tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : THE GARDEN - Haha

THE GARDEN

Haha

MusicCD
ElectroIndiePost Punk

[66/100]   

Burger Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Wyatt and Fletcher are twin brothers from Orange County, California, who bomb the American underground since 2011 with a genre that they describe themselves as Vada Vada. Pardon? Well, they can’t explain it themselves because according their sound evolves every day and therefore always sounds different.

These are big words, but the result is pretty funny, although their third album has the ugliest cover we recently had in our hands (and no, we love dogs!).

there are seventeen tracks here, and it might seem like too many, but most of these tracks only last two minutes. It is clear that these two brothers have browsed through the collection of the 80s. In every song, you hear influences from bands like Devo or Talking Heads, and there's even some Neue Deutsche Welle into their sound too.

You always feel like you are listening to an original duo. That's what they are, but it's what kills them eventually because it usually are nothing but half-formed ideas. But who knows, the fourth album might be a hit (they evolve constantly, remember?), cecause Haha really has some splendid songs (Red Green Yellow or Haha) we can recommend, especially if you’re a Franz Ferdinand fan who likes some experiment.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wyatt en Fletcher zijn tweelingbroers uit Orange County, California, die sinds 2011 de Amerikaanse underground bestoken met een genre dat zij zelf als Vada Vada omschrijven. U zegt? Wel, zelf kunnen ze het moeilijk uitleggen omdat zij ervan overtuigd zijn dat hun geluid iedere dag evolueert en dus op elk ogenblik anders klinkt.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar het resultaat is best leuk, ofschoon hun derde plaat zowat de lelijkste hoes heeft die we de laatste maanden in onze handen hebben gekregen (en neen, we houden van honden!).

Je vindt er zeventien nummers op terug en dat lijkt misschien wat van het goede te veel, het merendeel van deze tracks duurt echter amper twee minuten. Het is duidelijk dat deze twee broertjes gretig hebben zitten grasduinen in de collectie van de jaren 80. In iedere song hoor je wel invloeden van bands als Devo of Talking Heads, en er is zelfs wat Neue Deutsche Welle in hun geluid verwerkt.

Je hebt steeds het idee dat je naar een origineel duo luistert. Dat zijn ze beslist, maar het is net ook dat wat hun uiteindelijk nekt omdat het meestal maar om half uitgewerkte ideeën gaat. Maar wie weet wordt het vierde album toch nog een echte voltreffer (ze evolueren steeds, weet je nog?), want Haha bevat echt wel nummers waar je niet over kan kijken (Red Green Yellow of Haha). Nu is The Garden ideaal luistervoer voor Franz Ferdinand-fans die niet vies zijn van wat experiment. Leuk en zeker de moeite waard om een kans te geven, maar helaas zijn we nog niet compleet overtuigd!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDIE + POST PUNK
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection