tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : SHADOWHOUSE - Hand In Hand

SHADOWHOUSE

Hand In Hand

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePsychedelic

[78/100]   

Manic Depression
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us forget for a moment the hype around Editors. Of course In Dream is again a great album, but there are a lot of bands whose material is equally strong and about which you hardly read any word, let alone that their sound reaches you. Shadowhouse from Portland is a beautiful example.

Since 2012 this band makes post-punk, complemented with a touch of cold wave and that will give lovers of the genre an orgasm that they’ll remember for months (we are also specialists in that area!); After a few limited releases, they have released their debut Hand In Hand on the French Manic Depression Records.

Right from the opener Start Again it is clear that this band has everything to come up with a memorable debut. Musically the music of this quartet is somewhere between the death rock of Christian Death, the melancholy of The Chameleons and (perhaps because of the baritone voice of Shane McCauley) the modern post punk sound of Editors, although it would be a shame to see this quartet as a copy of them.

This album has ten songs, each with a differe style. In Lonely Psalm they create a wall of sound, and the cold wave of the first Cure records is always somewhere around, listen for example to the stunning Haunted, and you immediately know what we mean!

This debut by Shadowhouse indeed contains old ingredients, but the band proves that you can still make very original things with it. Anyone who once sold his soul to Pornography or Strange Times, can get hooked on Hand In Hand.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Laten we voor eventjes de hype rond de Editors bekoelen. Natuurlijk is In Dream alweer een fantastische plaat, maar er zijn heel wat groepjes die met even sterk materiaal uitpakken en waarover je nauwelijks een woord leest, laat staan dat hun geluid je bereikt. Shadowhouse uit Portland is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van.

Sinds 2012 maakt dit viertal post-punk, aangevuld met een vleugje coldwave. Het soort muziek waarvan je een orgasme krijgt dat je maanden later nog niet vergeten bent (tja, ook op dat vlak zijn we specialisten!) Na een paar gelimiteerde releases, wordt nu het debuut Hand In Hand op het Franse Manic Depression Records uitgebracht.

Meteen in de opener Start Again wordt duidelijk dat deze band alles in zich heeft om een onvergetelijk debuut af te leveren. Muzikaal situeert de muziek van dit viertal zich ergens tussen de deathrock van Christian Death, de melancholie van The Chameleons en (wellicht door de baritonstem van Shane McCauley) ook de moderne post-punk van Editors, alhoewel het zonde zou zijn om dit viertal als een kopie te beschouwen.

Shadowhouse brengt op dit album tien nummers, elk met een eigen stijl. In Lonely Psalm wordt een geluidsmuur door de synths gecreëerd waartussen geen speld is te krijgen, en ook de coldwave van de eerste Cure-platen is altijd wel ergens in de buurt, luister bijv. naar het prachtige Haunted, en je weet meteen wat we bedoelen!

Dit debuut van Shadowhouse bevat wel oude ingrediënten, maar de band bewijst op dit debuut dat je er nog steeds zeer origineel mee kan uitpakken. Wie ooit zijn hart heeft verpand aan Pornography of Strange Times, zou ook wel eens aan Hand In Hand verknocht kunnen raken.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
IRMLER & FM EINHEIT • Bestandteil
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
BETTINA KOESTER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLIXA BARGELD & TEHO TEARDO • Still Smiling Tour (Hasselt, Cultureel Centrum, 16/10/2015)
COIL • Backwards

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession