tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/11/2015 : BROTHERS & BONES - Brothers & Bones

BROTHERS & BONES

Brothers & Bones

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmericanaFolk

[85/100]   

Last Step Records
24/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You can’t ignore the similarities with Mumford & Sons while listening to this album. The voice has the same timbre, and musically you can’t deny that there are similarities either. First I was going to write that Brothers & Bones are more alternative rock, but it seems like Mumford & Sons are doing the same on their latest album... Anyway, apart from that, this album by Brothers & Bones deserves our attention, simply because it is a good one.

During ten songs they come up with a sound that would do fine on big stages or in festival tents. Their songs are perfectly made for it. Their music is a mix of folk, Americana and alternative rock. Kerosene is a strong opener in which some Native American elements can be discerned. There are lots of catchy choruses with the usual "ho" and "ha". Omaha starts with a rocking riff, later complemented with the folk guitar and the matching percussion. An appropriate single. It wouldn't surprise me if these songs evoked a party atmosphere on stage. Also, the more emotional songs like Raining Stone are great to listen to. The main target group however will be young women, because that is what the looks, the vocals and the lyrics suggest!

Brothers & Bones has all the ingredients to make it. It's a pity that Mumford & Sons (them again!) have done it before. Nevertheless, an album to discover. You will not regret it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


NL

Je kan niet om de gelijkenissen met Mumford & Sons tijdens het beluisteren van dit album. De stem heeft dezelfde klankkleur en ook muzikaal kan je niet ontkennen dat er overeenkomsten zijn. Ik ging eerst neerpennen dat Brothers & Bones meer alternatieve rock in z'n songs stopt, maar Mumford & Sons blijken dit op hun laatste plaat ook al te doen… Maar goed, los daarvan is deze plaat van Brothers & Bones onze aandacht meer dan waard, gewoon omdat die degelijk en goed is.

Gedurende tien songs zetten ze een geluid neer dat het prima zou doen op grote podia of in festivaltenten zoals Werchter of Pukkelpop. Hun weidse en epische geluid is er gewoon voor gemaakt. Hun muziek is een mengeling van folk, Americana en alternatieve rock. Kerosene is een sterke opener waarin wat native Americana-elementen te ontwaren zijn. Veel meezingbare refreinen met de gebruikelijke “ho’s” en “ha’s”. Omaha vertrekt vanuit een rockende riff, waaraan later de folkgitaar wordt toegevoegd met de bijpassende percussie. Een terechte single. Het zou mij verbazen als deze nummers live niet voor wat feestgewoel zorgen. Ook de meer emotionele songs, zoals Raining Stone, zijn aangenaam luistervoer. De voornaamste doelgroep zal ongetwijfeld bestaan uit jonge vrouwen, ten minste dat laten de looks, de zang en de teksten toch vermoeden!

Brothers & Bones heeft alles mee om het te maken. Alleen jammer dat Mumford & Sons (alweer die) ze reeds zijn voorgegaan. Doe desondanks toch maar eens de moeite om ze te ontdekken. Je zal het je niet beklagen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation