tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : THE GARDEN - Haha

THE GARDEN

Haha

MusicCD
ElectroIndiePost Punk

[66/100]   

Burger Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Wyatt and Fletcher are twin brothers from Orange County, California, who bomb the American underground since 2011 with a genre that they describe themselves as Vada Vada. Pardon? Well, they can’t explain it themselves because according their sound evolves every day and therefore always sounds different.

These are big words, but the result is pretty funny, although their third album has the ugliest cover we recently had in our hands (and no, we love dogs!).

there are seventeen tracks here, and it might seem like too many, but most of these tracks only last two minutes. It is clear that these two brothers have browsed through the collection of the 80s. In every song, you hear influences from bands like Devo or Talking Heads, and there's even some Neue Deutsche Welle into their sound too.

You always feel like you are listening to an original duo. That's what they are, but it's what kills them eventually because it usually are nothing but half-formed ideas. But who knows, the fourth album might be a hit (they evolve constantly, remember?), cecause Haha really has some splendid songs (Red Green Yellow or Haha) we can recommend, especially if you’re a Franz Ferdinand fan who likes some experiment.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wyatt en Fletcher zijn tweelingbroers uit Orange County, California, die sinds 2011 de Amerikaanse underground bestoken met een genre dat zij zelf als Vada Vada omschrijven. U zegt? Wel, zelf kunnen ze het moeilijk uitleggen omdat zij ervan overtuigd zijn dat hun geluid iedere dag evolueert en dus op elk ogenblik anders klinkt.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar het resultaat is best leuk, ofschoon hun derde plaat zowat de lelijkste hoes heeft die we de laatste maanden in onze handen hebben gekregen (en neen, we houden van honden!).

Je vindt er zeventien nummers op terug en dat lijkt misschien wat van het goede te veel, het merendeel van deze tracks duurt echter amper twee minuten. Het is duidelijk dat deze twee broertjes gretig hebben zitten grasduinen in de collectie van de jaren 80. In iedere song hoor je wel invloeden van bands als Devo of Talking Heads, en er is zelfs wat Neue Deutsche Welle in hun geluid verwerkt.

Je hebt steeds het idee dat je naar een origineel duo luistert. Dat zijn ze beslist, maar het is net ook dat wat hun uiteindelijk nekt omdat het meestal maar om half uitgewerkte ideeën gaat. Maar wie weet wordt het vierde album toch nog een echte voltreffer (ze evolueren steeds, weet je nog?), want Haha bevat echt wel nummers waar je niet over kan kijken (Red Green Yellow of Haha). Nu is The Garden ideaal luistervoer voor Franz Ferdinand-fans die niet vies zijn van wat experiment. Leuk en zeker de moeite waard om een kans te geven, maar helaas zijn we nog niet compleet overtuigd!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDIE + POST PUNK
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo