tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/02/2016 : NICE COLD NATION - Collapse

NICE COLD NATION

Collapse

MusicCD
Cold Wave
Self-released
14/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though cold wave was not invented in France, you will find the best bands in the genre over there. Nice Cold Nation is such a band (or is it a one-man project?) from Rouen. You won’t find a lot of information on the web about Nice Cold Nation. But look, if we tell you that one of their songs is simply called Revival (Ian Curtis), then you’re a step closer, right?

Another Joy Division clone, you sigh? Well, not really, because the music of Nice Cold Nation surely sounds as cold as the group from Manchester, but you also will heardiscover influences of Lively Art-bands like Mary Goes Round and especially Asylum Party.

Technically, everything goes wrong. The music sounds raw and sometimes the vocals are a bit amateurish. But in the case of Nice Cold Nation that never is a minus, just because the 13 tracks sound honest. And believe us, the music of Nice Cold Nation really is the equivalent of dancing on your own grave. Every note sounds as if there is no future, jet-black lyrics about the sadness of our existence, the bitter beauty of sadness that is dominated by heavy synths and a dark plaintive voice. Beautiful! (well, so to speak!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


NL

Ook al werd cold wave niet in Frankrijk uitgevonden, tref je er toch de beste groepen uit het genre aan. Nice Cold Nation is zo’n band (of is het een eenmansproject?) uit Rouen. Veel informatie op het web vind je niet over Nice Cold Nation. Maar kijk, als we je vertellen dat één van de songs gewoon Revival (Ian Curtis) heet, ben je toch meteen een hele stap dichterbij, niet?

Weeral een Joy Division-kloon rijker, horen we je zuchten? Nou, eigenlijk niet, want de muziek van Nice Cold Nation klinkt wel even kil als dat groepje uit Manchester, toch merk je hier ook duidelijk invloeden van Lively Art-bands zoals Mary Goes Round en vooral Asylum Party.

Technisch bekeken loopt alles fout. De muziek klinkt rauw en soms lijkt de zang wat amateuristisch. Maar in het geval van Nice Cold Nation is dat nooit een minpunt, gewoon omdat de 13 tracks daardoor eerlijker klinken. En geloof ons, de muziek van Nice Cold Nation is echt wel het equivalent van dansen op je graf. Iedere noot klinkt alsof er geen toekomst meer is, gitzwarte teksten over de triestheid van het bestaan, de bittere schoonheid van de tristesse die wordt gedomineerd door logge synths en een pikdonkere klaagstem. Mooi! (nou ja, bij wijze van spreken!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked