tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/10/2015 : NUN - Self Titled

NUN

Self Titled

MusicVinyl
MinimalPost IndustrialPost PunkSynth Punk

[95/100]   

Avant! Records
22/10/2015, Luki PUKI

NUN’s self-titled release is mutant synth punk broadcast back through time via the BBC sci-fi room. It reminds me of groups like Soft Drinks, Sigue Sigue Sputnik, Spizz Energy etc. and is just awesome.

Singer Jenny may actually have stolen a Doctor Who Dalek microphone as it seems to be what she sings through. The music is minimal using analogue synths, drum machine and bass synth and some samples. Somehow this combines into unsettlingly gloomy, sci-fi, horror, 8 bit computer game, oscillating siren din that can almost be uncomfortable to listen to (not unlike the best industrial records of yore Throbbing Gristle anyone.)

Stupidly fun lyrics range from spoon bender Uri Geller to sci-fi, horror and even touch on the grim factoids from the Reader Digest for inspiration.

If we all buy it maybe we can entice them over from Melbourne for an EU tour… EXTERMINATE!

Luki PUKI
22/10/2015

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYQywjdcRlc

 

Next reviews
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
MATS GUSTAFSSON • Piano Mating
NORMIL HAWAIIANS • Return of the Ranters
THE GARDEN • Haha

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: POST INDUSTRIAL
ALSO • Live in Celovec
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
GROUP A • 70 + a =
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
POTERNA • Fate
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD • SSS
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth