tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : SHADOWHOUSE - Hand In Hand

SHADOWHOUSE

Hand In Hand

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePsychedelic

[78/100]   

Manic Depression
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us forget for a moment the hype around Editors. Of course In Dream is again a great album, but there are a lot of bands whose material is equally strong and about which you hardly read any word, let alone that their sound reaches you. Shadowhouse from Portland is a beautiful example.

Since 2012 this band makes post-punk, complemented with a touch of cold wave and that will give lovers of the genre an orgasm that they’ll remember for months (we are also specialists in that area!); After a few limited releases, they have released their debut Hand In Hand on the French Manic Depression Records.

Right from the opener Start Again it is clear that this band has everything to come up with a memorable debut. Musically the music of this quartet is somewhere between the death rock of Christian Death, the melancholy of The Chameleons and (perhaps because of the baritone voice of Shane McCauley) the modern post punk sound of Editors, although it would be a shame to see this quartet as a copy of them.

This album has ten songs, each with a differe style. In Lonely Psalm they create a wall of sound, and the cold wave of the first Cure records is always somewhere around, listen for example to the stunning Haunted, and you immediately know what we mean!

This debut by Shadowhouse indeed contains old ingredients, but the band proves that you can still make very original things with it. Anyone who once sold his soul to Pornography or Strange Times, can get hooked on Hand In Hand.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Laten we voor eventjes de hype rond de Editors bekoelen. Natuurlijk is In Dream alweer een fantastische plaat, maar er zijn heel wat groepjes die met even sterk materiaal uitpakken en waarover je nauwelijks een woord leest, laat staan dat hun geluid je bereikt. Shadowhouse uit Portland is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van.

Sinds 2012 maakt dit viertal post-punk, aangevuld met een vleugje coldwave. Het soort muziek waarvan je een orgasme krijgt dat je maanden later nog niet vergeten bent (tja, ook op dat vlak zijn we specialisten!) Na een paar gelimiteerde releases, wordt nu het debuut Hand In Hand op het Franse Manic Depression Records uitgebracht.

Meteen in de opener Start Again wordt duidelijk dat deze band alles in zich heeft om een onvergetelijk debuut af te leveren. Muzikaal situeert de muziek van dit viertal zich ergens tussen de deathrock van Christian Death, de melancholie van The Chameleons en (wellicht door de baritonstem van Shane McCauley) ook de moderne post-punk van Editors, alhoewel het zonde zou zijn om dit viertal als een kopie te beschouwen.

Shadowhouse brengt op dit album tien nummers, elk met een eigen stijl. In Lonely Psalm wordt een geluidsmuur door de synths gecreëerd waartussen geen speld is te krijgen, en ook de coldwave van de eerste Cure-platen is altijd wel ergens in de buurt, luister bijv. naar het prachtige Haunted, en je weet meteen wat we bedoelen!

Dit debuut van Shadowhouse bevat wel oude ingrediënten, maar de band bewijst op dit debuut dat je er nog steeds zeer origineel mee kan uitpakken. Wie ooit zijn hart heeft verpand aan Pornography of Strange Times, zou ook wel eens aan Hand In Hand verknocht kunnen raken.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
IRMLER & FM EINHEIT • Bestandteil
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
BETTINA KOESTER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLIXA BARGELD & TEHO TEARDO • Still Smiling Tour (Hasselt, Cultureel Centrum, 16/10/2015)
COIL • Backwards

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent