tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/12/2016 : BRZZVLL - First Let's Dance

BRZZVLL

First Let's Dance

MusicVinyl


[85/100]   

Vynilla Records
08/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Fusion is a genre, but nobody can point out what it really is. In the case of BRZZVLL, it's a fusion of jazz and funk, creamed by some rock and soul. Belgium has a rather good reputation in this area, thanks to some well-focused labels. It's nr. 32/80, white vinyl, lying before me, the famous First Let's Dance. Amir Sulaiman is the cherry, the nose of the salmon, the super spice on the plate. De lyricist is known for the way he builds up the stories, and combined with this bunch of excellent musicians, you've got a 'haute cuisine'.

A1 is I Belong To The Light and Amir walks from God to God. The rhythms and lyrics are pushing you on a sidewalk of one of the famous streets in one of the big cities in the US. The amount of aggression grows and one feels really rushed. Time for serenity with First Let's Dance and its funky bass. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance and a lot of other variations like: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude has this marvellous sax solo of Andrew Claes, it is somehow the transition towards Better Know Better. Uptempo with these lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

It's food and wine with these lyrics, beared by the fusion backline. Everyone can build its own stories around the words given by Amir. And that's how it should be. The B-side is as surprising as the A-side. My favorite is the last one, Nothing Stays The Same: very loungy, made for a performance in the city's best hotel lobby. Vincent Brijs plays the sax solo. The sauce of Amir uplifts the song to a higher level and gives the album a splendid ending. The motto for BRZZVLL remains: nothing stays the same!

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


NL

Fusion, zo heet het genre, wat dat ook mag betekenen. In het geval van BRZVLL gaat het over de fusie van jazz en funk, nippend aan rock en soul. Ons kleine landje heeft een stevige reputatie in dit genre, gedragen door focused labels. Nummer 32/80 is het witte vinyl dat voor mij ligt, BRZVLL - Let's first dance. Amir Sulaiman is de kers op de taart, het neusje van de zalm, het superkruid in het gerecht. De lyricist staat bekend voor zijn vertelstijl en dit levert een speciaal resultaat op.

A1 heet I Belong To The Light en Amir wandelt van God to God. Ritmes en lyrics brengen je naar een sidewalk in één of andere city in de US. Stelselmatig verhoogt de agressie in de woorden en raak je opgefokt. First Let's Dance brengt weer rust met een vette funkbas. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance met vele variaties waaronder: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude met het schitterende saxaccent van Andrew Claes is de jazzy overgang naar Better Know Better. Opnieuw uptempo met the lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

Het is eten en drinken met zulke lyrics, gedragen door de fusion backline. Je kan je eigen story bouwen rondom de basis die hier wordt gelegd. En zo hoort het ook. De B-side is al even verrassend. Daar pik ik Nothing Stays The Same uit: een sfeervolle aanvang, heel rustige lounge, ideaal voor in de lobby van een chique hotel. Vincent Brijs neemt de honneurs waar op de sax. Dankzij het sausje van Amir horen we een schitterend einde. En ook voor BRZZVLL geldt hetzelfde motto: nothing stays the same.

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse