tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/02/2016 : NICE COLD NATION - Collapse

NICE COLD NATION

Collapse

MusicCD
Cold Wave
Self-released
14/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though cold wave was not invented in France, you will find the best bands in the genre over there. Nice Cold Nation is such a band (or is it a one-man project?) from Rouen. You won’t find a lot of information on the web about Nice Cold Nation. But look, if we tell you that one of their songs is simply called Revival (Ian Curtis), then you’re a step closer, right?

Another Joy Division clone, you sigh? Well, not really, because the music of Nice Cold Nation surely sounds as cold as the group from Manchester, but you also will heardiscover influences of Lively Art-bands like Mary Goes Round and especially Asylum Party.

Technically, everything goes wrong. The music sounds raw and sometimes the vocals are a bit amateurish. But in the case of Nice Cold Nation that never is a minus, just because the 13 tracks sound honest. And believe us, the music of Nice Cold Nation really is the equivalent of dancing on your own grave. Every note sounds as if there is no future, jet-black lyrics about the sadness of our existence, the bitter beauty of sadness that is dominated by heavy synths and a dark plaintive voice. Beautiful! (well, so to speak!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


NL

Ook al werd cold wave niet in Frankrijk uitgevonden, tref je er toch de beste groepen uit het genre aan. Nice Cold Nation is zo’n band (of is het een eenmansproject?) uit Rouen. Veel informatie op het web vind je niet over Nice Cold Nation. Maar kijk, als we je vertellen dat één van de songs gewoon Revival (Ian Curtis) heet, ben je toch meteen een hele stap dichterbij, niet?

Weeral een Joy Division-kloon rijker, horen we je zuchten? Nou, eigenlijk niet, want de muziek van Nice Cold Nation klinkt wel even kil als dat groepje uit Manchester, toch merk je hier ook duidelijk invloeden van Lively Art-bands zoals Mary Goes Round en vooral Asylum Party.

Technisch bekeken loopt alles fout. De muziek klinkt rauw en soms lijkt de zang wat amateuristisch. Maar in het geval van Nice Cold Nation is dat nooit een minpunt, gewoon omdat de 13 tracks daardoor eerlijker klinken. En geloof ons, de muziek van Nice Cold Nation is echt wel het equivalent van dansen op je graf. Iedere noot klinkt alsof er geen toekomst meer is, gitzwarte teksten over de triestheid van het bestaan, de bittere schoonheid van de tristesse die wordt gedomineerd door logge synths en een pikdonkere klaagstem. Mooi! (nou ja, bij wijze van spreken!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl