tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/11/2015 : BROTHERS & BONES - Brothers & Bones

BROTHERS & BONES

Brothers & Bones

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmericanaFolk

[85/100]   

Last Step Records
24/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You can’t ignore the similarities with Mumford & Sons while listening to this album. The voice has the same timbre, and musically you can’t deny that there are similarities either. First I was going to write that Brothers & Bones are more alternative rock, but it seems like Mumford & Sons are doing the same on their latest album... Anyway, apart from that, this album by Brothers & Bones deserves our attention, simply because it is a good one.

During ten songs they come up with a sound that would do fine on big stages or in festival tents. Their songs are perfectly made for it. Their music is a mix of folk, Americana and alternative rock. Kerosene is a strong opener in which some Native American elements can be discerned. There are lots of catchy choruses with the usual "ho" and "ha". Omaha starts with a rocking riff, later complemented with the folk guitar and the matching percussion. An appropriate single. It wouldn't surprise me if these songs evoked a party atmosphere on stage. Also, the more emotional songs like Raining Stone are great to listen to. The main target group however will be young women, because that is what the looks, the vocals and the lyrics suggest!

Brothers & Bones has all the ingredients to make it. It's a pity that Mumford & Sons (them again!) have done it before. Nevertheless, an album to discover. You will not regret it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


NL

Je kan niet om de gelijkenissen met Mumford & Sons tijdens het beluisteren van dit album. De stem heeft dezelfde klankkleur en ook muzikaal kan je niet ontkennen dat er overeenkomsten zijn. Ik ging eerst neerpennen dat Brothers & Bones meer alternatieve rock in z'n songs stopt, maar Mumford & Sons blijken dit op hun laatste plaat ook al te doen… Maar goed, los daarvan is deze plaat van Brothers & Bones onze aandacht meer dan waard, gewoon omdat die degelijk en goed is.

Gedurende tien songs zetten ze een geluid neer dat het prima zou doen op grote podia of in festivaltenten zoals Werchter of Pukkelpop. Hun weidse en epische geluid is er gewoon voor gemaakt. Hun muziek is een mengeling van folk, Americana en alternatieve rock. Kerosene is een sterke opener waarin wat native Americana-elementen te ontwaren zijn. Veel meezingbare refreinen met de gebruikelijke “ho’s” en “ha’s”. Omaha vertrekt vanuit een rockende riff, waaraan later de folkgitaar wordt toegevoegd met de bijpassende percussie. Een terechte single. Het zou mij verbazen als deze nummers live niet voor wat feestgewoel zorgen. Ook de meer emotionele songs, zoals Raining Stone, zijn aangenaam luistervoer. De voornaamste doelgroep zal ongetwijfeld bestaan uit jonge vrouwen, ten minste dat laten de looks, de zang en de teksten toch vermoeden!

Brothers & Bones heeft alles mee om het te maken. Alleen jammer dat Mumford & Sons (alweer die) ze reeds zijn voorgegaan. Doe desondanks toch maar eens de moeite om ze te ontdekken. Je zal het je niet beklagen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova