tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : THE GARDEN - Haha

THE GARDEN

Haha

MusicCD
ElectroIndiePost Punk

[66/100]   

Burger Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Wyatt and Fletcher are twin brothers from Orange County, California, who bomb the American underground since 2011 with a genre that they describe themselves as Vada Vada. Pardon? Well, they can’t explain it themselves because according their sound evolves every day and therefore always sounds different.

These are big words, but the result is pretty funny, although their third album has the ugliest cover we recently had in our hands (and no, we love dogs!).

there are seventeen tracks here, and it might seem like too many, but most of these tracks only last two minutes. It is clear that these two brothers have browsed through the collection of the 80s. In every song, you hear influences from bands like Devo or Talking Heads, and there's even some Neue Deutsche Welle into their sound too.

You always feel like you are listening to an original duo. That's what they are, but it's what kills them eventually because it usually are nothing but half-formed ideas. But who knows, the fourth album might be a hit (they evolve constantly, remember?), cecause Haha really has some splendid songs (Red Green Yellow or Haha) we can recommend, especially if you’re a Franz Ferdinand fan who likes some experiment.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wyatt en Fletcher zijn tweelingbroers uit Orange County, California, die sinds 2011 de Amerikaanse underground bestoken met een genre dat zij zelf als Vada Vada omschrijven. U zegt? Wel, zelf kunnen ze het moeilijk uitleggen omdat zij ervan overtuigd zijn dat hun geluid iedere dag evolueert en dus op elk ogenblik anders klinkt.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar het resultaat is best leuk, ofschoon hun derde plaat zowat de lelijkste hoes heeft die we de laatste maanden in onze handen hebben gekregen (en neen, we houden van honden!).

Je vindt er zeventien nummers op terug en dat lijkt misschien wat van het goede te veel, het merendeel van deze tracks duurt echter amper twee minuten. Het is duidelijk dat deze twee broertjes gretig hebben zitten grasduinen in de collectie van de jaren 80. In iedere song hoor je wel invloeden van bands als Devo of Talking Heads, en er is zelfs wat Neue Deutsche Welle in hun geluid verwerkt.

Je hebt steeds het idee dat je naar een origineel duo luistert. Dat zijn ze beslist, maar het is net ook dat wat hun uiteindelijk nekt omdat het meestal maar om half uitgewerkte ideeën gaat. Maar wie weet wordt het vierde album toch nog een echte voltreffer (ze evolueren steeds, weet je nog?), want Haha bevat echt wel nummers waar je niet over kan kijken (Red Green Yellow of Haha). Nu is The Garden ideaal luistervoer voor Franz Ferdinand-fans die niet vies zijn van wat experiment. Leuk en zeker de moeite waard om een kans te geven, maar helaas zijn we nog niet compleet overtuigd!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDIE + POST PUNK
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask