tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

PRO-PAIN

The Truth Hurts

MusicCD
CrossoverGroove MetalHardcore

[76/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

1994 album The Truth Hurts is the second of Pro-Pain, the New York based hardcore band of vocalist/bassist Gary Meskil. It came 2 years after their debut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Just as the debut, The Truth Hurts is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The sophomore album is the successful continuation of its predecessor. You can hear a bit more hardcore and rap influences than on Foul Taste Of Freedom. Stylish it comes a little closer to Biohazard, those other New York hardcore icons. Just as on Biohazard’s State Of The World Address from the same year a rapper delivers guest vocals. While Biohazard was reinforced by Sin Dog of Cypress Hill on How It Is, Body Count’s Ice-T collaborates on the Pro-Pain track Put The Lights Out.

The Truth Hurts is an energetic album. It’s often considered to be Pro-Pain’s finest output. Also the cover art and the booklet are a fine piece of work. The cover features a picture of a stitched-up young woman after an autopsy. In the booklet there are several pictures of crime scenes. After some controversy the original cover was changed (see pictures below). The cover art of the re-issue shows the same young women but her stitched-up y-incision is hidden behind a black square.

Highlights of the album are the Pro-Pain classic Make Ware (Not Love), Bad Blood with its great riffs, the chunky title track, the groovy One Man Army with its saxophone solo and the trashy Down In The Dumps.

Although hardcore isn’t my preferred style, The Truth Hurts is diverse enough to keep me interested.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

The Truth Hurts uit 1994 is de tweede plaat van Pro-Pain, de hardcore band uit New York rond zanger en bassist Gary Meskil. De plaat kwam er 2 jaar na hun debuut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Net als het debuut wordt The Truth Hurts heruitgebracht, geremastered natuurlijk.

The Truth Hurts is een succesvolle verderzetting van zijn voorganger. Je kunt wat meer hardcore en rapinvloeden dan op Foul Taste Of Freedom. Qua stijl benadert het Biohazard, die andere New York hardcore-iconen, Net als op State Of The World address van Biohazard levert een rapper gastvocalen. Terwijl Biohazard op How It Is versterkt wordt door Sin Dog van Cypress Hill, hoor je op de Pro-Pain song Put The Lights Out Body Count frontman Ice-T.

The Truth Hurts is een energiek album. Het wordt vaak beschouwd als Pro-Pains beste release. De originele cover liet ook indruk na. Op de hoes was namelijk een foto te zien van een jonge vrouw na een autopsie. In het boekje stonden er tevens foto’s van plaatsen delict. Na enige controverse werd de hoes ingeruild (zie foto’s onderaan). Op de heruitgave van The Truth Hurts prijkt de originele foto, maar de y-incisie gaat schuil achter een zwart vierkant.

Hoogtepunten van het album zijn de Pro-Painklassieker Make War (Not Love), Bad Blood met zijn coole riffs, de stevige titelsong, het groovy One Man Army met zijn saxofoonsolo en het trashy Down In The Dumps.

Hoewel hardcore niet mijn favoriete stijl is, is The Truth Hurts voldoende divers om me te blijven boeien.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995