tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER - Ad Astra Volantis

STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER

Ad Astra Volantis

MusicCD
DanceDark ElectroElectroHardcoreIndustrial

[85/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
04/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

On Ad Astra Volantis DJ Simon Carter and the trance dance studio guru Lawrie Masson let you hear that they have more to offer than the hard electro of their earlier single Dance With Me Dance With The Devil, that also is included on this CD.

Although they always are focused on the dance floor, you hear different influences. The opener Lonely is dance, but that’s without any problem alternated with the (dark) hardcore electro/dance influences in Shooting At The Stars.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter knows how to use these different styles, unlike many other acts. The result is that Ad Astra Volantis is a great varied album. Whether it's the quiet, somewhat dreamy like The Storm Of Life or the hard industrial/hardcore mix of Lies. By adding the wonderfully catchy voice of Trix, songs like Lonely, Dream With Me (Stronger) or Traitor only get better.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter shows with Ad Astra Volantis its craftsmanship, sense for dance rhythms and details, and that automatically results in a fine album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
04/11/2015


NL

Met Ad Astra Volantis laten DJ Simon Carter en trancedancestudiogoeroe Lawrie Masson horen dat er veel meer invloeden zijn dan de harde electrovariant die men eerder hoorde op de single Dance With Me Dance With The Devil, die ook op deze cd is te vinden.

Hoewel het overwegend dansvloer gericht is, zijn er toch verschillende invloeden te bespeuren. Zo gaat bijv. de opener Lonely in de richting van dance, die daarna zonder probleem wordt afgewisseld met (dark) electro, gemixt met hardcore-/dance-invloeden tijdens Shooting At The Stars.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter weetn de verschillende stijlen, in tegenstelling tot veel andere acts, smaakvol en inventief te mixen. Bijgevolg is Ad Astra Volantis een prima plaat vol afwisseling en een bewijs van vakmanschap. Of het nu gaat om het rustige, ietwat dromerige The Storm Of Life of de harde industrial-/hardcoremix van Lies. Door het inbrengen van de heerlijk in het gehoor liggende stem van Trix, worden nummers als Lonely, Dream With Me (Stronger) en Traitor er alleen maar beter op.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter laat met Ad Astra Volantis horen dat vakmanschap, gevoel voor dansritmes en details een prima plaat opleveren.

Ron SCHOONWATER
04/11/2015


 

Next reviews
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters
ZOMBIE GIRL • Killer Queen
EMMA SOLEIL • Time Falls
AM TIERPARK • Uncaged
DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS • Angels & Ghosts
AYRIA • Feed Her To The Wolves
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Digital Infaction Vol.2

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse