tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : MISCHIEF BREW - This is Not For Children

MISCHIEF BREW

This is Not For Children

MusicCD
CrossoverFolkPunk

[78/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
10/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A dark club hall, a crowd showered with beer ald loudly singing along on a mixture of guitar, sing along choruses, occasional violins and harmonicas. The whole has an Irish-English feel like The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques or Dropkick Murphy’ s. The only difference: these are Americans from Philadelphia and have arisen out from the ashes of the punk band The Orphans.

The musical concept is known when you read the first paragraph. It rattles a bit sometimes and the vocals are not in tune here and there (like on 'bad heart'), but that’s no problem on this album. There are some nice songs with a big DIY attitude. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ has a base that reminds a little to ‘The Storm’ by ‘Big Country’. The violin gives the song some draft. The single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is also a nice one with a nostalgic lyric about a place where you can’ t stay but where you still want to come back. ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy and ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is a nice last song.

The chance that we will ever see this band on stage in Europe is small and that’ s a pity, because I presume that they can set the house on fire. In the meantime we warm ourselves with this album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


NL

Een donkere clubzaal, een met bier overgoten menigte die luidkeels staat te brallen op een mengeling van gitaar, meezingbare refreinen, occasionele viool en mondharmonica. Het geheel heeft de Ierse-Engelse sfeer van The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques of Dropkick Murphy’ s. Enig verschil: dit is een Amerikaanse band uit Philadelphia, opgestaan uit de as van de punkband The Orphans.

Het muzikale concept is bekend als je de eerdere alinea gelezen hebt. Het rammelt soms wel eens en op ‘Bad Heart’ klinken de vocals niet altijd toonvast, maar dat is niet meteen een groot probleem. Er staan wel degelijke, leuke songs op dit album dat een grote DIY-attitude uitstraalt. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ heeft een basis die wat aan ‘The Storm’ van Big Country doet denken. De viool doet hier goed haar werk en geeft wat diepgang aan de song. De single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is een leuke single met een nostalgische tekst die verwijst naar een plaats waar je graag vertrekt en terugkomt. Ook ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy en ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is een aardige afsluiter.

De kans dat we deze band hier in Europa aan het werk zullen zien is klein en dat is jammer, want het lijkt mij een band dat live vonken kan geven. In tussentijd zullen we ons moeten verwarmen aan deze schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: FOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell