tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/02/2016 : MOHAWK - A.la.li

MOHAWK

A.la.li

MusicCD
FolkIndiePunk

[80/100]   

Thirty Hour Drive Records
15/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French folk-rock and punk band Mohawk has a new album out. After an EP and a debut album this is the third release since 2010. After extensive touring, several members of Dire Wolves and As We Draw joined the new lineup.

The difference with folk-rock bands like The Levellers or Flogging Molly is that Mohawk does not rely on heavy guitars that are mixed with folk, it's more a real blend of folk, indie and punk.

Punk is primarily in the vocals and the lyrics as you can hear in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker or the opener Refuge. The harmonica and the chorus remind us of The Alarm. Mohawk also proves that it can make sensitive songs, listen to I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Most songs remind me of an overcrowded pub where men are drinking Guinness and singing the choruses. And yet, Mohawk doesn’t sound like a typical Irish folk band, as there are too many other elements in their compositions. The music and the lyrics are honest and sometimes just old-fashioned protest songs. But there is nothing wrong with that. Instead, we hear a splendid band that surely is able to make a party while playing.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


NL

De Franse folkrock- en punkband Mohawk heeft een nieuw album uit. Na een ep en een debuutalbum is dit sedert 2010 hun derde release. Na uitgebreid toeren maken enkele leden van Direwolves en As We Draw deel uit van de nieuwe line-up.

Het verschil met folkrockbands zoals The Levellers of Flogging Molly is dat Mohawk niet steunt op zware gitaren die met folk zijn gemengd, het is echt meer een menging van folk, indie en punk.

De punk zit hem vooral in de zang en de teksten zoals in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker of de opener Refuge. De harmonica en het refrein doen wat aan The Alarm denken. Mohawk bewijst ook dat het gevoelige songs kan maken, luister bijv. naar I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Bij de meeste songs kan ik mij wel een zweterig café voorstellen met Guiness drinkende mannen die de refreinen volop meebrullen. En toch klinken ze niet als een typisch Ierse folkband, want daarvoor zitten er te veel andere elementen in hun composities. De muziek en de teksten van Mohawk zijn integer en soms gewoon ouderwetse protestsongs. Maar daar is niets mis mee. Integendeel, we horen hier een aangenaam gezelschap dat tijdens optredens met deze songs zeker een feestje zal bouwen. Fijne aanwinst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever