tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/12/2016 : BRZZVLL - First Let's Dance

BRZZVLL

First Let's Dance

MusicVinyl


[85/100]   

Vynilla Records
08/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Fusion is a genre, but nobody can point out what it really is. In the case of BRZZVLL, it's a fusion of jazz and funk, creamed by some rock and soul. Belgium has a rather good reputation in this area, thanks to some well-focused labels. It's nr. 32/80, white vinyl, lying before me, the famous First Let's Dance. Amir Sulaiman is the cherry, the nose of the salmon, the super spice on the plate. De lyricist is known for the way he builds up the stories, and combined with this bunch of excellent musicians, you've got a 'haute cuisine'.

A1 is I Belong To The Light and Amir walks from God to God. The rhythms and lyrics are pushing you on a sidewalk of one of the famous streets in one of the big cities in the US. The amount of aggression grows and one feels really rushed. Time for serenity with First Let's Dance and its funky bass. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance and a lot of other variations like: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude has this marvellous sax solo of Andrew Claes, it is somehow the transition towards Better Know Better. Uptempo with these lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

It's food and wine with these lyrics, beared by the fusion backline. Everyone can build its own stories around the words given by Amir. And that's how it should be. The B-side is as surprising as the A-side. My favorite is the last one, Nothing Stays The Same: very loungy, made for a performance in the city's best hotel lobby. Vincent Brijs plays the sax solo. The sauce of Amir uplifts the song to a higher level and gives the album a splendid ending. The motto for BRZZVLL remains: nothing stays the same!

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


NL

Fusion, zo heet het genre, wat dat ook mag betekenen. In het geval van BRZVLL gaat het over de fusie van jazz en funk, nippend aan rock en soul. Ons kleine landje heeft een stevige reputatie in dit genre, gedragen door focused labels. Nummer 32/80 is het witte vinyl dat voor mij ligt, BRZVLL - Let's first dance. Amir Sulaiman is de kers op de taart, het neusje van de zalm, het superkruid in het gerecht. De lyricist staat bekend voor zijn vertelstijl en dit levert een speciaal resultaat op.

A1 heet I Belong To The Light en Amir wandelt van God to God. Ritmes en lyrics brengen je naar een sidewalk in één of andere city in de US. Stelselmatig verhoogt de agressie in de woorden en raak je opgefokt. First Let's Dance brengt weer rust met een vette funkbas. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance met vele variaties waaronder: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude met het schitterende saxaccent van Andrew Claes is de jazzy overgang naar Better Know Better. Opnieuw uptempo met the lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

Het is eten en drinken met zulke lyrics, gedragen door de fusion backline. Je kan je eigen story bouwen rondom de basis die hier wordt gelegd. En zo hoort het ook. De B-side is al even verrassend. Daar pik ik Nothing Stays The Same uit: een sfeervolle aanvang, heel rustige lounge, ideaal voor in de lobby van een chique hotel. Vincent Brijs neemt de honneurs waar op de sax. Dankzij het sausje van Amir horen we een schitterend einde. En ook voor BRZZVLL geldt hetzelfde motto: nothing stays the same.

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo