tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/12/2015 : WILDNORTHE - Awe

WILDNORTHE

Awe

MusicCD (EP)

Raging Planet
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

On some releases, the love already begins with the cover, and that certainly is the case with Awe, the debut of the Portuguese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Six songs are included on this disc. Opener Awe starts with militaristic drums that have something of Death In June, but the song is nonetheless dominated by mysticism. Sara Inglês and Pedro Ferreira do like some experiment, but above all they want to write perfect dark pop tunes. Iron, of which find the video below, has the playfulness of Dead Can Dance, but also the melancholy of X-Mal Deutschland. And yes, even though this is 2015, Wilnorthe could perfectly fit on 4AD.

Swamp may sound slightly lighter, but what do you think of a text like I'm broken, not dead? Add a post-punk guitar and some doomy keyboards to that and you have something like Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is heavenly darkwave with female vocals, while Goats Head (the best song on this album) is tragical synthwave that begs for the repeat button. This tour de force concludes with Sea To Sleep, which is a bit similar to the sound of Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

After five songs our judgment is quickly made: if you are keen on darkwave with a classic touch, you should definitely explore the wonderful (but sometimes frightening) world of Wildnorthe!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

Op sommige releases begint de liefde al bij het zien van de hoes, en dat was zeker het geval bij Awe, het debuut van het Portugese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Op dit schijfje staan zes nummers. Opener Awe begint met militaristische drums die wel iets van Death In June hebben, maar voor de rest overheerst mystiek. Sara Inglês en Pedro Ferreira houden van wat experiment, maar vooral schrijven ze graag perfect donkere popsongs. Iron, dat je onderaan als een videootje kan bekijken, bezit de speelsheid van Dead Can Dance en heeft tegelijkertijd de weemoed van X-Mal Deutschland. En tja, ook al leven we ondertussen in 2015, zou Wilnorthe gerust op het vroegere 4AD-label passen.

Swamp klinkt misschien iets lichter van toon, maar wat denk je van teksten als I’m broken, not dead? Voeg daar nog een postpunkgitaar aan toe en wat doomy keyboards en je hebt iets als Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is dan weer hemelse darkwave met vrouwelijke vocalen, terwijl Goats Head (het mooiste nummer op deze plaat) tragische synthwave is die om de herhaaltoets smeekt. Deze tour de force sluit af met Sea To Sleep, dat een heel klein beetje lijkt op Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

Na vijf nummers is het oordeel dan ook snel geveld: wie van goddelijke darkwave met een klassiek tintje houdt moet beslist Wildnorthe checken!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real