tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/12/2015 : WILDNORTHE - Awe

WILDNORTHE

Awe

MusicCD (EP)

Raging Planet
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

On some releases, the love already begins with the cover, and that certainly is the case with Awe, the debut of the Portuguese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Six songs are included on this disc. Opener Awe starts with militaristic drums that have something of Death In June, but the song is nonetheless dominated by mysticism. Sara Inglês and Pedro Ferreira do like some experiment, but above all they want to write perfect dark pop tunes. Iron, of which find the video below, has the playfulness of Dead Can Dance, but also the melancholy of X-Mal Deutschland. And yes, even though this is 2015, Wilnorthe could perfectly fit on 4AD.

Swamp may sound slightly lighter, but what do you think of a text like I'm broken, not dead? Add a post-punk guitar and some doomy keyboards to that and you have something like Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is heavenly darkwave with female vocals, while Goats Head (the best song on this album) is tragical synthwave that begs for the repeat button. This tour de force concludes with Sea To Sleep, which is a bit similar to the sound of Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

After five songs our judgment is quickly made: if you are keen on darkwave with a classic touch, you should definitely explore the wonderful (but sometimes frightening) world of Wildnorthe!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

Op sommige releases begint de liefde al bij het zien van de hoes, en dat was zeker het geval bij Awe, het debuut van het Portugese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Op dit schijfje staan zes nummers. Opener Awe begint met militaristische drums die wel iets van Death In June hebben, maar voor de rest overheerst mystiek. Sara Inglês en Pedro Ferreira houden van wat experiment, maar vooral schrijven ze graag perfect donkere popsongs. Iron, dat je onderaan als een videootje kan bekijken, bezit de speelsheid van Dead Can Dance en heeft tegelijkertijd de weemoed van X-Mal Deutschland. En tja, ook al leven we ondertussen in 2015, zou Wilnorthe gerust op het vroegere 4AD-label passen.

Swamp klinkt misschien iets lichter van toon, maar wat denk je van teksten als I’m broken, not dead? Voeg daar nog een postpunkgitaar aan toe en wat doomy keyboards en je hebt iets als Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is dan weer hemelse darkwave met vrouwelijke vocalen, terwijl Goats Head (het mooiste nummer op deze plaat) tragische synthwave is die om de herhaaltoets smeekt. Deze tour de force sluit af met Sea To Sleep, dat een heel klein beetje lijkt op Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

Na vijf nummers is het oordeel dan ook snel geveld: wie van goddelijke darkwave met een klassiek tintje houdt moet beslist Wildnorthe checken!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis