tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/11/2015 : BROTHERS & BONES - Brothers & Bones

BROTHERS & BONES

Brothers & Bones

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmericanaFolk

[85/100]   

Last Step Records
24/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You can’t ignore the similarities with Mumford & Sons while listening to this album. The voice has the same timbre, and musically you can’t deny that there are similarities either. First I was going to write that Brothers & Bones are more alternative rock, but it seems like Mumford & Sons are doing the same on their latest album... Anyway, apart from that, this album by Brothers & Bones deserves our attention, simply because it is a good one.

During ten songs they come up with a sound that would do fine on big stages or in festival tents. Their songs are perfectly made for it. Their music is a mix of folk, Americana and alternative rock. Kerosene is a strong opener in which some Native American elements can be discerned. There are lots of catchy choruses with the usual "ho" and "ha". Omaha starts with a rocking riff, later complemented with the folk guitar and the matching percussion. An appropriate single. It wouldn't surprise me if these songs evoked a party atmosphere on stage. Also, the more emotional songs like Raining Stone are great to listen to. The main target group however will be young women, because that is what the looks, the vocals and the lyrics suggest!

Brothers & Bones has all the ingredients to make it. It's a pity that Mumford & Sons (them again!) have done it before. Nevertheless, an album to discover. You will not regret it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


NL

Je kan niet om de gelijkenissen met Mumford & Sons tijdens het beluisteren van dit album. De stem heeft dezelfde klankkleur en ook muzikaal kan je niet ontkennen dat er overeenkomsten zijn. Ik ging eerst neerpennen dat Brothers & Bones meer alternatieve rock in z'n songs stopt, maar Mumford & Sons blijken dit op hun laatste plaat ook al te doen… Maar goed, los daarvan is deze plaat van Brothers & Bones onze aandacht meer dan waard, gewoon omdat die degelijk en goed is.

Gedurende tien songs zetten ze een geluid neer dat het prima zou doen op grote podia of in festivaltenten zoals Werchter of Pukkelpop. Hun weidse en epische geluid is er gewoon voor gemaakt. Hun muziek is een mengeling van folk, Americana en alternatieve rock. Kerosene is een sterke opener waarin wat native Americana-elementen te ontwaren zijn. Veel meezingbare refreinen met de gebruikelijke “ho’s” en “ha’s”. Omaha vertrekt vanuit een rockende riff, waaraan later de folkgitaar wordt toegevoegd met de bijpassende percussie. Een terechte single. Het zou mij verbazen als deze nummers live niet voor wat feestgewoel zorgen. Ook de meer emotionele songs, zoals Raining Stone, zijn aangenaam luistervoer. De voornaamste doelgroep zal ongetwijfeld bestaan uit jonge vrouwen, ten minste dat laten de looks, de zang en de teksten toch vermoeden!

Brothers & Bones heeft alles mee om het te maken. Alleen jammer dat Mumford & Sons (alweer die) ze reeds zijn voorgegaan. Doe desondanks toch maar eens de moeite om ze te ontdekken. Je zal het je niet beklagen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness