tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/12/2015 : WILDNORTHE - Awe

WILDNORTHE

Awe

MusicCD (EP)

Raging Planet
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

On some releases, the love already begins with the cover, and that certainly is the case with Awe, the debut of the Portuguese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Six songs are included on this disc. Opener Awe starts with militaristic drums that have something of Death In June, but the song is nonetheless dominated by mysticism. Sara Inglês and Pedro Ferreira do like some experiment, but above all they want to write perfect dark pop tunes. Iron, of which find the video below, has the playfulness of Dead Can Dance, but also the melancholy of X-Mal Deutschland. And yes, even though this is 2015, Wilnorthe could perfectly fit on 4AD.

Swamp may sound slightly lighter, but what do you think of a text like I'm broken, not dead? Add a post-punk guitar and some doomy keyboards to that and you have something like Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is heavenly darkwave with female vocals, while Goats Head (the best song on this album) is tragical synthwave that begs for the repeat button. This tour de force concludes with Sea To Sleep, which is a bit similar to the sound of Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

After five songs our judgment is quickly made: if you are keen on darkwave with a classic touch, you should definitely explore the wonderful (but sometimes frightening) world of Wildnorthe!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

Op sommige releases begint de liefde al bij het zien van de hoes, en dat was zeker het geval bij Awe, het debuut van het Portugese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Op dit schijfje staan zes nummers. Opener Awe begint met militaristische drums die wel iets van Death In June hebben, maar voor de rest overheerst mystiek. Sara Inglês en Pedro Ferreira houden van wat experiment, maar vooral schrijven ze graag perfect donkere popsongs. Iron, dat je onderaan als een videootje kan bekijken, bezit de speelsheid van Dead Can Dance en heeft tegelijkertijd de weemoed van X-Mal Deutschland. En tja, ook al leven we ondertussen in 2015, zou Wilnorthe gerust op het vroegere 4AD-label passen.

Swamp klinkt misschien iets lichter van toon, maar wat denk je van teksten als I’m broken, not dead? Voeg daar nog een postpunkgitaar aan toe en wat doomy keyboards en je hebt iets als Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is dan weer hemelse darkwave met vrouwelijke vocalen, terwijl Goats Head (het mooiste nummer op deze plaat) tragische synthwave is die om de herhaaltoets smeekt. Deze tour de force sluit af met Sea To Sleep, dat een heel klein beetje lijkt op Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

Na vijf nummers is het oordeel dan ook snel geveld: wie van goddelijke darkwave met een klassiek tintje houdt moet beslist Wildnorthe checken!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life