tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

21/10/2015 : SHADOWHOUSE - Hand In Hand

SHADOWHOUSE

Hand In Hand

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePsychedelic

[78/100]   

Manic Depression
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us forget for a moment the hype around Editors. Of course In Dream is again a great album, but there are a lot of bands whose material is equally strong and about which you hardly read any word, let alone that their sound reaches you. Shadowhouse from Portland is a beautiful example.

Since 2012 this band makes post-punk, complemented with a touch of cold wave and that will give lovers of the genre an orgasm that they’ll remember for months (we are also specialists in that area!); After a few limited releases, they have released their debut Hand In Hand on the French Manic Depression Records.

Right from the opener Start Again it is clear that this band has everything to come up with a memorable debut. Musically the music of this quartet is somewhere between the death rock of Christian Death, the melancholy of The Chameleons and (perhaps because of the baritone voice of Shane McCauley) the modern post punk sound of Editors, although it would be a shame to see this quartet as a copy of them.

This album has ten songs, each with a differe style. In Lonely Psalm they create a wall of sound, and the cold wave of the first Cure records is always somewhere around, listen for example to the stunning Haunted, and you immediately know what we mean!

This debut by Shadowhouse indeed contains old ingredients, but the band proves that you can still make very original things with it. Anyone who once sold his soul to Pornography or Strange Times, can get hooked on Hand In Hand.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Laten we voor eventjes de hype rond de Editors bekoelen. Natuurlijk is In Dream alweer een fantastische plaat, maar er zijn heel wat groepjes die met even sterk materiaal uitpakken en waarover je nauwelijks een woord leest, laat staan dat hun geluid je bereikt. Shadowhouse uit Portland is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van.

Sinds 2012 maakt dit viertal post-punk, aangevuld met een vleugje coldwave. Het soort muziek waarvan je een orgasme krijgt dat je maanden later nog niet vergeten bent (tja, ook op dat vlak zijn we specialisten!) Na een paar gelimiteerde releases, wordt nu het debuut Hand In Hand op het Franse Manic Depression Records uitgebracht.

Meteen in de opener Start Again wordt duidelijk dat deze band alles in zich heeft om een onvergetelijk debuut af te leveren. Muzikaal situeert de muziek van dit viertal zich ergens tussen de deathrock van Christian Death, de melancholie van The Chameleons en (wellicht door de baritonstem van Shane McCauley) ook de moderne post-punk van Editors, alhoewel het zonde zou zijn om dit viertal als een kopie te beschouwen.

Shadowhouse brengt op dit album tien nummers, elk met een eigen stijl. In Lonely Psalm wordt een geluidsmuur door de synths gecreëerd waartussen geen speld is te krijgen, en ook de coldwave van de eerste Cure-platen is altijd wel ergens in de buurt, luister bijv. naar het prachtige Haunted, en je weet meteen wat we bedoelen!

Dit debuut van Shadowhouse bevat wel oude ingrediënten, maar de band bewijst op dit debuut dat je er nog steeds zeer origineel mee kan uitpakken. Wie ooit zijn hart heeft verpand aan Pornography of Strange Times, zou ook wel eens aan Hand In Hand verknocht kunnen raken.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
IRMLER & FM EINHEIT • Bestandteil
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
BETTINA KOESTER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLIXA BARGELD & TEHO TEARDO • Still Smiling Tour (Hasselt, Cultureel Centrum, 16/10/2015)
COIL • Backwards

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

Music reviews

20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind