tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/11/2015 : ABD AL MALIK - Scarifications

ABD AL MALIK

Scarifications

MusicCD
ElectronicsHip Hop/Rap

[93/100]   

PIAS
27/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

At Peek-A-Boo we strive to keep music and politics separated, but when discussing the latest album of Abd Al Malik, we are forced to do the opposite, otherwise his newest CD just wouldn't have any value.This rapper of Congolese origin is a superstar in France, not in the least because he refuses to keep his mouth shut. In his rap lyrics, he criticizes the way politicians deal with problems, and religion plays a big role in his compositions as well. His situation could hardly be more topical, because due to evil influences Abd Al Malik became a Muslim extremist. But that is the past, because now the rapper, married to the French-Moroccan singer Wallen, is the figurehead of Muslims who want to promote Islam as a peaceful religion.

The rap music of Abd Al Malik is quite aggressive. In every song you hear how the Frenchman cries out his displeasure. For Scarifications he cooperated with Laurent Garnier and the result is simply stunning because the French electrogod created an extra doomy atmosphere.

The sound of this album can actually be compared with the best of Tricky, in every song you can hear the anxiety in a metropolis, the fear of ending up alone in this cold world…

There are three songs on which his wife participates, as well as three with Mattéo Falkone. And Abd Al Malik has a good taste: there is a tribute to Daniel Darc (the late Taxi Girl singer), and Juliette Greco. That last track is heart-stopping beautiful.

If you are fond of Massive Attack or Tricky, absolutely listen to this, because Scarifications is one of the most impressive albums of the year!

Didier BECU
27/11/2015


NL

We streven ernaar om bij Peek-A-Boo muziek en politiek netjes gescheiden te houden, maar bij het bespreken van de nieuwste Abd Al Malik zijn we dat verplicht, anders heeft zijn plaat gewoon geen waarde. Deze rapper van Congolese afkomst is in Frankrijk een superster, niet het minst omdat hij steevast weigert om een blad voor zijn mond te nemen. In zijn rapteksten levert hij kritiek op politici en de manier waarop die met problemen omgaan. Ook het geloof speelt een grote rol in zijn composities. Zijn situatie kon moeilijk actueler zijn, want als gevolg van foute invloeden werd Abd Al Malik een moslimextremist. Maar dat is vroeger, omdat de rapper die getrouwd is met de Frans-Marokkaanse zangeres Wallen, ondertussen is uitgegroeid tot het boegbeeld van moslims die de Islam als een vreedzame godsdienst willen promoten.

De rapmuziek van Abd Al Malik is vrij agressief, in iedere track hoor je hoe de Fransman zijn ongenoegen uitschreeuwt. Voor zijn nieuwste album Scarifications werkte hij samen met Laurent Garnier en het resultaat is simpelweg magistraal omdat de Franse electrogod er een extra doomy sfeertje bij creëert. Het geluid van deze aanrader kun je dan ook vergelijken met het beste van Tricky, in iedere track hoor je de angst die je overvalt als je in een metropool bent belandt, de angst om helemaal alleen op de wereld te eindigen…

Er zijn drie tracks waarop zijn vrouw meedoet, alsook drie met Mattéo Falkone. En Abd Al Malik heeft smaak, want er staat zowel een eerbetoon aan Daniel Darc (de betreurde Taxi Girl-zanger) als Juliette Gréco op deze cd. De laatste track is trouwens bloedstollend mooi.

Als je gek bent op Massive Attack of Tricky, luister, want Scarifications is één van de meest beklemmende platen van het jaar!

Didier BECU
27/11/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born