tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/02/2016 : NICE COLD NATION - Collapse

NICE COLD NATION

Collapse

MusicCD
Cold Wave
Self-released
14/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though cold wave was not invented in France, you will find the best bands in the genre over there. Nice Cold Nation is such a band (or is it a one-man project?) from Rouen. You won’t find a lot of information on the web about Nice Cold Nation. But look, if we tell you that one of their songs is simply called Revival (Ian Curtis), then you’re a step closer, right?

Another Joy Division clone, you sigh? Well, not really, because the music of Nice Cold Nation surely sounds as cold as the group from Manchester, but you also will heardiscover influences of Lively Art-bands like Mary Goes Round and especially Asylum Party.

Technically, everything goes wrong. The music sounds raw and sometimes the vocals are a bit amateurish. But in the case of Nice Cold Nation that never is a minus, just because the 13 tracks sound honest. And believe us, the music of Nice Cold Nation really is the equivalent of dancing on your own grave. Every note sounds as if there is no future, jet-black lyrics about the sadness of our existence, the bitter beauty of sadness that is dominated by heavy synths and a dark plaintive voice. Beautiful! (well, so to speak!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


NL

Ook al werd cold wave niet in Frankrijk uitgevonden, tref je er toch de beste groepen uit het genre aan. Nice Cold Nation is zo’n band (of is het een eenmansproject?) uit Rouen. Veel informatie op het web vind je niet over Nice Cold Nation. Maar kijk, als we je vertellen dat één van de songs gewoon Revival (Ian Curtis) heet, ben je toch meteen een hele stap dichterbij, niet?

Weeral een Joy Division-kloon rijker, horen we je zuchten? Nou, eigenlijk niet, want de muziek van Nice Cold Nation klinkt wel even kil als dat groepje uit Manchester, toch merk je hier ook duidelijk invloeden van Lively Art-bands zoals Mary Goes Round en vooral Asylum Party.

Technisch bekeken loopt alles fout. De muziek klinkt rauw en soms lijkt de zang wat amateuristisch. Maar in het geval van Nice Cold Nation is dat nooit een minpunt, gewoon omdat de 13 tracks daardoor eerlijker klinken. En geloof ons, de muziek van Nice Cold Nation is echt wel het equivalent van dansen op je graf. Iedere noot klinkt alsof er geen toekomst meer is, gitzwarte teksten over de triestheid van het bestaan, de bittere schoonheid van de tristesse die wordt gedomineerd door logge synths en een pikdonkere klaagstem. Mooi! (nou ja, bij wijze van spreken!)

Didier BECU
14/02/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain