tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/02/2016 : NICE COLD NATION - Collapse

NICE COLD NATION

Collapse

MusicCD
Cold Wave
Self-released
14/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though cold wave was not invented in France, you will find the best bands in the genre over there. Nice Cold Nation is such a band (or is it a one-man project?) from Rouen. You won’t find a lot of information on the web about Nice Cold Nation. But look, if we tell you that one of their songs is simply called Revival (Ian Curtis), then you’re a step closer, right?

Another Joy Division clone, you sigh? Well, not really, because the music of Nice Cold Nation surely sounds as cold as the group from Manchester, but you also will heardiscover influences of Lively Art-bands like Mary Goes Round and especially Asylum Party.

Technically, everything goes wrong. The music sounds raw and sometimes the vocals are a bit amateurish. But in the case of Nice Cold Nation that never is a minus, just because the 13 tracks sound honest. And believe us, the music of Nice Cold Nation really is the equivalent of dancing on your own grave. Every note sounds as if there is no future, jet-black lyrics about the sadness of our existence, the bitter beauty of sadness that is dominated by heavy synths and a dark plaintive voice. Beautiful! (well, so to speak!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


NL

Ook al werd cold wave niet in Frankrijk uitgevonden, tref je er toch de beste groepen uit het genre aan. Nice Cold Nation is zo’n band (of is het een eenmansproject?) uit Rouen. Veel informatie op het web vind je niet over Nice Cold Nation. Maar kijk, als we je vertellen dat één van de songs gewoon Revival (Ian Curtis) heet, ben je toch meteen een hele stap dichterbij, niet?

Weeral een Joy Division-kloon rijker, horen we je zuchten? Nou, eigenlijk niet, want de muziek van Nice Cold Nation klinkt wel even kil als dat groepje uit Manchester, toch merk je hier ook duidelijk invloeden van Lively Art-bands zoals Mary Goes Round en vooral Asylum Party.

Technisch bekeken loopt alles fout. De muziek klinkt rauw en soms lijkt de zang wat amateuristisch. Maar in het geval van Nice Cold Nation is dat nooit een minpunt, gewoon omdat de 13 tracks daardoor eerlijker klinken. En geloof ons, de muziek van Nice Cold Nation is echt wel het equivalent van dansen op je graf. Iedere noot klinkt alsof er geen toekomst meer is, gitzwarte teksten over de triestheid van het bestaan, de bittere schoonheid van de tristesse die wordt gedomineerd door logge synths en een pikdonkere klaagstem. Mooi! (nou ja, bij wijze van spreken!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death