tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2015 : MR SHIRAZ - 21 Grams (EP)

MR SHIRAZ

21 Grams (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
HardcorePunkRock

[75/100]   

Wooderson Records
08/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rock should raise some adrenaline and at least a bit of rebelliousness. 21 Grams has these elements, and so it’s a great rock single. A sing-along chorus, some catchy riffs, a magnificent guitar solo and some fine vocals too. And that quality can be heard all over the EP.

Bill & Ted begins with a similar riff, and also evolves into a punk-rock song. Breakfast Club starts with a nice bass line and (you got it!) develops into punk-rock. Gleaming The Glue is a rather mediocre song. No catchy choruses or licks. On Cusack we hear influences of Faith No More. A decent song. The closing track, Nobody Puts Swayze in the Corner, has a fat riff and a nice short solo.

The first three songs and the final one convince me the most. All songs refer to films. Musically, it is a mix of punk-rock, hardcore and alternative rock. A great blend and an excellent EP of these Huddersfield guys!.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2015


NL

Rock moet adrenaline en een beetje rebelsheid opwekken. Bij de opener van deze band is dat gelukkig het geval: 21 Grams heeft alle elementen van een uitstekende rocksingle. Een meezingbaar refrein, wat aanstekelijke riffs, een gitaarsolo dat er mag zijn en fijne vocals. Gelukkig geldt dat voor de gehele ep.

Bill & Ted begint met een gelijksoortige riff als in de openingssong, maar evolueert naar een punkrocksong. Breakfast Club begint met een aardige baslijn en ontwikkelt zich ook tot punkrock. Gleaming The Glue is eerder een middelmatige song. Geen pakkende refreinen of licks hier. Op Cusack hoor je invloeden van Faith No More. Een degelijke song. Afsluiter Nobody Puts Swayze in the Corner heeft een vette riff en een leuke korte solo.

De eerste drie songs en de laatste overtuigen mij het meest. Alle songs refereren naar films. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van punkrock, hardcore en alternatieve rock. Een geslaagde mix en een degelijke ep van deze jongens uit het Engelse Huddersfield.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2015


 

Next reviews
MELTED SPACE • The Great Lie
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
NATASHA A TWENTYONE (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEGIN SAYS • Printed & Lost 1983-1991
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same combination of genres: HARDCORE + PUNK + ROCK
THE KENDOLLS • Automania

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected