tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

PRO-PAIN

The Truth Hurts

MusicCD
CrossoverGroove MetalHardcore

[76/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

1994 album The Truth Hurts is the second of Pro-Pain, the New York based hardcore band of vocalist/bassist Gary Meskil. It came 2 years after their debut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Just as the debut, The Truth Hurts is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The sophomore album is the successful continuation of its predecessor. You can hear a bit more hardcore and rap influences than on Foul Taste Of Freedom. Stylish it comes a little closer to Biohazard, those other New York hardcore icons. Just as on Biohazard’s State Of The World Address from the same year a rapper delivers guest vocals. While Biohazard was reinforced by Sin Dog of Cypress Hill on How It Is, Body Count’s Ice-T collaborates on the Pro-Pain track Put The Lights Out.

The Truth Hurts is an energetic album. It’s often considered to be Pro-Pain’s finest output. Also the cover art and the booklet are a fine piece of work. The cover features a picture of a stitched-up young woman after an autopsy. In the booklet there are several pictures of crime scenes. After some controversy the original cover was changed (see pictures below). The cover art of the re-issue shows the same young women but her stitched-up y-incision is hidden behind a black square.

Highlights of the album are the Pro-Pain classic Make Ware (Not Love), Bad Blood with its great riffs, the chunky title track, the groovy One Man Army with its saxophone solo and the trashy Down In The Dumps.

Although hardcore isn’t my preferred style, The Truth Hurts is diverse enough to keep me interested.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

The Truth Hurts uit 1994 is de tweede plaat van Pro-Pain, de hardcore band uit New York rond zanger en bassist Gary Meskil. De plaat kwam er 2 jaar na hun debuut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Net als het debuut wordt The Truth Hurts heruitgebracht, geremastered natuurlijk.

The Truth Hurts is een succesvolle verderzetting van zijn voorganger. Je kunt wat meer hardcore en rapinvloeden dan op Foul Taste Of Freedom. Qua stijl benadert het Biohazard, die andere New York hardcore-iconen, Net als op State Of The World address van Biohazard levert een rapper gastvocalen. Terwijl Biohazard op How It Is versterkt wordt door Sin Dog van Cypress Hill, hoor je op de Pro-Pain song Put The Lights Out Body Count frontman Ice-T.

The Truth Hurts is een energiek album. Het wordt vaak beschouwd als Pro-Pains beste release. De originele cover liet ook indruk na. Op de hoes was namelijk een foto te zien van een jonge vrouw na een autopsie. In het boekje stonden er tevens foto’s van plaatsen delict. Na enige controverse werd de hoes ingeruild (zie foto’s onderaan). Op de heruitgave van The Truth Hurts prijkt de originele foto, maar de y-incisie gaat schuil achter een zwart vierkant.

Hoogtepunten van het album zijn de Pro-Painklassieker Make War (Not Love), Bad Blood met zijn coole riffs, de stevige titelsong, het groovy One Man Army met zijn saxofoonsolo en het trashy Down In The Dumps.

Hoewel hardcore niet mijn favoriete stijl is, is The Truth Hurts voldoende divers om me te blijven boeien.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi