tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/11/2015 : AHRAYEPH - AnimAElegy

AHRAYEPH

AnimAElegy

MusicCD
Gothic Rock
Self-released
25/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when the other band members call it a day? Well, then you do it all by yourself! It took more than seven years for Raf Ahráyeph to finish the successor of Marooned On Samsara, but even if AnimAElegy is not exactly what you call an easy album (who wants that anyway?), the second CD by this Belgian is excellent in all aspects.

Not that it was an easy task for Raf. He knows very well that he’s a perfectionist, and that he is not quicklysatisfied, and above all he had to face some serious health problems. Raf could count on the support of Alex Martin (who did part of the drumming), but basically you can say that Ahráyeph is a one-man project by now.

Raf Ahráyeph's music is often categorized as goth rock, and even if we did that too, his music is much more than that. It is not the kind of music that makes you laugh, and the guitars regularly weep. However, his compositions make you often think of Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree.

Not that you only will hear epic sounds on AnimAElegy, he also likes to expose his inner demons, and a track like Love/No Love is simply one of the most moving songs that has been written in this small country this year. White Square II (an old song by Crucifire that was on a demo from 1996) grabs you by the neck, and you also hear that typical Fields Of The Nephilim sound Raf Ahráyeph often is associated with.

AnimAElegy is a beautiful record of a musician who, due to circumstances, only believes in himself. It surely won’t make his life any easier, but it gives you big music!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


NL

Wat doe je als de andere bandleden het voor bekeken houden? Wel, dan doe je het maar alleen! Het duurde wel meer dan zeven jaar vooraleer Raf Ahráyeph, de opvolger van Marooned On Samsara, klaar had, maar ook al is AnimAElegy een allesbehalve hapklare brok (wie wil dat trouwens?) is de tweede cd van deze Belg uitmuntend op alle vlakken.

Niet dat het een gemakkelijke opgave was voor Raf. Hij weet van zichzelf dat hij steeds het onderste uit de kan wil en dat hij niet gauw een tevreden man is, en bovendien had de muzikant af te rekenen met gezondheidsproblemen. Raf kon wel op de steun van Alex Martin rekenen (die een deel van het drumwerk verzorgt), maar eigenlijk kan je zeggen dat Ahráyeph anno 2015 zo goed als een eenmansproject is.

Raf Ahráyeph wordt dikwijls in het gothrockvakje ondergebracht, en al deden wij dat ook, is zijn muziek veel meer dan dat. Het is geen muziek die je doet schaterlachen en telkens klinken de gitaren wel wat weemoedig, toch doen zijn composities je geregeld aan Pink Floyd of Porcupine Tree denken.

Niet dat het louter epische geluidjes zijn die je op AnimAElegy hoort, hij stort ook graag zijn ziel uit en een track zoals Love/No Love is eenvoudigweg één van de meest aangrijpende die dit jaar in dit kleine landje zijn geschreven. Ook White Square II (een oude Crucifire-track die op een demo uit 1996 stond) grijpt je bij de nek, en je hoort tevens dat typische Fields Of The Nephilim-geluid waar Raf Ahráyeph alsmaar mee geassocieerd wordt.

AnimAElegy is een prachtig schijfje van een muzikant die door omstandigheden louter in zichzelf gelooft, het zal zijn leven er niet gemakkelijker op hebben gemaakt, gelukkig levert het wel grootse muziek op!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
09
PORTION CONTROL
LIVE @ SCHLAGSTROM - 2014