[80/100]   

Fuzz Club
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fuzz Club stands for shoegaze and great psychedelics. From Sweden comes Orange Revival, and after an LP that was released nearly five years ago, a second one is out: Futurecent, which was mastered by Sonic Boom, the brains of Spectrum and of course Spacemen 3.

And that is no coincidence, because already from the first track Saturation you clearly notice that the Swedes have taken their inspiration from Spacemen 3, although you also hear sounds of Ride in its heyday. Shoegaze is a clear reference, but in Living In The Sand you will notice Suicide and it feels like this song is just one long adventurous guitar riff.

Repetitive noise, but also the fuzz guitars are king, just listen to Speed. However, Orange Revival does more than just experimenting with guitar pedals, the melody also gets attention. And well, whether you want it or not, the raw guitars on Setting Sun automatically lead you to Velvet Underground. Carolyn has the melancholy of Galaxie 500, but it also contains loud and dirty Telescopes guitars.

And it can be even louder, in 1999 your speakers are working overtime! The ending song All I Need is perhaps the odd one, because the melancholic track is overruled by an analog synth that could come from Decades by Joy Division.
A sublime record!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Fuzz Club staat natuurlijk garant voor heerlijke shoegaze en psychedelisch geweld. Uit Zweden komt Orange Revival, en na een lp die bijna vijf jaar geleden uitkwam, is er nu Futurecent, gemasterd door niemand minder dan Sonic Boom, het brein achter Spectrum en natuurlijk Spacemen 3.

En dat is absoluut geen toeval, want vanaf Saturation hoor je duidelijk dat de Zweden de mosterd bij Spacemen 3 hebben gehaald, ofschoon je er evenzeer de hoogdagen van Ride in ontdekt.

Shoegaze is dus een duidelijke referentie, maar in Living In The Sand hoor je tevens Suicide en krijg je het gevoel alsof de song uit één lange avontuurlijke gitaarriff bestaat. Repetitieve noise, maar ook de fuzzgitaren zijn koning, luister gewoon naar Speed.

Orange Revival is echter een band die meer doet dan experimenteren met gitaarpedaaltjes, ook de melodie krijgt aandacht. En tja, of je het nu wil of niet, de rauwe gitaren in Setting Sun leiden je automatisch naar Velvet Underground.

Carolyn is lekker vuil en bezit de weemoed van Galaxie 500, weliswaar met luide Telescopes-gitaren. En het kan nog luider: 1999 laat je speakers overuren maken! Afsluiter All I Need is misschien de vreemde eend in de bijt omdat de track overheerst wordt door een analoge synth die zo uit Decades van Joy Division kon komen.

Een sublieme plaat!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?