tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2016 : FAREWELL - Sequoia

FAREWELL

Sequoia

MusicCD
ElectroHip Hop/RapNu Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
17/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sequoia is the name of a (coastal) sequoia. Once there were several different species. It is also the name of the second album by the hip hop/electro/ nu one man band Farewell (the Frenchman JB Calluaud).

The album contains eleven tracks. The songs are short, stylish and eclectic. The percussion tends towards hip hop and trip hop. In some drum parts Calluaud was assisted by Xavier Richard. The vocals are subtle and beautifully draped around the music. Instruments used by JB: subtle guitars, synths, piano... at first hearing, the music sounds quite DIY and simple, but actually it is quite profound, warm and diverse. It is not easy to mark the guy. Doraleen is a beautiful, almost magical song, while Jeanne sounds a lot darker and rocking. Gabrielle is rather woolly. Calluaud's falsetto sounds like a woman's voice. The difference is almost inaudible. His voice reminds me of Chris Corner (IAMX).

Eleven tracks with lots of variety and atmosphere. On the inside cover you find a quote by Friedrich von Hardenberg, a German romantic writer from the 18th century. A quote that makes sense because somehow you can link his music with romanticism and poetry.

Sequoia is a modern, original and versatile album. Definitely worth exploring.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


NL

Een Sequioa is een (kust)mammoetboom. In de periode vóór de ijstijdenwaren er meerdere soorten. Het is ook de naam van het tweede album van het hip-hop/elektro/nu-éénmansproject Farewell van de Fransman JB Calluaud.

Op het album staan elf titels. De liedjes zijn meestal kort, stijlvol en eclectisch. Ze bevatten percussie die wat naar hiphop en triphop neigt. Om sommige drumpartijen op te nemen is Xavier Richard bij het project betrokken. De vocals zijn subtiel en mooi om de muziek gedrapeerd. Instrumenten die JB gebruikt: subtiele gitaren, synths,... De muziek klinkt op het eerste gehoor vrij DIY en eenvoudig maar is in feite vrij diepgaand, warm en divers. Je hoort het: de man is niet voor één gat te vangen. Opener Doraleen is een mooie haast feeërieke song, terwijl Jeanne heel wat donkerder en rockend klinkt. Gabrielle is dan eerder zweverig van toon. De falset van Calluaud neigt naar een vrouwenstem. Het verschil is haast onhoorbaar. Ze doet mij bij momenten ook wat aan Chris Corner van IAMX denken.

We horen elf puike tracks met veel variatie en sfeer. Op de binnenhoes staat een citaat van Friedrich Von Hardenberg, een romantische Duitse auteur uit de 18de eeuw. Ergens heeft dit citaat wel zin want je kan zijn muziek ook linken aan romantiek en poëzie.

Sequioa is een modern, origineel en veelzijdig album. Absoluut het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)