tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/02/2016 : MOHAWK - A.la.li

MOHAWK

A.la.li

MusicCD
FolkIndiePunk

[80/100]   

Thirty Hour Drive Records
15/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French folk-rock and punk band Mohawk has a new album out. After an EP and a debut album this is the third release since 2010. After extensive touring, several members of Dire Wolves and As We Draw joined the new lineup.

The difference with folk-rock bands like The Levellers or Flogging Molly is that Mohawk does not rely on heavy guitars that are mixed with folk, it's more a real blend of folk, indie and punk.

Punk is primarily in the vocals and the lyrics as you can hear in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker or the opener Refuge. The harmonica and the chorus remind us of The Alarm. Mohawk also proves that it can make sensitive songs, listen to I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Most songs remind me of an overcrowded pub where men are drinking Guinness and singing the choruses. And yet, Mohawk doesn’t sound like a typical Irish folk band, as there are too many other elements in their compositions. The music and the lyrics are honest and sometimes just old-fashioned protest songs. But there is nothing wrong with that. Instead, we hear a splendid band that surely is able to make a party while playing.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


NL

De Franse folkrock- en punkband Mohawk heeft een nieuw album uit. Na een ep en een debuutalbum is dit sedert 2010 hun derde release. Na uitgebreid toeren maken enkele leden van Direwolves en As We Draw deel uit van de nieuwe line-up.

Het verschil met folkrockbands zoals The Levellers of Flogging Molly is dat Mohawk niet steunt op zware gitaren die met folk zijn gemengd, het is echt meer een menging van folk, indie en punk.

De punk zit hem vooral in de zang en de teksten zoals in Nothing More Than a Punk Rocker of de opener Refuge. De harmonica en het refrein doen wat aan The Alarm denken. Mohawk bewijst ook dat het gevoelige songs kan maken, luister bijv. naar I Have Hurt of Life in Vain. Bij de meeste songs kan ik mij wel een zweterig café voorstellen met Guiness drinkende mannen die de refreinen volop meebrullen. En toch klinken ze niet als een typisch Ierse folkband, want daarvoor zitten er te veel andere elementen in hun composities. De muziek en de teksten van Mohawk zijn integer en soms gewoon ouderwetse protestsongs. Maar daar is niets mis mee. Integendeel, we horen hier een aangenaam gezelschap dat tijdens optredens met deze songs zeker een feestje zal bouwen. Fijne aanwinst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/02/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets