tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume

SKINDRED

Volume

MusicCD
Crossover

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
14/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Crossover is a genre that was very popular during the 90s, just think of bands like Red Hot Chili Peppers, Faith No More, Living Colour or Rage Against The Machine. Usually this genre was a combination of funk, rap, punk and metal.

Skindred is a band that mixes metal and reggae, a not so obvious genre. Moreover, they also add some elements from punk, hip hop and rap and they call it ragga Metal. Maybe you already saw them on big festivals like Pukkelpop. They had not the huge success as aforementioned bands, but by remaining loyal to their style, Skindred made some good albums and can rely on a splendid live reputation. Perhaps that is the reason why they are still strong.

On Volume we hear another bunch of fine songs with heavy riffs, delicate vocals/raps, some hip-hop influences and a vibrant and melodic sound. Listen for example at the pretty emotional Saying It Now that contains some nice guitar work. The single Under Attack and songs like Straight Jacket andVolume sound catchy and straightforward. All in all, the album is a homogeneous work despite the many styles. In contrast to the previous record, the reggae influences are limited and the songs sound better than on the more mainstream album Kill the Power.

Skindred delivers a strong and melodic album that easily can stand next to Babylon or Shark Bites and Dog Fights. You can order the CD with the added DVD Rude Boys Life, which contains footage from the past 15 years and thus provides a perfect picture behind the scenes.

On 16th November, Skindred will play at the 013 in Tilburg.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/10/2015


NL

Cross-over is een genre dat erg populair was tijdens de jaren negentig, denk maar aan bands zoals Red Hot Chili Peppers, Faith No More, Living Colour of Rage Against The Machine. Meestal was het een combinatie van funk, rap, punk en metal.

Skindred is een band die vooral metal en reggae mengt, een niet zo voor de hand liggend genre dus. Bovendien voegen ze daaraan ook nog wat elementen uit de punk, hiphop en de rapscene toe. Zelf noemen ze het Ragga Metal. Misschien heb je ze al op Pukkelpop aan het werk gezien waar ze in 2010 en 2012 speelden. Ze hadden niet het grote succes zoals eerder genoemde bands, maar bleven wel loyaal aan hun muziek en dat leverde enkele goede albums op en een stevige livereputatie. Misschien is dat wel de reden waarom ze vandaag nog zo sterk staan.

Op Volume krijgen we opnieuw een handvol fijne nummers met heavy riffs, fijne vocals/raps en wat hiphop invloeden te horen, en een vitaal en melodisch geluid. Luister bijv. maar eens naar het vrij emotionele Saying it Now dat aardig gitaarwerk bevat. De single Under Attack en nummers zoals Straight Jacket en Volume klinken catchy en recht toe recht aan. Al bij al is het album ondanks de vele stijlen homogeen. De reggae-invloeden zijn, in tegenstelling tot de vroegere platen, wat beperkt gebleven en de nummers zitten beter in elkaar dan op het meer mainstream getinte Kill the Power.

Met Volume levert Skindred een sterk en melodisch album af dat gemakkelijk naast Babylon of Shark Bites and Dogs Fights kan staan. Bovendien kan je de cd bestellen met de toegevoegde dvd Rude Boys in Life, die beeldmateriaal van de afgelopen 15 jaar bevat en zo een beeld achter de schermen biedt.

Op 16 november staat Skindred op het podium van de 013 in Tilburg.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/10/2015


14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume 14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)