tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/05/2015 : WAITING FOR - The Hexen

WAITING FOR

The Hexen

MusicCD
CrossoverHardcoreNu Metal

[51/100]   

Black Label/XL Drums
05/05/2015, Benny CALUWE

Waiting For is band from Liège, Belgium. The band used to be called The Hexen. Their debut album is produced by Billy Grazeidie of Biohazard. That indicates in which direction they are going. So you can expect a crossover between metal and hardcore. Limp Bizkit and Faith No More came to mind while listening to The Hexen.

The album starts with Nothing but the beginning, a fine instrumental with a low and heavy riff. The bass guitar comes peeking through nicely. The album is well produced. All the instruments can be heard well. And that’s no evidence. Can you hear any bass guitar on Metallica’s ‘And Justice For All’ for instance? Hardly. So, the production is great and I don’t really have complaints about this album instrumentally either. The guitars alter heavy riffs with more melodic parts and I can approve the drums as well.

Unfortunately the vocals aren’t on the same level as the music. By switching between vocalists Waiting For goes for a varied and dynamic sound. Nothing but good intentions here. Screams and punky vocals are altered with clean vocals. But the clean vocals sound terrible. They are simply substandard.

Waiting For also lacks the tracks. Throughout the album some nice instrumental parts can be heard. Occasionally I even clenched my fist. But an impressive song, a terrific track that blows me away, I could not find it, despite multiple listens.

Nothing but the beginning. But are people waiting for the follow-up? I doubt it. I am not, anyway.

Benny CALUWE
05/05/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination