tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/02/2016 : MOHAWK - A.la.li

MOHAWK

A.la.li

MusicCD
FolkIndiePunk

[80/100]   

Thirty Hour Drive Records
15/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French folk-rock and punk band Mohawk has a new album out. After an EP and a debut album this is the third release since 2010. After extensive touring, several members of Dire Wolves and As We Draw joined the new lineup.

The difference with folk-rock bands like The Levellers or Flogging Molly is that Mohawk does not rely on heavy guitars that are mixed with folk, it's more a real blend of folk, indie and punk.

Punk is primarily in the vocals and the lyrics as you can hear in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker or the opener Refuge. The harmonica and the chorus remind us of The Alarm. Mohawk also proves that it can make sensitive songs, listen to I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Most songs remind me of an overcrowded pub where men are drinking Guinness and singing the choruses. And yet, Mohawk doesn’t sound like a typical Irish folk band, as there are too many other elements in their compositions. The music and the lyrics are honest and sometimes just old-fashioned protest songs. But there is nothing wrong with that. Instead, we hear a splendid band that surely is able to make a party while playing.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


NL

De Franse folkrock- en punkband Mohawk heeft een nieuw album uit. Na een ep en een debuutalbum is dit sedert 2010 hun derde release. Na uitgebreid toeren maken enkele leden van Direwolves en As We Draw deel uit van de nieuwe line-up.

Het verschil met folkrockbands zoals The Levellers of Flogging Molly is dat Mohawk niet steunt op zware gitaren die met folk zijn gemengd, het is echt meer een menging van folk, indie en punk.

De punk zit hem vooral in de zang en de teksten zoals in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker of de opener Refuge. De harmonica en het refrein doen wat aan The Alarm denken. Mohawk bewijst ook dat het gevoelige songs kan maken, luister bijv. naar I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Bij de meeste songs kan ik mij wel een zweterig café voorstellen met Guiness drinkende mannen die de refreinen volop meebrullen. En toch klinken ze niet als een typisch Ierse folkband, want daarvoor zitten er te veel andere elementen in hun composities. De muziek en de teksten van Mohawk zijn integer en soms gewoon ouderwetse protestsongs. Maar daar is niets mis mee. Integendeel, we horen hier een aangenaam gezelschap dat tijdens optredens met deze songs zeker een feestje zal bouwen. Fijne aanwinst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova