tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/12/2016 : BRZZVLL - First Let's Dance

BRZZVLL

First Let's Dance

MusicVinyl


[85/100]   

Vynilla Records
08/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Fusion is a genre, but nobody can point out what it really is. In the case of BRZZVLL, it's a fusion of jazz and funk, creamed by some rock and soul. Belgium has a rather good reputation in this area, thanks to some well-focused labels. It's nr. 32/80, white vinyl, lying before me, the famous First Let's Dance. Amir Sulaiman is the cherry, the nose of the salmon, the super spice on the plate. De lyricist is known for the way he builds up the stories, and combined with this bunch of excellent musicians, you've got a 'haute cuisine'.

A1 is I Belong To The Light and Amir walks from God to God. The rhythms and lyrics are pushing you on a sidewalk of one of the famous streets in one of the big cities in the US. The amount of aggression grows and one feels really rushed. Time for serenity with First Let's Dance and its funky bass. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance and a lot of other variations like: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude has this marvellous sax solo of Andrew Claes, it is somehow the transition towards Better Know Better. Uptempo with these lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

It's food and wine with these lyrics, beared by the fusion backline. Everyone can build its own stories around the words given by Amir. And that's how it should be. The B-side is as surprising as the A-side. My favorite is the last one, Nothing Stays The Same: very loungy, made for a performance in the city's best hotel lobby. Vincent Brijs plays the sax solo. The sauce of Amir uplifts the song to a higher level and gives the album a splendid ending. The motto for BRZZVLL remains: nothing stays the same!

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


NL

Fusion, zo heet het genre, wat dat ook mag betekenen. In het geval van BRZVLL gaat het over de fusie van jazz en funk, nippend aan rock en soul. Ons kleine landje heeft een stevige reputatie in dit genre, gedragen door focused labels. Nummer 32/80 is het witte vinyl dat voor mij ligt, BRZVLL - Let's first dance. Amir Sulaiman is de kers op de taart, het neusje van de zalm, het superkruid in het gerecht. De lyricist staat bekend voor zijn vertelstijl en dit levert een speciaal resultaat op.

A1 heet I Belong To The Light en Amir wandelt van God to God. Ritmes en lyrics brengen je naar een sidewalk in één of andere city in de US. Stelselmatig verhoogt de agressie in de woorden en raak je opgefokt. First Let's Dance brengt weer rust met een vette funkbas. I know we gotta talk, but first let's dance met vele variaties waaronder: I know we have to save the world, but first... Prelude met het schitterende saxaccent van Andrew Claes is de jazzy overgang naar Better Know Better. Opnieuw uptempo met the lines: there is no better, I can't sleep, I walk outside of my body, my soul is an immigrant.

Het is eten en drinken met zulke lyrics, gedragen door de fusion backline. Je kan je eigen story bouwen rondom de basis die hier wordt gelegd. En zo hoort het ook. De B-side is al even verrassend. Daar pik ik Nothing Stays The Same uit: een sfeervolle aanvang, heel rustige lounge, ideaal voor in de lobby van een chique hotel. Vincent Brijs neemt de honneurs waar op de sax. Dankzij het sausje van Amir horen we een schitterend einde. En ook voor BRZZVLL geldt hetzelfde motto: nothing stays the same.

Sarah GOMMERS
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)