tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

PRO-PAIN

The Truth Hurts

MusicCD
CrossoverGroove MetalHardcore

[76/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

1994 album The Truth Hurts is the second of Pro-Pain, the New York based hardcore band of vocalist/bassist Gary Meskil. It came 2 years after their debut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Just as the debut, The Truth Hurts is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The sophomore album is the successful continuation of its predecessor. You can hear a bit more hardcore and rap influences than on Foul Taste Of Freedom. Stylish it comes a little closer to Biohazard, those other New York hardcore icons. Just as on Biohazard’s State Of The World Address from the same year a rapper delivers guest vocals. While Biohazard was reinforced by Sin Dog of Cypress Hill on How It Is, Body Count’s Ice-T collaborates on the Pro-Pain track Put The Lights Out.

The Truth Hurts is an energetic album. It’s often considered to be Pro-Pain’s finest output. Also the cover art and the booklet are a fine piece of work. The cover features a picture of a stitched-up young woman after an autopsy. In the booklet there are several pictures of crime scenes. After some controversy the original cover was changed (see pictures below). The cover art of the re-issue shows the same young women but her stitched-up y-incision is hidden behind a black square.

Highlights of the album are the Pro-Pain classic Make Ware (Not Love), Bad Blood with its great riffs, the chunky title track, the groovy One Man Army with its saxophone solo and the trashy Down In The Dumps.

Although hardcore isn’t my preferred style, The Truth Hurts is diverse enough to keep me interested.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

The Truth Hurts uit 1994 is de tweede plaat van Pro-Pain, de hardcore band uit New York rond zanger en bassist Gary Meskil. De plaat kwam er 2 jaar na hun debuut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Net als het debuut wordt The Truth Hurts heruitgebracht, geremastered natuurlijk.

The Truth Hurts is een succesvolle verderzetting van zijn voorganger. Je kunt wat meer hardcore en rapinvloeden dan op Foul Taste Of Freedom. Qua stijl benadert het Biohazard, die andere New York hardcore-iconen, Net als op State Of The World address van Biohazard levert een rapper gastvocalen. Terwijl Biohazard op How It Is versterkt wordt door Sin Dog van Cypress Hill, hoor je op de Pro-Pain song Put The Lights Out Body Count frontman Ice-T.

The Truth Hurts is een energiek album. Het wordt vaak beschouwd als Pro-Pains beste release. De originele cover liet ook indruk na. Op de hoes was namelijk een foto te zien van een jonge vrouw na een autopsie. In het boekje stonden er tevens foto’s van plaatsen delict. Na enige controverse werd de hoes ingeruild (zie foto’s onderaan). Op de heruitgave van The Truth Hurts prijkt de originele foto, maar de y-incisie gaat schuil achter een zwart vierkant.

Hoogtepunten van het album zijn de Pro-Painklassieker Make War (Not Love), Bad Blood met zijn coole riffs, de stevige titelsong, het groovy One Man Army met zijn saxofoonsolo en het trashy Down In The Dumps.

Hoewel hardcore niet mijn favoriete stijl is, is The Truth Hurts voldoende divers om me te blijven boeien.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide