tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ORANGE REVIVAL - Futurecent

ORANGE REVIVAL

Futurecent

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[80/100]   

Fuzz Club
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fuzz Club stands for shoegaze and great psychedelics. From Sweden comes Orange Revival, and after an LP that was released nearly five years ago, a second one is out: Futurecent, which was mastered by Sonic Boom, the brains of Spectrum and of course Spacemen 3.

And that is no coincidence, because already from the first track Saturation you clearly notice that the Swedes have taken their inspiration from Spacemen 3, although you also hear sounds of Ride in its heyday. Shoegaze is a clear reference, but in Living In The Sand you will notice Suicide and it feels like this song is just one long adventurous guitar riff.

Repetitive noise, but also the fuzz guitars are king, just listen to Speed. However, Orange Revival does more than just experimenting with guitar pedals, the melody also gets attention. And well, whether you want it or not, the raw guitars on Setting Sun automatically lead you to Velvet Underground. Carolyn has the melancholy of Galaxie 500, but it also contains loud and dirty Telescopes guitars.

And it can be even louder, in 1999 your speakers are working overtime! The ending song All I Need is perhaps the odd one, because the melancholic track is overruled by an analog synth that could come from Decades by Joy Division.
A sublime record!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Fuzz Club staat natuurlijk garant voor heerlijke shoegaze en psychedelisch geweld. Uit Zweden komt Orange Revival, en na een lp die bijna vijf jaar geleden uitkwam, is er nu Futurecent, gemasterd door niemand minder dan Sonic Boom, het brein achter Spectrum en natuurlijk Spacemen 3.

En dat is absoluut geen toeval, want vanaf Saturation hoor je duidelijk dat de Zweden de mosterd bij Spacemen 3 hebben gehaald, ofschoon je er evenzeer de hoogdagen van Ride in ontdekt.

Shoegaze is dus een duidelijke referentie, maar in Living In The Sand hoor je tevens Suicide en krijg je het gevoel alsof de song uit één lange avontuurlijke gitaarriff bestaat. Repetitieve noise, maar ook de fuzzgitaren zijn koning, luister gewoon naar Speed.

Orange Revival is echter een band die meer doet dan experimenteren met gitaarpedaaltjes, ook de melodie krijgt aandacht. En tja, of je het nu wil of niet, de rauwe gitaren in Setting Sun leiden je automatisch naar Velvet Underground.

Carolyn is lekker vuil en bezit de weemoed van Galaxie 500, weliswaar met luide Telescopes-gitaren. En het kan nog luider: 1999 laat je speakers overuren maken! Afsluiter All I Need is misschien de vreemde eend in de bijt omdat de track overheerst wordt door een analoge synth die zo uit Decades van Joy Division kon komen.

Een sublieme plaat!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)