tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/11/2015 : BROTHERS & BONES - Brothers & Bones

BROTHERS & BONES

Brothers & Bones

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmericanaFolk

[85/100]   

Last Step Records
24/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You can’t ignore the similarities with Mumford & Sons while listening to this album. The voice has the same timbre, and musically you can’t deny that there are similarities either. First I was going to write that Brothers & Bones are more alternative rock, but it seems like Mumford & Sons are doing the same on their latest album... Anyway, apart from that, this album by Brothers & Bones deserves our attention, simply because it is a good one.

During ten songs they come up with a sound that would do fine on big stages or in festival tents. Their songs are perfectly made for it. Their music is a mix of folk, Americana and alternative rock. Kerosene is a strong opener in which some Native American elements can be discerned. There are lots of catchy choruses with the usual "ho" and "ha". Omaha starts with a rocking riff, later complemented with the folk guitar and the matching percussion. An appropriate single. It wouldn't surprise me if these songs evoked a party atmosphere on stage. Also, the more emotional songs like Raining Stone are great to listen to. The main target group however will be young women, because that is what the looks, the vocals and the lyrics suggest!

Brothers & Bones has all the ingredients to make it. It's a pity that Mumford & Sons (them again!) have done it before. Nevertheless, an album to discover. You will not regret it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


NL

Je kan niet om de gelijkenissen met Mumford & Sons tijdens het beluisteren van dit album. De stem heeft dezelfde klankkleur en ook muzikaal kan je niet ontkennen dat er overeenkomsten zijn. Ik ging eerst neerpennen dat Brothers & Bones meer alternatieve rock in z'n songs stopt, maar Mumford & Sons blijken dit op hun laatste plaat ook al te doen… Maar goed, los daarvan is deze plaat van Brothers & Bones onze aandacht meer dan waard, gewoon omdat die degelijk en goed is.

Gedurende tien songs zetten ze een geluid neer dat het prima zou doen op grote podia of in festivaltenten zoals Werchter of Pukkelpop. Hun weidse en epische geluid is er gewoon voor gemaakt. Hun muziek is een mengeling van folk, Americana en alternatieve rock. Kerosene is een sterke opener waarin wat native Americana-elementen te ontwaren zijn. Veel meezingbare refreinen met de gebruikelijke “ho’s” en “ha’s”. Omaha vertrekt vanuit een rockende riff, waaraan later de folkgitaar wordt toegevoegd met de bijpassende percussie. Een terechte single. Het zou mij verbazen als deze nummers live niet voor wat feestgewoel zorgen. Ook de meer emotionele songs, zoals Raining Stone, zijn aangenaam luistervoer. De voornaamste doelgroep zal ongetwijfeld bestaan uit jonge vrouwen, ten minste dat laten de looks, de zang en de teksten toch vermoeden!

Brothers & Bones heeft alles mee om het te maken. Alleen jammer dat Mumford & Sons (alweer die) ze reeds zijn voorgegaan. Doe desondanks toch maar eens de moeite om ze te ontdekken. Je zal het je niet beklagen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate