tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume

SKINDRED

Volume

MusicCD
Crossover

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
14/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Crossover is a genre that was very popular during the 90s, just think of bands like Red Hot Chili Peppers, Faith No More, Living Colour or Rage Against The Machine. Usually this genre was a combination of funk, rap, punk and metal.

Skindred is a band that mixes metal and reggae, a not so obvious genre. Moreover, they also add some elements from punk, hip hop and rap and they call it ragga Metal. Maybe you already saw them on big festivals like Pukkelpop. They had not the huge success as aforementioned bands, but by remaining loyal to their style, Skindred made some good albums and can rely on a splendid live reputation. Perhaps that is the reason why they are still strong.

On Volume we hear another bunch of fine songs with heavy riffs, delicate vocals/raps, some hip-hop influences and a vibrant and melodic sound. Listen for example at the pretty emotional Saying It Now that contains some nice guitar work. The single Under Attack and songs like Straight Jacket andVolume sound catchy and straightforward. All in all, the album is a homogeneous work despite the many styles. In contrast to the previous record, the reggae influences are limited and the songs sound better than on the more mainstream album Kill the Power.

Skindred delivers a strong and melodic album that easily can stand next to Babylon or Shark Bites and Dog Fights. You can order the CD with the added DVD Rude Boys Life, which contains footage from the past 15 years and thus provides a perfect picture behind the scenes.

On 16th November, Skindred will play at the 013 in Tilburg.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/10/2015


NL

Cross-over is een genre dat erg populair was tijdens de jaren negentig, denk maar aan bands zoals Red Hot Chili Peppers, Faith No More, Living Colour of Rage Against The Machine. Meestal was het een combinatie van funk, rap, punk en metal.

Skindred is een band die vooral metal en reggae mengt, een niet zo voor de hand liggend genre dus. Bovendien voegen ze daaraan ook nog wat elementen uit de punk, hiphop en de rapscene toe. Zelf noemen ze het Ragga Metal. Misschien heb je ze al op Pukkelpop aan het werk gezien waar ze in 2010 en 2012 speelden. Ze hadden niet het grote succes zoals eerder genoemde bands, maar bleven wel loyaal aan hun muziek en dat leverde enkele goede albums op en een stevige livereputatie. Misschien is dat wel de reden waarom ze vandaag nog zo sterk staan.

Op Volume krijgen we opnieuw een handvol fijne nummers met heavy riffs, fijne vocals/raps en wat hiphop invloeden te horen, en een vitaal en melodisch geluid. Luister bijv. maar eens naar het vrij emotionele Saying it Now dat aardig gitaarwerk bevat. De single Under Attack en nummers zoals Straight Jacket en Volume klinken catchy en recht toe recht aan. Al bij al is het album ondanks de vele stijlen homogeen. De reggae-invloeden zijn, in tegenstelling tot de vroegere platen, wat beperkt gebleven en de nummers zitten beter in elkaar dan op het meer mainstream getinte Kill the Power.

Met Volume levert Skindred een sterk en melodisch album af dat gemakkelijk naast Babylon of Shark Bites and Dogs Fights kan staan. Bovendien kan je de cd bestellen met de toegevoegde dvd Rude Boys in Life, die beeldmateriaal van de afgelopen 15 jaar bevat en zo een beeld achter de schermen biedt.

Op 16 november staat Skindred op het podium van de 013 in Tilburg.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/10/2015


14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume 14/10/2015 : SKINDRED - Volume

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life