tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : SHADOWHOUSE - Hand In Hand

SHADOWHOUSE

Hand In Hand

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePsychedelic

[78/100]   

Manic Depression
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us forget for a moment the hype around Editors. Of course In Dream is again a great album, but there are a lot of bands whose material is equally strong and about which you hardly read any word, let alone that their sound reaches you. Shadowhouse from Portland is a beautiful example.

Since 2012 this band makes post-punk, complemented with a touch of cold wave and that will give lovers of the genre an orgasm that they’ll remember for months (we are also specialists in that area!); After a few limited releases, they have released their debut Hand In Hand on the French Manic Depression Records.

Right from the opener Start Again it is clear that this band has everything to come up with a memorable debut. Musically the music of this quartet is somewhere between the death rock of Christian Death, the melancholy of The Chameleons and (perhaps because of the baritone voice of Shane McCauley) the modern post punk sound of Editors, although it would be a shame to see this quartet as a copy of them.

This album has ten songs, each with a differe style. In Lonely Psalm they create a wall of sound, and the cold wave of the first Cure records is always somewhere around, listen for example to the stunning Haunted, and you immediately know what we mean!

This debut by Shadowhouse indeed contains old ingredients, but the band proves that you can still make very original things with it. Anyone who once sold his soul to Pornography or Strange Times, can get hooked on Hand In Hand.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Laten we voor eventjes de hype rond de Editors bekoelen. Natuurlijk is In Dream alweer een fantastische plaat, maar er zijn heel wat groepjes die met even sterk materiaal uitpakken en waarover je nauwelijks een woord leest, laat staan dat hun geluid je bereikt. Shadowhouse uit Portland is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van.

Sinds 2012 maakt dit viertal post-punk, aangevuld met een vleugje coldwave. Het soort muziek waarvan je een orgasme krijgt dat je maanden later nog niet vergeten bent (tja, ook op dat vlak zijn we specialisten!) Na een paar gelimiteerde releases, wordt nu het debuut Hand In Hand op het Franse Manic Depression Records uitgebracht.

Meteen in de opener Start Again wordt duidelijk dat deze band alles in zich heeft om een onvergetelijk debuut af te leveren. Muzikaal situeert de muziek van dit viertal zich ergens tussen de deathrock van Christian Death, de melancholie van The Chameleons en (wellicht door de baritonstem van Shane McCauley) ook de moderne post-punk van Editors, alhoewel het zonde zou zijn om dit viertal als een kopie te beschouwen.

Shadowhouse brengt op dit album tien nummers, elk met een eigen stijl. In Lonely Psalm wordt een geluidsmuur door de synths gecreëerd waartussen geen speld is te krijgen, en ook de coldwave van de eerste Cure-platen is altijd wel ergens in de buurt, luister bijv. naar het prachtige Haunted, en je weet meteen wat we bedoelen!

Dit debuut van Shadowhouse bevat wel oude ingrediënten, maar de band bewijst op dit debuut dat je er nog steeds zeer origineel mee kan uitpakken. Wie ooit zijn hart heeft verpand aan Pornography of Strange Times, zou ook wel eens aan Hand In Hand verknocht kunnen raken.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
IRMLER & FM EINHEIT • Bestandteil
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
BETTINA KOESTER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLIXA BARGELD & TEHO TEARDO • Still Smiling Tour (Hasselt, Cultureel Centrum, 16/10/2015)
COIL • Backwards

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)