tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

23/11/2015 : SEPTEMBER MOURNING - Volume 1

SEPTEMBER MOURNING

Volume 1

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockGothicIndustrial RockNu Metal

[85/100]   
23/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

What a voice Emily Lazar has! In her role as September, she sounds sweet, intense, rough and subdued. Volume 1 is the musical accompaniment of the band's self-made comics.

A new hit for lovers of industrial rock, alternative and modern hard rock and gothic metal. The band took its time and the bandmembers are real perfectionists. That's why it took a while before the first EP was released. The image is clever, the production sounds fat and the music has many moods (bombastic when needed, restrained where possible, but above all with a lot of power).

The Collection is an intriguing intro, but on Angels Of Dust the band goes full speed, especially with the incomparable voice of September. From bittersweet to almost grunt, she can handle it all. Musically, the band is reminiscent of The Birthday Massacre, but more complete, harder (when necessary) and more varied. The songs are well constructed, and a semi-ballad like Before The Fall sounds convincing.

September Mourning sounds nowhere innovative, just listen to the intro of Children Of Fate, but it's all so well done that at the end of the day the track convinces. The weakest track is the cover of the classic Stand By Me (originally by Ben E. King in 1961). That song has been recorderd by U2, Ike & Tina Turner, Green Day or Pennywise, and it’s crystal clear that it is a classic in the purest sense of the word. But the fact that their weakest song is a cover, says enough! Skin by Skunk Anansie has a serious competitor, because what a voice this is!

Ron SCHOONWATER
23/11/2015


NL

Wat een stem! Emily Lazar klinkt lief, heftig, ruig en ingetogen in haar rol als September. Volume 1 is de muzikale omlijsting van het eigen ontworpen stripverhaal.

Liefhebbers van industrial rock, alternatieve en moderne hardrock en gothic metal hebben er met deze band een nieuwe hit bij. De band is al een tijdje bezig en de leden zijn duidelijk perfectionisten. Daarom duurde het even voordat hun eerste ep op de markt kwam. Het imago is weloverwogen in elkaar gezet, de productie is moddervet en de muziek is van alle markten thuis (bombastisch als het moet, ingetogen waar het kan en vooral met heel veel power).

Waar The Collection nog gezien mag worden als een intrigerend intro, gaat de band op Angels Of Dust helemaal los. Dan komt die weergaloze stem van September helemaal tot haar recht. Van mierzoet tot bijna grunt, ze kan het allemaal aan. Muzikaal doet het denken aan The Birthday Massacre, maar dan completer, harder (waar het moet) en gevarieerder. De tracks zitten prima in elkaar, waardoor een semi-ballad als Before The Fall glad, maar ook overtuigend klinkt.

September Mourning klinkt nergens vernieuwend, luister bijvoorbeeld naar de herkenbare intro van Children Of Fate, maar het is allemaal zo goed gedaan dat de song fier overeind blijft. Feit is eigenlijk dat het enige nummer dat wat minder uit de verf komt een cover is: de klassieker Stand By Me (oorspronkelijk van Ben E. King uit 1961). Die track heeft zich (o.a. ook in de veries van U2, Ike & Tina Turner, Green Day of Pennywise) toch bewezen, zou je denken, maar eigenlijk klinken de eigen songs veel beter. Dat zegt iets over hun kwaliteit. Feit is wel dat September ook op deze laatste track laat horen dat Skin van Skunk Anansie er een geduchte concurrent bij heeft, want wat een stem!

Ron SCHOONWATER
23/11/2015


 

Next reviews
THE STRANGLERS • Vilvoorde, CC Het Bolwerk 18/11/15
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
HOCICO • Ofensor
LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK • Shadows
LA MUERTE • EViL (live at the AB)
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
MILD CLUB HIGH • Timeline
OFFICIAL BURNT TOAST • Money As Debt
PARADOX OBSCUR • Anacrusis

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy

 

Same genre: NU METAL
SMASH HIT COMBO • Playmore
WORLD GONE • EP
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover