tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/02/2016 : MOHAWK - A.la.li

MOHAWK

A.la.li

MusicCD
FolkIndiePunk

[80/100]   

Thirty Hour Drive Records
15/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French folk-rock and punk band Mohawk has a new album out. After an EP and a debut album this is the third release since 2010. After extensive touring, several members of Dire Wolves and As We Draw joined the new lineup.

The difference with folk-rock bands like The Levellers or Flogging Molly is that Mohawk does not rely on heavy guitars that are mixed with folk, it's more a real blend of folk, indie and punk.

Punk is primarily in the vocals and the lyrics as you can hear in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker or the opener Refuge. The harmonica and the chorus remind us of The Alarm. Mohawk also proves that it can make sensitive songs, listen to I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Most songs remind me of an overcrowded pub where men are drinking Guinness and singing the choruses. And yet, Mohawk doesn’t sound like a typical Irish folk band, as there are too many other elements in their compositions. The music and the lyrics are honest and sometimes just old-fashioned protest songs. But there is nothing wrong with that. Instead, we hear a splendid band that surely is able to make a party while playing.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


NL

De Franse folkrock- en punkband Mohawk heeft een nieuw album uit. Na een ep en een debuutalbum is dit sedert 2010 hun derde release. Na uitgebreid toeren maken enkele leden van Direwolves en As We Draw deel uit van de nieuwe line-up.

Het verschil met folkrockbands zoals The Levellers of Flogging Molly is dat Mohawk niet steunt op zware gitaren die met folk zijn gemengd, het is echt meer een menging van folk, indie en punk.

De punk zit hem vooral in de zang en de teksten zoals in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker of de opener Refuge. De harmonica en het refrein doen wat aan The Alarm denken. Mohawk bewijst ook dat het gevoelige songs kan maken, luister bijv. naar I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Bij de meeste songs kan ik mij wel een zweterig café voorstellen met Guiness drinkende mannen die de refreinen volop meebrullen. En toch klinken ze niet als een typisch Ierse folkband, want daarvoor zitten er te veel andere elementen in hun composities. De muziek en de teksten van Mohawk zijn integer en soms gewoon ouderwetse protestsongs. Maar daar is niets mis mee. Integendeel, we horen hier een aangenaam gezelschap dat tijdens optredens met deze songs zeker een feestje zal bouwen. Fijne aanwinst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life