tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : MISCHIEF BREW - This is Not For Children

MISCHIEF BREW

This is Not For Children

MusicCD
CrossoverFolkPunk

[78/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
10/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A dark club hall, a crowd showered with beer ald loudly singing along on a mixture of guitar, sing along choruses, occasional violins and harmonicas. The whole has an Irish-English feel like The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques or Dropkick Murphy’ s. The only difference: these are Americans from Philadelphia and have arisen out from the ashes of the punk band The Orphans.

The musical concept is known when you read the first paragraph. It rattles a bit sometimes and the vocals are not in tune here and there (like on 'bad heart'), but that’s no problem on this album. There are some nice songs with a big DIY attitude. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ has a base that reminds a little to ‘The Storm’ by ‘Big Country’. The violin gives the song some draft. The single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is also a nice one with a nostalgic lyric about a place where you can’ t stay but where you still want to come back. ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy and ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is a nice last song.

The chance that we will ever see this band on stage in Europe is small and that’ s a pity, because I presume that they can set the house on fire. In the meantime we warm ourselves with this album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


NL

Een donkere clubzaal, een met bier overgoten menigte die luidkeels staat te brallen op een mengeling van gitaar, meezingbare refreinen, occasionele viool en mondharmonica. Het geheel heeft de Ierse-Engelse sfeer van The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques of Dropkick Murphy’ s. Enig verschil: dit is een Amerikaanse band uit Philadelphia, opgestaan uit de as van de punkband The Orphans.

Het muzikale concept is bekend als je de eerdere alinea gelezen hebt. Het rammelt soms wel eens en op ‘Bad Heart’ klinken de vocals niet altijd toonvast, maar dat is niet meteen een groot probleem. Er staan wel degelijke, leuke songs op dit album dat een grote DIY-attitude uitstraalt. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ heeft een basis die wat aan ‘The Storm’ van Big Country doet denken. De viool doet hier goed haar werk en geeft wat diepgang aan de song. De single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is een leuke single met een nostalgische tekst die verwijst naar een plaats waar je graag vertrekt en terugkomt. Ook ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy en ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is een aardige afsluiter.

De kans dat we deze band hier in Europa aan het werk zullen zien is klein en dat is jammer, want het lijkt mij een band dat live vonken kan geven. In tussentijd zullen we ons moeten verwarmen aan deze schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom