tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : MISCHIEF BREW - This is Not For Children

MISCHIEF BREW

This is Not For Children

MusicCD
CrossoverFolkPunk

[78/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
10/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A dark club hall, a crowd showered with beer ald loudly singing along on a mixture of guitar, sing along choruses, occasional violins and harmonicas. The whole has an Irish-English feel like The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques or Dropkick Murphy’ s. The only difference: these are Americans from Philadelphia and have arisen out from the ashes of the punk band The Orphans.

The musical concept is known when you read the first paragraph. It rattles a bit sometimes and the vocals are not in tune here and there (like on 'bad heart'), but that’s no problem on this album. There are some nice songs with a big DIY attitude. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ has a base that reminds a little to ‘The Storm’ by ‘Big Country’. The violin gives the song some draft. The single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is also a nice one with a nostalgic lyric about a place where you can’ t stay but where you still want to come back. ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy and ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is a nice last song.

The chance that we will ever see this band on stage in Europe is small and that’ s a pity, because I presume that they can set the house on fire. In the meantime we warm ourselves with this album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


NL

Een donkere clubzaal, een met bier overgoten menigte die luidkeels staat te brallen op een mengeling van gitaar, meezingbare refreinen, occasionele viool en mondharmonica. Het geheel heeft de Ierse-Engelse sfeer van The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques of Dropkick Murphy’ s. Enig verschil: dit is een Amerikaanse band uit Philadelphia, opgestaan uit de as van de punkband The Orphans.

Het muzikale concept is bekend als je de eerdere alinea gelezen hebt. Het rammelt soms wel eens en op ‘Bad Heart’ klinken de vocals niet altijd toonvast, maar dat is niet meteen een groot probleem. Er staan wel degelijke, leuke songs op dit album dat een grote DIY-attitude uitstraalt. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ heeft een basis die wat aan ‘The Storm’ van Big Country doet denken. De viool doet hier goed haar werk en geeft wat diepgang aan de song. De single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is een leuke single met een nostalgische tekst die verwijst naar een plaats waar je graag vertrekt en terugkomt. Ook ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy en ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is een aardige afsluiter.

De kans dat we deze band hier in Europa aan het werk zullen zien is klein en dat is jammer, want het lijkt mij een band dat live vonken kan geven. In tussentijd zullen we ons moeten verwarmen aan deze schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel