tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : THE GARDEN - Haha

THE GARDEN

Haha

MusicCD
ElectroIndiePost Punk

[66/100]   

Burger Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Wyatt and Fletcher are twin brothers from Orange County, California, who bomb the American underground since 2011 with a genre that they describe themselves as Vada Vada. Pardon? Well, they can’t explain it themselves because according their sound evolves every day and therefore always sounds different.

These are big words, but the result is pretty funny, although their third album has the ugliest cover we recently had in our hands (and no, we love dogs!).

there are seventeen tracks here, and it might seem like too many, but most of these tracks only last two minutes. It is clear that these two brothers have browsed through the collection of the 80s. In every song, you hear influences from bands like Devo or Talking Heads, and there's even some Neue Deutsche Welle into their sound too.

You always feel like you are listening to an original duo. That's what they are, but it's what kills them eventually because it usually are nothing but half-formed ideas. But who knows, the fourth album might be a hit (they evolve constantly, remember?), cecause Haha really has some splendid songs (Red Green Yellow or Haha) we can recommend, especially if you’re a Franz Ferdinand fan who likes some experiment.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wyatt en Fletcher zijn tweelingbroers uit Orange County, California, die sinds 2011 de Amerikaanse underground bestoken met een genre dat zij zelf als Vada Vada omschrijven. U zegt? Wel, zelf kunnen ze het moeilijk uitleggen omdat zij ervan overtuigd zijn dat hun geluid iedere dag evolueert en dus op elk ogenblik anders klinkt.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar het resultaat is best leuk, ofschoon hun derde plaat zowat de lelijkste hoes heeft die we de laatste maanden in onze handen hebben gekregen (en neen, we houden van honden!).

Je vindt er zeventien nummers op terug en dat lijkt misschien wat van het goede te veel, het merendeel van deze tracks duurt echter amper twee minuten. Het is duidelijk dat deze twee broertjes gretig hebben zitten grasduinen in de collectie van de jaren 80. In iedere song hoor je wel invloeden van bands als Devo of Talking Heads, en er is zelfs wat Neue Deutsche Welle in hun geluid verwerkt.

Je hebt steeds het idee dat je naar een origineel duo luistert. Dat zijn ze beslist, maar het is net ook dat wat hun uiteindelijk nekt omdat het meestal maar om half uitgewerkte ideeën gaat. Maar wie weet wordt het vierde album toch nog een echte voltreffer (ze evolueren steeds, weet je nog?), want Haha bevat echt wel nummers waar je niet over kan kijken (Red Green Yellow of Haha). Nu is The Garden ideaal luistervoer voor Franz Ferdinand-fans die niet vies zijn van wat experiment. Leuk en zeker de moeite waard om een kans te geven, maar helaas zijn we nog niet compleet overtuigd!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDIE + POST PUNK
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses