tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/11/2015 : AHRAYEPH - AnimAElegy

AHRAYEPH

AnimAElegy

MusicCD
Gothic Rock
Self-released
25/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when the other band members call it a day? Well, then you do it all by yourself! It took more than seven years for Raf Ahráyeph to finish the successor of Marooned On Samsara, but even if AnimAElegy is not exactly what you call an easy album (who wants that anyway?), the second CD by this Belgian is excellent in all aspects.

Not that it was an easy task for Raf. He knows very well that he’s a perfectionist, and that he is not quicklysatisfied, and above all he had to face some serious health problems. Raf could count on the support of Alex Martin (who did part of the drumming), but basically you can say that Ahráyeph is a one-man project by now.

Raf Ahráyeph's music is often categorized as goth rock, and even if we did that too, his music is much more than that. It is not the kind of music that makes you laugh, and the guitars regularly weep. However, his compositions make you often think of Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree.

Not that you only will hear epic sounds on AnimAElegy, he also likes to expose his inner demons, and a track like Love/No Love is simply one of the most moving songs that has been written in this small country this year. White Square II (an old song by Crucifire that was on a demo from 1996) grabs you by the neck, and you also hear that typical Fields Of The Nephilim sound Raf Ahráyeph often is associated with.

AnimAElegy is a beautiful record of a musician who, due to circumstances, only believes in himself. It surely won’t make his life any easier, but it gives you big music!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


NL

Wat doe je als de andere bandleden het voor bekeken houden? Wel, dan doe je het maar alleen! Het duurde wel meer dan zeven jaar vooraleer Raf Ahráyeph, de opvolger van Marooned On Samsara, klaar had, maar ook al is AnimAElegy een allesbehalve hapklare brok (wie wil dat trouwens?) is de tweede cd van deze Belg uitmuntend op alle vlakken.

Niet dat het een gemakkelijke opgave was voor Raf. Hij weet van zichzelf dat hij steeds het onderste uit de kan wil en dat hij niet gauw een tevreden man is, en bovendien had de muzikant af te rekenen met gezondheidsproblemen. Raf kon wel op de steun van Alex Martin rekenen (die een deel van het drumwerk verzorgt), maar eigenlijk kan je zeggen dat Ahráyeph anno 2015 zo goed als een eenmansproject is.

Raf Ahráyeph wordt dikwijls in het gothrockvakje ondergebracht, en al deden wij dat ook, is zijn muziek veel meer dan dat. Het is geen muziek die je doet schaterlachen en telkens klinken de gitaren wel wat weemoedig, toch doen zijn composities je geregeld aan Pink Floyd of Porcupine Tree denken.

Niet dat het louter epische geluidjes zijn die je op AnimAElegy hoort, hij stort ook graag zijn ziel uit en een track zoals Love/No Love is eenvoudigweg één van de meest aangrijpende die dit jaar in dit kleine landje zijn geschreven. Ook White Square II (een oude Crucifire-track die op een demo uit 1996 stond) grijpt je bij de nek, en je hoort tevens dat typische Fields Of The Nephilim-geluid waar Raf Ahráyeph alsmaar mee geassocieerd wordt.

AnimAElegy is een prachtig schijfje van een muzikant die door omstandigheden louter in zichzelf gelooft, het zal zijn leven er niet gemakkelijker op hebben gemaakt, gelukkig levert het wel grootse muziek op!

Didier BECU
25/11/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky