tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/12/2016 : BRZZVLL - First Let's Dance

BRZZVLL

First Let's Dance

MusicVinyl


[85/100]   

Vynilla Records
08/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Fusion is a genre, but nobody can point out what it really is. In the case of BRZZVLL, it's a fusion of jazz and funk, creamed by some rock and soul. Belgium has a rather good reputation in this area, thanks to some well-focused labels. It's nr. 32/80, white vinyl, lying before me, the famous First Let's Dance. Amir Sulaiman is the cherry, the nose of the salmon, the super spice on the plate. De lyricist is known for the way he builds up the stories, and combined with this bunch of excellent musicians, you've got a 'haute cuisine'.

A1 is I Belong To The Light and Amir walks from God to God. The rhythms and lyrics are pushing you on a sidewalk of one of the famous streets in one of the big cities in the US. The amount of aggression grows and one feels really rushed. Time for serenity with First Let's Dance and its funky bass. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance and a lot of other variations like: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude has this marvellous sax solo of Andrew Claes, it is somehow the transition towards Better Know Better. Uptempo with these lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

It's food and wine with these lyrics, beared by the fusion backline. Everyone can build its own stories around the words given by Amir. And that's how it should be. The B-side is as surprising as the A-side. My favorite is the last one, Nothing Stays The Same: very loungy, made for a performance in the city's best hotel lobby. Vincent Brijs plays the sax solo. The sauce of Amir uplifts the song to a higher level and gives the album a splendid ending. The motto for BRZZVLL remains: nothing stays the same!

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


NL

Fusion, zo heet het genre, wat dat ook mag betekenen. In het geval van BRZVLL gaat het over de fusie van jazz en funk, nippend aan rock en soul. Ons kleine landje heeft een stevige reputatie in dit genre, gedragen door focused labels. Nummer 32/80 is het witte vinyl dat voor mij ligt, BRZVLL - Let's first dance. Amir Sulaiman is de kers op de taart, het neusje van de zalm, het superkruid in het gerecht. De lyricist staat bekend voor zijn vertelstijl en dit levert een speciaal resultaat op.

A1 heet I Belong To The Light en Amir wandelt van God to God. Ritmes en lyrics brengen je naar een sidewalk in één of andere city in de US. Stelselmatig verhoogt de agressie in de woorden en raak je opgefokt. First Let's Dance brengt weer rust met een vette funkbas. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance met vele variaties waaronder: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude met het schitterende saxaccent van Andrew Claes is de jazzy overgang naar Better Know Better. Opnieuw uptempo met the lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

Het is eten en drinken met zulke lyrics, gedragen door de fusion backline. Je kan je eigen story bouwen rondom de basis die hier wordt gelegd. En zo hoort het ook. De B-side is al even verrassend. Daar pik ik Nothing Stays The Same uit: een sfeervolle aanvang, heel rustige lounge, ideaal voor in de lobby van een chique hotel. Vincent Brijs neemt de honneurs waar op de sax. Dankzij het sausje van Amir horen we een schitterend einde. En ook voor BRZZVLL geldt hetzelfde motto: nothing stays the same.

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched