tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - Deviances

VIRGIN IN VEIL

Deviances

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcavePunk

[80/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In its short existence, this Finnish deathrock band has rejoiced us with a demo (Virgin in the Veil, early 2015) and an EP (Glory Hole, end of 2015). Now there is Deviances and this is nothing more or less than a compilation. In addition, we hear the new track Live Like Suicide that contains a lovely ringing and crunching guitar riff and a nice short bridge. Just two minutes later the track ends. Just perfect. You hear the evolution in the songwriting since 2015. For the rest, we hear Love Stains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction, four songs from Glory Hole. A strong quartet. The album ends with the three tracks from the demo which sound fresh, raw and straightforward.

In case you don't know this band, we recommend Deviances as an excellent introduction. When you love batcave, punk or death rock, you should definitely listen to this material. Want to see the band live? Paris is the place to be.

Available on CD and MP3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


NL

In zijn korte bestaan verblijdde deze Finse deathrockband ons al met een demo (Virgin in Veil uit begin 2015) en een ep (Gloryhole uit eind 2015). Nu is er Deviances en dat is een compilatie van beide. Daarenboven is er een nieuwe track: Live Like Suicide die het album op gang trekt met een zekere snedigheid en een heerlijk galmende en knarsende gitaarriff. De drums spelen daar goed op in en de song bevat ook een leuke korte bridge. Na net geen twee minuten is de track afgelopen. Er is niets tekort en niets overbodig. In de periode van een jaar is er merk je de evolutie qua songschrijven. Voor de rest horen we Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction, de vier songs uit Gloryhole. Een sterk kwartet waarbij vooral Sexual Sin en Decay hoge ogen gooien. Er wordt afgesloten met de drie tracks uit de demo die fris, rauw en ongecompliceerd klinken.

Voor wie deze band nog niet kent, vormt Deviances een uitgelezen kans om het oeuvre te ontdekken. Als je van batcave, punk of deathrock houdt, dan moet je zeker eens de moeite doen om hiernaar te luisteren. De band zorgt voor een zekere opwinding met deze muziek. Wil je het live meemaken, dan moet je van de winter in Pariijs zijn.

Verkrijgbaar op cd en mp3.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel