tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER - Ad Astra Volantis

STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER

Ad Astra Volantis

MusicCD
DanceDark ElectroElectroHardcoreIndustrial

[85/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
04/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

On Ad Astra Volantis DJ Simon Carter and the trance dance studio guru Lawrie Masson let you hear that they have more to offer than the hard electro of their earlier single Dance With Me Dance With The Devil, that also is included on this CD.

Although they always are focused on the dance floor, you hear different influences. The opener Lonely is dance, but that’s without any problem alternated with the (dark) hardcore electro/dance influences in Shooting At The Stars.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter knows how to use these different styles, unlike many other acts. The result is that Ad Astra Volantis is a great varied album. Whether it's the quiet, somewhat dreamy like The Storm Of Life or the hard industrial/hardcore mix of Lies. By adding the wonderfully catchy voice of Trix, songs like Lonely, Dream With Me (Stronger) or Traitor only get better.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter shows with Ad Astra Volantis its craftsmanship, sense for dance rhythms and details, and that automatically results in a fine album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
04/11/2015


NL

Met Ad Astra Volantis laten DJ Simon Carter en trancedancestudiogoeroe Lawrie Masson horen dat er veel meer invloeden zijn dan de harde electrovariant die men eerder hoorde op de single Dance With Me Dance With The Devil, die ook op deze cd is te vinden.

Hoewel het overwegend dansvloer gericht is, zijn er toch verschillende invloeden te bespeuren. Zo gaat bijv. de opener Lonely in de richting van dance, die daarna zonder probleem wordt afgewisseld met (dark) electro, gemixt met hardcore-/dance-invloeden tijdens Shooting At The Stars.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter weetn de verschillende stijlen, in tegenstelling tot veel andere acts, smaakvol en inventief te mixen. Bijgevolg is Ad Astra Volantis een prima plaat vol afwisseling en een bewijs van vakmanschap. Of het nu gaat om het rustige, ietwat dromerige The Storm Of Life of de harde industrial-/hardcoremix van Lies. Door het inbrengen van de heerlijk in het gehoor liggende stem van Trix, worden nummers als Lonely, Dream With Me (Stronger) en Traitor er alleen maar beter op.

Studio-X vs. Simon Carter laat met Ad Astra Volantis horen dat vakmanschap, gevoel voor dansritmes en details een prima plaat opleveren.

Ron SCHOONWATER
04/11/2015


 

Next reviews
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters
ZOMBIE GIRL • Killer Queen
EMMA SOLEIL • Time Falls
AM TIERPARK • Uncaged
DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS • Angels & Ghosts
AYRIA • Feed Her To The Wolves
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Digital Infaction Vol.2

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith