tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/02/2016 : NICE COLD NATION - Collapse

NICE COLD NATION

Collapse

MusicCD
Cold Wave
Self-released
14/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though cold wave was not invented in France, you will find the best bands in the genre over there. Nice Cold Nation is such a band (or is it a one-man project?) from Rouen. You won’t find a lot of information on the web about Nice Cold Nation. But look, if we tell you that one of their songs is simply called Revival (Ian Curtis), then you’re a step closer, right?

Another Joy Division clone, you sigh? Well, not really, because the music of Nice Cold Nation surely sounds as cold as the group from Manchester, but you also will heardiscover influences of Lively Art-bands like Mary Goes Round and especially Asylum Party.

Technically, everything goes wrong. The music sounds raw and sometimes the vocals are a bit amateurish. But in the case of Nice Cold Nation that never is a minus, just because the 13 tracks sound honest. And believe us, the music of Nice Cold Nation really is the equivalent of dancing on your own grave. Every note sounds as if there is no future, jet-black lyrics about the sadness of our existence, the bitter beauty of sadness that is dominated by heavy synths and a dark plaintive voice. Beautiful! (well, so to speak!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


NL

Ook al werd cold wave niet in Frankrijk uitgevonden, tref je er toch de beste groepen uit het genre aan. Nice Cold Nation is zo’n band (of is het een eenmansproject?) uit Rouen. Veel informatie op het web vind je niet over Nice Cold Nation. Maar kijk, als we je vertellen dat één van de songs gewoon Revival (Ian Curtis) heet, ben je toch meteen een hele stap dichterbij, niet?

Weeral een Joy Division-kloon rijker, horen we je zuchten? Nou, eigenlijk niet, want de muziek van Nice Cold Nation klinkt wel even kil als dat groepje uit Manchester, toch merk je hier ook duidelijk invloeden van Lively Art-bands zoals Mary Goes Round en vooral Asylum Party.

Technisch bekeken loopt alles fout. De muziek klinkt rauw en soms lijkt de zang wat amateuristisch. Maar in het geval van Nice Cold Nation is dat nooit een minpunt, gewoon omdat de 13 tracks daardoor eerlijker klinken. En geloof ons, de muziek van Nice Cold Nation is echt wel het equivalent van dansen op je graf. Iedere noot klinkt alsof er geen toekomst meer is, gitzwarte teksten over de triestheid van het bestaan, de bittere schoonheid van de tristesse die wordt gedomineerd door logge synths en een pikdonkere klaagstem. Mooi! (nou ja, bij wijze van spreken!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams