tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ORANGE REVIVAL - Futurecent

ORANGE REVIVAL

Futurecent

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[80/100]   

Fuzz Club
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fuzz Club stands for shoegaze and great psychedelics. From Sweden comes Orange Revival, and after an LP that was released nearly five years ago, a second one is out: Futurecent, which was mastered by Sonic Boom, the brains of Spectrum and of course Spacemen 3.

And that is no coincidence, because already from the first track Saturation you clearly notice that the Swedes have taken their inspiration from Spacemen 3, although you also hear sounds of Ride in its heyday. Shoegaze is a clear reference, but in Living In The Sand you will notice Suicide and it feels like this song is just one long adventurous guitar riff.

Repetitive noise, but also the fuzz guitars are king, just listen to Speed. However, Orange Revival does more than just experimenting with guitar pedals, the melody also gets attention. And well, whether you want it or not, the raw guitars on Setting Sun automatically lead you to Velvet Underground. Carolyn has the melancholy of Galaxie 500, but it also contains loud and dirty Telescopes guitars.

And it can be even louder, in 1999 your speakers are working overtime! The ending song All I Need is perhaps the odd one, because the melancholic track is overruled by an analog synth that could come from Decades by Joy Division.
A sublime record!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Fuzz Club staat natuurlijk garant voor heerlijke shoegaze en psychedelisch geweld. Uit Zweden komt Orange Revival, en na een lp die bijna vijf jaar geleden uitkwam, is er nu Futurecent, gemasterd door niemand minder dan Sonic Boom, het brein achter Spectrum en natuurlijk Spacemen 3.

En dat is absoluut geen toeval, want vanaf Saturation hoor je duidelijk dat de Zweden de mosterd bij Spacemen 3 hebben gehaald, ofschoon je er evenzeer de hoogdagen van Ride in ontdekt.

Shoegaze is dus een duidelijke referentie, maar in Living In The Sand hoor je tevens Suicide en krijg je het gevoel alsof de song uit één lange avontuurlijke gitaarriff bestaat. Repetitieve noise, maar ook de fuzzgitaren zijn koning, luister gewoon naar Speed.

Orange Revival is echter een band die meer doet dan experimenteren met gitaarpedaaltjes, ook de melodie krijgt aandacht. En tja, of je het nu wil of niet, de rauwe gitaren in Setting Sun leiden je automatisch naar Velvet Underground.

Carolyn is lekker vuil en bezit de weemoed van Galaxie 500, weliswaar met luide Telescopes-gitaren. En het kan nog luider: 1999 laat je speakers overuren maken! Afsluiter All I Need is misschien de vreemde eend in de bijt omdat de track overheerst wordt door een analoge synth die zo uit Decades van Joy Division kon komen.

Een sublieme plaat!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient