tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2016 : FAREWELL - Sequoia

FAREWELL

Sequoia

MusicCD
ElectroHip Hop/RapNu Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
17/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sequoia is the name of a (coastal) sequoia. Once there were several different species. It is also the name of the second album by the hip hop/electro/ nu one man band Farewell (the Frenchman JB Calluaud).

The album contains eleven tracks. The songs are short, stylish and eclectic. The percussion tends towards hip hop and trip hop. In some drum parts Calluaud was assisted by Xavier Richard. The vocals are subtle and beautifully draped around the music. Instruments used by JB: subtle guitars, synths, piano... at first hearing, the music sounds quite DIY and simple, but actually it is quite profound, warm and diverse. It is not easy to mark the guy. Doraleen is a beautiful, almost magical song, while Jeanne sounds a lot darker and rocking. Gabrielle is rather woolly. Calluaud's falsetto sounds like a woman's voice. The difference is almost inaudible. His voice reminds me of Chris Corner (IAMX).

Eleven tracks with lots of variety and atmosphere. On the inside cover you find a quote by Friedrich von Hardenberg, a German romantic writer from the 18th century. A quote that makes sense because somehow you can link his music with romanticism and poetry.

Sequoia is a modern, original and versatile album. Definitely worth exploring.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


NL

Een Sequioa is een (kust)mammoetboom. In de periode vóór de ijstijdenwaren er meerdere soorten. Het is ook de naam van het tweede album van het hip-hop/elektro/nu-éénmansproject Farewell van de Fransman JB Calluaud.

Op het album staan elf titels. De liedjes zijn meestal kort, stijlvol en eclectisch. Ze bevatten percussie die wat naar hiphop en triphop neigt. Om sommige drumpartijen op te nemen is Xavier Richard bij het project betrokken. De vocals zijn subtiel en mooi om de muziek gedrapeerd. Instrumenten die JB gebruikt: subtiele gitaren, synths,... De muziek klinkt op het eerste gehoor vrij DIY en eenvoudig maar is in feite vrij diepgaand, warm en divers. Je hoort het: de man is niet voor één gat te vangen. Opener Doraleen is een mooie haast feeërieke song, terwijl Jeanne heel wat donkerder en rockend klinkt. Gabrielle is dan eerder zweverig van toon. De falset van Calluaud neigt naar een vrouwenstem. Het verschil is haast onhoorbaar. Ze doet mij bij momenten ook wat aan Chris Corner van IAMX denken.

We horen elf puike tracks met veel variatie en sfeer. Op de binnenhoes staat een citaat van Friedrich Von Hardenberg, een romantische Duitse auteur uit de 18de eeuw. Ergens heeft dit citaat wel zin want je kan zijn muziek ook linken aan romantiek en poëzie.

Sequioa is een modern, origineel en veelzijdig album. Absoluut het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane