tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2016 : FAREWELL - Sequoia

FAREWELL

Sequoia

MusicCD
ElectroHip Hop/RapNu Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
17/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sequoia is the name of a (coastal) sequoia. Once there were several different species. It is also the name of the second album by the hip hop/electro/ nu one man band Farewell (the Frenchman JB Calluaud).

The album contains eleven tracks. The songs are short, stylish and eclectic. The percussion tends towards hip hop and trip hop. In some drum parts Calluaud was assisted by Xavier Richard. The vocals are subtle and beautifully draped around the music. Instruments used by JB: subtle guitars, synths, piano... at first hearing, the music sounds quite DIY and simple, but actually it is quite profound, warm and diverse. It is not easy to mark the guy. Doraleen is a beautiful, almost magical song, while Jeanne sounds a lot darker and rocking. Gabrielle is rather woolly. Calluaud's falsetto sounds like a woman's voice. The difference is almost inaudible. His voice reminds me of Chris Corner (IAMX).

Eleven tracks with lots of variety and atmosphere. On the inside cover you find a quote by Friedrich von Hardenberg, a German romantic writer from the 18th century. A quote that makes sense because somehow you can link his music with romanticism and poetry.

Sequoia is a modern, original and versatile album. Definitely worth exploring.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


NL

Een Sequioa is een (kust)mammoetboom. In de periode vóór de ijstijdenwaren er meerdere soorten. Het is ook de naam van het tweede album van het hip-hop/elektro/nu-éénmansproject Farewell van de Fransman JB Calluaud.

Op het album staan elf titels. De liedjes zijn meestal kort, stijlvol en eclectisch. Ze bevatten percussie die wat naar hiphop en triphop neigt. Om sommige drumpartijen op te nemen is Xavier Richard bij het project betrokken. De vocals zijn subtiel en mooi om de muziek gedrapeerd. Instrumenten die JB gebruikt: subtiele gitaren, synths,... De muziek klinkt op het eerste gehoor vrij DIY en eenvoudig maar is in feite vrij diepgaand, warm en divers. Je hoort het: de man is niet voor één gat te vangen. Opener Doraleen is een mooie haast feeërieke song, terwijl Jeanne heel wat donkerder en rockend klinkt. Gabrielle is dan eerder zweverig van toon. De falset van Calluaud neigt naar een vrouwenstem. Het verschil is haast onhoorbaar. Ze doet mij bij momenten ook wat aan Chris Corner van IAMX denken.

We horen elf puike tracks met veel variatie en sfeer. Op de binnenhoes staat een citaat van Friedrich Von Hardenberg, een romantische Duitse auteur uit de 18de eeuw. Ergens heeft dit citaat wel zin want je kan zijn muziek ook linken aan romantiek en poëzie.

Sequioa is een modern, origineel en veelzijdig album. Absoluut het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?