tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - Deviances

VIRGIN IN VEIL

Deviances

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcavePunk

[80/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In its short existence, this Finnish deathrock band has rejoiced us with a demo (Virgin in the Veil, early 2015) and an EP (Glory Hole, end of 2015). Now there is Deviances and this is nothing more or less than a compilation. In addition, we hear the new track Live Like Suicide that contains a lovely ringing and crunching guitar riff and a nice short bridge. Just two minutes later the track ends. Just perfect. You hear the evolution in the songwriting since 2015. For the rest, we hear Love Stains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction, four songs from Glory Hole. A strong quartet. The album ends with the three tracks from the demo which sound fresh, raw and straightforward.

In case you don't know this band, we recommend Deviances as an excellent introduction. When you love batcave, punk or death rock, you should definitely listen to this material. Want to see the band live? Paris is the place to be.

Available on CD and MP3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


NL

In zijn korte bestaan verblijdde deze Finse deathrockband ons al met een demo (Virgin in Veil uit begin 2015) en een ep (Gloryhole uit eind 2015). Nu is er Deviances en dat is een compilatie van beide. Daarenboven is er een nieuwe track: Live Like Suicide die het album op gang trekt met een zekere snedigheid en een heerlijk galmende en knarsende gitaarriff. De drums spelen daar goed op in en de song bevat ook een leuke korte bridge. Na net geen twee minuten is de track afgelopen. Er is niets tekort en niets overbodig. In de periode van een jaar is er merk je de evolutie qua songschrijven. Voor de rest horen we Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction, de vier songs uit Gloryhole. Een sterk kwartet waarbij vooral Sexual Sin en Decay hoge ogen gooien. Er wordt afgesloten met de drie tracks uit de demo die fris, rauw en ongecompliceerd klinken.

Voor wie deze band nog niet kent, vormt Deviances een uitgelezen kans om het oeuvre te ontdekken. Als je van batcave, punk of deathrock houdt, dan moet je zeker eens de moeite doen om hiernaar te luisteren. De band zorgt voor een zekere opwinding met deze muziek. Wil je het live meemaken, dan moet je van de winter in Pariijs zijn.

Verkrijgbaar op cd en mp3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless