tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : MISCHIEF BREW - This is Not For Children

MISCHIEF BREW

This is Not For Children

MusicCD
CrossoverFolkPunk

[78/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
10/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A dark club hall, a crowd showered with beer ald loudly singing along on a mixture of guitar, sing along choruses, occasional violins and harmonicas. The whole has an Irish-English feel like The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques or Dropkick Murphy’ s. The only difference: these are Americans from Philadelphia and have arisen out from the ashes of the punk band The Orphans.

The musical concept is known when you read the first paragraph. It rattles a bit sometimes and the vocals are not in tune here and there (like on 'bad heart'), but that’s no problem on this album. There are some nice songs with a big DIY attitude. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ has a base that reminds a little to ‘The Storm’ by ‘Big Country’. The violin gives the song some draft. The single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is also a nice one with a nostalgic lyric about a place where you can’ t stay but where you still want to come back. ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy and ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is a nice last song.

The chance that we will ever see this band on stage in Europe is small and that’ s a pity, because I presume that they can set the house on fire. In the meantime we warm ourselves with this album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


NL

Een donkere clubzaal, een met bier overgoten menigte die luidkeels staat te brallen op een mengeling van gitaar, meezingbare refreinen, occasionele viool en mondharmonica. Het geheel heeft de Ierse-Engelse sfeer van The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques of Dropkick Murphy’ s. Enig verschil: dit is een Amerikaanse band uit Philadelphia, opgestaan uit de as van de punkband The Orphans.

Het muzikale concept is bekend als je de eerdere alinea gelezen hebt. Het rammelt soms wel eens en op ‘Bad Heart’ klinken de vocals niet altijd toonvast, maar dat is niet meteen een groot probleem. Er staan wel degelijke, leuke songs op dit album dat een grote DIY-attitude uitstraalt. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ heeft een basis die wat aan ‘The Storm’ van Big Country doet denken. De viool doet hier goed haar werk en geeft wat diepgang aan de song. De single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is een leuke single met een nostalgische tekst die verwijst naar een plaats waar je graag vertrekt en terugkomt. Ook ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy en ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is een aardige afsluiter.

De kans dat we deze band hier in Europa aan het werk zullen zien is klein en dat is jammer, want het lijkt mij een band dat live vonken kan geven. In tussentijd zullen we ons moeten verwarmen aan deze schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: FOLK
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL