tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2016 : FAREWELL - Sequoia

FAREWELL

Sequoia

MusicCD
ElectroHip Hop/RapNu Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
17/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sequoia is the name of a (coastal) sequoia. Once there were several different species. It is also the name of the second album by the hip hop/electro/ nu one man band Farewell (the Frenchman JB Calluaud).

The album contains eleven tracks. The songs are short, stylish and eclectic. The percussion tends towards hip hop and trip hop. In some drum parts Calluaud was assisted by Xavier Richard. The vocals are subtle and beautifully draped around the music. Instruments used by JB: subtle guitars, synths, piano... at first hearing, the music sounds quite DIY and simple, but actually it is quite profound, warm and diverse. It is not easy to mark the guy. Doraleen is a beautiful, almost magical song, while Jeanne sounds a lot darker and rocking. Gabrielle is rather woolly. Calluaud's falsetto sounds like a woman's voice. The difference is almost inaudible. His voice reminds me of Chris Corner (IAMX).

Eleven tracks with lots of variety and atmosphere. On the inside cover you find a quote by Friedrich von Hardenberg, a German romantic writer from the 18th century. A quote that makes sense because somehow you can link his music with romanticism and poetry.

Sequoia is a modern, original and versatile album. Definitely worth exploring.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


NL

Een Sequioa is een (kust)mammoetboom. In de periode vóór de ijstijdenwaren er meerdere soorten. Het is ook de naam van het tweede album van het hip-hop/elektro/nu-éénmansproject Farewell van de Fransman JB Calluaud.

Op het album staan elf titels. De liedjes zijn meestal kort, stijlvol en eclectisch. Ze bevatten percussie die wat naar hiphop en triphop neigt. Om sommige drumpartijen op te nemen is Xavier Richard bij het project betrokken. De vocals zijn subtiel en mooi om de muziek gedrapeerd. Instrumenten die JB gebruikt: subtiele gitaren, synths,... De muziek klinkt op het eerste gehoor vrij DIY en eenvoudig maar is in feite vrij diepgaand, warm en divers. Je hoort het: de man is niet voor één gat te vangen. Opener Doraleen is een mooie haast feeërieke song, terwijl Jeanne heel wat donkerder en rockend klinkt. Gabrielle is dan eerder zweverig van toon. De falset van Calluaud neigt naar een vrouwenstem. Het verschil is haast onhoorbaar. Ze doet mij bij momenten ook wat aan Chris Corner van IAMX denken.

We horen elf puike tracks met veel variatie en sfeer. Op de binnenhoes staat een citaat van Friedrich Von Hardenberg, een romantische Duitse auteur uit de 18de eeuw. Ergens heeft dit citaat wel zin want je kan zijn muziek ook linken aan romantiek en poëzie.

Sequioa is een modern, origineel en veelzijdig album. Absoluut het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos