tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/05/2015 : WAITING FOR - The Hexen

WAITING FOR

The Hexen

MusicCD
CrossoverHardcoreNu Metal

[51/100]   

Black Label/XL Drums
05/05/2015, Benny CALUWE

Waiting For is band from Liège, Belgium. The band used to be called The Hexen. Their debut album is produced by Billy Grazeidie of Biohazard. That indicates in which direction they are going. So you can expect a crossover between metal and hardcore. Limp Bizkit and Faith No More came to mind while listening to The Hexen.

The album starts with Nothing but the beginning, a fine instrumental with a low and heavy riff. The bass guitar comes peeking through nicely. The album is well produced. All the instruments can be heard well. And that’s no evidence. Can you hear any bass guitar on Metallica’s ‘And Justice For All’ for instance? Hardly. So, the production is great and I don’t really have complaints about this album instrumentally either. The guitars alter heavy riffs with more melodic parts and I can approve the drums as well.

Unfortunately the vocals aren’t on the same level as the music. By switching between vocalists Waiting For goes for a varied and dynamic sound. Nothing but good intentions here. Screams and punky vocals are altered with clean vocals. But the clean vocals sound terrible. They are simply substandard.

Waiting For also lacks the tracks. Throughout the album some nice instrumental parts can be heard. Occasionally I even clenched my fist. But an impressive song, a terrific track that blows me away, I could not find it, despite multiple listens.

Nothing but the beginning. But are people waiting for the follow-up? I doubt it. I am not, anyway.

Benny CALUWE
05/05/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion