tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : MISCHIEF BREW - This is Not For Children

MISCHIEF BREW

This is Not For Children

MusicCD
CrossoverFolkPunk

[78/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
10/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A dark club hall, a crowd showered with beer ald loudly singing along on a mixture of guitar, sing along choruses, occasional violins and harmonicas. The whole has an Irish-English feel like The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques or Dropkick Murphy’ s. The only difference: these are Americans from Philadelphia and have arisen out from the ashes of the punk band The Orphans.

The musical concept is known when you read the first paragraph. It rattles a bit sometimes and the vocals are not in tune here and there (like on 'bad heart'), but that’s no problem on this album. There are some nice songs with a big DIY attitude. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ has a base that reminds a little to ‘The Storm’ by ‘Big Country’. The violin gives the song some draft. The single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is also a nice one with a nostalgic lyric about a place where you can’ t stay but where you still want to come back. ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy and ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is a nice last song.

The chance that we will ever see this band on stage in Europe is small and that’ s a pity, because I presume that they can set the house on fire. In the meantime we warm ourselves with this album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


NL

Een donkere clubzaal, een met bier overgoten menigte die luidkeels staat te brallen op een mengeling van gitaar, meezingbare refreinen, occasionele viool en mondharmonica. Het geheel heeft de Ierse-Engelse sfeer van The Levellers, The Alarm, Big Country, The Poques of Dropkick Murphy’ s. Enig verschil: dit is een Amerikaanse band uit Philadelphia, opgestaan uit de as van de punkband The Orphans.

Het muzikale concept is bekend als je de eerdere alinea gelezen hebt. Het rammelt soms wel eens en op ‘Bad Heart’ klinken de vocals niet altijd toonvast, maar dat is niet meteen een groot probleem. Er staan wel degelijke, leuke songs op dit album dat een grote DIY-attitude uitstraalt. ‘Lancaster Avenue’ heeft een basis die wat aan ‘The Storm’ van Big Country doet denken. De viool doet hier goed haar werk en geeft wat diepgang aan de song. De single ‘O Pennsyltucky’ is een leuke single met een nostalgische tekst die verwijst naar een plaats waar je graag vertrekt en terugkomt. Ook ‘No Candlesticks’ is catchy en ‘Slow Death Hymn’ is een aardige afsluiter.

De kans dat we deze band hier in Europa aan het werk zullen zien is klein en dat is jammer, want het lijkt mij een band dat live vonken kan geven. In tussentijd zullen we ons moeten verwarmen aan deze schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: FOLK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap