tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/02/2016 : MOHAWK - A.la.li

MOHAWK

A.la.li

MusicCD
FolkIndiePunk

[80/100]   

Thirty Hour Drive Records
15/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French folk-rock and punk band Mohawk has a new album out. After an EP and a debut album this is the third release since 2010. After extensive touring, several members of Dire Wolves and As We Draw joined the new lineup.

The difference with folk-rock bands like The Levellers or Flogging Molly is that Mohawk does not rely on heavy guitars that are mixed with folk, it's more a real blend of folk, indie and punk.

Punk is primarily in the vocals and the lyrics as you can hear in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker or the opener Refuge. The harmonica and the chorus remind us of The Alarm. Mohawk also proves that it can make sensitive songs, listen to I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Most songs remind me of an overcrowded pub where men are drinking Guinness and singing the choruses. And yet, Mohawk doesn’t sound like a typical Irish folk band, as there are too many other elements in their compositions. The music and the lyrics are honest and sometimes just old-fashioned protest songs. But there is nothing wrong with that. Instead, we hear a splendid band that surely is able to make a party while playing.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


NL

De Franse folkrock- en punkband Mohawk heeft een nieuw album uit. Na een ep en een debuutalbum is dit sedert 2010 hun derde release. Na uitgebreid toeren maken enkele leden van Direwolves en As We Draw deel uit van de nieuwe line-up.

Het verschil met folkrockbands zoals The Levellers of Flogging Molly is dat Mohawk niet steunt op zware gitaren die met folk zijn gemengd, het is echt meer een menging van folk, indie en punk.

De punk zit hem vooral in de zang en de teksten zoals in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker of de opener Refuge. De harmonica en het refrein doen wat aan The Alarm denken. Mohawk bewijst ook dat het gevoelige songs kan maken, luister bijv. naar I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Bij de meeste songs kan ik mij wel een zweterig café voorstellen met Guiness drinkende mannen die de refreinen volop meebrullen. En toch klinken ze niet als een typisch Ierse folkband, want daarvoor zitten er te veel andere elementen in hun composities. De muziek en de teksten van Mohawk zijn integer en soms gewoon ouderwetse protestsongs. Maar daar is niets mis mee. Integendeel, we horen hier een aangenaam gezelschap dat tijdens optredens met deze songs zeker een feestje zal bouwen. Fijne aanwinst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]