tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - Deviances

VIRGIN IN VEIL

Deviances

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcavePunk

[80/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In its short existence, this Finnish deathrock band has rejoiced us with a demo (Virgin in the Veil, early 2015) and an EP (Glory Hole, end of 2015). Now there is Deviances and this is nothing more or less than a compilation. In addition, we hear the new track Live Like Suicide that contains a lovely ringing and crunching guitar riff and a nice short bridge. Just two minutes later the track ends. Just perfect. You hear the evolution in the songwriting since 2015. For the rest, we hear Love Stains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction, four songs from Glory Hole. A strong quartet. The album ends with the three tracks from the demo which sound fresh, raw and straightforward.

In case you don't know this band, we recommend Deviances as an excellent introduction. When you love batcave, punk or death rock, you should definitely listen to this material. Want to see the band live? Paris is the place to be.

Available on CD and MP3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


NL

In zijn korte bestaan verblijdde deze Finse deathrockband ons al met een demo (Virgin in Veil uit begin 2015) en een ep (Gloryhole uit eind 2015). Nu is er Deviances en dat is een compilatie van beide. Daarenboven is er een nieuwe track: Live Like Suicide die het album op gang trekt met een zekere snedigheid en een heerlijk galmende en knarsende gitaarriff. De drums spelen daar goed op in en de song bevat ook een leuke korte bridge. Na net geen twee minuten is de track afgelopen. Er is niets tekort en niets overbodig. In de periode van een jaar is er merk je de evolutie qua songschrijven. Voor de rest horen we Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction, de vier songs uit Gloryhole. Een sterk kwartet waarbij vooral Sexual Sin en Decay hoge ogen gooien. Er wordt afgesloten met de drie tracks uit de demo die fris, rauw en ongecompliceerd klinken.

Voor wie deze band nog niet kent, vormt Deviances een uitgelezen kans om het oeuvre te ontdekken. Als je van batcave, punk of deathrock houdt, dan moet je zeker eens de moeite doen om hiernaar te luisteren. De band zorgt voor een zekere opwinding met deze muziek. Wil je het live meemaken, dan moet je van de winter in Pariijs zijn.

Verkrijgbaar op cd en mp3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)