tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : SHADOWHOUSE - Hand In Hand

SHADOWHOUSE

Hand In Hand

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePsychedelic

[78/100]   

Manic Depression
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us forget for a moment the hype around Editors. Of course In Dream is again a great album, but there are a lot of bands whose material is equally strong and about which you hardly read any word, let alone that their sound reaches you. Shadowhouse from Portland is a beautiful example.

Since 2012 this band makes post-punk, complemented with a touch of cold wave and that will give lovers of the genre an orgasm that they’ll remember for months (we are also specialists in that area!); After a few limited releases, they have released their debut Hand In Hand on the French Manic Depression Records.

Right from the opener Start Again it is clear that this band has everything to come up with a memorable debut. Musically the music of this quartet is somewhere between the death rock of Christian Death, the melancholy of The Chameleons and (perhaps because of the baritone voice of Shane McCauley) the modern post punk sound of Editors, although it would be a shame to see this quartet as a copy of them.

This album has ten songs, each with a differe style. In Lonely Psalm they create a wall of sound, and the cold wave of the first Cure records is always somewhere around, listen for example to the stunning Haunted, and you immediately know what we mean!

This debut by Shadowhouse indeed contains old ingredients, but the band proves that you can still make very original things with it. Anyone who once sold his soul to Pornography or Strange Times, can get hooked on Hand In Hand.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Laten we voor eventjes de hype rond de Editors bekoelen. Natuurlijk is In Dream alweer een fantastische plaat, maar er zijn heel wat groepjes die met even sterk materiaal uitpakken en waarover je nauwelijks een woord leest, laat staan dat hun geluid je bereikt. Shadowhouse uit Portland is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van.

Sinds 2012 maakt dit viertal post-punk, aangevuld met een vleugje coldwave. Het soort muziek waarvan je een orgasme krijgt dat je maanden later nog niet vergeten bent (tja, ook op dat vlak zijn we specialisten!) Na een paar gelimiteerde releases, wordt nu het debuut Hand In Hand op het Franse Manic Depression Records uitgebracht.

Meteen in de opener Start Again wordt duidelijk dat deze band alles in zich heeft om een onvergetelijk debuut af te leveren. Muzikaal situeert de muziek van dit viertal zich ergens tussen de deathrock van Christian Death, de melancholie van The Chameleons en (wellicht door de baritonstem van Shane McCauley) ook de moderne post-punk van Editors, alhoewel het zonde zou zijn om dit viertal als een kopie te beschouwen.

Shadowhouse brengt op dit album tien nummers, elk met een eigen stijl. In Lonely Psalm wordt een geluidsmuur door de synths gecreëerd waartussen geen speld is te krijgen, en ook de coldwave van de eerste Cure-platen is altijd wel ergens in de buurt, luister bijv. naar het prachtige Haunted, en je weet meteen wat we bedoelen!

Dit debuut van Shadowhouse bevat wel oude ingrediënten, maar de band bewijst op dit debuut dat je er nog steeds zeer origineel mee kan uitpakken. Wie ooit zijn hart heeft verpand aan Pornography of Strange Times, zou ook wel eens aan Hand In Hand verknocht kunnen raken.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
IRMLER & FM EINHEIT • Bestandteil
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
BETTINA KOESTER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLIXA BARGELD & TEHO TEARDO • Still Smiling Tour (Hasselt, Cultureel Centrum, 16/10/2015)
COIL • Backwards

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static