tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/11/2015 : AHRAYEPH - AnimAElegy

AHRAYEPH

AnimAElegy

MusicCD
Gothic Rock
Self-released
25/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when the other band members call it a day? Well, then you do it all by yourself! It took more than seven years for Raf Ahráyeph to finish the successor of Marooned On Samsara, but even if AnimAElegy is not exactly what you call an easy album (who wants that anyway?), the second CD by this Belgian is excellent in all aspects.

Not that it was an easy task for Raf. He knows very well that he’s a perfectionist, and that he is not quicklysatisfied, and above all he had to face some serious health problems. Raf could count on the support of Alex Martin (who did part of the drumming), but basically you can say that Ahráyeph is a one-man project by now.

Raf Ahráyeph's music is often categorized as goth rock, and even if we did that too, his music is much more than that. It is not the kind of music that makes you laugh, and the guitars regularly weep. However, his compositions make you often think of Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree.

Not that you only will hear epic sounds on AnimAElegy, he also likes to expose his inner demons, and a track like Love/No Love is simply one of the most moving songs that has been written in this small country this year. White Square II (an old song by Crucifire that was on a demo from 1996) grabs you by the neck, and you also hear that typical Fields Of The Nephilim sound Raf Ahráyeph often is associated with.

AnimAElegy is a beautiful record of a musician who, due to circumstances, only believes in himself. It surely won’t make his life any easier, but it gives you big music!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


NL

Wat doe je als de andere bandleden het voor bekeken houden? Wel, dan doe je het maar alleen! Het duurde wel meer dan zeven jaar vooraleer Raf Ahráyeph, de opvolger van Marooned On Samsara, klaar had, maar ook al is AnimAElegy een allesbehalve hapklare brok (wie wil dat trouwens?) is de tweede cd van deze Belg uitmuntend op alle vlakken.

Niet dat het een gemakkelijke opgave was voor Raf. Hij weet van zichzelf dat hij steeds het onderste uit de kan wil en dat hij niet gauw een tevreden man is, en bovendien had de muzikant af te rekenen met gezondheidsproblemen. Raf kon wel op de steun van Alex Martin rekenen (die een deel van het drumwerk verzorgt), maar eigenlijk kan je zeggen dat Ahráyeph anno 2015 zo goed als een eenmansproject is.

Raf Ahráyeph wordt dikwijls in het gothrockvakje ondergebracht, en al deden wij dat ook, is zijn muziek veel meer dan dat. Het is geen muziek die je doet schaterlachen en telkens klinken de gitaren wel wat weemoedig, toch doen zijn composities je geregeld aan Pink Floyd of Porcupine Tree denken.

Niet dat het louter epische geluidjes zijn die je op AnimAElegy hoort, hij stort ook graag zijn ziel uit en een track zoals Love/No Love is eenvoudigweg één van de meest aangrijpende die dit jaar in dit kleine landje zijn geschreven. Ook White Square II (een oude Crucifire-track die op een demo uit 1996 stond) grijpt je bij de nek, en je hoort tevens dat typische Fields Of The Nephilim-geluid waar Raf Ahráyeph alsmaar mee geassocieerd wordt.

AnimAElegy is een prachtig schijfje van een muzikant die door omstandigheden louter in zichzelf gelooft, het zal zijn leven er niet gemakkelijker op hebben gemaakt, gelukkig levert het wel grootse muziek op!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire