tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : THE GARDEN - Haha

THE GARDEN

Haha

MusicCD
ElectroIndiePost Punk

[66/100]   

Burger Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Wyatt and Fletcher are twin brothers from Orange County, California, who bomb the American underground since 2011 with a genre that they describe themselves as Vada Vada. Pardon? Well, they can’t explain it themselves because according their sound evolves every day and therefore always sounds different.

These are big words, but the result is pretty funny, although their third album has the ugliest cover we recently had in our hands (and no, we love dogs!).

there are seventeen tracks here, and it might seem like too many, but most of these tracks only last two minutes. It is clear that these two brothers have browsed through the collection of the 80s. In every song, you hear influences from bands like Devo or Talking Heads, and there's even some Neue Deutsche Welle into their sound too.

You always feel like you are listening to an original duo. That's what they are, but it's what kills them eventually because it usually are nothing but half-formed ideas. But who knows, the fourth album might be a hit (they evolve constantly, remember?), cecause Haha really has some splendid songs (Red Green Yellow or Haha) we can recommend, especially if you’re a Franz Ferdinand fan who likes some experiment.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wyatt en Fletcher zijn tweelingbroers uit Orange County, California, die sinds 2011 de Amerikaanse underground bestoken met een genre dat zij zelf als Vada Vada omschrijven. U zegt? Wel, zelf kunnen ze het moeilijk uitleggen omdat zij ervan overtuigd zijn dat hun geluid iedere dag evolueert en dus op elk ogenblik anders klinkt.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar het resultaat is best leuk, ofschoon hun derde plaat zowat de lelijkste hoes heeft die we de laatste maanden in onze handen hebben gekregen (en neen, we houden van honden!).

Je vindt er zeventien nummers op terug en dat lijkt misschien wat van het goede te veel, het merendeel van deze tracks duurt echter amper twee minuten. Het is duidelijk dat deze twee broertjes gretig hebben zitten grasduinen in de collectie van de jaren 80. In iedere song hoor je wel invloeden van bands als Devo of Talking Heads, en er is zelfs wat Neue Deutsche Welle in hun geluid verwerkt.

Je hebt steeds het idee dat je naar een origineel duo luistert. Dat zijn ze beslist, maar het is net ook dat wat hun uiteindelijk nekt omdat het meestal maar om half uitgewerkte ideeën gaat. Maar wie weet wordt het vierde album toch nog een echte voltreffer (ze evolueren steeds, weet je nog?), want Haha bevat echt wel nummers waar je niet over kan kijken (Red Green Yellow of Haha). Nu is The Garden ideaal luistervoer voor Franz Ferdinand-fans die niet vies zijn van wat experiment. Leuk en zeker de moeite waard om een kans te geven, maar helaas zijn we nog niet compleet overtuigd!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDIE + POST PUNK
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire