tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/12/2015 : WILDNORTHE - Awe

WILDNORTHE

Awe

MusicCD (EP)

Raging Planet
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

On some releases, the love already begins with the cover, and that certainly is the case with Awe, the debut of the Portuguese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Six songs are included on this disc. Opener Awe starts with militaristic drums that have something of Death In June, but the song is nonetheless dominated by mysticism. Sara Inglês and Pedro Ferreira do like some experiment, but above all they want to write perfect dark pop tunes. Iron, of which find the video below, has the playfulness of Dead Can Dance, but also the melancholy of X-Mal Deutschland. And yes, even though this is 2015, Wilnorthe could perfectly fit on 4AD.

Swamp may sound slightly lighter, but what do you think of a text like I'm broken, not dead? Add a post-punk guitar and some doomy keyboards to that and you have something like Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is heavenly darkwave with female vocals, while Goats Head (the best song on this album) is tragical synthwave that begs for the repeat button. This tour de force concludes with Sea To Sleep, which is a bit similar to the sound of Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

After five songs our judgment is quickly made: if you are keen on darkwave with a classic touch, you should definitely explore the wonderful (but sometimes frightening) world of Wildnorthe!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

Op sommige releases begint de liefde al bij het zien van de hoes, en dat was zeker het geval bij Awe, het debuut van het Portugese darkwave duo Wildnorthe.

Op dit schijfje staan zes nummers. Opener Awe begint met militaristische drums die wel iets van Death In June hebben, maar voor de rest overheerst mystiek. Sara Inglês en Pedro Ferreira houden van wat experiment, maar vooral schrijven ze graag perfect donkere popsongs. Iron, dat je onderaan als een videootje kan bekijken, bezit de speelsheid van Dead Can Dance en heeft tegelijkertijd de weemoed van X-Mal Deutschland. En tja, ook al leven we ondertussen in 2015, zou Wilnorthe gerust op het vroegere 4AD-label passen.

Swamp klinkt misschien iets lichter van toon, maar wat denk je van teksten als I’m broken, not dead? Voeg daar nog een postpunkgitaar aan toe en wat doomy keyboards en je hebt iets als Sad Lover & The Giants of Fra Lippo Lippi.

Body Of No Return is dan weer hemelse darkwave met vrouwelijke vocalen, terwijl Goats Head (het mooiste nummer op deze plaat) tragische synthwave is die om de herhaaltoets smeekt. Deze tour de force sluit af met Sea To Sleep, dat een heel klein beetje lijkt op Black Tape For A Blue Girl.

Na vijf nummers is het oordeel dan ook snel geveld: wie van goddelijke darkwave met een klassiek tintje houdt moet beslist Wildnorthe checken!

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith