tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - Deviances

VIRGIN IN VEIL

Deviances

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcavePunk

[80/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In its short existence, this Finnish deathrock band has rejoiced us with a demo (Virgin in the Veil, early 2015) and an EP (Glory Hole, end of 2015). Now there is Deviances and this is nothing more or less than a compilation. In addition, we hear the new track Live Like Suicide that contains a lovely ringing and crunching guitar riff and a nice short bridge. Just two minutes later the track ends. Just perfect. You hear the evolution in the songwriting since 2015. For the rest, we hear Love Stains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction, four songs from Glory Hole. A strong quartet. The album ends with the three tracks from the demo which sound fresh, raw and straightforward.

In case you don't know this band, we recommend Deviances as an excellent introduction. When you love batcave, punk or death rock, you should definitely listen to this material. Want to see the band live? Paris is the place to be.

Available on CD and MP3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


NL

In zijn korte bestaan verblijdde deze Finse deathrockband ons al met een demo (Virgin in Veil uit begin 2015) en een ep (Gloryhole uit eind 2015). Nu is er Deviances en dat is een compilatie van beide. Daarenboven is er een nieuwe track: Live Like Suicide die het album op gang trekt met een zekere snedigheid en een heerlijk galmende en knarsende gitaarriff. De drums spelen daar goed op in en de song bevat ook een leuke korte bridge. Na net geen twee minuten is de track afgelopen. Er is niets tekort en niets overbodig. In de periode van een jaar is er merk je de evolutie qua songschrijven. Voor de rest horen we Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction, de vier songs uit Gloryhole. Een sterk kwartet waarbij vooral Sexual Sin en Decay hoge ogen gooien. Er wordt afgesloten met de drie tracks uit de demo die fris, rauw en ongecompliceerd klinken.

Voor wie deze band nog niet kent, vormt Deviances een uitgelezen kans om het oeuvre te ontdekken. Als je van batcave, punk of deathrock houdt, dan moet je zeker eens de moeite doen om hiernaar te luisteren. De band zorgt voor een zekere opwinding met deze muziek. Wil je het live meemaken, dan moet je van de winter in Pariijs zijn.

Verkrijgbaar op cd en mp3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)